Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT! A++!
This book is excellent!
I run a web site design, hosting, and web application development company and use this book as a reference tool when questions or situations pop up. It packs great information into each chapter and has real-world case studies at the end of each chapter (that most project managers can relate to).
Published on June 14 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly well written, but Windows only...
I liked this book, really I did. But half the reason I bought it was in hopes that I could find the stuff on the CD useful. Unfortunately, half the stuff on the CD was windows-only, which excludes UNIX and, more importantly, the majority of graphic designers who use Mac computers, such as myself. This flaw is also obvious in the book - anyone unwilling to purchase a...
Published on Nov. 20 2003 by Raymond Brigleb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars not really usefull, Feb. 24 2008
By 
PYL (Montréal, Qc,Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Real Web Project Management: Case Studies and Best Practices from the Trenches (Paperback)
Could be usefull for really beginners in project management. I would recommand that book for a technical person who has never worked in any real project, from the start to the end.

the book cover too much topics and i didn't notice any difference from any other project management process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly well written, but Windows only..., Nov. 20 2003
By 
Raymond Brigleb (Portland, OR, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Real Web Project Management: Case Studies and Best Practices from the Trenches (Paperback)
I liked this book, really I did. But half the reason I bought it was in hopes that I could find the stuff on the CD useful. Unfortunately, half the stuff on the CD was windows-only, which excludes UNIX and, more importantly, the majority of graphic designers who use Mac computers, such as myself. This flaw is also obvious in the book - anyone unwilling to purchase a windows system and Microsoft Project is SOL. Frustrating.
I should say that I also felt the book could be a little bit more specific about invoicing and billing clients. The interview on Extreme Programming (?) was more topical here! Overall, though, it's a pretty good book, but probably not warranting all the five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT! A++!, June 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Real Web Project Management: Case Studies and Best Practices from the Trenches (Paperback)
This book is excellent!
I run a web site design, hosting, and web application development company and use this book as a reference tool when questions or situations pop up. It packs great information into each chapter and has real-world case studies at the end of each chapter (that most project managers can relate to).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Web Project Management, March 8 2003
By 
barbaros ozdogan (West NewYork, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Real Web Project Management: Case Studies and Best Practices from the Trenches (Paperback)
I use this book for my Web project management class at Mercy College's MS in Internet Business Systems program. It covers all the details of a web project life cycle. Students find the book very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good one, Jan. 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Real Web Project Management: Case Studies and Best Practices from the Trenches (Paperback)
I've read a couple of other books on the subject, and though they were all excellent judged on their own merits, Shelford and Remillard's book stands out in at least three ways:
First, the emphasis placed on the practical aspects of web project management is invaluable. They just don't talk about what should be done, but also show how to do it. For instance, one knows that in order to be an effective project manager, s/he has to get along with all the players on the team. That's common sense, but what really helps is tips on how it should be done, as the authors do. In the quality assurance section, the importance of bug tracking is mentioned. Then they go on to talk about how to track the different bugs, the tools to use, information to keep etc.
Second, as someone before me has already mentioned, the case-studies in the book are really helpful. They give insight into how web projects are handled in the real world, ie corporations and smaller companies. If you're going to be working as a web PM, it certainly helps to know about the experiences others have had. In one example, the situation of an indepedent consultant is described - he has to deal with three or four different, non-complying, business units within the same company to simply obtain a copy of the the marketing email distribution list needed for the project. If you find yourself having to deal with problematic clients, you'll have a head start on how to handle the situation. We as readers can benefit from years of acumen developed and distilled by other project managers by simply reading the case-studies.
Thirdly, the templates and other documents provided in the CD are a good starting point for your own projects. You can put them to use immediately with minor modifications. Samples for various mock projects are provided, so you know what kind of information to collect.
All in all, a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent primer for web project management., Nov. 19 2002
By 
Voldar "voldar" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Real Web Project Management: Case Studies and Best Practices from the Trenches (Paperback)
Clearly, the web as we know it will only become more and more ingrained in our businesses and our society. As a relative neophyte to the Internet space I found this book to be invaluable in developing a better understanding of web development. Probably, the best thing about the book was its focus on practical applications and real world examples. The Internet of the 1990's was filled with industry jargon and pie in the sky ideas that have gone the way of the dodo (and Internet stocks sky high valuations). If someone is looking for how to develop a web site the right way, right away then this book is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book rocks..., Nov. 19 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "joshpearson" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Real Web Project Management: Case Studies and Best Practices from the Trenches (Paperback)
I worked in the trenches of the 90s web boom at various locales, and i wish we'd had this book to help us deal with some of the chaos we encountered. But not only are the case studies and analyses extremely helpfull, the thing is actually readable! These guy write with freshness and wit. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Real Web Project Management: Case Studies and Best Practices from the Trenches
CDN$ 83.99 CDN$ 52.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews