Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete, but not for the beginner
The first chapter gives an extremely useful overview of C++11, the latest C++ standard. The rest of the book is more of a complete reference that fills in details of the standard, the motivations for the choices made, and the author's opinions about those choices, favorable or not. Stroustrup, as the original creator of the language, is uniquely placed to go into...
Published 6 months ago by William W. Armstrong

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dense
Written by the creator of the language, it is a bit difficult to understand for a newbie like me. The author takes a lot for granted, and doesn't seem to realize how dumb the rest of humanity might be. On the other hand, this is basically one of the Bibles for C++. Everything in here is accurate, reliable and the word of Bjarne. The problem isn't with the words, but...
Published 2 months ago by Joe H.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete, but not for the beginner, Sept. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first chapter gives an extremely useful overview of C++11, the latest C++ standard. The rest of the book is more of a complete reference that fills in details of the standard, the motivations for the choices made, and the author's opinions about those choices, favorable or not. Stroustrup, as the original creator of the language, is uniquely placed to go into details. Many programmers like myself will only rarely need to go into great depth on any topic, but it is comforting to know that the answers are at hand in this book. One noteworthy fact is the extreme care taken in preparation of the text: In going through the whole book, admittedly skimming plenty of details, I found fewer than a dozen errors, some of them just nit-picking. This book is not intended as a primer to show beginners how to program in C++. It does deserve to be on the bookshelf of anyone aspiring to in-depth knowledge of C++.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough, July 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language (4th Edition) (Paperback)
I thought this book would help me learn what I don't know about C++. I thought I knew a lot so I figured only to go to specific sections. Now I know that I know nothing. It's very thorough and technical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dense, Feb. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Written by the creator of the language, it is a bit difficult to understand for a newbie like me. The author takes a lot for granted, and doesn't seem to realize how dumb the rest of humanity might be. On the other hand, this is basically one of the Bibles for C++. Everything in here is accurate, reliable and the word of Bjarne. The problem isn't with the words, but with my sadly deficient IQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch printing job, May 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language (4th Edition) (Paperback)
Great contents, but more importantly the multi-colored print job makes reading this book a bloody joy.

All programming manuals should take notes. In fact, someone go back and re-markup K&R, I'll buy it all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it too!, Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love it! I don't think any comments are needed in case when Bjarne talks about C++.
I keep it around all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfb5100c)

This product

The C++ Programming Language (4th Edition)
The C++ Programming Language (4th Edition) by Bjarne Stroustrup (Paperback - May 9 2013)
CDN$ 78.99 CDN$ 49.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews