Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars24
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$36.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(5 star).Show all reviews
on January 22, 2004
After having read the book "Search Engine Optimization" back in 2002, I hadn't run into anything as useful and concise to help with the SEO (Search Engine Optimization, in case you're wondering) functions. The beauty of the book by this long time consolidated Web Marketer is that it is general while still being extremely useful. True, it doesn't focus on Google, but I think that is precisely its biggest strength, because there's life beyond Google.
As much as we'd like to think that Google is the ultimate Search Engine for which you need to optimize, the truth is that there are several others, any of which, if you do your homework, following the advice from this book, you will get the traffic you deserve... specially, considering the shakedown that the Search Engine industry will be submitted to during 2004 and 2005, as Yahoo! dumps Google and Microsoft strikes back with a propietary search solution.
All in all, I appreciated the information by Ms. Thurow and the structure it was given. It is one of the two best books out there on the topic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2003
This book puts search engine optimization in perspective. If you've been looking at the web sites of search engine optimization firms and not been able to figure out what it is they do, this book will clue you in as to what you should expect to hear from a reputable company. It may also be an eye opener if you think attaining top rankings in the main search results on engines like Google is as simple as breaking out the checkbook and paying some company to "do optimization" without making any changes to your website (though there are some companies that can pull this off for surprisingly long periods of time).
Search Engine Visibility is the first book I've ever seen that acknowledges search engine optimization does not exist in a vacuum separate from the business or philanthropic goals of a website. Search engine optimization should be an integral part of the planning and design stages of any website. It's refreshing to see a publication that emphasizes this.
This book will help you understand what you can do to increase search engine referrals and further your business goals without spamming the engines. [Though if you take everything in this book literally you may be scared that if you put a few words in your meta tags that don't appear in the copy of your page Google will ban your site - that's just not going to happen, but you do put your site at risk if you resort to some of the other Spam tactics mentioned in the book]
You'll learn best practices in:
* Keyword research and selection
* Site design and layout
* Designing search engine friendly navigation systems
* Crafting keyword (and user!) focused copy on your pages
* Improving visibility for search engine "challenged" sites
* Preparing for and doing directory submissions
The section on dealing with directories and directory editors is probably the best write up of the directory planning, submission, and listing process I've ever seen. [This comes from one who has been one of those editors since 99'] It gives you very realistic expectations with respect to getting your site listed in the major web directories. Follow the included guidelines and checklists and you can't go wrong. Chances are, however, it will take a fairly long time for your site to get reviewed and listed unless you expressly pay for an express review.
You won't find the minute technical details of how each engine works in this book and you don't need them. All engines look at the link text and visible copy on your site as well as some combination of title, description, keyword, alt, and header tags. Focus on the basics and you'll do just fine. Keep your eye on your customers; a search engine spider will never buy anything from you.
To round out your search engine optimization/marketing library be sure to pick up a copy of "NetWords", "Persuasive Online Copywriting", and a good book on style sheets (CSS) such as "Designing CSS Web Pages" By Christopher Schmitt or "Eric Meyer on CSS"
For more up to the minute info on search engine promotion pay a visit to the WebmasterWorld forums.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2003
Those who have written that this book is misleading etc are seeing things too much from their own point of view. To be honest, there was nothing in this book I did not already know. But how long had it taken me to learn all that knowledge? I think the author has done a great job of producing a comprehensive product that will take a person who wants to learn SEO from knowing nothing to the point were they know the basics. And the basics are really what counts in this business. I am employed full time as a Search Engine Optimization Specialist by a multi-million dollar company and no, this book is not for SEO professionals but it is definately the best book for beginners and the small office/home office crowd (and there are quite a few of them).
This book is enough for small business owners but if you want to progress as a professional after mastering this book then I recommend "Web Metrics: Proven Methods for Measuring Web Site Success" by Jim Sterne.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2003
Many people think that creating a Website that can be found in the search engines means you have to forfeit a great looking design. Others believe that search engine marketing is all about tricking the engines and fooling directory editors.
Shari Thurow's 'Search Engine Visibility' explains in clear, concise language why this just isn't so!
Today's Internet search engines and directories want to see the same thing as your site visitors -- a Website that clearly states what it has to offer. Shari's done a great job of putting her years of designing search engine friendly sites into words the average Webmaster will understand.
Search engine marketing takes one giant leap forward with this book that spells out exactly what you should do (as well as what you shouldn't do) to achieve long-term Website success.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2004
The field of Internet marketing is really coming into its own.
There is a science behind designing websites that achieve top rankings in the search engines.
I've found one book that is easy to read, easy to implement, and extremely well researched.
Search Engine Visibility by Shari Thurow is the benchmark by which all other guides are measured.
If you have a website and expect anyone to find it, you should get this book.
I highly recommend it to all of my subscribers and Yellow Pages advertising clients. It helps the people you're trying to find get to your web site.
The author and I have both been speakers at Search Engine Strategies conferences, and she consistently draws the largest crowds. She puts the highest levels of search engine marketing ethics into everything she does.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2003
For those of us who are drawn to the subject of Web Site Marketing, and in particular Search Engine Optomization (SEO) I find it difficult to fault this book. It's written in an easy, understandable style and takes you methodically through the subjects, from simple to more complex. Part 1 (Before You Build) is particularly helpful in presenting a 'top down' view which helps you to get your bearings before launching into the 'meat' of the book. How often has an expert explained something to you that he/she thought was simple and you found difficult? Shari does not fall into that trap. I also greatly appreciated her overall message that ethics and openness play an important part in this SEO game - despite what all the tricksters would have you believe! It has certainly got me started on the right road into SEO.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2003
Shari Thurow offers practical tips for effective and "safe" search engine optimization. She reveals the design techniques that attract search engine spiders without compromising Web site aesthetics (yea!). She also provides examples and resources to help business owners create a search engine marketing strategy, and to help Web designers implement it.
I appreciated the detailed recommendations - such as the character length of meta data and how to use the "robots.txt" file. Thurow's design experience shines through her suggestions too; for example, what font/typeface and hyperlink colors best appeal to Web site customers.
Even if readers are looking to outsource their search engine optimization efforts, this book will educate them on the techniques that professional firms should use.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2003
People ask me all the time about Search Engine optimization and marketing -- now I have this great book to recommend to them. I really like the helpful tone, the examples, the straightforward advice that will make good web sites. So many people hype their magic formula, which turns out to be search engine spam. Shari Thurow does a great job of showing how to make web sites that work well for both users and search engines. No nonsense, no search engine "spamming", just good information and useful techniques.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2003
I am a Search Engine Consultant myself and I got to know about this book from the SEO Conference Handbook. It was nice to see this book recommended by them and I immediately got on the web, purchased it and soon after it was delivered to me, I read it all and I must say this is value for money for all those who want an insight into SEO.
Get this book and start reading and drop a thanks note to the author. Good work. You can reach me at [...] if you need any more info about me or about this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2003
This is a terrific book for those who want to attract increased traffic to their web sites. Shari clearly has an outstanding grasp of the indexing algorithms used by the major search engines - but more than that she provides good common sense guidance for high visibility, which works across all search engines.
She avoids providing tricks and stunts for attracting traffic, and focuses on the overriding importance of link popoularity and content.
Five Stars for quality.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse