Customer Reviews


372 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Focus, Test and Believe
The words for my title were taken from the subheading of the concluding chapter of Malcolm Gladwell's intriguing book entitled The Tipping Point. The three words, focus, test and believe are not only a simple description of the entire concept of the book but also extremely effective when applied to Gladwell theory. For instance, a focus for a tipping point is any slight...
Published on Dec 9 2003 by Manoj Rathi

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No analysis, just amusing stories
This book is presented as an explanation of what it is that might cause something to go from insignificance to ubiquity. It in fact does nothing of the sort and is actually just an amusing collection of stories.
It is well written as a social history, and has a light, journalistic style good for dipping into, but the reader is left absolutely none the wiser as to why...
Published on Dec 17 2003 by J. J. Baker-bates


‹ Previous | 110 11 1238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Multidisciplinary Mastery, March 6 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
I've taught psychology at a university for twenty years, and was prepared to be dubious about Malcolm Gladwell's "The Tipping Point"; he is, after all, a journalist, not an academic. Despite his highly readable style, though, I was amazed by the level of sophistication and scholarship that he brings to his subjects. You can cavil about details, but the vigor and intellectual energy of the book is formidable. "The Tipping Point" assembles sometimes arcane findings from the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, the Journal of Consumer Researcher, Journal of Nonverbal Behavior, American Journal of Sociology, International Journal of Criminology and Penology and other scholarly resources. It explains and builds upon research by such major social-science figures as Marc Granovetter, Jonathan Crane, and the legendary Thomas Schelling. And the project is infused with an interdisciplinary ease: a special pleasure is the unexpected juxtapositions of research in linguistics, medical science, social psychology, marketing, political science, and mathematics All of which is to say that the erudition and theoretical sophistication of this work is truly impressive. It may be aimed at "civilians," but the guy can teach us scholars a few things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative and out of the ordinary, June 11 2000
By 
Joan Mazza "Author, speaker, poet" (Mineral, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
From Joan Mazza, author of DREAMING YOUR REAL SELF, DREAM BACK YOUR LIFE, FROM DREAMS TO DISCOVERY and THINGS THAT TICK ME OFF.
So much about THE TIPPING POINT was new information for me-from the making of children's television shows to the stories behind the falling crime rate in NYC to the study of fashion trends. I loved the detailed descriptions of the different personalities that contribute to the tipping phenomenon. It helps explain the success (and failure) of so many people's attempts to make a public impact. The concept of context, especially the "magic" number of 150, was in keeping with what I know about people living in intentional communities. Translating these ideas into positive "sticky" life choices has enormous potential for social change and personal satisfaction that most people can only get a glimpse of in their personal lives. **Very thought provoking.** I want to recommend it to everyone I can think of- and for very different reasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insight into Social Change, Sept. 9 2001
By 
S. Colgan (Riverside, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
As an individual working in a social service program at a middle school, I found THE TIPPING POINT to be filled with studies that challenge the way many education and prevention/intervention programs strive to reach their goals. I recommend this book for those in public service who struggle to spark positive social epidemics. It covers simple "marketing" techniques that although somewhat obvious to some, are often overlooked or ignored in programming by many government and public agencies. Gladwell examines trends in fashion, television, smoking, crime and even the American Revolution, focusing on several personality types that are "natural pollinators" of social revolutions.
If you are looking for a book to captivate you from beginning to end with flowery writing, this isn't for you. If you want to learn more about the onset and power of social epidemics, get a copy and take some notes! Gladwell packs his book with a great deal of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED this book, April 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
dozens of fascinating stories and theories about why ideas travel the way they do: why one idea will die an obscure death, while another--maybe no better, intrinsically, than the first--will catch fire and inspire enormous change. we tend to think that ideas spread in some mysterious, unpredictable way, but it turns out that even national trends can often be traced back to just a few people with strange, unusual, wonderful qualities, or to tiny, clever adjustments in how a message is communicated. there's a terrifically interesting chapter on how Sesame Street was created (communications theorists scrutinized every minute of the show to see what held kids' attention and what didn't), another one on why attempts to prevent teenage smoking have all failed, and a third part about how even something we think of as entirely private and self-determined--suicide--can in fact spread through a society like a virus. can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Will Teach You A Lot!, June 14 2000
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
I had no presuppositions about this book when I picked it up at a Borders, completely by chance. I guess the cover drew me in. Wow, was I lucky to have picked it up and skimmed through some selected pages.I keep reading and rereading it....not cover to cover, but here and there.The section about "stickiness" and Sesame Street will amaze every reader who has ever watched the t.v. program (as a kid or a parent). Gladwell offers so much insight into our everyday lives. Why things happen and why things don't. Why things are the way they are. It will make some begin to do a "paradigm shift" about the way they observe the world around them. I've already begun "tipping"...I plan to use Gladwell's insights in my professional world as a teacher and a children's writer.To think the man is in his thirties amazes me...Buy this book and share it with friends and family...A great Father's Day gift too! I say WOW! again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Point is Clear...But Here's a Tip., May 10 2001
By 
"gam2saints" (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
Gladwell sets out in this book to convince us of the reality of a 'tipping point' in the way that change happens. He asserts that many changes are not, as commonly believed, the result of large, glacial forces driving history and events...but are the result of small things, well-timed, well-placed, and well-articulated to bring about their 'contagiousness.' This book is an exposition of his evidence for the existence of the principle, not a how-to book that helps a person figure out how to 'tip' things.
The book itself is a pleasure to read. But it focuses so much upon narrative, and this reviewer would have liked to move a bit beyond anecdote and a little closer to raw discussion of theory. I would even have accepted that it was not his purpose to write a how-to book (though this would be helpful) if he would have engaged a bit more critical discussion of the principles.
All in all, this is an excellent book and well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tip this book, Dec 21 2000
By 
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
gladwell fans will notice that this book unifies many of his new yorker peices into one theory about how small changes made by exceptional people can influence large groups. but as a group, gladwell's stories are not as impressive as they were individual examples. the jacket says gladwell gives ideas the quality of action, and thats true. but his real talent is for finding and examining the characters that make his theory work, the exceptional folks like roger horshrow, lois weisberg and dee dee walker that make the read so interesting. these are great characters and their lives help him get at some interesting ideas. but i think he trips over himself trying to meld these examples into a unified theory that doesn't amount to much more than the point made in the subtitle: "little things can make a big difference." this is a good book by guy with some very good stories to tell, but i still prefer the peices i read for free on gladwell.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book For Marketers, Jan. 4 2001
By 
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
This book should become required reading for marketing professionals. While an interesting read from a social studies perspective, The Tipping Point reveals how big-time marketing campaigns can be a lot less important than more creative word-of-mouth and viral marketing techniques. Gladwell uses numerous examples from history, health care epedimics and the world around us to illustrate how making a product or message 'sticky' can be far more important than spending a lot of money on traditional advertising. I loved the illustration regarding Paul Revere, as well as the description of the chapters on the power of context. Maybe I liked this book because Gladwell proved that my instincts regarding really good marketing are true; we all love to be proved right. Good marketing is more a function of creativity and good testing, and not how much money you spend. The book also is easy reading and makes great dinner and cocktail party conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-Provoking, But Not Scientifically Sound, April 19 2001
By 
Ann M. Kelly (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
Take Malcolm Gladwell's book for what it is--an extremely entertaining book positing some very interesting and compelling ideas that may or may not be scientifically sound.
A scientist reading this book would likely pull his or her hair out at all of the subjective assertions made but I found the overall thesis engaging (albeit not necessarily all that unique) and the writing style the very definition of "couldn't put it down."
I also found Mr. Gladwell's descriptions of past scientific experiments and their results a great primer for those of us not quite up to speed in the world of psychology (great cocktail party conversation material).
Finally, while I had probably the most problems with his analysis of teen smoking, I thought Mr. Gladwell's suggested solution to be one of the most original recommendations I've seen on the subject. Here's hoping he's sending plenty of copies to policy makers in Washington, DC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As deeply human as it is thought-provoking, Feb. 27 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Hardcover)
Part Maven and part Salesman, Malcolm Gladwell compellingly expresses his Tipping Point theory as he has previous innovative perspectives in years of articles in The New Yorker: he presents his arguments with inimitable clarity and grace, addressing the reader personally in straightforward, unadorned language, and illustrating each point with vivid, specific examples. As moving as it is cerebral, as deeply human as it is thought-provoking, The Tipping Point is no mere marketing guide or scientific study. Reading it, I felt mesmerized, but that I was being convinced with my eyes open-ultimately, Gladwell is not a persuader but a teacher, and my mind tingled with learning on every page. When I finished the book and looked up, I felt subtly but unmistakably altered. With The Tipping Point, a small book with a varied, far-reaching scope, Gladwell brilliantly practices what he preaches: that little things can make a big difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference
The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference by Malcolm Gladwell (Hardcover - March 1 2000)
CDN$ 31.00 CDN$ 19.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews