Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensible Requirements Analysis - Help is Here
How hard can it be to write Stories? The answer seems to be both "pretty simple" and "kind of tricky". Writing short sentences is a skill many of us have mastered by now, but working with people is the challenging part of any job. How many projects have delivered exactly what the Customer *specified*, but not quite what they need? Mike teaches us to...
Published on Aug. 2 2004 by dpreuss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Structure of this book can be improved
There are few points to add to this book:
1.P63 states FOUR points while it has (P64) only THREE points
2.English wording structuring in the sentence. (I don't mean to insult but to state what I've seen)
Published 13 months ago by fighter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensible Requirements Analysis - Help is Here, Aug. 2 2004
By 
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
How hard can it be to write Stories? The answer seems to be both "pretty simple" and "kind of tricky". Writing short sentences is a skill many of us have mastered by now, but working with people is the challenging part of any job. How many projects have delivered exactly what the Customer *specified*, but not quite what they need? Mike teaches us to keep our Stories simple enough that the team can really communicate with the Customer, responding to the complexities they express as a project progresses.
The book is practical and addresses not just the practice of User Stories, but also how to plan for their use and manage them within different kinds of projects. It includes an introduction to Agile approaches like Extreme Programming (XP) and Scrum, but does not presume that all teams must work in this manner.
Cohn's writing style is crystal clear. The layout of the book is superb, and the material is well developed to make the most of this structure, with short sections clearly titled. While readable as a training manual, the detailed table of contents also makes it valuable as a reference book.
For Agile teams, this book provides a condensation of valuable experience, and practical advice. And if your team is stuck in analysis paralysis, spinning to refine and refine requirements, this book may provide the "aha" you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Structure of this book can be improved, June 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
There are few points to add to this book:
1.P63 states FOUR points while it has (P64) only THREE points
2.English wording structuring in the sentence. (I don't mean to insult but to state what I've seen)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to understand and use Agile, Jan. 14 2013
By 
STP (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
Very well written book. It explains everything you need to understand Agile (a collaborative process involving customer and developers) and use it to deliver software that meets user expectations in an incremental way that allows for changes along the way, and achieve greater customer satisfaction, based on a more realistic approach for planning and estimating.

The book is filled with clear examples. Most chapters end with a summary, questions (answered in an Appendix), customer and developer responsibilities. There is a whole process case study in an Appendix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great overview, Oct. 18 2011
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
I've been working in Agile Software development environments for a couple of years now, in the form of Scrum Master and Product Owner. I personally found this book very useful for improving story writing within my project teams. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is currently working on or will be working on an Agile project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for those new to XP!, July 15 2004
By 
Michele Sliger "Agile Coach & Trainer" (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
I was once part of a new XP project where the users were very confused as to how to write a user story, having written nothing but detailed requirements their entire lives. The developers, also new to XP, didn't completely comprehend that they were to actually work with and talk to the users to elicit further details. Oh, if only I had had this book then! I would have purchased a copy for every user and every developer! There is a huge mental shift that has to take place when embracing agile methodologies, and Mike Cohn's book is an excellent catalyst for that change, making it a less painful transformation for those players involved. Cohn even spells out each group's responsibilities at the end of every chapter -- there's no ambiguity around who's supposed to do what. There are lots of examples that are easily understood, and the layout provides you with the information you and your team need in a logical sequence. Chapter 4 has a fabulous section called "Story Writing Workshop" that again provides that step-by-step hand-holding that first-timers need. I highly recommend this book. It's an excellent primer on the process of defining requirements in an agile environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agile Requirements Management Demystified, July 12 2004
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
Finally a book that demystifies Agile Requirements Management. In particular demystifying myths about User Stories themselves.
The book puts together ideas from other books on the subject : Writing Effective Use Cases and Requirements by Collaboration :
Workshop for defining needs.
This book not only explains properly the concepts but gives you practical advice on how you could use user stories on your projects.
I particularly liked the chapter : Using Stories with Scrum.
Reading this book was truly an enjoyable and learning experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mike is right - user communication is everything, July 9 2004
By 
Ole Jepsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
Having worked with SW development for more than 20 years, I have finally realised, that face to face, collaborative communication between users and developers in an open atmosphere is the first important step on your way to successfull projects.
Many books covers this briefly in a chapter or two, but with this book, you get a complete manual with techniques, that will be usefull to you in your collaboration with the users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The importance of stories, July 9 2004
By 
Linda Rising (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
Mike Cohn not only has a wealth of experience but also the ability to tell his story in an understandable and compelling way. The result is that the reader walks away saying, "OK! I get it. I don't know why I thought this would be so hard!" These stories are more than the details of the mechanisms of writing user stories. Sure, that's good all by itself. The big, important thing about this book is that the details are cast in an expansive foundation that really shows you how effective teams work with each other and with customers. That's why I give this two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 8/10, June 24 2004
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
I give this book eight out of ten.
What I like about it:
It is well written and easy to read. The book is presented in a nice flowing style that I found mostly friendly and enjoyable.
Each chapter concludes with a summary of the information from that chapter and questions to help reinforce learning process.
At the end of each chapter are listed the responsibilities for the developer and those for the customer roles.
The book covers user stories. It does what it sets out to do. The title describes it well.
The contents are well thought through and seem to cover most questions that I get asked on a regular basis relating to user stories.
In order to get a ten:
It would be shorter. It feels like a lot of reading to get what is in fact a simple idea. It takes too long to get all the information from the book. I can see the struggle involved in getting all the information into the book and at the same time keeping it concise.
The book would contain some hands on exercises (or walk through examples) for the reader to follow the entire process. Part IV presents an example but is taken from an external examination point of view. I would like to be drawn in and become part of the process so I can get a better understanding of user stories.
For more of Dr. Neil's reviews go to [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars User Stories Demystified, June 2 2004
This review is from: User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development (Paperback)
User Stories Demystified - As you leaf through Mike Cohn's new book "User Stories Applied", the first thing you will experience is a dramatic sense of relief. A certain calm will come over you because at last you have in your hands a very clear, succinct, step-by-step view into the what, when, where, how, and why of user stories. Mike's delivery of this material is richly simple in that he manages to sift through the many worries and controversies that surround the role of user stories in an agile project environment and takes us to the nuggets. At the same time, he sparks the fundamentals with a variety of suggestions for implementation based on his extensive experience. In various XP teams in which I have worked, an early challenge of the team had always been around the ability of the team to shift from requirements and design documents and detailed test plans to user stories. Writing them was tortuous; later interpretation of them felt fuzzy. With Mike's guidance, we would have known not only how to write, estimate, prioritize, and test our stories, we would have also had ample guidance on who should be paying attention to what in each step of the stories' lifecycle. If you are beginning a new project, release, sprint, or iteration, don't move another step without distributing Mike's book across the team as pre-requisite reading. They'll all thank you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development
User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development by Mike Cohn (Paperback - March 1 2004)
CDN$ 57.99 CDN$ 36.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews