Customer Reviews


3 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!
Story Description:

Little, Brown And Company|April 3, 2012|Hardcover|ISBN: 978-0-316-18590-5

Grace Winter, 22, is both a newlywed and a widow. She is also on trial for her life

In the summer of 1914 the elegant ocean liner carrying her and her husband, Henry, across the Atlantic suffers a mysterious explosion. Setting aside his own...
Published on July 6 2012 by Louise Jolly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an interesting study in personalities
Reason for Reading: I enjoy survival-at-sea stories and this immediately brought to my mind both the Titanic and the Alfred Hitchcock movie of the same name.

I enjoyed this book. It is short and a quick read and yet I found it didn't live up to my expectations or perhaps its full potential. I found the plot very predictable and kept waiting for a twist or...
Published on June 5 2012 by Nicola Mansfield


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an interesting study in personalities, June 5 2012
By 
Nicola Mansfield (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Lifeboat: A Novel (Hardcover)
Reason for Reading: I enjoy survival-at-sea stories and this immediately brought to my mind both the Titanic and the Alfred Hitchcock movie of the same name.

I enjoyed this book. It is short and a quick read and yet I found it didn't live up to my expectations or perhaps its full potential. I found the plot very predictable and kept waiting for a twist or shock to come into play but every time anything of consequence happened it was already something I expected to happen. I kept reading though because I couldn't believe that was all there was to the story and that some startling reveal was going to made at any point, but it failed to come. The story followed its expected outcome and ended quietly on that note.

As stated I did enjoy the story; it is an interesting study in personalities when they are confined together in peril and how they will react. Grace herself, I found to be an unlikeable character from the beginning. She is rather cold and calculating in her motives even before the shipwreck. She is an unreliable narrator and yet her true character easily shows through which is one point which makes the book so predictable. I haven't read any other reviews of this book yet but I have a feeling that this is a book some people will absolutely love, while others not so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars so so, May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not a lot of plot in this book. There could have been a lot more character development. Some unanswered questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!, July 6 2012
By 
Louise Jolly "Bookaholic" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lifeboat: A Novel (Hardcover)
Story Description:

Little, Brown And Company|April 3, 2012|Hardcover|ISBN: 978-0-316-18590-5

Grace Winter, 22, is both a newlywed and a widow. She is also on trial for her life

In the summer of 1914 the elegant ocean liner carrying her and her husband, Henry, across the Atlantic suffers a mysterious explosion. Setting aside his own safety, Henry secures Grace a place in a lifeboat, in which the survivors quickly realize is over capacity. For any to live, some must die.

As the castaways battle the elements, and each other, Grace recollects the unorthodox way she and Henry met and the new life of privilege she thought she'd found. Will she pay any price to keep it?

The Lifeboat is a page-turning novel of hard choices and survival, narrated by a woman as unforgettable and complex as the events she describes.

My Review:

The Lifeboat is a page-turning account of 21 days adrift in the Atlantic Ocean narrated by 22-year-old Grace Winter. The lifeboat is overloaded and some people are going to have to die, jumping overboard to their deaths to drown in the sea. Asking for volunteers there is utter silence so straws are drawn and those 3 who choose the shortest must go overboard. Who could feel right about playing God in this way?

The personalities of the men and women in the lifeboat are as different as night and day. There are those who are trouble makers, those who are afraid of their own shadow, those that feel `they' must be in charge, and those that vacillate between the combination of learning to go with the flow so as not to be centered out by anyone.

The emotions that these poor people go through are horrendous to say the least and the lack of food and water doesn't help but when your lips are swollen to twice their normal size, split open and bleeding and your tongue so dried out and swollen that it's cracking and drinking the salty sea-water is not an option for it would only worsen their condition.

In the end, three of the woman, including the quiet narrator, Grace Winter, are on trial for murder. Having been forced to make a decision at sea brought them to the point of out and out murder, however what transpires in the courtroom will surprise you.

As a debut novel, this was well-written, well thought out and left you feeling hopeful that you yourself are never put in the same position as these people found themselves. Charlotte Rogan has written a compelling, page-turner that should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lifeboat: A Novel
The Lifeboat: A Novel by Charlotte Rogan (Hardcover - April 3 2012)
CDN$ 27.99 CDN$ 22.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews