Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise from a cynic
Improv books tend to fall into three categories:
(1) New ideas poorly articulated (Improvisation for the Theatre for example - the bible of improv that is impossible to read cover to cover)
(2) Books that cover old ground in an easy to read way that is effective for someone trying to learn improv (Keith's second book, my own book: The Ultimate Improv Book...
Published on April 27 2004 by Edward J Nevraumont

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, But Cynical
This book has an "Annoyance Theatre" feel to it-it's fresh and insightful, and seductively anti-establishment. The author serves up a cynical new spin on old improv technique, and even slams improv's "old guard" in the process.
If you're a sassy, cynical improviser who knows everything (which includes every improviser on earth) you'll be hypnotized by the book's...
Published on May 25 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise from a cynic, April 27 2004
By 
Edward J Nevraumont (Philadelphia, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
Improv books tend to fall into three categories:
(1) New ideas poorly articulated (Improvisation for the Theatre for example - the bible of improv that is impossible to read cover to cover)
(2) Books that cover old ground in an easy to read way that is effective for someone trying to learn improv (Keith's second book, my own book: The Ultimate Improv Book [hopefully ;>])
(3) Books with 'improv' in the title that are more collections of games or (worse) exercise-teaching plans without any learning outcomes.
This book does not fall into any of those categories. I'm amazed it was published.
It's a book for people who already know improvisation. But Mick argues that the most accepted ways to teach improvisation are not only ineffective, they are COUNTER effective.
And he makes a great argument.
I had already started on the path he lays out (I've no longer teach 'blocking' off the top, instead concentrating on reducing fear and encouraging failure), but I have not gone nearly as far as he suggests (Not teaching blocking ever). It's a bold step and I am going to try it in the next class I teach.
In short, who should buy this book?
(1) If you are already an improviser. You've been trained (somewhere) and are looking for a challenging new way to look at your crafty
(2) You are an instructor who is looking for a new way to teach (not new games, but new principles)
Who should also buy this book:
(1) If you are buying your first improv book. Buy this book, but also pick up one of the standards - know what you are not learning - if only so you can discuss it with other improvisers (I know Mick would not suggest this, but we don't agree on everything)
(2) If you are set in your ways and figure you know the right way to do improv - buy this book and see if you can open your mind a little. I would be interested to hear counter arguments to Mick's ideas.
I am calling all my improv friends and telling them to buy this book. It's the first book with something new to say in a long time.
Congratulations Mick. I wish you had written this book earlier.
Edward J Nevraumont
Co-author: The Ultimate Improv Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll be rereading this for years, Nov. 15 2007
By 
C. L. Peressotti (Toronto, Ontario, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
From the point of view of a beginning improviser who's taken introductory courses and has a bit of performing experience: I love this book. This is the first book I've read since Impro that has something exciting to say on every single page.

For me, the difference is that Impro has a lot theory, but Improvise suggests good practice, and I personally think that these suggestions complement (rather than contradict) current improv "dogma". The icing on the cake is the section on solo improv exercises (since, unfortunately, not everyone is crazy about improv).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, But Cynical, May 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
This book has an "Annoyance Theatre" feel to it-it's fresh and insightful, and seductively anti-establishment. The author serves up a cynical new spin on old improv technique, and even slams improv's "old guard" in the process.
If you're a sassy, cynical improviser who knows everything (which includes every improviser on earth) you'll be hypnotized by the book's "bleeding edge" tone.
But the rebellious "us vs. them" tenor of Napier's book is so sexy, so enticing, that you may miss the irony: Napier slams the improv establishment, (but he *is* the establishment, having formed his own theatre, and having lead Second City to a rebirth.) Napier thwarts the concept of formal technique and methodology, (but then proceeds to lay down his *own*.) Napier dismisses old improv rules as observation-turned-dogma, (but then serves up several pages of his *own* observations.) Sure, the advice is great, but why does he still talk like Sparticus leading a slave rebellion? He's already king. The enemy is imaginary.
IMPROVISATION does fall short as a complete reference. It ends up being more like a book of "best practices for seasoned improvisers." New improvisers will end up feeling like they just got kicked in the junk.
I wish this book shared his real anti-establishment vision:
x What's the next wave for this art form?
x What is improv's future impact on the theatre, TV and other scripted media?
x Is there any way to unite the improv theatre community, rather than divide it into "us vs. them?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Think you know everything there is to know about improv?, May 13 2004
By 
Mark T. Henderson (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
So, you know all "the rules," you've been improvising for years, you think you know all you need to know, and yet you find your work stagnant?
This book will help you re-examine why and how you improvise. Mick Napier is quite simply the finest improv instructor today. He's taken the torches of Del Close and Martin DeMaat and is moving improvisation forward. If you think Spolin, Halpern and Johnstone wrote all that can be written about improv, you're sadly mistaken.
This is, quite frankly, the best hands-on guide to improvisation you will ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad Mick Napier didn't become a Vet, Aug. 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
This book just arrived this afternoon. I sat down and began reading and didn't stop until it was finished. Napier is brilliant. I needed to be challenged and pushed and somehow - amazingly- he has done it through the written word.
Written for those with a solid improv base, Napier challenges everything I thought I knew and shows me how much more I have to learn. Buy this book, but only if you are ready to move from your comfort zone. I am SO glad Napier did NOT become a vet because otherwise, we would not have this little gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a guide for a fantastic voyage of improvising, March 31 2009
By 
D. Faulds "A. Faulds" (Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
A fabulous book for meeting you where you're frozen in your mind and guiding you out through vivid examples and clear explanation! The exercises limber up the thinking for a fantastic voyage through the rabbit hole, rather than the tangle in the brier patch we often encounter while learning improvisation. Thank you Mick Napier for articulating the thought process, and providing ways of identifying our blocks so we can move beyond them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Someone gets it right, April 12 2004
By 
Aric Mckeown (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
Finally, a book on improv that doesn't play by the rules. This is what the improviser's bookshelf has been missing for years. This isn't a book on how to amuse your friends at parties with some short form games. This is the best companion book to practicing improv out there. A different perspective on playing that is finally being put to ink. If you are serious about improv, seriously consider this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for the serious performer, April 9 2004
By 
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
This is an awesome new addition to the list of improvisation books currently out there. Mick covers new ground with new ideas and new ways to look at traditional improv thought ie Truth in Comedy. It cleared up so much that I found foggy about my formal training and provided me with so much to move forward with. This book is a must for anyone with a desire for quality work. Well done Mick. My thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice from the world's greatest improv teacher, April 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
I'm a professional actor/writer (and former improvisational performer) who's been lucky enough to have known Mick Napier for about 20 years now. And I can say without a doubt that he is the best improv teacher/director I've ever seen. This book captures his point-of-view and teaching philosophy perfectly and it's essential reading for anyone interested in improvisational comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Deeper Look at Improv, June 22 2004
This review is from: Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out (Paperback)
This book is well written, easily read and full of very useful tips for the serious improviser. Improvisation is all about making connections and you can't help but make more connections to this art form after reading this book. The more experience you have as an improviser, the more you will get out of this book. It's like an improv booster shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out
Improvise.: Scene from the Inside Out by Mick Napier (Paperback - June 25 2007)
CDN$ 19.71 CDN$ 18.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews