Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best pern books yet!
This novel is a novel of earlier pern. For those of you out there who had heard of Moreta, and wanted to know more, this book is for you! Unfortuneately, it doesn't include the words to the ballad about her, but this is still a great book! This book is a very good story about one of pern's most famous heroines: Moreta. The book combines lots of action, love, and...
Published on May 11 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the black plague
This book is about Weyrs and Holds catching a mysterious plague while other self-contained holds aren't getting the slightest bit ill, Moreta a Weyr woman tries find the cause of this plague, and is sent on a fantastic voyage to try and defeat the plague.
Published on April 22 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best pern books yet!, May 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
This novel is a novel of earlier pern. For those of you out there who had heard of Moreta, and wanted to know more, this book is for you! Unfortuneately, it doesn't include the words to the ballad about her, but this is still a great book! This book is a very good story about one of pern's most famous heroines: Moreta. The book combines lots of action, love, and excitement to create one of the best pern books yet available. The ending is sad, but it also explains why there was a ballad written about it in the first place. In short, a wonderful addition to the pern series, fans are sure to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Pern's Greatest Heroines!, June 17 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
Moreta is Weyrwoman at Fort Weyr with Sh'gall as Weyrleader. Moreta loves Orlith, her dragon queen, and would do anything for her, but she does wish that someone else had flown her during her mating flight. Sh'gall is a very able weyrleader in the air when fighting thread, but he does not do as well with people. Moreta is sure that they will go together to the Ruatha Gather, after all it is Lord Alessan's first gather as a Lord Holder and everyone will be there. However, Sh'gall decides to go to the Telgar Gather and to see the strange cat that was captured in the ocean and put on display there. Desdra, Moreta's anxious housekeeper insists that Moreta cannot go without Sh'gall and that it is a terrible slight to her mistress, but Moreta wouldn't miss a good gather for the world!
Moreta has a wonderful time at the gather with Lord Alessan. They are both avid racers and enjoy watching the runnerbeasts compete. When one of the runnerbeasts suddenly collapses, no one is sure what is wrong with the beast, but the fun of the gather continues. Moreta lingers at Ruatha Hold, but is finally forced to leave. She is awoken in the early morning hours by a frantic Sh'gall claiming that Masterhealer Capiam has diagnosed a plague that the wild cat brought over with it from the Southern Continent. All of Pern is in a panic as news of the unknown illness spreads.
All too soon there is no hold or weyr that is untouched by the unknown ailment. But Moreta is a healer and she is determined to help in whatever way she can. She continues to urge the dragonriders to take care and helps unite multiple weyrs to fly thread together, as well as help care for the sick and wounded. When Masterhealer Capiam finds a cure, Moreta is thrilled and ready to do whatever is necessary to give the vaccination to everyone on Pern before a second wave of the mutated virus spreads more death. She cannot understand why some weyrleaders simply refuse to see the truth and will not help take the medicine to the far-reaching holds. Moreta cannot bear to see people die unnecessarily so she secretly arranges for dragonriders from all the Weyrs to help. When part of her plan falls through, Moreta has no choice but to go and help deliver the vaccination herself. But she cannot rider her beloved Orlith because she is guarding her clutch. When she borrows her mentor's queen Holth, the tragedy begins...
I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would. I first heard of Moreta's Ride in Dragonsinger when Menolly leads the ballad with her fire lizards. I knew that this book was going to have a bittersweet ending, but I love the Pern series so I thought that I would give it a try. I thought that Moreta was a great character - strong, but not overpowering. She tried to make the best of her situation and found joy and love in unlikely places. I thoroughly enjoyed the romance between Moreta and Alessan, but I felt so sorry for Alessan for having to deal with so much tragedy and so many bitter disappointments when he was so young. I also enjoyed seeing the inner workings of a Weyr and becoming familiar with a Weyr other than Benden (much as I love it, of course). I thought that all of the secondary characters were wonderful, too. It was interesting to see how quickly knowledge was lost from when the first settlers arrived on Pern to the time of Moreta. I believe that the sickness was something like pneumonia or some other viral disease that few people die of on Earth, but they simply did not know how to combat any unfamiliar disease on Pern. The plot was very interesting and had a nice, smooth flow as always. Another wonderful addition to the Pern series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern, March 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
This book by Anne McCaffrey is about a sickness that begins to spread through the planet of Pern. Everywhere, dragonriders, holders, harpers, and healers alike are all dying. Soon the truth behind the epidemic is revealed, and it is up to the dragonriders, who can go anywhere, anywhen on Pern in 8 seconds, to distribute the finally found vaccine. The dangers are great; the dragonriders are needed to fight the Thread, a parasite that falls on Pern and eats every organic thing in its path. Moreta and other selfless Weyrleaders must find a way to distribute the vaccine to everyone on Pern in the same day. Of every problem, the challenge they had to overcome was time. But the heroic deeds of Moreta end in tragedy; a tragedy destined to change Pern in generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne McCaffrey, Feb. 9 2003
By 
Jennifer A. Pool (Newark, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
Although I have had the chance to tell her this personally, I must reiterate my fascination with her ability to slip real world issues into a tale without making the reader feel preached to. Although some issues become obsolete, they usually arise again just in another form and I find myself wanting to re-read Ms. MacCaffrey's work to remember how I felt in the past. This book tackles the subject of a virulent disease wiping out humanity and the struggle to stabilize and halt its devistating effects. There are so many issues at present that can take the place of that disease in our real world which makes this book re-readable anytime you feel a bit hopeless. By the end, I feel more hopeful for our future because there will always be a Moreta in real life, maybe not on a dragon rider but fighting hard for a cure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A novel that takes you back to a earlier Pern!, Aug. 26 2002
By 
Iris (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
Though I think this is not as good as Anne's previous novels but it's not by much! THis novel takes you back in time to an earlier Pern to tell you the story of one of Pern's great heroine, Moreta. She is mentioned in Dragonflight as a weyrwoman from Ruatha and could speak to all dragons. But in this book she is from Keroon and she could only speak to 3 dragons- her queen dragon Orlith, and the two queens Holth and Tamianth. This is in fact a tragic and romantic story about Fort Weyr's weyrwoman. She is brave and daring.
She was not as fortunate as Lessa for her weyrmate, Fort's weyrleader, Sh'gall does not love her the way F'lar loves Lessa. At that time Pern is attacked by a deadly plague, which is the flu, as well as thread. Moreta does her best in organize her weyr to fight against the sickness. She also heals injured dragons along the way. This book introduces a new set of characters, including the Masterhealer Campiam, Masterharper Tirone, lord holder Alessan, Oklina, Leri, Sh'gall and more wyerleaders craftsman and of course dragons. Moreta developes a relationship with Alessan and helps with vaccinating human and runnerbeasts alike.
This is a touching, romantic story with a somewhat sad ending to this great tale of Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but a tear-jerker, April 12 2002
By 
Tamara I Sandy (Charlottesville, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
One of my favorites in the Dragonrider of Pern Series (I love them all, though). The heart and courage of Moreta and Orlith are inspiring. It's interesting to see the devastation that a common ailment today could cause on an unaccustomed population and what it drives people - and dragons - to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better ones, Nov. 24 2001
By 
Madeline (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
I found Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern a nice change from the other Dragonrider novels. Moreta is not stunningly beautiful like Lessa, and she's not a Benden Weyrwoman. She's from Fort, and she doesn't like her weyrmate, she respects him, but does not consider him a possible soulmate. And the fact that Leri was a competent Weyrwoman and feisty even in what seem to be the last few years of her life, is a delightfuly different situation. Lessa and F'lar (much as I love them) seemed annoyingly perfect, and Moreta is very different. I liked the minor characters here too, Oklina was enjoyable, and MasterHealer Capiam was quite interesting as well, B'lerion and Desdra were amusing, as were the different stages of harpering-very funny. I think one of my favorite characters in this particular book was K'lon, because we so rarely see any of the less important riders, seeing bits of the story through a bluerider's eyes is very refreshing. The only thing I didn't like was the rather predictable romace between Moreta and Alessan, frankly, that annoyed me. Though the fact that Moreta had the bad taste to fall in love with a Lord Holder was another nice change from Anne McCaffrey's typical Weyrwoman. And the book had me in tears at the end, it was so sad!
I strongly suggest you read it, Pern fan or not. Though obviously, a member of the latter category wont enjoy it nearly as much as a member of the former. ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern, Oct. 26 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought that this book was very good. I like fantasy and science-ficiton books so I like Anne McCaffrey's books. I am going to read another book in the series next. The only thing I didn't like about the book was the ending, but I won't spoil the book for anyone who wants to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of her best, June 26 2001
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
If you like the Pern series, then you'll probably like this book. It's interesting, and full of likeable characters. The story itself is very enjoyable. I liked it alot. Okay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice fill-in for the Pern series, June 3 2001
By 
Kim F. (Goleta, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Mass Market Paperback)
I like this story but it doesn't capture my attention the way some of the other Pern stories do. It does fill in some important info for Pern devotees and that, alone, would be worth it.
The focus is not so much on the dragons of Pern but on the people and how they deal with the unexpected disaster of an epidemic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb04f6df8)

This product

Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern
Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern by Anne McCaffrey (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 12 1984)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews