Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars There's life beyond Google
After having read the book "Search Engine Optimization" back in 2002, I hadn't run into anything as useful and concise to help with the SEO (Search Engine Optimization, in case you're wondering) functions. The beauty of the book by this long time consolidated Web Marketer is that it is general while still being extremely useful. True, it doesn't focus on Google,...
Published on Jan. 22 2004 by Manny Hernandez

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Experts pass your way, this book is for newbies
I read this book over the weekend and my advice to you all SEOer, pass your way ... you won't learn anything new.
I'm sorry :) if I was not supposed to read this book, but this is clearly material aimed at beginners to website development and to search engine promotion.
Moreover the 5 chapters that compose this book (sold for 300 pages) span over 225 pages with...
Published on Feb. 3 2003 by Gilles Belin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars There's life beyond Google, Jan. 22 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
After having read the book "Search Engine Optimization" back in 2002, I hadn't run into anything as useful and concise to help with the SEO (Search Engine Optimization, in case you're wondering) functions. The beauty of the book by this long time consolidated Web Marketer is that it is general while still being extremely useful. True, it doesn't focus on Google, but I think that is precisely its biggest strength, because there's life beyond Google.
As much as we'd like to think that Google is the ultimate Search Engine for which you need to optimize, the truth is that there are several others, any of which, if you do your homework, following the advice from this book, you will get the traffic you deserve... specially, considering the shakedown that the Search Engine industry will be submitted to during 2004 and 2005, as Yahoo! dumps Google and Microsoft strikes back with a propietary search solution.
All in all, I appreciated the information by Ms. Thurow and the structure it was given. It is one of the two best books out there on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Fluff -- Little Depth, June 12 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
I agree with the guy who said that the book is mostly her opinion on what makes good designs.
There is very little actual SEO information and what can be found is very basic in nature. You can find much more information from free websites.
There is also an excessive amount of fluff. For instance she spends an entire page explaining what a URL is. Maybe she thought her target audience was the Internet ignorant.
She also contradicts herself sometimes. For instance she uses the example of a site called "TranquiliTeas" and says that it would be unethical to separate the run-on just to increase keyword density because that is not the true site name. One inch down on the page she then advocates leaving off ".Inc" for this exactly purpose. (actually she claims that its because people don't search for "Inc." but of course people don't search for "TranquiliTeas" either). In any case you're doing the same thing, changing the actual company name to increase relevance. Depending on which part of the page you're reading its either spam or good practice.
Of course if you want my opinion the correct advice would be to plan for promotion before you form your business, and so when naming your business include a space between your keywords. So in other words, don't name your site "CarParts" name it "Car Parts." Problem solved.
My recommendation? Don't buy it, but if you must have it find it at a library (if possible). It'll only take a day or so to get the few bits of useful info out of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title...View the book first before buying!, May 4 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
70% of the chapters in Shari Thurow's book address her own personal view of what Web design should be. The example she sights of what Web design should be, look like the ones I saw when the Web first started out. In her view, the Web is nothing more than a fancy version of a database system, completely missing point what makes the Web "the Web". I felt I was reading a Jacob Nielson book (another self proclaimed dubious Web guru). I was looking for a behind the scenes look of what makes search engines tick, in order to position my Web site better. Well all I got was a disappointing basic intro to search engines. The material was utterly rudimentary, and did not provide any new insights for me that might seem useful in positioning my site. It more her personal opinions than fact with a lecture about what we should do to ease the search engine administrator's work, rather than how we can edge out the competition. Overall, I was very disappointed, as the titled seemed so promising. I am still hoping for someone to write a book on this subject, as it is a one of great importance in today's WWW....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding guide to common sense search engine promotion!, Feb. 10 2003
By 
Adam F. Jewell (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
This book puts search engine optimization in perspective. If you've been looking at the web sites of search engine optimization firms and not been able to figure out what it is they do, this book will clue you in as to what you should expect to hear from a reputable company. It may also be an eye opener if you think attaining top rankings in the main search results on engines like Google is as simple as breaking out the checkbook and paying some company to "do optimization" without making any changes to your website (though there are some companies that can pull this off for surprisingly long periods of time).
Search Engine Visibility is the first book I've ever seen that acknowledges search engine optimization does not exist in a vacuum separate from the business or philanthropic goals of a website. Search engine optimization should be an integral part of the planning and design stages of any website. It's refreshing to see a publication that emphasizes this.
This book will help you understand what you can do to increase search engine referrals and further your business goals without spamming the engines. [Though if you take everything in this book literally you may be scared that if you put a few words in your meta tags that don't appear in the copy of your page Google will ban your site - that's just not going to happen, but you do put your site at risk if you resort to some of the other Spam tactics mentioned in the book]
You'll learn best practices in:
* Keyword research and selection
* Site design and layout
* Designing search engine friendly navigation systems
* Crafting keyword (and user!) focused copy on your pages
* Improving visibility for search engine "challenged" sites
* Preparing for and doing directory submissions
The section on dealing with directories and directory editors is probably the best write up of the directory planning, submission, and listing process I've ever seen. [This comes from one who has been one of those editors since 99'] It gives you very realistic expectations with respect to getting your site listed in the major web directories. Follow the included guidelines and checklists and you can't go wrong. Chances are, however, it will take a fairly long time for your site to get reviewed and listed unless you expressly pay for an express review.
You won't find the minute technical details of how each engine works in this book and you don't need them. All engines look at the link text and visible copy on your site as well as some combination of title, description, keyword, alt, and header tags. Focus on the basics and you'll do just fine. Keep your eye on your customers; a search engine spider will never buy anything from you.
To round out your search engine optimization/marketing library be sure to pick up a copy of "NetWords", "Persuasive Online Copywriting", and a good book on style sheets (CSS) such as "Designing CSS Web Pages" By Christopher Schmitt or "Eric Meyer on CSS"
For more up to the minute info on search engine promotion pay a visit to the WebmasterWorld forums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Experts pass your way, this book is for newbies, Feb. 3 2003
By 
Gilles Belin "mcgil" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
I read this book over the weekend and my advice to you all SEOer, pass your way ... you won't learn anything new.
I'm sorry :) if I was not supposed to read this book, but this is clearly material aimed at beginners to website development and to search engine promotion.
Moreover the 5 chapters that compose this book (sold for 300 pages) span over 225 pages with a third-of-the-page right margin ... this book could be half its size.The rest is forewords, introduction, link list, glossary, index and a free chapter of another book "Speed up your web site" (nothing-new-here-also).
The five chapters are :
- Before you build (36 pages)
- How to build better web pages (72p)
- Page design workarounds (47p)
- After your site is built (47p)
- Best practices : the Dos and Don'ts of Search Engine Marketing (17p)
I only give two stars now because nowhere is this book clearly advertised as a book for beginners.
The back-cover tells : "This book teaches developers, designers, programmers, and online marketers what pitfalls to avoid from the beginning so they can provide their clients with more effective site designs" ... I find it hard to believe that we can still find developers and designers... that don't know those basic facts about website building.
But give me that book 5 years ago and I would have loved it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best SEO book for beginners, Sept. 23 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
Those who have written that this book is misleading etc are seeing things too much from their own point of view. To be honest, there was nothing in this book I did not already know. But how long had it taken me to learn all that knowledge? I think the author has done a great job of producing a comprehensive product that will take a person who wants to learn SEO from knowing nothing to the point were they know the basics. And the basics are really what counts in this business. I am employed full time as a Search Engine Optimization Specialist by a multi-million dollar company and no, this book is not for SEO professionals but it is definately the best book for beginners and the small office/home office crowd (and there are quite a few of them).
This book is enough for small business owners but if you want to progress as a professional after mastering this book then I recommend "Web Metrics: Proven Methods for Measuring Web Site Success" by Jim Sterne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't talk about google - waste of money, Jan. 5 2004
By 
A Customer (United States of MF America) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
I run a web site that gets quite a bit of traffic (#270,000 in the world according to Alexa), and I know a little something about how google works. The problem with this book is that it doesn't talk about google. At all. A search engine visibility book that doesn't specifically get in depth on google. Look people, NO OTHER SEARCH ENGINE BESIDES GOOGLE MATTERS. OK? Thinking otherwise is "so 1997", :-) If you have a web site you know what I'm talking about. Look at your server logs. Plain as day. Google won. 87% of my search engine traffic comes from google. 11% more from Yahoo, using google's results. The numbers are real.
Anyway, why would you want a book with outdated information? For thirty bucks no less. Get something good like google hacks, and a copy of learning perl. Then you might really get somewhere. Google hacks has an AWESOME section on getting good search engine rankings. Best I've ever read in fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! An SEO Book That Doesn't Teach Tricks!, Feb. 10 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
Many people think that creating a Website that can be found in the search engines means you have to forfeit a great looking design. Others believe that search engine marketing is all about tricking the engines and fooling directory editors.
Shari Thurow's 'Search Engine Visibility' explains in clear, concise language why this just isn't so!
Today's Internet search engines and directories want to see the same thing as your site visitors -- a Website that clearly states what it has to offer. Shari's done a great job of putting her years of designing search engine friendly sites into words the average Webmaster will understand.
Search engine marketing takes one giant leap forward with this book that spells out exactly what you should do (as well as what you shouldn't do) to achieve long-term Website success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yellow Pages Commando Recommendation, April 26 2004
By 
Richard L. Larkin "YPcommando" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
The field of Internet marketing is really coming into its own.
There is a science behind designing websites that achieve top rankings in the search engines.
I've found one book that is easy to read, easy to implement, and extremely well researched.
Search Engine Visibility by Shari Thurow is the benchmark by which all other guides are measured.
If you have a website and expect anyone to find it, you should get this book.
I highly recommend it to all of my subscribers and Yellow Pages advertising clients. It helps the people you're trying to find get to your web site.
The author and I have both been speakers at Search Engine Strategies conferences, and she consistently draws the largest crowds. She puts the highest levels of search engine marketing ethics into everything she does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starter into the whole SEO world, Dec 6 2003
By 
Mike Druttman (Hod Hasharon, Israel) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Search Engine Visibility (Paperback)
For those of us who are drawn to the subject of Web Site Marketing, and in particular Search Engine Optomization (SEO) I find it difficult to fault this book. It's written in an easy, understandable style and takes you methodically through the subjects, from simple to more complex. Part 1 (Before You Build) is particularly helpful in presenting a 'top down' view which helps you to get your bearings before launching into the 'meat' of the book. How often has an expert explained something to you that he/she thought was simple and you found difficult? Shari does not fall into that trap. I also greatly appreciated her overall message that ethics and openness play an important part in this SEO game - despite what all the tricksters would have you believe! It has certainly got me started on the right road into SEO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Search Engine Visibility (2nd Edition)
Search Engine Visibility (2nd Edition) by Shari Thurow (Paperback - Aug. 29 2007)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 23.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews