Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig, David Almond, K. Nam, P.3
Michael and his family moved to a new house. It was supposed to be for the best. He also has a new baby sister that is very ill and makes his family worry. Michael feels helpless. The new house is a filthy, dusty, and dark place, which once dwelt a sick old man who has recently died. To Michael it is a demolition site or a rubbish dump. HIs parents forbid him to go...
Published on March 14 2004 by Kelly Nam

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Skellig by David Almond
Michael, a boy with too many worries for his age, discovers Skellig, a human, a beast, a bird and angel, sick and in need for his help. Therefore, he provides Skellig (using his clever brains) food and aspirins but makes sure that Skellig remains as a secret to his family and friends except to Mina, his strange girl-friend, a fan of William Blake. When at last, Skellig...
Published on April 11 2003


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig, David Almond, K. Nam, P.3, March 14 2004
By 
Kelly Nam (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Michael and his family moved to a new house. It was supposed to be for the best. He also has a new baby sister that is very ill and makes his family worry. Michael feels helpless. The new house is a filthy, dusty, and dark place, which once dwelt a sick old man who has recently died. To Michael it is a demolition site or a rubbish dump. HIs parents forbid him to go anywhere in the house until it is cleaned up and safe, but Michael is curious and wants to explore. One day he steps into the dark and mysterious garage of the new house with a flashlight. There are pieces of "blue bottles", rubbish, old chests of drawers, and broken washbasins. The wood and cloth on the seats of chairs are rotting away and bags of cement are lying all around. He explores throughout the garage flashing his flashlight all around. He finds a figure that looks like a man sitting on a chair that is beside a window. He is filthy with blue bottles in his hair and he's pale. Michael is frightened but curious so he speaks to the figure. The figure reveals his name as "Skellig". His voice is squeaky because he hasn't spoke for a few years and Michael finds out he has survived eating bugs and mice. Skellig seems to have Arteritis and has trouble moving. Across the street a girl named Mina lives there. She helps Michael to take care of Skellig. They aren't sure if Skellig is a man, bird, angel, or somthing beyond imagination. They take care of him and in return Skellig helps Michael's baby sister get better. When Skellig gets well he flys away into the sky without a single trace.
This book was great. It was a hand gripping novel which, i couldn't put down. One of my favorite quotes from this book is "27 and 53" from page 19. 27 and 53 is a combination of Skellig's favorite Chinese take-out that Michael usually got for him while taking care of Skellig. Another quote i liked from this book was "He sounded like he was loving it, or he was in pain, or both those things together" from page 29. This was when Michael gave Skellig 27 and 53, which was very descriptive.
I also like this book because it had alot of words that made the pictures form in my head, which made it look real when you imagined it. It was a cliff hanger not only in each chapter, but seemed like a cliff hanger in each of the paragraphs. The characters were interesting and had unique personalities of their own, like Mina. This book was "mysterious" and unpredictable like most books i have read. It had a happy ending and it showed that some problems got solved and some didn't.
My favorite part of this book was when Michael goes in to the garage and discovers that there is a "creature"that hasn't been out in years. It would frightening if that really happened to anyone but the fact that Michael discovered Skellig is what the story is all about. Skellig is mysterious and a character that made a mistake long before, that Michael and Mina help him solve. The descriptions that the author, David Almond brings Skellig into life that you can really see even though this book contained no pictures. Skellig is a great book and David Almond is a brilliant author. I truly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig, March 14 2004
By 
Kelly Nam (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Michael and his family moved to a new house. It was supposed to be for the best. He also has a new baby sister that is very ill and makes his family worry. Michael feels helpless. The new house is a filthy, dusty, and dark place, which once dwelt a sick old man who has recently died. To Michael it is a demolition site or a rubbish dump. HIs parents forbid him to go anywhere in the house until it is cleaned up and safe, but Michael is curious and wants to explore. One day he steps into the dark and mysterious garage of the new house with a flashlight. There are pieces of "blue bottles", rubbish, old chests of drawers, and broken washbasins. The wood and cloth on the seats of chairs are rotting away and bags of cement are lying all around. He explores throughout the garage flashing his flashlight all around. He finds a figure that looks like a man sitting on a chair that is beside a window. He is filthy with blue bottles in his hair and he's pale. Michael is frightened but curious so he speaks to the figure. The figure reveals his name as "Skellig". His voice is squeaky because he hasn't spoke for a few years and Michael finds out he has survived eating bugs and mice. Skellig seems to have Arteritis and has trouble moving. Across the street a girl named Mina lives there. She helps Michael to take care of Skellig. They aren't sure if Skellig is a man, bird, angel, or somthing beyond imagination. They take care of him and in return Skellig helps Michael's baby sister get better. When Skellig gets well he flys away into the sky without a single trace.
This book was great. It was a hand gripping novel which, i couldn't put down. One of my favorite quotes from this book is "27 and 53" from page 19. 27 and 53 is a combination of Skellig's favorite Chinese take-out that Michael usually got for him while taking care of Skellig. Another quote i liked from this book was "He sounded like he was loving it, or he was in pain, or both those things together" from page 29. This was when Michael gave Skellig 27 and 53, which was very descriptive.
I also like this book because it had alot of words that made the pictures form in my head, which made it look real when you imagined it. It was a cliff hanger not only in each chapter, but seemed like a cliff hanger in each of the paragraphs. The characters were interesting and had unique personalities of their own, like Mina. This book was "mysterious" and unpredictable like most books i have read. It had a happy ending and it showed that some problems got solved and some didn't.
My favorite part of this book was when Michael goes in to the garage and discovers that there is a "creature"that hasn't been out in years. It would frightening if that really happened to anyone but the fact that Michael discovered Skellig is what the story is all about. Skellig is mysterious and a character that made a mistake long before, that Michael and Mina help him solve. The descriptions that the author, David Almond brings Skellig into life that you can really see even though this book contained no pictures. Skellig is a great book and David Almond is a brilliant author. I truly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The bird man of England, Jan. 1 2004
By 
E. R. Bird "Ramseelbird" (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
A beautifully executed book. The characters are not only believable, but easy to empathize with. This book is filled with short chapters that some intermediate readers will appreciate. In this book, much of the plot hinges on the existence of Skellig (a bird man dying in a dusty garage) as well as the protagonist's dying baby sister. Interestingly, the author is in no hurry to return to the Skellig's plot only. A lot of time is spent by the narrator with his parents, at school, or in the hospital.
Introducing the character of Mina, a homeschooled little girl, the author's consistent use of the poems of William Blake works well and is never overdone. I have known a lot of little girls just like Mina herself. Precocious but not precious and full of interesting ideas. Even the character of Skellig himself is beautifully rendered here. There are plenty of children's books in which the narrator finds a pet or a person and nurtures them to health, but this one is especially interesting. Special points to the author for never saying exactly what Skellig is. A strong book all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A moving book for young adults, Dec 10 2003
By 
charles sinclair (Spartanburg, SC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Mass Market Paperback)
Skellig is about a boy, his family and the people who help him grow. Michael, an athletic boy (especially in football, or soccer in the U.S.), moves to a new house with his parents. Soon after the move his mother gives birth to a premature baby who has many problems. While cleaning the house and property, preparing for the baby's home coming, Michael stumbles upon something in the garage. He finds Skellig, a man who has been staying in there since before the previous owner of the house died. Michael starts bringing him things like Chinese food and aspirin, and chats with him. Michael soon meets Mina, a very clever girl, and takes her to see Skellig. They take Skellig to an abandoned house where he gains strength and shows them that he has wings. They join hands in a circle and float around the room and transparent wings form on their backs. While the adventure with Skellig is going on, Michaels gets worse. The doctors want to operate on her and the night before surgery, Skellig goes to her and somehow gives her the strength to make it through. Later, Skellig says good-bye to Michael and Mina and heads out to find others in need of an angel.
I very much enjoyed reading this book. Usually when I read a book, I pick a stopping point but the only good point for this book was the end. I could tell that the story takes place somewhere in Europe, primarily Great Britain or England, because of the dialogue Almond uses. It is set sometime in the present or near past because the technology is about the same because they do heart surgery on an infant and they order Chinese food in Europe. The characters seem real but only Skellig's personality, intellect, and weakness seems real. The fact that he has wing is entertaining but it just isn't realistic. His bitterness toward everything is evidence of his pain and because he has wings, he doesn't want to be seen by anyone for fear of being discovered. Mina is a kind-hearted person who, probably because of being home schooled, is very intelligent. She knows every thing about birds and the fact that Skellig has wings is no coincidence made by Almond. Michael's parents seem to pour all their love and attention into the sick baby but also find time to spend with him. Their fear and fear for the baby is covered by their courage and will to not give up hope. Michael seems to care a little too much for Skellig. If he were a normal kid, he probably would have told his parents about a strange man in the garage. But, perhaps he didn't tell because Skellig was just the person whom he could confide in and talk about all his problems. The book entertained me but also sent me messages, one being: Love conquers all. The book was written for juveniles and I gave it four stars for being an excellent book for young adults but an entirely intelligent, historic, life-changing novel. The book moved me, it flowed smoothly, and had a very good plot with important messages, but the characters are very young and I couldn't really relate to them. The thing I liked most about the book is the mood Almond creates. He can make you feel very happy and joyous and also very sad. Every time I would read it I would want to go out and get some Chinese food. I think he has ties with a Chinese restaurant. You think? I would recommend this book to anyone from age nine to fifteen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamily Unusual Children's Book..., Sept. 12 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Michael hadn't really wanted to move to the creepy old house on Falconer Road, but his parents were determined to have more space for their growing family. The real estate agent had somehow convinced his parents that the old house was a real fixer upper and so Michael, instead of spending all day playing soccer with his friends, Leakey & Coot, was helping clear the garden and work on the house. He knew that his parents were really worried about his new baby sister, who was born early and was not doing very well. She was allowed to come home from the hospital, but had to return when she had trouble breathing. His mom and dad could think of nothing but the baby and Michael was left to his own devices.
His parents warned him not to go into the rickety old garage left standing on the property, but Michael couldn't resist exploring. What he found in the old garage astounded him - he found a kind of man in the corner. The man didn't seem to be able to carry on a normal conversation and Michael wasn't sure what to do, but he brought him food and tried to talk to him. Michael also made friends with Mina, the independent and free spirited girl who lived next door. Mina was different than anyone else that Michael had ever known and he wasn't sure that was necessarily a good thing. But Michael needed to know that he wasn't going crazy, so he showed the man to Mina. Between Mina and Michael, they were able to give Skellig, the strangely winged man, a new chance at life and to change their own lives forever.
This was a fascinating book. It is very different from most other children's books and did a superb job at conveying Michael's feelings of loneliness and alienation by the way that he described things in the story. It was interesting to get to know Michael as he progressed from being worried about how the move affected his life to worrying about his new baby sister and whether she would ever be able to come home. Skellig was a very different character and the reader never really does learn what or who he is. It is like real life in that way, mysteries are not always solved and life is colored in shades of gray. This is a great book for discussion with children or something that adults will enjoy reading on their own and thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mystery of Skelling, Sept. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
If you like fantasy, and suspensful stories, I am sure you'll love Skelling. Skelling has a little bit of everything in it, suspense, fantasy, mystery, and a lot more. The very first sentence pulled me in, "I found him in the gararge on a Sunday afternoon," and as you keep reading it just keeps on pulling you farther in. Even some of the names the author put in, for example Dr. Death, add to the excitement.
The book is about a ten year old boy named Michael. He has just moved to a new house. The house is sort of a mess and there is an old crumbling garage that Michael ventures into. To his surprise, he finds some kind of creature. Michael's little sister is ill and in the hospital with her mom. Michael's dad is staying home with him to fix up the house. Most nights they order chinese food, and Michael brings the creature the leftovers, along with beer and codliver oil capsules. Michael meets a girl named Mina, and he shows the creature to her. Mina and Michael carry the creature into the light, and their whole world change.
So if you like suspensful mysteries you'll love Skelling by David Almond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Skellig" by Lina, May 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
I liked this book quite a lot as the plot was very good and each character and creature had a very special quality about them, like Skellig.
Michael hates his life.They've just moved to a new broken down so called house, his baby sister is very ill and he discovers a strange new creature in the garage; Skellig. A fantastic adventure goes on in this book with Michael and his freind Mina helping Skellig throughout the whole book.
I didn't really like Mina's charater. This may seem a little bit suprising to SOME people who have had a little joke about me being like Mina because my name rhymes with hers (Mina,Lina get it?). However that is not true at all. I think Mina is very full of herself, thinking that she knows everything in the world. Some people might think that being educated at home is "cool" or something it is just ridiculous. Seeing as she is So clever, doesn't she want to go to a good university or college when she's older? And what about GCSE's. I think that a persons future is seen through their school work and education. What is she going to do with her life if she hasn't gone to school?
I think the end is very nice too. It is beautifully described when Skellig dances with the baby. And the baby's name, Joy, is spot on.
I would recommend this book to a lot of people as it is a good read. However this book covers a lot on evolution and this might be a little bit offensive to some people's religious beliefs because they believe that God created everything. This is true as i have already heard a lot of these "eveloutionary" complaints from some eople who ahev read the book. Nevertheless, it is a good book and eventhough it can use some improvements, i enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A touching and heart-warming book, April 13 2003
By 
Johanna (Amman, Jordan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Michael's family moved across town into an old house with a cluttered garden. Then his baby sister becomes sick and is carried off to hospital. His parents are busy with the baby and renovating the house, so Michael is left on his own to find some friends in the neighbourhood. He meets Mina, a home-schooled girl, who shows him some owls she found in an old attic. After this, Michael feels that he has to show her something aswell, so he leads her into the ancient garage in his garden. There, Michael introduces Mina to Skellig. The garage pledges to slowly collapse, so Michael and Mina have to carry Skellig into a shattered house a few streets away. Here, he regains his strength by eating '27 and 53' from the Chinese takeaway and the food Mina's owls bring him. Mina and Michael soon discover that Skellig has wings and is a strange kind of creature. He spends a lot of time with the owls in the attic, eats and leaves owl pellets behind like they do. Michael has a feeling that Skellig's appearance has something to do with his sister's illness, and so pleads him to think of her. When Michael and Mina visit him a while later, Skellig is gone. Michael takes this as a sign that his little sister died. But miraculously she survives a difficult operation. "... And in the end we simply called her Joy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars angel or not?, Nov. 3 2002
By 
caitlin (illinois,usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Caitlin Stock October 29, 2002

Skellig, David Almond

What are shoulder blades for? One theory is that they are where your wings were when you were an angel and will come again. "What are you?" said Michael, who is the main character in the book Skellig. Michael is a boy would does not have it very easy, his little sister was born to early and he just moved into a broken down house, that has a toilet in the living room. Also he found an old man named Skellig, in his garage, with bumps on his back. This is an interesting fiction/fantasy book.
Awesome, exciting, and touching are some words someone would use to describe the book, Skellig. Skellig was a page-turner because; it involved adventure and heartbreak. Every page was like jumping into the book. The author, David Almond, really wrote it from a first person point of view. He also made it seem that you were part of the book and you could visualize the characters speaking. Every page seemed to have some magic on it that made you want to read more and more. If some one said that this book sounded boring, with out even reading it, by the end of the book the person would have a whole different point of view. This book could not be boring because it involves too much heartbreak, adventure, and excitement. a boring book does not give detail.skellig gives so much detail, you literally feel like you are acting out a part in the book. Most kids could connect to this book because; it involves a lot of choices. Kids today seem to make alot of choices and have problems choosing. this book not only is adventurous it deals with making choices.
I think that this book can prepare you for the worst. Michael had every odd against him and still he survives by making choices and not giving up. This book would be a great book for older kids because little kids would not get some of the main problems in this book. Also any kind of person would love this book because it is not just set for one group of people. I would recommend this book because; it is a page-turner, exciting, and heart breaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig recommended by librarian, Aug. 24 2002
By 
Kristi L. Sprinkle "Kristi Sprinkle" (Bastrop, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
I read Skellig as a writer of children's books, not as a reader. There weren't any kids to tell me what they thought of it, so this review is from the standpoint of an adult, not a child.
Skellig, recommended by the Dripping Springs, TX librarian (there were no copies available, so I bought one), encompasses the fears of all children going through family changes. In this instance, the main character, Michael, is dealing with a move to a new place, the illness of his crib-bound younger sister, stressed parents, and the challenge of making new friends while keeping the old friends.
The storyline, although a little trite, is revived by the author's willingness to let his main character worry. Yes, worry. You don't really see this in Harry Potter much at all and maybe that's a downfall. Fiction for kids is often escapist and the storylines rarely work if there is too much real-life worrying it it. This one works because of the oft-used dream sequencing that makes the worrying more like a bad nightmare than a problem.
The book's hook is that no one knows about Skellig except Mina and Michael who have become neighbors. Their interaction with Skellig is mystical and nicely done.
The author also presents real-life dilemmas - the nature of evolution (not as opposed to religion, however) as well as the value of public schooling.
I'm glad I read Skellig. It will present mental challenges to youngsters who have never thought about these types of dilemmas nor the nature of their own existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skellig
Skellig by David Almond (Paperback - Aug. 11 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews