Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Read
What surprised me most about this book was the extent of social engineering employed by Kevin. You can definitely tell he was no slouch when it came to technical or "hacking" abilities; but all this was largely overshadowed by his ability to convince people to simply hand over access. I found myself constantly disrupting my wife to share several examples of this. Read...
Published on March 16 2012 by fakemoez

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly penned by an unrepentant criminal
I've been into computers as long has Mr Mitnick has I find his story self-interested, unrepentant, and poorly written for a 40-something who took a college course in 'Writing'. The fact that Mitnick consistently points out flaws with others, all the while praising (even celebrating) his own cleverness as he breaks laws leads me to conclude that he's a narcissistic...
Published on Oct. 24 2011 by CDNRider


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Read, March 16 2012
This review is from: Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker (Hardcover)
What surprised me most about this book was the extent of social engineering employed by Kevin. You can definitely tell he was no slouch when it came to technical or "hacking" abilities; but all this was largely overshadowed by his ability to convince people to simply hand over access. I found myself constantly disrupting my wife to share several examples of this. Read this book to really, truly, understand what makes a hacker successful ... you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic cat and mouse, Aug. 27 2011
By 
Len (Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker (Hardcover)
Mr. Mitnick's hacking obsession began in the 1980s when he was adolescent using his ham radio to circumvent the phone system to make free phone calls mostly to his fellow hacking friends. Amusing tales are told, one in particular where he and a friend hack the intercom system at a Mcdonalds and play pranks on the customers. Eventually, the authorities become suspicious of his interferences to their system. The chase is on with Mr. Mitnick and his buddies using their skills to stay one step ahead of the authorities using the very techniques for which they are being pursued. The writer seemed to have an as yet uncategorized addiction to electronic devices. He just had to figure them out. So, if it was the phone system, his goal was to understand it and then use his knowledge to undermine it. As he professes continually in the book, he is not doing this for profit because, as the sophistication of phones increases from analogue to cellular versions, he gains access to thousands of credit card numbers. Yet, he never uses them. Likewise, he gains copies of cell phone operating systems. From these he and his buddies detect weaknesses and install patches by which they can gain control of the very systems they are using. Naturally, companies like Motorola and Nokia get upset with people making calls for free using phantom phone numbers that are impossible to trace. In 1988, Kevin was arrested, convicted and spent a year in jail followed by three years of supervised release. During that time, he continued with his nefarious activities eventually being charged again. He flees and takes on other identities. His adventures are exciting and often amusing especially in his younger years but as technology becomes more sophisticated so does the level of information available to hackers able to access the credit card numbers and phone messages of individuals of individuals they are monitoring. Pages of the book become filled with elaborate explanations of how Mitnick was able access to system software including codes and passwords used and discovered . This information must have been included for fellow hackers and computer geeks because it was definitely outside my level of interest or understanding. The appropriately named "Ghost in the Wires" makes for a compelling read not only for the amusement of his adventures as he fakes identities and monitors the activities of the very authorities who are monitoring him but also the insight provided into the mindset of computer geeks who control the communication devices the world is now dependent on. Mr. Mitnick quite rightly compares himself and his kind to magicians who used to travel from village to village where the people would marvel at their skills and attribute to them, mysterious powers that bring both benefit and danger. 'Ghost in the Wires' ais an elaborate cat and mouse game that's obviously still being played out by individuals around the world and probably by countries as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 15 2012
This review is from: Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker (Hardcover)
This book gives an interesting account of the life of Kevin Mitnick from his early years of phone phreaking to his later years as a sophisticated computer hacker. Anyone who has solved puzzles will understand the joy Kevin speaks of as he cracks each new problem. Nice addition to each chapter with a small encrypted puzzle for the reader as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1337, Feb. 16 2013
This review is from: Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker (Hardcover)
A grand adventure into the past of Kevin Mitnick. Filled with crazy cool info and interesting facts. Having worked in the telcos myself this was an eye opener of what can be done for something do simple. The book was filled with knowledge and humour the likes all computer phreaks would get. 5 star all the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the edge of my seat!, July 15 2012
This review is from: Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker (Hardcover)
Let me start by saying that I don't read a whole lot of books, but when I started reading "Ghost in the Wires" I literally could not put it down! I finished it in two days. If you are looking for an uber geek book that you would swear was written by Hollywood screen writers then this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Holds Barred., Oct. 13 2011
This review is from: Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker (Hardcover)
I have been reading the book since I received it and it is a very great story. Mitnick has nothing to hide and goes into details many years old and talks so candidly that it might as well just happened. I have been following his career for a long time and this is one of the best books about how society bases too much on trust and how easily people can be manipulated for another persons gain. I recommend anyone who works in a type of career that deals with sensitive information should get this and read it. You won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, feels like your in the middle of it all, Nov. 27 2011
This review is from: Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker (Hardcover)
I know it sounds cliche but once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. As you read the book and Kevin recalls his adventures you feel as if you are there with him looking over his shoulder as he's typing away. This book brings to light many security issues that have plagued big companies. As well the injustice that can happen when the media blows things out of proportion. This is easy to read for the laymen no technical knowledge required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fearing the Phreaker, Sept. 6 2011
I listened to this off I-Tunes. I found it very interesting even though I'm not a computer programmer/hacker/phone phreaker. I can't believe how long Kevin was left in prison without a trial!
The fear that abounded in that time over Hackers was eye opening. As was the pull Kevin had to continue hacking and using social engineering skills even when it often brought him grief. Very interesting to put yourself in the shoes of the "Dark Side" Hacker and find out he's just a very smart, curious and mischievous guy who got on the wrong side of powerful/ignorant people.
Great Book, Thanks Kevin for freeing your story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read!, Nov. 14 2011
This review is from: Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker (Hardcover)
Gives great insight into social engineering, as well as to the development of hacking and hacker culture. As a bit more of a technical reader, I found the book giving excellent descriptions into the build up of the telecoms, as well as how security evolved to fight hackers (who were usually a step ahead, especially in Mitnick's case!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Free Kevin, Feb. 14 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An amazing tell all about a hacker who was hounded by ignorance. Great pace and exciting story... Nicely and intelligently crafted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews