summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars62
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 20, 2015
I have enjoyed the Asian saga, beginning with Shogun and all the rest, but this last one has so many characters and side plots that it is almost too much story. There was enough tale in the main plot to be a great story. I'm not sure why the author didn't stick to the same amount of plot as in the previous books. Otherwise a very good plot with excellent characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2015
Not as good as Shogun and Gai-Jin but enjoyable non the less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2014
good for a repeat read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2012
An amazing book. So much more than the 80's tv special. Brings you back to its original settings in the 60's and the turmoil before vietnam and so forth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2012
As I said earlier I was very disappointed because I did not receive a new copy of Noble House, but with your recent refund of 20 % I reappraised your standing to 4 star. G.W. Sampson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
James Clavell was a WONDERFUL Writer (yes, with a capital W) and NOBLE HOUSE was a gift he left to us!

Through his eyes we visit Hong Kong in the 1970's. Clavell, like a virtuoso connaisseur of the human condition he is, manages to interweave a multitude of stories into a continuous carpet of a city living fast, taking risks, winning and loosing but never giving up.
Heads of huge conglomerates on the verge of foundering - yet never letting go of their rival's throat; dirt-poor Chinese maids striking it rich by a sudden turn of their joss; photographer-Wo and his trophy collection; drug-running smugglers asking for favors-you-can't-refuse; cold war spy networks riddled with double and triple agents; an American stock-market runner trying his hand in raiding Hong Kong companies; ladies getting "pillowed", men getting wooed, fortunes made and lost in the 10 days these all take place. Will the Noble House survive?

To quote Balzac, behind every great fortune lies crime. To prove him right, Noble House is but a thinly veiled reference to Jardine Matheson Holdings Ltd, a real company. Anticlimactically, although a British company operating in China, it is nowadays incorporated in Bermuda - and trying to forget its opium-running past (like so many City of London companies respectable today yet founded on drugs and dead natives).

All these stories are presented masterfully, without ever loosing the reader's interest or dropping the ball of building tension. There were less than a dozen writers who could do this - starting with Homer.

My copy was so worn I had to replace it.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2004
A very good novel about Hong Kong. As a native of Hong Kong, it fascinates me.
To my knowledge. all the events that took place in this book had happened in Hong Kong or Asia in some ways.
I must , however, comment that it is much too long for the layman who is not familiar with Hong Kong or China. This is not a spy novel nor a thriller and I wonder if such a person have the patience or time to go through it. In this day and age of television, this could be a great TV series but such a long and detailed book may not have much appeal. In any case, I must commend James Clavell for producing this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2004
Not bad, if you like a story about businessmen wheeling and dealing, although a bit long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2004
This book is the best book i ever read, but again this book is not recommended for lower class because it might offend them. But if your in upper class well one must have it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2003
Author James Clavell wrote six epic novels that he referred to as "The Asian Saga" consisting of Shogun, Tai-Pan, Gai-Jin, King Rat, Noble House, and Whirlwind. Each book, while not always directly interrelated, has overlapping characters and themes that build upon one another while exploring the experiences of Europeans in Asia. While King Rat is often referred to as Clavell's strongest work, (Whirlwind his weakest) its dark setting of a Japanese POW camp during the Second World War is often too unsettling for many readers. Noble House allows a reader the option of seeing just how engrossing Clavell can be as a writer while not having to deal with the biting nature of humanity's dark side as portrayed in King Rat. Set in Hong Kong during the early 1960's, Noble House's plot evolves around the wheeling and dealing of modern day "Tai-pans" or Big Bosses of large, wealthy corporations. Clavell balances his hero, Ian Dunross, against an equally imposing counter-hero, Quillan Gornt, creating a clash between two corporate-titans that is exciting, interesting, and at times very witty. At over 1370 pages, Noble House is not a quick read, but if you are interested in reading only one of Clavell's books, Noble House should be your choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.39
$10.53
$11.39
$11.39