Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out, direct and no fluff...
I have been a software developer for a number of years and I wanted to get up to speed with Objective C so I could start some iPhone/Mac projects.

This book, while targeted at a novice audience, is perfect for all skill levels. If you have experience with other languages like Java, C#, C++ you will be able to move through the first portion of the book on...
Published on Dec 31 2008 by Bill Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid beginner's guide
This might be a good beginner's guide to objective C, but it's not good enough for you to make any apps. It does not give introduction to many popular classes in the UIKit. I don't have any problem with this being at beginner's level, but I think it will be better if the book can give us some pointers on where to look on for example view management stuff.
Published on Dec 26 2010 by tyt198


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out, direct and no fluff..., Dec 31 2008
By 
Bill Wilson (Halifax, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C 2.0 (Paperback)
I have been a software developer for a number of years and I wanted to get up to speed with Objective C so I could start some iPhone/Mac projects.

This book, while targeted at a novice audience, is perfect for all skill levels. If you have experience with other languages like Java, C#, C++ you will be able to move through the first portion of the book on Objective C rather quickly. Many parts will be familiar, but the author is quick to point out the gotchas and best practice way of getting things done with Objective C.

The Objective C section gives the perfect base to move forward into the Foundation and Cocoa Touch framework sections. The examples are built up through out the book, which is nice since you get some hands on coding done right out of the gate, and you can move the examples and exercises through to the cocoa iPhone section of the book easily. The iPhone section is very concise and contains little fluff, Once complete the reader should feel comfortable enough with the Interface Builder and Cocoa Touch concepts to move forward with more in depth iPhone development or more detailed iPhone texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Objective C 2.0 Learning Resource!, Aug. 5 2009
By 
ReachWest (Calgary, Alberta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C 2.0 (Paperback)
If you're serious about learning Objective C 2.0, (and willing to commit the time and effort), this is an excellent resource and teaching tool.

Kochan starts with the basics and moves the reader through the process of developing numerous Objective C applications (by way of examples and exercises). There is a companion online interactive forum to help the reader along each step of the way - so if you get stumped, you can log in to the forum and get help from other readers or Kochan, himself.

This is a great resource for aspiring iPhone programmers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide, from A to Objective-C., May 11 2009
By 
Marc-Andre Belair (Ottawa, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C 2.0 (Paperback)
Apologies for the pun.

This book has been an absolute treat to read. As a completely inexperienced programmer (with a bit of grade 11 PASCAL and grade 12 C, back in 1998), this book is entirely approachable. Author Stephen Kochan does not presume any knowledge of C, C++ or objected-oriented programming, and instead teaches Objective-C from the beginning.

The author takes you through key concepts chapter by chapter, with numerous code examples and exercises to reinforce the key messages presented. While the author does require the novice programmers to make a leap of faith every once in a while, (Fraction *myFraction = [[Fraction alloc] init]; just trust me, this will be explained later) the concepts quickly begin to gel and make sense.

While this book does have a brief section on writing applications using the Cocoa framework, the core of the book revolves around teaching the Objective-C language and its object-oriented approach.

This book is highly recommended for new learners who need a bit of hand-holding, and perhaps some veteran programmers who may need to "deprogram" themselves into the Objective-C way of thinking. Sorry for the puns again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid beginner's guide, Dec 26 2010
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C 2.0 (Paperback)
This might be a good beginner's guide to objective C, but it's not good enough for you to make any apps. It does not give introduction to many popular classes in the UIKit. I don't have any problem with this being at beginner's level, but I think it will be better if the book can give us some pointers on where to look on for example view management stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A book about Objective C but not version 2.0, May 16 2010
By 
This review is from: Programming in Objective-C 2.0 (Paperback)
This is a book sailing under a false flag. It may be a perfectly good book on the basics of Objective C 1.0, but what it isn't is a book about Objective C 2.0. It barely skims the features of the new version; examples - on memory management: 15 pages on autorelease and reference counting which are Objective C 1.0 features, one and a half pages on garbage collection which is objective C 2.0 - two half pages only if you just count the text. On the @property tag - minimal. On key-value encoding, which is essential to understand proper use of @property - minimal. On Appendix Objective C 2.0 language summary, a fairly good quick language reference for Objective C 1.0. On 64 bit programming - nothing much other than declaring ints as long long which you could do in Objective C 1.0. I can't comment on the iPhone section, but at least there's more content there than there is on Objective C 2.0 features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Programming in Objective-C 2.0
Programming in Objective-C 2.0 by Stephen G. Kochan (Paperback - Jan. 7 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews