Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars old bookt still a great read
the book was amazing.the setting in Russia was just great,and and i loved the chemistry between Miranda and Jared.
Published on Nov. 14 2002 by Renee Fizer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great - just one flaw
After reading the other reviews, I have to say that I really liked the book, except for one particular scene. When Miranda is forced into her extramarital relationships after going to Russia it is understandable. It is also reasonable that Jared becomes a rake after he believes Miranda is dead. However, the scene where Jared has [relations] with Gillian after he and...
Published on Feb. 3 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Great - just one flaw, Feb. 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading the other reviews, I have to say that I really liked the book, except for one particular scene. When Miranda is forced into her extramarital relationships after going to Russia it is understandable. It is also reasonable that Jared becomes a rake after he believes Miranda is dead. However, the scene where Jared has [relations] with Gillian after he and Miranda are (happily) married is unnecessary. Yes, he feels terrible, and yes, she forgives him without question, but it was still disgusting. He could have said no or gotten the information without knowingly cheating on his wife. Ms. Small often has the characters engage in extramarital relations, but usually it is due to dire circumstances. I just really didn't like this scene. I'm surprised no one else has mentioned it.
But other than that (which happened fairly early on), I enjoyed the rest of the book, even if it did move sort of too quickly, as a previous reviewer said.
P.S. - My favorite Small book is "A Love for All Time." It starts in the middle of the O'Malley Saga, but since it is easy to read first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great - just one flaw, Feb. 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading the other reviews, I have to say that I really liked the book, except for one particular scene. When Miranda is forced into her extramarital relationships after going to Russia it is understandable. It is also reasonable that Jared becomes a rake after he believes Miranda is dead. However, the scene where Jared has sex with Gillian after he and Miranda are (happily) married is unnecessary. Yes, he feels terrible, and yes, she forgives him without question, but it was still disgusting. He could have said no or gotten the information without knowingly cheating on his wife. Ms. Small often has the characters engage in extramarital relations, but usually it is due to dire circumstances. I just really didn't like this scene. I'm surprised no one else has mentioned it.
But other than that (which happened fairly early on), I enjoyed the rest of the book, even if it did move sort of too quickly...
P.S. - My favorite Small book is "A Love for All Time." It starts in the middle of the O'Malley Saga, but since it is easy to read first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jared: a waste of storytelling., Dec 12 2002
By 
Celeste M. Harmer (Clifton Heights, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the very first Bertrice Small novel I'd read. I'm a big fan of hers and have read most of her books (I'm addicted to the O'Malley saga!). UNCONQUERED features an indomitable, intelligent heroine; exciting, fast-paced story that never lags; exotic locales; and very steamy love scenes. The only drawback is Jared Dunham. I know Miranda was forced into marriage to him, but come on! There was never a more arrogant, boorish Bertrice Small leading man. If I were Miranda, I would have gladly become part of Mirza Khan's harem and said adieu to Jared. Jared lost even more points when he accused Miranda of having brought upon herself all the terrible things that had happened to her in Russia, when in reality those things would never have happened if he hadn't gone there in the first place and forced her to come after him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old bookt still a great read, Nov. 14 2002
By 
Renee Fizer "Renee" (Baltimore City,Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
the book was amazing.the setting in Russia was just great,and and i loved the chemistry between Miranda and Jared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Read, June 18 2002
By 
O. Blaylock "ladyisis2004" (Albuquerque, New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
Miranda is headstrong and spoiled young lady. Jared is a hero that is not going to allow her to get away with anything. They are well matched in the dealings with each other. As always Ms Small has written a story rich in prose and history. I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, July 12 2001
By 
Stacy Wallace (Lumberton, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
Miranda, strong-willed, impetuous, brilliant, beautiful. She will be forced to marry a stranger to keep her home-even though it's clear he's the only man for her. She will be taken captive by a savage Crimean slave breeder because he sees her golden beauty as the perfect match for his prize stud. She will undergo a terrifying capture and grueling trek to a tender reawakening of her bruised and battered body and soul. She will be Unconquered because the woman in her wants only one man. I have read better from Bertrice but it is a good read and will keep you enthralled because Bertrice Small is a wonderful writer who knows her stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Loved It!, Nov. 30 2000
By 
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
This was one of the first romances I picked up and I loved the fact that she very much proved that people don't live happily ever after just because they get married. There has to be some work involved. Jared and Miranda intrigued me from the start and I was so involved in the story line that I would dream at night about what had happened in the story and what might happen next. A must read for bodice ripper fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wild ride of a read, Nov. 25 2000
By 
Carol Peterson Hennekens (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
Many romance novels revolve around an arranged marriage, love discovered after the wedding and eventually, living happily ever after. That's just the first 100 pages of this book. This book looks at the first four years of Miranda and Jared's marriage and they go go through some wild "adventures" in the path to true love.
It says something that this book is still in print after almost 20 years. It also was chosen as one of Romantic Times Top 200 Books of the 20th Century. The pacing is fast, the locations exotic and Miranda is a fun, spunky heroine. While the setting is largely the Regency period, this is no conventional Regency romance.
Unconquered is a fantasy, but it's a fun romp. Some of the undertones are a bit dated but surely were just the thing in 1981. I gobbled it down in a single sitting. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and Wonderful!, June 16 2000
By 
J. Austin "jodylync" (Dublin, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
I was shocked by the other reviews. I love this book and consider it one of the best. Miranda is cool and determined, but not cold. She is merely frustrated by the long separation from her husband. The murder scene of Gillian was to show the evil capabilities of the Prince, who would do anything for his own personal gain and pleasure. Only a woman of Miranda's determination and the love of her husband could defeat this man. Although Miranda seemed to want to blame their separation solely on Jared, it was obvious that they were both to blame. Both were headstrong and independent. I think at the end they learned to depend upon one another. I rank Miranda right up there with Skye, Zenobia, and Cyra. Cool, collected, determined, and strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different and exciting, May 13 2000
By 
J. Austin "jodylync" (Dublin, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unconquered (Mass Market Paperback)
Bertrice Small leaves 16th century England and Scotland for early 19th century America. I love it! This change of scenery was fantastic! Miranda was a terrific character and went thru hell and high water for the love of Jared. One of my all time favorites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unconquered
Unconquered by Bertrice Small (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 12 1984)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews