Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry's Back!, March 18 2012
By 
R. Wilson (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
After some misses in the last couple of Harry Bosch novels, not to mention those Lincoln Lawyer stories where Harry plays a supporting role, which is not a good use of his character, I am glad to see that he is back in form in The Drop. The story is well plotted and paced and an entertaining read. Even if it is not fully up to the angst and edge of the early Bosch novels, it is still enough so to put it head and shoulders above most of the competition. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gruff but Noble, Feb. 6 2012
By 
Jeffrey Swystun (Toronto & Mont Tremblant) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
LAPD's Hieronymus "Harry" Bosch is a great character with more lives than a litter of cats. The entire series has been entertaining with a 'noir-lite' atmosphere that does very little to extol the virtues of Los Angeles. But it is the gruff but loving Harry who carries each outing. Borrowing a Sherlock Holmes' convention of presenting two mysteries in one book, Connelly has Harry trying to solve a brutal murder that has remained unsolved for twenty years while chasing down a politically charged potential suicide. The most compelling relationship is that between Harry and his partner...it provided a bridge between the two cases and was the most interesting part of the whole outing. One may complain that both Harry and his format are growing stale but his understated nobility and genuine desire to make the city safe have me anticipating the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Connelly develops 2 fascinating cases in inimitable style, Dec 31 2011
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
Michael Connelly doesn't fail to keep up to his usual standards in this book. Here Harry Bosch is dealing with 2 mostly unconnected cases - the death of a man who happens to be the son of a long-time enemy, Irvin Irving and the discovery of a serial killer who has been successfully concealing himself and his crimes for a long time. As far as I'm concerned, this book is a top-notch success. Bosch has to deal with his own personal failings, the complications of looking after his daughter Maddie, the politics of "high jingo" and a former partner's role at the highest levels of LAPD - oh, yeah he has cases to solve. Connelly is better than most at handling the ambiguities of the situation while still allowing us to understand and admire Bosch and what he is trying to accomplish.

At some point, Connelly is bound to disappoint, but not this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bosch is back, May 12 2012
By 
Nel B. Cameron (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
Just finished The Drop and must say, it's great to see Harry Bosch back in great form. I'm hopeful that there will be many more books with Harry in them. (Hint, hint Mr. Connolly). I enjoy the Lincoln Lawyer books but prefer Harry Bosch. I like his acerbic humour and outlook but am aware of his great humanity too. It doesn't always come out in the books but in the Drop, you see more of that side of him. And his failings. That's ok too...it's good to get to know a character. His treatment of his partner Chu doesn't sit well but I also understand where that comes from. Harry is a loner and is probably at his best when he has no partner or just a partner to do his leg work and office work for him. That discusses the character but not the book. It's great. The story is easy to follow and in this case, Harry has two cases at the same time. Connolly manages to keep the two plot lines separated enough so there is no confusion. Some great characters emerge from the story. Well described and easy to picture in your mind. All in all, a good book, well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time listening to a Connelly book, Feb. 1 2012
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Drop (Audio CD)
Harry Bosch returns in Michael Connelly's latest book - The Drop. Harry has three years left until mandatory retirement kicks in. He's working in the cold case squad now. When he and his partner Chu get a DNA hit from a twenty year old sample, they think a mistake has been made. The perp is in the system, but he would have been eight years old at the time. But just as they start investigating further, they are told to drop everything to investigate the death of a prominent city counciller's son. The summons comes from the top - Harry calls it 'high jingo' - there are political factions at war and work here. But of course, Harry works both cases.

Although I've read everything Connelly has written, this is the first of his books that I've listened to. Len Cariou was the reader. At first I found his slightly sibilant esses annoying, but as I got further into the story, I didn't hear them. His voice is rough and gravelly and immediately brought to mind the mental image I have of Harry. He also handled the other roles well, providing a different voice for each character.

The Drop had two great cases as the primary story lines. But it also has secondary plot lines involving Harry's personal life, notably with his daughter Maddie. I am enjoying Harry as a dad. Really, I can't say much more than The Drop is classic Connelly - an excellent read with a character I am quite partial to. And Connelly has left it open for another book with Bosch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, Dec 9 2011
By 
Sancho Mahle (Charlotte, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
This is a well-written book, I would say. It grabbed my attention right from the opening chapter. It is the best novel I have read in months in the mystery genre, with true to life characters, a plot to kill for and a brilliant presentation of the story through the right mix of dialogue and narration. The convergent of the plot from multiple angles reminds me of the thriller Flash of the Sun. The amazing thing about this novel is the unique insight Connelly provided on solving cases that makes this book not only a page-turner, but also a guide on crime solving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry "Solves" Two Cases While Thinking about What He Will Do after Retirement, Dec 14 2011
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
"For the mystery of lawlessness is already at work;" -- 2 Thessalonians 2:7 (NKJV)

As the book opens, Harry Bosch is looking forward to getting a new case in his role as a detective in the Open-Unsolved Unit of the LAPD. He soon receives one as well as the unexpected news that his mandatory retirement has been extended by 39 more months under the DROP (Deferred Retirement Option Program). The case is a touchy one: there's a DNA match on a rape-murder to a man who was 8 years old at the time. What's going on here?

Almost before Harry can draw a breath, yet another case lands in his lap, Councilman Irvin Irving's son has just been found dead at the tony Chateau Marmont. Did the younger Irving jump, was he pushed, did he fall, or did someone drop him after knocking him unconscious? Harry doesn't relish the case, and he's astonished to learn that Irving has insisted that Harry be the lead investigator . . . in light of their many years of battling one another. Soon, Harry is up to his eyeballs in politics. Irving has cut off overtime at LAPD. Could it be that the results of his investigation are part of a political deal to get overtime back?

Meanwhile, Harry is doing his best to be a dad to Maddie. But with so much going on, she's really raising herself.

On the personal front, Harry finds himself attracted to a most unusual woman and has major problems with his partner.

The two cases don't involve much action. They are primarily police procedurals, but Michael Connelly has added fascinating details that make the mysteries much murkier than I expected.

Harry isn't quite as wild and off the reservation as usual. Maddie seems to be calming him down.

The book shows different sides of Harry as he makes mistakes that will echo into future stories, I'm sure.

Some may find the endings to the two cases to be unsatisfying. I don't agree. Both "solutions" involve quite revealing insights into LAPD, Harry, and his philosophy of policing.

The book's main drawback is that either mystery could have been developed much more thoroughly in a standalone book. I thought that much of the potentially tasty pulp was left out of the orange juice in the process.

See what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, July 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A brilliant and believable plot. This is the Bosch stories I have read to date. Excellent character development and the story line never flags. The reader is drawn in and is compelled to follow it to it'conclusion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have not had time to read this book yet!, June 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
But I really like this author and are sure I will love this book. I now have a new kindle and love to buy books from Amazon, the servce is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoy all of Michael Connelly's books, Jan. 5 2013
By 
Freddie Helmer "POPNT10" (ONTARIO CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drop (Hardcover)
Another great read ---- interesting plot ---- always enjoy harry bosch and his way of solving crime and dealing with his associates
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Drop
The Drop by Michael Connelly (Hardcover - Nov. 28 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews