march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on March 23, 2004
We have all read incredibly moving, life-shaping books, books that challenge your spirit and your intellect to achieve new heights, books written by men and women of deeper thought than anything us mortals could hope to attain...
And then there are these great books by Douglas Adams that let you tell all those thinkers to get stuffed, stop taking themselves so seriously and just enjoy life in all its wonders.
For anyone that has travelled, really travelled, who loves life, who really loves life, and enjoys a good laugh, these books are for you. Put Monty Python, The Far Side, David Suzuki, an English dictionary and chocolate (for flavour) into a blender and you have something nasty, but not entirely unlike the humour in these wonderful books.
Dive in. And above all: Don't Panic.
And to see just what a wonderful thinker Douglas Adams actually was, read his posthumous collection "The Salmon of Doubt" which is an excellent and thought provoking (but not in a snooty way) read.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2009
It's great to have Douglas Adams' classic story as a single book. Definitely would recommend this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
Loved it. One of the best if not the best comedic work of science Fiction ever. Imagine Arthur C.Clark meets Bill Hicks in a english pub. Just great, changed my life, and inspired me.

Also delivery was top notch, ordered it on sunday night, had it at my place tuesday afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
best toilet paper I've ever used. it felt like I was on my way to another planet. ever since i received this book my doors keep on sighing. also 42x10=420. therefor weed is 10x better than the meaning of the universe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2012
What more can you ask for? all the pages were there, the book was readable, not stained. took long to arrive but came in one piece. amazing service. definitely recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bought this for my daughter who liked it. She said it was quite humourous and somewhat along the lines of Monty Python in its satrism. Witty and a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2006
This book is one of the best humoristic things I read. It is mostly an gargantuan joke with it's own self-refecences. Things may seems a little weird at first but it is explained later in the story with some pretty amazing return of elements that seemed only random. It is a story of pure irony that every sci-fi fan will love. I read it all in one week and would read it again any time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
A few typos in this edition but nothing major at all... as a matter of fact, maybe they're just jokes I didn't understand :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
This book is HUGE. Hilariously huge. It's awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
Heavy but great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse