biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars29
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
15
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 16, 2015
My first Connelly read, I felt the prose style unmistakably male. It seemed fitting the hero, Harry Bosch would be namesake to a brand of powertools. Still, I sort of liked him. A double plot begins with a DNA match on an old murder victim to a suspect (Clayton Pell) who would have been only eight at the time. Has there been a mistake in the system? Bosch is relentless with finding answers, particularly when old adversary, Councillor Irving asks Bosch to look into the apparent suicide of his son, found at the foot of a highrise hotel.

The tale really rattles along without letup, particularly after Bosch encounters subtle manipulation in the most unexpected places. But those that appear to pull the strings are actually being manipulated. I couldn’t stop reading the part leading up to and the showdown of Bosch and Irving during a press conference. But the story is far from over, as Bosch has yet to locate a serial killer who has been sneakily leaving a bloody trail over three decades.

Connelly doesn’t go graphic with the horrors but he does with food and navigational directions. I felt a little sorry for Bosch’s partner, Chu, who after making a mistake, had to make it up big time to this resolute partner. It’s all very ‘high jingo,’ apparently.

I really didn’t see the twist at the end. Some might have seen it miles off and I usually see things coming in twisty plots. A really enjoyable read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2015
Another great Harry Bosch Book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
a must read
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
Harry Bosch at his best. Complete with jazz recommendations. Frank Morgan and others. He makes you believe you live in L.A.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An interesting and intricate story that has Bosch trying to solve a cold case as well as determine if a man who fell off a balcony was a suicide or a homicide. Things are never what they seem and when politics and crime combine, not everyone can be trusted. Another great mystery by Connelly!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
Great book, good price and free shipping. What ask more ?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2014
I was in Los Angeles couple of weeks ago ,I gould relate to the streets and the areas where incidents happened
Wonderful novel
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2014
OK
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
I loved it
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 12, 2014
I've read several books by this author and enjoyed most of them. This book features Detective Bosch who is now working in the open unsolved crime unit in Los Angeles. He is not the most charismatic man but, in this novel, he seems to have more personality than in previous novels. He's now close to the end of his career and he comes across as more "human" and flawed. In this novel, there were two main plots which are for the most part, independent from one another. One case is about the unsolved murder of a young girl dating back 20 years while the other is a live case which involves the son of Bosch's former chief with whom he had intense conflicts. It's really interesting to see how Bosch goes about both investigations and how he navigates the local political pressures -- so, it's like two novels for the price of one!! The pace is slow, the cases are not "shiny" and the level of action is mild (i.e., no silly car chases) and yet, the book kept me keenly interested and intrigued to the very end. I give it 4 out 5 stars (very good).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.87
$9.00
$9.90