Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of a rock'n'roll life
If there's a person out there whose life needed to be chronicled, it's Keith Richards. And you know what's really amazing? He actually remembers it, despite all those drugs. So as you could probably guess, his "Life" is an amazing read -- Richards glides through his own eventful past with grace, charm and a slightly sarcastic sense of humor.

Richards was the...
Published on Oct. 29 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book for a Life that few have
I found the book an interesting review of the life of a modern day artist, working tirelessly (with the help of a bunch of stuff) to simply perfect and hone his craft. The really interesting aspect of the book is the honesty with which he portrays his relationships with people, especially Mick Jagger; drugs; "methods of self defense"; and the interplay that these factors...
Published on Aug. 13 2011 by Guy In Ottawa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Keith, says it all, Dec 30 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Loved this book. Got a good insight into a legend. If you are a fan of Keith and the RS, you will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with purchase, Nov. 19 2011
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Product was received within time specified. Book description was exactly as described . Would recommend this seller and would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a drug addled axeman, March 16 2011
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Well written, great language and passion about his music and his life. Brutally honest, freakingly frank testament to living life to the fullest. Too much fun to put down. I read it in a week. Makes a great gift for a music lover along with Janis Joplin's sister's story of Janice, and the bio on Jimi Hendrix's. I am so glad that "Keef" is still with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want to know how rock music started?, Jan. 25 2011
By 
Darcy Proulx (Vancouver B.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Life by Keith Richards is an amazing read as it chronicles the beginning of black music to white people by white English young musicians back to North America. Very well written and edited. Learn where Mick got his dance moves (James Brown) and Keith's life to this point makes fascinating/entertaining and educational for musician's and others whom grew up with Stones/Beatle music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rock and roll still lives - so is Keith, Jan. 14 2011
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
I've had Life on my nightstand for a couple of months now. I've got some old vinyl (High Tide and Green Grass - the original 1966 release) on the turntable while I try to put thoughts to paper. Now, I wasn't buying music myself in '66 - but my youngest uncle was. I grew up listening to and loving all things rock 'n roll.

And really - Keith Richards is all things rock 'n roll. The Rolling Stone's longevity (creeping up on 50 years) is legendary. Just as legendary is guitarist Richards's longevity. Indeed - it has been asked many times - how is he still alive?
Richards is known for his excessive drug and alcohol use. I think what I expected when I started reading Life was a tell all book. But I was pleasantly proven wrong. Richards is intelligent, thoughtful, honest and funny. Much more complex than I would have thought. Yes,of course there are the drugs - they did play a huge part of his life, but he makes no excuses for it. It's part of his life, part of his past, part of what made him who he is.

It is his love of music that shines through the most though. The beginnings and birth of rock and roll in Britain, the exodus to the US, the players who started it all. Richards was there. These are the reminiscences I enjoyed the most. The 'gossip' is there as well. The friendship and rifts with Jagger are also an integral part of Richards' life. His relationship with women, his children and his love for his family. Lots of surprising details about the man himself as well. A human face to put with the legendary tales.

Life reads as a rambling conversation with a darn good storyteller. And there's always another story after that last one. I enjoyed reading this over the course of a couple of months. I like the pictures included in the book - lots of personal shots as well as band shots.

Life has been steadily on The New York Times Bestseller list since it's release. And it deserves to be. Recommended rock and roll reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, Jan. 10 2011
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
As a lifelong Stones devotee, I was elated to receive this book and it did not disappoint. Many surprises in here, even for a guy like Keith Richards. How he survived that much poison in his body over such an extended period of time is nothing less than incredible. The friction he describes between himself and Mick is eye-opening, even shocking. I found myself rushing to the local music stores to flesh out past CD's and videos I may have missed. A great read. I highly recommend this book to anyone who ever listened to and enjoyed a Rolling Stones track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinant... mais pas en français!, Feb. 7 2011
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Peu à ajouter aux commentaires positifs; la plupart sont mérités. Mais si vous devez lire cette biographie, de grâce évitez la traduction française! Elle est remplie à saturation d'argot, comme si les seuls francophones sur la planète habitaient Paris! Quelle culot de la part de l'éditeur et quel mépris. Je relirai Keith mais en anglais... et je donnerai 5 étoiles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner!, Jan. 3 2011
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Great read! A look through the eyes of an artist. Plus, could feel the grey, grimy, dampness of old blighty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., June 17 2011
By 
Lewis D. Vande Sompel (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Couldn't be better. I finished it in no time and loved it! Passed it on to buddy who loved it and passed it on again. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keith's guide to stupefiers...,,, April 7 2011
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
..that is all...well, maybe a bit more. Using Keith's spicy language:

I read only two other "cr.ps" written by "blokes" of rock music (recently, self-mortifying, terrible "Clapton", and "Fleetwood--My Life and Adventures with Fleetwood Mac"-this one long time ago). You read one "sh.t" like that, and they are all the same, stupefying like the drugs described in them. Such memoirs essentially teach you nothing (except recipe for bangers by Keth). I guess these "mother.. f..kers" just want to make excuses for whatever they did (or did not) to their children, wives, friends, crew members and particularly other women. They try to say, "hey I was stupid, but I have grown up and am OK now, I feel sorry folks". Unfortunately it sounds often pathetic.

Saying this, actually "Life" is better than two other titles mentioned above. Honestly, it is not bad writing, but I would suggest to keep this book out of teenagers' hands (if you have any kids at home).

The most boring are sections of the book, when Keith is just a junkie constantly hiding his stash and looking for a john to have a shot.
Three stars: 1) for author's teenage life and experiments with guitars; 2) for his relations with other musicians (particularly in Jamaica) and with people close to him; 3) for sections describing how certain songs have been composed and recorded, big tours organized.

Three books of this kind are more than enough... better stick to the music (if you like F.Mac, Clapton or Stones).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life
Life by Keith Richards (Hardcover - Oct. 26 2010)
CDN$ 33.99 CDN$ 21.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews