Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives Up To Its Title
This book takes the core of the authors' previous book "Culinary Artistry" (which contains a list of just about any food you might wish to eat, and the flavors do and do not go with that food), and expands it to include a greater range complementary flavors, based on interviewing chefs and reviewing menus and recipes throughout America, based on evolving tastes since the...
Published on Nov. 11 2008 by Robert Pattison

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content. Terrible Layout
The contents of this book are great.
The layout is poor for a book with over 300 pages.
I used it a lot when I got it, and much like any other resource book, the more you use it, the less you need to look at it.
Published 9 months ago by Hunter Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives Up To Its Title, Nov. 11 2008
By 
Robert Pattison (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
This book takes the core of the authors' previous book "Culinary Artistry" (which contains a list of just about any food you might wish to eat, and the flavors do and do not go with that food), and expands it to include a greater range complementary flavors, based on interviewing chefs and reviewing menus and recipes throughout America, based on evolving tastes since the earlier book came out.

The Flavor Bible is better organized in many respects than Culinary Artistry - more food combinations listed, flavor affinities ranked (from "marriages made in heaven" to merely recommended), flavor conflicts better identified, and less of the authors' rather frou frou prose. Classic combinations of multiple flavors are provided as well (use these herbs and oils for Greek, use those for Thai). Chef's quotes provide interesting insights about flavor and technique throughout as well.

If you are an improvisational cook, this might well become the most useful cooking reference on your shelf. Buy this volume instead of Culinary Artistry if you don't already own the earlier book, but if you already own Culinary Artistry, you will want to own this one as well (I grabbed it the day I saw it). Pass on your much used, food stained copy of Culinary Artistry to a new cook.

My main quibble with the Flavor Bible would be that the three-column layout make it somewhat difficult to spot the main food at the head of each list - in this regard, I would have preferred that the authors stick with the layout of the list in Culinary Artistry.

I noticed that at least one flavor conflict (lavender and chestnuts) identified in a chef's quote did not make it into the lists - it might be worth scouring the quotes to look for other affinities and conflicts within the pages of the book for the next edition. They do not list two of my personal favorite flavor pals (strawberries + Drambuie, and cherries + harissa); however, my wife disagrees with me over the latter, so perhaps that is just as well.

A searchable CD-ROM containing the lists would be a valuable enhancement to this text; it would be wonderful to be able to cross reference compatible flavors with the other dimensions of flavor (taste, mouthfeel, aroma, and "the X factor") which are identified in the book, in order to facilitate experimenting with the types of contrasts which often lead to the creation of a successful dish.

None of the foregoing, however, should take away from the scope and accomplishment of this magnificent, ambitious, and highly useful work.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content. Terrible Layout, March 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
The contents of this book are great.
The layout is poor for a book with over 300 pages.
I used it a lot when I got it, and much like any other resource book, the more you use it, the less you need to look at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Resource Book for the Kitchen, Sept. 18 2009
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
The Flavor Bible is a great resource for those of us who like to cook without a recipe from time to time. I would say it is not for the beginner cook, who might need step-by-step instructions for creating a meal. The Flavor Bible presents, in alphabetical order, a rich variety of foods and flavours with corresponding ingredients to complement them. Some may be classic pairings and others quite unexpected and inspiring. The pairings are not just from the authors, but are a compilation of the best combinations from dozens of world famous chefs.
This is a perfect book for me, a spice and condiment collector who, once I get these treasures home, wonders what to do with them!
The book is prefaced with two chapters devoted to all the factors that go into how we taste foods, and the rest of the book is an encyclopedia of flavour matchings. I love that it is peppered with quotes and facts from chefs and cooks from around the world.
I look forward to reading Culinary Artistry one day soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kitchen Resource!, Dec 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
I can't get enough of this book. It is organized alphabetically by ingredient so when curiosity strikes it is easy to find what you are looking for. Many of the ingredients are accompanied by handy tips and all describe taste, weight and volume (i.e. how strong a flavour is) and suggest techniques to use it. The small stories from chefs throughout the book are inspiring and really get the creative juices flowing, not to mention they make me hungry reading them!
The only warning I have is that this is not a great book for beginners. This is not a recipe book and you will want to feel comfortable experimenting and creating new flavours on your own in order to get the most out of it. If you enjoy spending time in the kitchen you'll love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have, Feb. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
is very very interesting book ,specially if like cook and try new flavours and stuff to jump out of bored every day cooking .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staple on the Culinary Bookshelf, Feb. 12 2014
By 
chameleon (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
This is my 'go to' book for bumping up quick dishes. Provides ideas for flavour combinations in an instant! Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Good, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
I loved this book, It made enhancing recipes so much easier. It is truly essential for elevating recipes from plain home cooking to restaurant quality flavour combinations. No matter your skill level you should have this in your kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my culinary friend, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
She opened it up and read aloud multiple entries; she loves the scientific way it lays out everything; it's very clear cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most useful cookbook for me, April 9 2009
By 
M. Braithwaite "mb" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
This book has been fantastic for me. It is essentially an alphabetical list of ingredients, with each ingredient followed by an alphabetical list of items with flavour affinities, with some identified as especially synergistic. Very easy to use. (Reviewers here that quibble with the organization and want an index must not know their alphabet. It would be like adding an index to a dictionary.) Very helpful for ingredient-driven cooking. I use it almost daily, by choosing an ingredient on hand and identifying affinity items that I also have at hand. From this, Ieither look for a recipe with those ingredients, or simply improvise. I now prefer to improvise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my first choice, July 20 2014
By 
Mylène Bergeron Francoeur "Mongol Chef" (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs (Hardcover)
This book is not exactly what I thought it would be.

The concept is pretty simple: it has a very long list of ingredients, and it lists all the pairings possible, according to some chefs. I'm not personally too fond of the "celebrity chef" approach, but I do have to concede they have experience.

Their ranking system uses visual cues to tell us what flavor pairings are the best, using bold font and caps. Sometimes, it makes for very long lists of items, in alphabetical order. I would have made that in order of importance (very classic to more adventurous), because it sometimes looks like a very big mess.

Also, the season, taste, function, weight and volume will be shortly described. They might tell you the most common techniques for preparing the ingredient, give you tips about using it, describe the flavor affinities, and which ones are incompatible.

The book is very informative, but I think it could have been made into something more comprehensible and well organized. Comments from chefs are all over the place, and sometimes it's difficult to follow the list of pairings within the layout. Also, about 98% of the book is the listings of flavors pairings. I was expecting a bit more material in terms of how to select the pairings, and be adventurous in the kitchen, like why one thing works while the other will not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs
CDN$ 42.00 CDN$ 26.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews