Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time listening to a Connelly book, Feb. 1 2012
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Drop (Audio CD)
Harry Bosch returns in Michael Connelly's latest book - The Drop. Harry has three years left until mandatory retirement kicks in. He's working in the cold case squad now. When he and his partner Chu get a DNA hit from a twenty year old sample, they think a mistake has been made. The perp is in the system, but he would have been eight years old at the time. But just as they start investigating further, they are told to drop everything to investigate the death of a prominent city counciller's son. The summons comes from the top - Harry calls it 'high jingo' - there are political factions at war and work here. But of course, Harry works both cases.

Although I've read everything Connelly has written, this is the first of his books that I've listened to. Len Cariou was the reader. At first I found his slightly sibilant esses annoying, but as I got further into the story, I didn't hear them. His voice is rough and gravelly and immediately brought to mind the mental image I have of Harry. He also handled the other roles well, providing a different voice for each character.

The Drop had two great cases as the primary story lines. But it also has secondary plot lines involving Harry's personal life, notably with his daughter Maddie. I am enjoying Harry as a dad. Really, I can't say much more than The Drop is classic Connelly - an excellent read with a character I am quite partial to. And Connelly has left it open for another book with Bosch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gruff but Noble, Feb. 6 2012
By 
Jeffrey Swystun (Toronto & Mont Tremblant) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
LAPD's Hieronymus "Harry" Bosch is a great character with more lives than a litter of cats. The entire series has been entertaining with a 'noir-lite' atmosphere that does very little to extol the virtues of Los Angeles. But it is the gruff but loving Harry who carries each outing. Borrowing a Sherlock Holmes' convention of presenting two mysteries in one book, Connelly has Harry trying to solve a brutal murder that has remained unsolved for twenty years while chasing down a politically charged potential suicide. The most compelling relationship is that between Harry and his partner...it provided a bridge between the two cases and was the most interesting part of the whole outing. One may complain that both Harry and his format are growing stale but his understated nobility and genuine desire to make the city safe have me anticipating the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Connelly develops 2 fascinating cases in inimitable style, Dec 31 2011
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
Michael Connelly doesn't fail to keep up to his usual standards in this book. Here Harry Bosch is dealing with 2 mostly unconnected cases - the death of a man who happens to be the son of a long-time enemy, Irvin Irving and the discovery of a serial killer who has been successfully concealing himself and his crimes for a long time. As far as I'm concerned, this book is a top-notch success. Bosch has to deal with his own personal failings, the complications of looking after his daughter Maddie, the politics of "high jingo" and a former partner's role at the highest levels of LAPD - oh, yeah he has cases to solve. Connelly is better than most at handling the ambiguities of the situation while still allowing us to understand and admire Bosch and what he is trying to accomplish.

At some point, Connelly is bound to disappoint, but not this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry's Back!, March 18 2012
By 
R. Wilson (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
After some misses in the last couple of Harry Bosch novels, not to mention those Lincoln Lawyer stories where Harry plays a supporting role, which is not a good use of his character, I am glad to see that he is back in form in The Drop. The story is well plotted and paced and an entertaining read. Even if it is not fully up to the angst and edge of the early Bosch novels, it is still enough so to put it head and shoulders above most of the competition. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bosch is back, May 12 2012
By 
Nel B. Cameron (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
Just finished The Drop and must say, it's great to see Harry Bosch back in great form. I'm hopeful that there will be many more books with Harry in them. (Hint, hint Mr. Connolly). I enjoy the Lincoln Lawyer books but prefer Harry Bosch. I like his acerbic humour and outlook but am aware of his great humanity too. It doesn't always come out in the books but in the Drop, you see more of that side of him. And his failings. That's ok too...it's good to get to know a character. His treatment of his partner Chu doesn't sit well but I also understand where that comes from. Harry is a loner and is probably at his best when he has no partner or just a partner to do his leg work and office work for him. That discusses the character but not the book. It's great. The story is easy to follow and in this case, Harry has two cases at the same time. Connolly manages to keep the two plot lines separated enough so there is no confusion. Some great characters emerge from the story. Well described and easy to picture in your mind. All in all, a good book, well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, Dec 9 2011
By 
Sancho Mahle (Charlotte, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
This is a well-written book, I would say. It grabbed my attention right from the opening chapter. It is the best novel I have read in months in the mystery genre, with true to life characters, a plot to kill for and a brilliant presentation of the story through the right mix of dialogue and narration. The convergent of the plot from multiple angles reminds me of the thriller Flash of the Sun. The amazing thing about this novel is the unique insight Connelly provided on solving cases that makes this book not only a page-turner, but also a guide on crime solving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive detective work!, Sept. 12 2014
By 
Pat the cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Drop (Paperback)
I've read several books by this author and enjoyed most of them. This book features Detective Bosch who is now working in the open unsolved crime unit in Los Angeles. He is not the most charismatic man but, in this novel, he seems to have more personality than in previous novels. He's now close to the end of his career and he comes across as more "human" and flawed. In this novel, there were two main plots which are for the most part, independent from one another. One case is about the unsolved murder of a young girl dating back 20 years while the other is a live case which involves the son of Bosch's former chief with whom he had intense conflicts. It's really interesting to see how Bosch goes about both investigations and how he navigates the local political pressures -- so, it's like two novels for the price of one!! The pace is slow, the cases are not "shiny" and the level of action is mild (i.e., no silly car chases) and yet, the book kept me keenly interested and intrigued to the very end. I give it 4 out 5 stars (very good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Going Strong, Nov. 13 2012
By 
Toni Osborne "The Way I See It" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Drop (Paperback)
Book 15, in the Harry Bosch series

The novel opens with the aging Harry Bosch three years away from mandatory retirement working full time in the cold case squad with a new partner David Chu. In this latest installment Mr. Connelly has his protagonist eventually working two simultaneous investigations. The first, a cold case sex murder that lead to the discovery of a killer who operated in the city for three decades. The second is a politically charged investigation into the death of city councilman Irvin Irving’s son. Harry’s inquiries bring him back to a darker side of the police department when he and the councilman did not always see eye to eye.

Mr. Connelly’s prolific mind provides each novel with fresh and entertaining plots, a feat he has managed for decades. His characters have aged with the times and taken on all of the appropriate age related attributes. As Harry nears sixty and fears retirement, we see how he handles cases with more determination and stubbornness… it must be the hormones….Mr. Connelly’s approach to a good mystery is to develop the first plot, gradually introduce the characters and just when things are about to explode he brings in a second plot to magnify and prologue the suspense. Even with the many twists and surprises that are somewhat predictable the drama is engaging and captivating till the very end.

This series is one of my favourites and I often wonder what Mr. Connelly has up his sleeve for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Drop, Dec 30 2011
By 
L. D. Godfrey - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
Michael Connelly has written numerous novels many featuring one of my favourite detectives Harry Bosch. Connelly's new novel with LAPD Detective Harry Bosch "The Drop" has left me wondering if Harry's time has come to an end. I have been with Connolly from the start,always enjoying the Harry Bosch novels. "The Drop" is typical Harry Bosch but somehow it didn't feel right. It felt shallow and Harry felt old and it wasn't the talk about retirement. Although some of it may have been, Harry who has given new definition to the phrase"hard boiled" being called daddy.The plot was thin, there was a murder/suicide/ accident,the usual office politics,a love interest and a secondary plot. On the surface all the things a Bocsh novel should be but it still felt weak.It's not that I didn't enjoy the book, I did, you can't fault Connolly for his writing and how he paces the novel, maybe I was expecting too much.I wonder if you gave this book to someone that had never read a Bocsh novel or anything that Connolly has written, what the feedback would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and great characters!, Dec 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drop (Mass Market Paperback)
Seen Connelly's books on the shelf but never read one. Glad I ordered this as I really enjoyed the read. The Bosch character is one that you love to hate but he keeps you moving with him and wanting to solve the case. This particular novel has some interesting twists and turns which keeps you wanting to turn the page and not go to bed. If this novel is any indication of Connelly's work than I would place him in the league of James Patterson and almost a Baldacci ...

Michael Connelly writes very well; clearly, logically and concisely. He creates well-rounded and indepth characters that make the story plausible and fun. I enjoyed this character so much that I just ordered and already received the Bosch Novels with three highly rated stories ... looking forward to this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Drop
The Drop by Michael Connelly (Hardcover - Nov. 28 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews