Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig
I find Skellig to be a book about discovery and of oneself and about doing kind acts that are often unnoticed.
Published on April 7 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars How many changes 1 boy can go through in life
I recommend Skellig for 10-14 years old boys and girls. If you like mysteries and like to be left hanging, this is definitely a book to read! I liked this book because of the weird things that happened. There are some things that leave you wondering. At one point in the book the old man says, "27 and 53" and you might think it doesn't have to do with anything, but it...
Published on July 19 2004


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars How many changes 1 boy can go through in life, July 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
I recommend Skellig for 10-14 years old boys and girls. If you like mysteries and like to be left hanging, this is definitely a book to read! I liked this book because of the weird things that happened. There are some things that leave you wondering. At one point in the book the old man says, "27 and 53" and you might think it doesn't have to do with anything, but it appears throughout the whole book. Mike's friend says to him, "What's wrong with you?" That leaves you hanging because by this point you're so into the book, you want to know what happened. Even though it's not one of those really important parts but it's a mystery that the author throws in to keep you wondering. But in the end you finally find the answer to all the mystery's and the problems. That was why I liked this book because at first I was confused but in the end it all came together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What's all the fuss about?, June 22 2004
By 
Luis M. Luque "luquel" (Crofton, Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
I read this to my daughter a few years ago, and for the life of me I can't figure out why this won awards in Britain. It's a strange little story, but neither characters nor the plot are all that interesting. The writing is fine but nothing to brag about. It's just O.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig, April 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
I find Skellig to be a book about discovery and of oneself and about doing kind acts that are often unnoticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig, David Almond, K. Nam, P.3, March 14 2004
By 
Kelly Nam (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Michael and his family moved to a new house. It was supposed to be for the best. He also has a new baby sister that is very ill and makes his family worry. Michael feels helpless. The new house is a filthy, dusty, and dark place, which once dwelt a sick old man who has recently died. To Michael it is a demolition site or a rubbish dump. HIs parents forbid him to go anywhere in the house until it is cleaned up and safe, but Michael is curious and wants to explore. One day he steps into the dark and mysterious garage of the new house with a flashlight. There are pieces of "blue bottles", rubbish, old chests of drawers, and broken washbasins. The wood and cloth on the seats of chairs are rotting away and bags of cement are lying all around. He explores throughout the garage flashing his flashlight all around. He finds a figure that looks like a man sitting on a chair that is beside a window. He is filthy with blue bottles in his hair and he's pale. Michael is frightened but curious so he speaks to the figure. The figure reveals his name as "Skellig". His voice is squeaky because he hasn't spoke for a few years and Michael finds out he has survived eating bugs and mice. Skellig seems to have Arteritis and has trouble moving. Across the street a girl named Mina lives there. She helps Michael to take care of Skellig. They aren't sure if Skellig is a man, bird, angel, or somthing beyond imagination. They take care of him and in return Skellig helps Michael's baby sister get better. When Skellig gets well he flys away into the sky without a single trace.
This book was great. It was a hand gripping novel which, i couldn't put down. One of my favorite quotes from this book is "27 and 53" from page 19. 27 and 53 is a combination of Skellig's favorite Chinese take-out that Michael usually got for him while taking care of Skellig. Another quote i liked from this book was "He sounded like he was loving it, or he was in pain, or both those things together" from page 29. This was when Michael gave Skellig 27 and 53, which was very descriptive.
I also like this book because it had alot of words that made the pictures form in my head, which made it look real when you imagined it. It was a cliff hanger not only in each chapter, but seemed like a cliff hanger in each of the paragraphs. The characters were interesting and had unique personalities of their own, like Mina. This book was "mysterious" and unpredictable like most books i have read. It had a happy ending and it showed that some problems got solved and some didn't.
My favorite part of this book was when Michael goes in to the garage and discovers that there is a "creature"that hasn't been out in years. It would frightening if that really happened to anyone but the fact that Michael discovered Skellig is what the story is all about. Skellig is mysterious and a character that made a mistake long before, that Michael and Mina help him solve. The descriptions that the author, David Almond brings Skellig into life that you can really see even though this book contained no pictures. Skellig is a great book and David Almond is a brilliant author. I truly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig, March 14 2004
By 
Kelly Nam (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Michael and his family moved to a new house. It was supposed to be for the best. He also has a new baby sister that is very ill and makes his family worry. Michael feels helpless. The new house is a filthy, dusty, and dark place, which once dwelt a sick old man who has recently died. To Michael it is a demolition site or a rubbish dump. HIs parents forbid him to go anywhere in the house until it is cleaned up and safe, but Michael is curious and wants to explore. One day he steps into the dark and mysterious garage of the new house with a flashlight. There are pieces of "blue bottles", rubbish, old chests of drawers, and broken washbasins. The wood and cloth on the seats of chairs are rotting away and bags of cement are lying all around. He explores throughout the garage flashing his flashlight all around. He finds a figure that looks like a man sitting on a chair that is beside a window. He is filthy with blue bottles in his hair and he's pale. Michael is frightened but curious so he speaks to the figure. The figure reveals his name as "Skellig". His voice is squeaky because he hasn't spoke for a few years and Michael finds out he has survived eating bugs and mice. Skellig seems to have Arteritis and has trouble moving. Across the street a girl named Mina lives there. She helps Michael to take care of Skellig. They aren't sure if Skellig is a man, bird, angel, or somthing beyond imagination. They take care of him and in return Skellig helps Michael's baby sister get better. When Skellig gets well he flys away into the sky without a single trace.
This book was great. It was a hand gripping novel which, i couldn't put down. One of my favorite quotes from this book is "27 and 53" from page 19. 27 and 53 is a combination of Skellig's favorite Chinese take-out that Michael usually got for him while taking care of Skellig. Another quote i liked from this book was "He sounded like he was loving it, or he was in pain, or both those things together" from page 29. This was when Michael gave Skellig 27 and 53, which was very descriptive.
I also like this book because it had alot of words that made the pictures form in my head, which made it look real when you imagined it. It was a cliff hanger not only in each chapter, but seemed like a cliff hanger in each of the paragraphs. The characters were interesting and had unique personalities of their own, like Mina. This book was "mysterious" and unpredictable like most books i have read. It had a happy ending and it showed that some problems got solved and some didn't.
My favorite part of this book was when Michael goes in to the garage and discovers that there is a "creature"that hasn't been out in years. It would frightening if that really happened to anyone but the fact that Michael discovered Skellig is what the story is all about. Skellig is mysterious and a character that made a mistake long before, that Michael and Mina help him solve. The descriptions that the author, David Almond brings Skellig into life that you can really see even though this book contained no pictures. Skellig is a great book and David Almond is a brilliant author. I truly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig, Feb. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Skellig was one of my favorites. It had suspense and a great ending. Skellig is not only human but bird and angel as well. he seems like a bad person. A mean person. In this book it shows that in every bad situation there will be a hero. Micheal was a very interesting character. he showed courage and curiousity throughout the book. my favorite character was Mina. She is open-minded with a great out look on life. for example, have u ever wondered why you have shoulder blades? when u read this book you will think about it. i reccommend this book to anyone and everyone. Just remember to be open minded and you will enjoy this fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skellig By David Almond, Feb. 3 2004
By 
Luca Uberai (Ealing, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Michael and his family have moved into a new house which initially seems to be a disastrous decision. Soon michael's life will take a new turn when he discovers "a creature" with his friend Mina in his dilapidated garage. Many questions will be asked but they will have to wait since Michael's priority is to save the unknown creature. If the world of magic fascinates you then this book is highly recommended especially to young children, who would like to escape into the world of fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review On Skellig, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
Skellig is some kind of mysterious creature that enters the lives of Michael and Mina. As Michael and his family including his premature baby sister in intensive care, have moved home and found Skellig in their garage. Who or what he is you'll have to read the book.
It is a great and tense book full of ups and downs, it appeals to everybody you are able to put it down or give any negative comments.Open to any age, sutable to anybody and comes alive as you read.Skellig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars skellig, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Skellig (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book it is one of the few books that made me tense reading it, and I really want to read on, it was agony it took our class a hole term to read it when I just wanted to find out what was going to happen.It is about a boy called Michael and a girl called Mina who find a man (Skellig) in their garage and on top of all this Michael's sister is born early so his mum is always at the hospital and his dad is always busy with the house.what will they do about skellig , will Michael's sister be all write and will the house be done in time . I would recomend this book for any one above the age of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing, Feb. 1 2004
By 
will (Howth(Ireland)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skellig (Hardcover)
Skellig is an amazing book.It is about aboy called micheal who has moved house with his new baby sister who is very sick.In his new house there is a garage and micheal finds a strange man at the back of it .Who is he ,were's he from ,haw did he get there.Tofind out you must read the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skellig
Skellig by David Almond (Paperback - Aug. 11 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews