Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I know what I am talking about when I say that this is an amazing read
I am a 16 year old and I work at my public library. All I pretty much do is read. I always keep an eye out for the best reads, what seems to be the most popular, and I must say that this is the best book that I have ever read, excluding the second, and I have read books like A Million Little Pieces, and the Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, Lovely Bones, Eragon, Eldest,...
Published on Dec 22 2006 by Avery

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much like an adult Harlequin romance
Okay, so I'm a 35 year old, but I"ve got street cred to write this review...I read a LOT of teen fiction (or young adult as our library classifies it.) I always have, always will. And I love vampire novels, so I was really looking forward to sinking my teeth into this one.

But, since I am the ripe old age of 35, I've also read a lot of books for adults, and...
Published on Dec 18 2006 by Voracious Reader


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I know what I am talking about when I say that this is an amazing read, Dec 22 2006
By 
This review is from: Twilight (Paperback)
I am a 16 year old and I work at my public library. All I pretty much do is read. I always keep an eye out for the best reads, what seems to be the most popular, and I must say that this is the best book that I have ever read, excluding the second, and I have read books like A Million Little Pieces, and the Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, Lovely Bones, Eragon, Eldest, and all of the Harry Potters numerous times. You will enjoy it, because Stephenie Meyer is a genius. I read this book in 4 hours, and the second in 3. I have started rereading both and have now got my mom addicted. You will enjoy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, May 5 2013
By 
Johanna Ziegler (Brockville, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is one of the bests books i have ever read and also one of the few that I have read several times. She is an amazing writer....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite series, March 19 2013
By 
MPD readings (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twilight (Paperback)
This is one of my favorite series and I highly recommend it. Great character development, great plot, overall, great experience, I personally could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, Feb. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twilight (Paperback)
Hooked-a real fan of the Twilight Sagas. Shame there isn't more to this story line once I've read Twilight-Breaking Dawn it's over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much like an adult Harlequin romance, Dec 18 2006
This review is from: Twilight (Paperback)
Okay, so I'm a 35 year old, but I"ve got street cred to write this review...I read a LOT of teen fiction (or young adult as our library classifies it.) I always have, always will. And I love vampire novels, so I was really looking forward to sinking my teeth into this one.

But, since I am the ripe old age of 35, I've also read a lot of books for adults, and though it pains me to admit it, I went through a spell where all I read were Harlequin Romance Novels (don't condemn me to the lowest reaches of Hades for it, I outgrew it.)

So, I was really disappointed to notice quite a few similarities between those bodice rippers and this novel.

The author uses a lot of over-the-top language...Bella is "in an agony of despair" over things that aren't that big of a deal, and Bella seems to have not much of a mental life of her own after Edward is nice to her for the first time. I know that actually can reflect the teenage experience of first romance, I know, I know. But it could still be written with less stock phrases normally found in romance novels.

But what made me write this review was the part I got to this morning. Bella has just been saved from a potentially dangerous situation involving being "herded" and hunted by 4 adult men. And when Edward shows up in his shining car, he's mad at her, and it becomes (once again, darnit) about how HE is feeling. And, though she was the one in danger, her first question to him is "Are you allright?"....but BELLA!! You are the one who has just been terrorized! Why are you turning to him like only what he thinks and what he feels matters? That happens over and over in this book (well, up to the part I'm at right now) and it's really frustrating.

I'll finish reading the book because it's not that bad, it's really not. And as every Vampire Novel loving person out there knows, we can't be too picky, there isn't an unlimited supply of these novels on our library shelves unfortunately. But I am really disturbed that someone who is writing for a teenage audience is portraying our heroine in some really contradictory ways. Strong on one hand, but then totally "devastated" on the other if she thinks the guy she likes might be mad at her. That's not the kind of role model I want to read about, let alone let my daughter read about.

Okay, vent over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Twinkling vampires galore, Jan. 11 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Twilight (Paperback)
Stephanie Meyer writes vampire fiction as many teenage girls do -- overblown writing, sexy cold vampires, and a vacuously attractive heroine who serves as the readers' stand-in.

And so it's hardly surprising that her megahit debut "Twilight" is essentially a teenage fantasy about finding the Perfect Hot Immortal Coverboy Who Longs For You Alone. Innocuous sparkling vampires, buckets of pointless teenage angst and a plot tacked on at the last minute leave this one of the more bloodless examples of vampire romance.

Klutzy Bella Swan is oh-so-self-sacrificingly going to live with her small-town cop dad, and is appalled by the student body -- all the local boys decide that (ick!) they like her, and all the girls are shallow idiots compared to her.

Then she's struck by the ash-pale, vaguely incestuous Cullen family -- an especially by the Hawt and Brooding Edward Cullen. Edward doesn't seem to like her much, resulting in much Teen Angst. but when Bella is nearly killed by a runaway car, he somehow manages to zip across the parking lot and knock away the car. Bella eventually figures out that he's a vampire-- a "vegetarian vampire" with the power to read thoughts... except hers.

Despite his fears that he'll hurt her, their smoldering chemistry (and Bella's tantalizing smell) draws them into a relationship... at which point, since the plot has had zero non-teenybopper tension, three two-dimensionally evil vampires enter the scene, intent on hunting Bella. The Cullens whisk her away to keep her safe from this trio -- but their enemies have more than one way to find her.

The book "Twilight" is essentially the eroticized fantasies of a teenage girl, purple of prose and taking itself hilariously seriously. In fact, reading this novel feels suspiciously like eavesdropping on Stephanie Meyer's fantasies of having a hot, sparkle-skinned vampire stalking her on a nightly basis to show his undying love.

Unfortunately there's not much more to the plot than that -- most of it involves Bella and Edward smoldering at each other, and Bella's contemplation of Edward's "scintillating, incandescent" body and Greek-god hotness. Furthermore Meyer smears the entire book in wildly swinging emotions, tepid dialogue, and overly ornate, purple prose -- the descriptions of Edward's chest alone may induce choking and diabetic coma.

After a horrendously silly "meet the vampire family," Meyer belatedly realizes that the book needs more than angst and sparkles and Edward is constantly shying away from Bella's virginal neck (what does that imply about sucking blood from animals?). So she tacks in a contrived subplot about evil vampires who are hunting Bella. Just... because they want to.

And heroine Bella is truly an amazing character -- she manages to be a blank slate for mass fantasy projection, while also managing to be whiny, selfish, snobby and superhumanly shallow (since the only person she cares about is the Hawt Rich Guy). Edward is a suitable mate for her -- he broods, smolders and stalks her to show that he loves her eternally. After all, isn't a bipolar stalker watching you sleep the very image of true love?

As for the other characters... well, we have quirky vampire Alice to add some humor to the story. But otherwise, none of them really matter much except to reflect how awesome Edward and Bella are -- and the villains could not be any thinner if Meyer snipped them from sparkly incandescent skin.

Those who dream of eternal angsty love with an Immortal Hottie may find "Twilight" a delight, but it's no more than a thin, flat guilty pleasure at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), Dec 23 2005
By 
This review is from: Twilight (Hardcover)
Seriously, this book made me sad.. EDWARD IS PROBABLY THE HOTTEST THING KNOWN TO MAN. You have to understand, this made me sad because unfortunetly for me, he is a character. This novel, Twilight, is one of the best books I have ever read.. really. All I really have to say is that this Stephanie Meyer gal knows what is good in a guy these days.. i think we would get along. :) A really fantastic read... i hear she is coming out with 2 more in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like a pine board - flat and sappy, Dec 9 2008
This review is from: Twilight (Paperback)
After hearing so much about this book, I finally was persuaded to read it. What a disppointment! I can't believe this is being compared to the Harry Potter books, in fact, I'm surprized it got published at all. I would have to say I couldn't imagine what the attraction is, except that I remember being eleven and so 'in love' with Donny Osmond, it hurt.

If you are not a googly-eyed preteen, or at least have the same mentality, you will probably not enjoy this book. 90% of it is just endless descriptions of Edward's eyes, his hair, his chest, etc. etc, ad nauseum, complete with drawn out, boring descriptions of Bella's longings for him. Written in an erotic style, it feels like reading porn, except there's no porn.

The characters are two-dimensional and lacking motivation. What on earth would inspire a 100 year old 'man' to fall in love with an unnattractive, empty-headed, self-centered, 17 year old girl? Smell alone just doesn't cut it for me. I also couldn't stand Bella as the heroine. She is snooty, stuck up and shallow. I think Meyers tries to paint her as self sacrificing, but she just comes across as bitter. None of the humans, who actually seem like friendly people who treat her kindly, seem to be worthy of her attention. I found myself rooting for her death by the end.

Ah, the end - it came all too late for me. And could you BE more predictable? Not a plot twist to be seen anywhere.

This book could have easily been done as a Little Golden Book, and the audience would have been more appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not at all what I expected!, April 2 2006
This review is from: Twilight (Hardcover)
I'm not a huge fan of fantasy novels, but my friend convinced me that I just HAD to give 'Twilight' a chance.... and boy am I glad I did!
Stephanie meyer's Writing is seductively brilliant, and Edward is probably one of the most intriguing characters I have ever come across in a book.
Anyone skeptical to read this novel because of the subject, trust me on this one.... if you give it a chance, you won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously?!?, May 3 2009
By 
Lindsey Hanselmann (Saskatoon, SK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twilight (Paperback)
I don't really think there is anything more I can say about Twilight that hasn't already been said by people far more eloquent and cynical than myself, so I will sum up my thoughts on Twilight with the following quote, delivered by the beautiful, godlike, angelic, liquid-topaz eyed, muscular Adonis known as Edward Cullen and the passive-aggressive, clumsy-as-a-plot-device, endlessly swooning Isabella Swan:

"Aren't you hungry?" he asked, distracted.
"No." I didn't feel like mentioning that my stomach was already full - of butterflies.
- Twilight, page 91

Congratulations, Stephenie Meyer, you just bummed me out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twilight
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (Paperback - Sept. 6 2006)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews