Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of a rock'n'roll life
If there's a person out there whose life needed to be chronicled, it's Keith Richards. And you know what's really amazing? He actually remembers it, despite all those drugs. So as you could probably guess, his "Life" is an amazing read -- Richards glides through his own eventful past with grace, charm and a slightly sarcastic sense of humor.

Richards was the...
Published on Oct. 29 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book for a Life that few have
I found the book an interesting review of the life of a modern day artist, working tirelessly (with the help of a bunch of stuff) to simply perfect and hone his craft. The really interesting aspect of the book is the honesty with which he portrays his relationships with people, especially Mick Jagger; drugs; "methods of self defense"; and the interplay that these factors...
Published on Aug. 13 2011 by Guy In Ottawa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, March 20 2012
By 
Glenda Smelt (Marathon, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life (Paperback)
Seems like one of the most down-to-earth, tell-it-like-it-is guys you could find. I love his passion for music, and for life in general. I found the book comical and entertaining. He lived through it all, which I think speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, Oct. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really enjoyed this book. Keith writes like he is talking so at times it is rambling. But his life is fascinating! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Humm !, Feb. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Plustôt curieux,
Au début c'est très intéressant, sa jeunesse, la formation des Stones, le début de la gloire, puis ça dégénère, la drogue, encore la drogue, toujours la drogue.
Après le début, où la musique est l'univers dans lequel il se réfugie, où il nous dévoile ses influences musicales, où il nous entretient des souffrances d'être un jeune musicien, ma foi, presque à contre-courant de son époque, on arrive là où l'argent cesse d'être un rêve, et où tout devient possible.
Mais il y a la drogue. Il en fait tellement l'apologie, pendant tant de pages, qu'on croirait que les côtés sombres de l'existance dans lesquels la drogue le mène sont insignifiants. Puis on finit par se rendre compte qu'a force d'en mettre il réussit à nous écoeurer, et là, on saisit son approche. On finit par comprendre qu'il est en train de nous enseigner que, qui qu'on soit, quelque soit notre puissance et notre fortune, on restera toujours plus faible que la drogue ; soumis à elle.
On voit toute sa vie graviter autour de son accoutumance ; les gens dont il s'entoure, les lieux qu'il fréquente, tout est dicté par son besoin de drogue. Il en arrive aux mêmes bassesses que tous les drogués qui hantent les rues, à la différence près qu'il n'a pas besoin de voler puisque l'argent ne lui manque jamais. Il ne parle plus de musique, ne nous entretient plus de composition, de spectacles, d'évolution, à moins que ce ne soit relié à la drogue.
Arrive enfin la dernière partie du livre ; c'est à croire que son éditeur lui avait limité le nombre de pages, et qu'il ne lui en restait que 50 à écrire, avec encore 10 ans de sa vie à raconter. Tout se condense. On y voit même apparaître son côté prima-dona ; lui qui avait pris bien soin de toujours se donner le beau rôle dans le corps du livre, il nous laisse enfin entrevoir l'aspect enfant-gâté de sa personnalité.
Dans l'ensemble, si on aime la musique des Stones, on va adorer cette visite à l'intérieur du phénomène. Si on déteste, pourquoi est-on en train de lire cette critique ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best biography ever, Jan. 6 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
One of the most entertaining books I've read. Keith doesn't pull any punches here. It's like talking to Keith in his living room. Hillarious!!! I didn't want it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start buts good book, Feb. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
The start was about his growing up, found it a little slow but defiantly picked up as I got further into it. If your a stones fan I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with purchase, Nov. 19 2011
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Product was received within time specified. Book description was exactly as described . Would recommend this seller and would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book !, May 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
I am amazed that this guy is still alive. Sure led an amazing life.
I really enjoyed his style and sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keith, says it all, Dec 30 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Loved this book. Got a good insight into a legend. If you are a fan of Keith and the RS, you will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aw Keef!, Dec 17 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
We named the local feral cat after you, he's doing so much better since he got off junk and moved into our heated and insulated cat houses. Great book, I eagerly await Mick's 20 page autobiog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars J'adore, Sept. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life (Hardcover)
Très intéressant et agréable à lire... Beaucoup d'anecdotes et d'humour...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life
Life by Keith Richards (Hardcover - Oct. 26 2010)
CDN$ 33.99 CDN$ 21.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews