Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of a rock'n'roll life
If there's a person out there whose life needed to be chronicled, it's Keith Richards. And you know what's really amazing? He actually remembers it, despite all those drugs. So as you could probably guess, his "Life" is an amazing read -- Richards glides through his own eventful past with grace, charm and a slightly sarcastic sense of humor.

Richards was the...
Published on Oct. 29 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book for a Life that few have
I found the book an interesting review of the life of a modern day artist, working tirelessly (with the help of a bunch of stuff) to simply perfect and hone his craft. The really interesting aspect of the book is the honesty with which he portrays his relationships with people, especially Mick Jagger; drugs; "methods of self defense"; and the interplay that these factors...
Published on Aug. 13 2011 by Guy In Ottawa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Humm !, Feb. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Plustôt curieux,
Au début c'est très intéressant, sa jeunesse, la formation des Stones, le début de la gloire, puis ça dégénère, la drogue, encore la drogue, toujours la drogue.
Après le début, où la musique est l'univers dans lequel il se réfugie, où il nous dévoile ses influences musicales, où il nous entretient des souffrances d'être un jeune musicien, ma foi, presque à contre-courant de son époque, on arrive là où l'argent cesse d'être un rêve, et où tout devient possible.
Mais il y a la drogue. Il en fait tellement l'apologie, pendant tant de pages, qu'on croirait que les côtés sombres de l'existance dans lesquels la drogue le mène sont insignifiants. Puis on finit par se rendre compte qu'a force d'en mettre il réussit à nous écoeurer, et là, on saisit son approche. On finit par comprendre qu'il est en train de nous enseigner que, qui qu'on soit, quelque soit notre puissance et notre fortune, on restera toujours plus faible que la drogue ; soumis à elle.
On voit toute sa vie graviter autour de son accoutumance ; les gens dont il s'entoure, les lieux qu'il fréquente, tout est dicté par son besoin de drogue. Il en arrive aux mêmes bassesses que tous les drogués qui hantent les rues, à la différence près qu'il n'a pas besoin de voler puisque l'argent ne lui manque jamais. Il ne parle plus de musique, ne nous entretient plus de composition, de spectacles, d'évolution, à moins que ce ne soit relié à la drogue.
Arrive enfin la dernière partie du livre ; c'est à croire que son éditeur lui avait limité le nombre de pages, et qu'il ne lui en restait que 50 à écrire, avec encore 10 ans de sa vie à raconter. Tout se condense. On y voit même apparaître son côté prima-dona ; lui qui avait pris bien soin de toujours se donner le beau rôle dans le corps du livre, il nous laisse enfin entrevoir l'aspect enfant-gâté de sa personnalité.
Dans l'ensemble, si on aime la musique des Stones, on va adorer cette visite à l'intérieur du phénomène. Si on déteste, pourquoi est-on en train de lire cette critique ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, March 20 2012
By 
Glenda Smelt (Marathon, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life (Paperback)
Seems like one of the most down-to-earth, tell-it-like-it-is guys you could find. I love his passion for music, and for life in general. I found the book comical and entertaining. He lived through it all, which I think speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keith Richards' Life: What A Long, Strange Journey It's Been!, March 5 2012
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
On the inside jacket cover of Keith Richard's autobiography, Life, it reads in Keith's handwriting: "This is the Life. Believe it or not I haven't forgotten any of it. Thanks and praises, Keith Richards".

Well, it seems pretty amazing to me that Keith could remember everything that has happened to him in his extraordinary life, considering I'm 21 years younger and can't remember everything about my own less than extraordinary life and haven't consumed a fraction of the drugs that he has! However, I will say that with his co-writer James Fox's help, Richards has written a very compelling road trip of a tale of what life has been like for him from the time he was a boy in Dartford, England (he was especially close to his mum, Doris & Aunt Patty and we are privy to some of his letters to her), to his grandfather Gus teaching him his first guitar lick, to the day he met his destiny - and perhaps arch nemesis - in the form of the young Mick Jagger, to the day they formed The Rolling Stones; and later, to the lows of heroin addiction as well as Keith's joy in being a part of the X-pensive Winos and the Wingless Angels.

The hefty, award-winning (Norman Mailer Prize) tome opens with a recount of Keith's bust in Arkansas during the 1975 Stones tour with much humour and fond recollection for both foolish choices and dangerous behaviour. He reviews other busts as well, including one at his English home in Redlands, at Nellcote in France, and the infamous 1977 Toronto arrest, and doesn't shy away from talking about his drug consumption, what happened at Altamont in 1969, Stones mythology, or his own, at times, less than flattering behaviour. If it wasn't for their powerhouse criminal lawyer, Bill Carter, Richards would have spent a lot more of his rocker days behind bars. Keith recalls, "The choice always was a tricky one for the authorities who arrested us. Do you want to lock them up, or have your photograph taken with them and give them a motorcade to see them on their way?" All laws do not apply to celebrities or really wealthy people and never have.

A lot of what has been written about Keith Richards has been fabricated or twisted by his own careless exclamations and the truth is that he has never had a blood transfusion; he just has a phenomenal constitution.

"I can't untie the threads of how much I played up to the part that was written for me. I mean the skull ring and the broken tooth and the kohl. Is it half and half? I think in a way your persona, your image, as it used to be known, is like a ball and chain. People think I'm still a goddamn junkie. It's thirty years since I gave up the dope! Image is like a long shadow. Even when the sun goes down, you can see it. I think some of it is that there is so much pressure to be that person that you become it, maybe, to a certain point that you can bear. It's impossible not to end up being a parody of what you thought you were."

What shines through in Keith's Life is his absolute, undying passion for music, the legendary musicians who have influenced him throughout his career (Louis Armstrong, Elvis, Chuck Berry, Muddy Waters), his on-again, off-again love affair with The Stones, and his unquestionable love for his family: wife Patti Hansen, son Marlon, daughter Angela (whose mother is Anita Pallenberg) and daughters Alexandra & Theodora with Patti. He talks a lot about the technical aspects of being a musician and as a non-musician, that wasn't quite as interesting for me, but I loved reading about his friendships and escapades with other celebs and infamous music figures.

There are some wonderful glossy black & white and colour photos from Richards' archives in two sections of the book as well as black & white memories at the beginning of each chapter with a synopsis of the main events covered in the chapter which makes the book easy to skim through to find what you're looking for.

I found Keith's relationships with Gram Parsons and John Lennon ("He was so open. In anybody else, this could be embarrassing. But John had this honesty to his eyes that made you go for him. Had an intensity too. He was a one-off. Like me.") very interesting and poignant, and reliving his relationship with Anita Pallenberg was somewhat akin to a raucous amusement park ride. Brian Jones seemed to be a walking disaster from the start, but we don't get to know much about Mick Taylor (except that he was quite moody), Ron Wood or Bill Wyman as Keith is closest to Charlie Watts. We get a peripheral view of what was going on in the other band member's lives from time to time, but this is, after all, Keith's story and if you're looking for the truth about the Glimmer Twins, you'll get his side of the story here. I also noticed that he is a total gentleman when it comes to describing the women in his life and there have been a few (first love Haleema Mohamed, Ronnie Spector, Linda Keith & Uschi Obermaier), and is very loyal to his mates too.

I concluded from reading Keith's book that Mick Jagger is the cold, pretentious, entitled prick I always thought he was ("Mick doesn't like to trust anybody. I'll trust you until you prove you're not trustworthy. And maybe that's the major difference between us.") which is why I never really liked him or have considered myself a huge Stones fan even though I always thought that Keith was one, cool, f***ing freak of nature. It's quite a miracle really that the band didn't break up 30 years ago. Charlie Watts has probably just as much to do with their longevity than anyone else in the band, but Keith is indubitably its heart and soul. Perhaps because of the fact that for "many years I slept, on average, twice a week," Keith Richards has done more in his 69 years than most people do if they live to be 120.

I love much of the Stones' music because they created brilliant songs that are indelibly etched into the soundtrack of my youth (You Can't Always Get What You Want, Sympathy For The Devil, Paint It Black, Gimme Shelter, Satisfaction, Angie). I regret, sadly, that I've never seen them in concert and likely never will. However, reading Keith Richards' Life does help to dull the pain and it's a helluva fun trip too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Reads like fiction, how anyone with his drug and alcohol ..., Aug. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Reads like fiction, how anyone with his drug and alcohol history could remember anything prior to breakfast is a mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aw Keef!, Dec 17 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
We named the local feral cat after you, he's doing so much better since he got off junk and moved into our heated and insulated cat houses. Great book, I eagerly await Mick's 20 page autobiog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars J'adore, Sept. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Très intéressant et agréable à lire... Beaucoup d'anecdotes et d'humour...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Paperback)
Very Good, fast shipping and in good state. Thank you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 29 2014
By 
seinsmeld13 "Dave" (Niagara Falls, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Great book but keep it away from the youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinant... mais pas en français!, Feb. 7 2011
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Peu à ajouter aux commentaires positifs; la plupart sont mérités. Mais si vous devez lire cette biographie, de grâce évitez la traduction française! Elle est remplie à saturation d'argot, comme si les seuls francophones sur la planète habitaient Paris! Quelle culot de la part de l'éditeur et quel mépris. Je relirai Keith mais en anglais... et je donnerai 5 étoiles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The diary of a legend, and I get to read it!!, June 30 2011
By 
RIGGER1 (CALGARY, ALBERTA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Unlike alot of autobiographies that I have read, Keith Richards has ample material for the reader in "Life". There's not very many people in the universe who could entertain me into turning over 500 pages, however, I couldn't stop!! A fascinating character to begin with, finally hearing it all from "the horses mouth" just made it every bit more enjoyable. I can't decide what I enjoyed more, the music, the history, the Stones tales, his life? It is all so seamlessly put together that it becomes very well rounded and just a pleasure to read. I just wonder what else was left on the editing floor, if you want to release it I'll read that as well! Very well done, thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life
Life by Keith Richards (Hardcover - Oct. 26 2010)
CDN$ 33.99 CDN$ 27.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews