Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible as Always, Jan. 24 2012
By 
Nick (Airdrie, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
Joe McNally became one of my favourite authors/photographers when I first read The Hot Show Diaries. That book was so great that I had to pick up a copy of his other book, The Moment It Clicks. I was then waiting in agony for months for Sketching Light to be released as the date kept getting pushed back. When I finally got my copy I was not disappointed. I've been to a workshop with Joe and he definitely practices what he preaches. Reading his books makes it feel like you're sitting in a room having a conversation with him (or rather that you're in the field somewhere and he's moving around describing the shape of some light source). If you're interested in portraiture or flash photography then this book is for you. If you're considering it then Joe will make you a convert. If you have either of the other two books I've mentioned then this book is for you, too. It's nice how, right near the beginning, Joe defends his criticisms that he uses too many flashes by pointing out the photos in all three books that are done with just 1 or 2 hot shoe flashes but in a creative manner. Besides, this is a book of ideas and examples, not a "how to." Joe, himself, writes how the settings he used to obtain the pictures in the book will likely not be the same the night time he tries to take the same photo. Other books may show you the basics of photography; Joe's books will take you from the basics and help you find your creative side to create some amazing, well-lit, photographs. NOTE: This book is not for beginners because Joe does not really go over the basics of photography - he assumes you already have a grasp on those concepts. If the person who this book is for is brand new to photography, then I suggest another, beginner, book to go along with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good book, Jan. 11 2012
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
This is a very good book, Joe Mcnally reveals the way he takes the photos with little sketchs... it's like you're in a little coffee shop taking a good coffee and you have a conversation with him about how he takes his pictures, I love it, he is a very funny guy. A lot of pleasure to read and I learned a lot of things. Sorry for my english

Save the Planet, the only one with Joe Mcnally.

Mario Plouffe, Montreal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Jan. 6 2012
By 
Mike (Mississauga) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
I am always interested in learning more about lighting for my photography. Joe McNally is a master of light and is able to translate his style into a very understandable methodology.
His writing style is down to earth and easily understood. He not only shows you how he lit his subjects but why he choose the style. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for different level photographer., March 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
It has slots of good information. This might not be the best for a novice photographer but for one who is serious and growing as one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read. Learned a lot., July 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a newbie to off camera flash I needed some inspiration and guidance. Joe McNally has been a long time favourite Photographer of mine. Seemed reasonable his book would teach me something as well as entertain. About the only thing missing is the video clips of all the set ups that would have made this perfect. I really enjoyed the book. I have taken what I learned and am having a lot of fun with one light portrait photography. I like keeping things simple.
Using one light sure helps. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, June 9 2014
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
As you can tell from the other reviews, this is a well-liked book. I’ve been into photography for a little over a year and have spent a lot of time learning the basics and building on the foundations of light. If you don’t yet have a good grasp on exposure and understanding the balance between shutter speed, aperture, and ISO, then this book might be too advanced. McNally assumes the reader is beyond those fundamentals and rarely goes into those details of his projects. This keeps the book moving along really well and gives it a conversational feel. It’s a fun read with a lot of great information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written., Sept. 4 2013
By 
Russty (Oakville, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
Very engaging and easy to read. I love the way Joe McNally writes (and speaks). There is so much to learn from him.
I wasn't blown away by the quality of the images however. Don't expect it be a Nat Geo type book full of amazing and rich full-page images. It's more an informative book with lots and lots of examples and how-to's (with accompanying pictures ofcourse).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mon livre de chevet, May 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
Des explications très terrain et décrite de façon simple ! Beaucoup de possibilité qui sont à la portée de tous .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible read, great reference, wonderful insight., April 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
Joe McNally's got a career's worth of experience, and he shares it in this most-recent book. He's got an unpolished style of writing that I really like - and shares the 'learning experience', not just the 'well, here's how you do it, newbie" bestowing of wisdom upon the unwashed masses that sometimes passes for photography books.
I'd review them in more detail - but I loaned out all my Joe McNally books (this is my favourite, "The Moment it Clicks" is #2, with "Hot Shoe Diaries" being #3) and haven't gotten them back for months - apparently the person I loaned them to likes them, too :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Learned a lot, Feb. 4 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash (Paperback)
Slightly prefer Hot Shoe Diaries more. But still plenty of good info and stories. Like his writing style. Recommended to portrait photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sketching Light: An Illustrated Tour of the Possibilities of Flash
CDN$ 51.99 CDN$ 49.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews