Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Terror and fame meet....
I have always been a big fan of the Alex Cross Novels (With the exception of London Bridges (Alex Cross Novels) and I don't care for his other books written by other authors with his named stamped on top), so I was excited to receive and advance readers copy of Double Cross (Alex Cross)! I waited for a slow day a the Marina before cracking it open and was soon lost in the...
Published on Nov. 21 2007 by Fred Black

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars May Have Reached its Apex
The 13th instalment in the Alex Cross series of interwoven plots featuring two outrageous killers luring our familiar well-liked characters Alex Cross and his new love Brianna Stone into an interesting spin of events full of twists and turns. Like all of Patterson's writings, this novel is short, has punchy chapters, lots of action and a little sex to make things...
Published on Dec 31 2008 by Toni Osborne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars May Have Reached its Apex, Dec 31 2008
By 
Toni Osborne "The Way I See It" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The 13th instalment in the Alex Cross series of interwoven plots featuring two outrageous killers luring our familiar well-liked characters Alex Cross and his new love Brianna Stone into an interesting spin of events full of twists and turns. Like all of Patterson's writings, this novel is short, has punchy chapters, lots of action and a little sex to make things titillating.

The story begins when Kyle Craig (a villain resurrected from a previous novel) breaks out of a Super-max jail in a rather interesting and unusual way. It quickly migrates to the main villain and the core of the story with Kyle reappearing at the end:

When Cross's name is mentioned on a video left behind at a horrific murder scene, Alex cannot resist the opportunity to rejoin the DC police force and collaborate with detective Brianna Stone in the investigation. This murder is the first of a series of elaborate and highly visible murders. The serial killer has adopted the acronym DCAK (District of Columbia Audience Killer) and loves an audience making sure his gruesome executions are well attended. We follow Alex and Bree (Brianna) in the struggle to find him before he kills again.

This novel is interesting and captivating enough on its own, having followed and enjoyed the series I find it has reached its apex, becoming predictable and lacking originality. What disappointed me the most was the lackluster climax, leaving it open for a never ending sequel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy and Choppy, Feb. 27 2008
By 
P. Wang (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Cross (Hardcover)
I am a long-time Alex Cross fan; however I found this one probably the second worst book in the series (after London Bridges- which is another painful read).

The writing has become sloppy in the sense that the storyline is not clean like his earlier works. Rather than zooming in on one case, the author tried to jam in too much information at once that all this information simply confuses the readers as to what to focus on. I think the author is trying to lay some ground work for the next novel, but these additional bits in the book really distracts the reader's attention from the main investigation.

Another thing about this book that bothers me is that there are too many 2-page chapters that are just annoyingly short. I understand the author may have intended to move the story along in a faster pace, but I think it really made the story choppy and fragmented.

Finally, contrary to the pace the author intended to present the story, the main investigation progresses at a very slow pace, akin to "London Bridges"; I almost lost my patience three quarters through the book.

If you are a fan to Alex Cross, it is an OK read. If you want to get really hooked to the story, try some of Peterson's earlier works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Terror and fame meet...., Nov. 21 2007
By 
Fred Black "Black Beard" (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Cross (Hardcover)
I have always been a big fan of the Alex Cross Novels (With the exception of London Bridges (Alex Cross Novels) and I don't care for his other books written by other authors with his named stamped on top), so I was excited to receive and advance readers copy of Double Cross (Alex Cross)! I waited for a slow day a the Marina before cracking it open and was soon lost in the world of Cross. Alex has become like a old friend, having read so many of his trails, adventures, and tragedies.

Alex's life has become more settled since we last saw hin in Cross. He is back at work tending to his patients and living a normal life with his girlfriend Brianna Stone--detective Stone that is. But of course this cannot last. Washington DC and the east cost are a jitter because of a number of elaborate murders, these are not just murders but spectacles. This guy is a grisly showman. A murderer who wants fame---and to scare the pants off the entire DC metro area. Of course it is up Alex and Brianna to bring this guy down...but at what cost?

Patterson's master plotting, lightening fast chapters that keep you turning the pages are again on display and make for a great beach read! And speaking of pacing you have to try the tropical thriller "Tourist in the Yucatan!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent as always.I didn't want to put down my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely thrilling!, June 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mr. Patterson did it again! The story hooked me from the start.

Why have these stories not been made into movies? Television series?

Keep them coming, Mr. Patterson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Cross Novels are addictful., May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Once you start the series, you just keep going, I kept going back to the next book, really enjoy his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I boring next?, Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been reading Pattersson's books for some time and he is beginning to become easily predictable. Will boring come next? I am afraid so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The story was great but there is a problem with the CDs, Dec 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Cross (Audio CD)
The CDs were not formatted properly, all 7 of them. The tracks did not play in order. I listened to them but it was difficult, I had to go to the tracks manually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Master of suspense, Nov. 24 2007
This review is from: Double Cross (Hardcover)
So many have called Patterson the master of suspense. He really is. You might not like his style or the short chapters, but he's got a heck of a knack for telling a story and keeping you on the edge of your seat. The killer in this book is wildly unusual. He sets up his own website! What a nut! Loved the book and will be looking forward to more of James Patterson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love, love, love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Cross
Double Cross by James Patterson (Hardcover - Nov. 13 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews