Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic!
"The Door into Summer" is Heinlein's best and one of my top favorites. I cannot remember how many times I have reread this book, even if not from page 1 till the end, but definitely chapters of it. Besides an amazing plot, the characters have depth and of course the cat with a mind of his own. Heinlein is definitely a great story teller when he sets his mind to...
Published on July 20 2004 by R.Parklane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge for what they did to his cat!
Dan Davis is an engineer and inventor. He loves his cat. When his fiance and business partner force him out of his own company, he's okay with that. When they steal his latest invention, he's okay with that. When they drug him and throw him into cryogenic sleep for 30 years, well, the "future" is not so bad. However, when they try to harm his cat, Dan Davis must...
Published on Aug. 28 2003 by Craig MACKINNON


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic!, July 20 2004
By 
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Door into Summer" is Heinlein's best and one of my top favorites. I cannot remember how many times I have reread this book, even if not from page 1 till the end, but definitely chapters of it. Besides an amazing plot, the characters have depth and of course the cat with a mind of his own. Heinlein is definitely a great story teller when he sets his mind to it. Our hero's narration of his misfortunes and ultimate revenge and reward is simply delightful reading, with never a dull moment. There are even some sweet moments which are touching. One cannot help but wish the best for our hero and his cat. And this story remains one of the best about time travelling though "Replay" by Ken Grimwood comes a close second. The Door into Summer is simply timeless and will always remain in the front row of my favorite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great description of the role of patents in technology, July 13 2004
By 
Andrew W. Johns "ResQgeek" (Alexandria, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
Written in the mid-50's, Heinlein was projecting the future for both the 1970's setting and the 2001 setting for this story. While his choices are interesting (and some, such as the ubiquitous ATM's in 2001, are amazingly accurate), what I found most interesting was the role patents play in this story. Heinlein clearly appreciates the role that patents play in the business world, and makes good use of them as a vehicle for Dan's ultimate revenge. Overall, Heinlein's descriptions of patents and the patenting process remain accurate after almost 50 years, though the patent laws have been tweaked slightly in the last decade. If anything, patents are even more important today than they were in the 1950's (when Heinlein was writting this book the U.S. had issued about 2.5 million patents...today we are rapidly approaching 7 million!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Heinlein's Very Best, Jan. 12 2004
By 
gtoherder "gto69wt" (Tucson, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
When you hang on to a book through three decades, three trans-continental moves and various other tidal forces such as marriage and kids you either a) are very possesive about books (guilty) or b) you have a book worth hanging on to - one of those that is lovingly packed for a move well before the last-minute frenzy to shove everything into boxes and one that makes 'home' out of wherever those boxes are unpacked.
Heinlein wrote simply a ton of excellent science fiction and his place in the pantheon of that genre is so assured as to be fundamental. So when a lot of people, and check the number of reviews on this well-aged book, say it might be one of his best it's worth at a minimum a second look.
In this story you get not just time travel, cryogenic sleep, and robots, you get a quick tour through the meanings of friendship, love, deceit, the sweetness of affection and the bitterness of betrayal and if you don't have a good time along the way then there's really nothing I can think of to recommend for you with any likelihood of better luck. I'm sure there are lots of fine people who despise 'The Door Into Summer', I just don't know any of them.
My original copy has survived three decades in my possession; it's original cost was $1.50. Today's version costs a bit more but it'll have acid-free paper and probably better typeface and binding. The contents still outweigh the cost by a wide margin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel at Its Best, Sept. 22 2003
By 
A. Wolverton (Crofton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
At the time he was writing, Heinlein's books were so much better than all the others because he was so much smarter than most other writers. He thought things through first (which many others did too), but then he added an element that many other sf writers didn't (and some STILL don't): humanity.
Dan Davis, an inventor, narrates the story. He's a brilliant inventor and has come up with some pretty amazing gadgets, including Hired Girl, a robot who cleans, sweeps, vacuums, mops, and generally works all day long without supervision. Dan's problems begin mounting when he learns he's been betrayed by his partner. And to add insult to injury, Dan's fiancée is in on the betrayal as well. As if betrayal alone isn't enough, the two conspirators have Dan placed into a 30-year suspended animation. Dan wakes up 30 years later and is focused on one thing: revenge.
Now lots of authors could have taken the above premise and come up with an entertaining story. Heinlein did this and much more. He shows us that change (for individuals and for all humanity) is difficult, but not impossible. The future is full of challenges, but no matter how much technology changes, no matter how much language, currency, and trends change, man's basic instincts and attitudes remain constant.
Heinlein also tackles the implications of time travel better than anyone else from this period. (The book first appeared in 1957.) The problem of time travel is well thought out and logical. (Wish you could say that about every time travel story.) If you haven't read Heinlein, or if all you've read is 'Stranger in a Strange Land,' 'Starship Troopers,' or 'The Moon is a Harsh Mistress' (all great books), treat yourself to a fun, intelligent read from one of the true masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, charming SF tale, Sept. 8 2003
By 
John S. Ryan "Scott Ryan" (Cuyahoga Falls, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
I rank this among Heinlein's three absolutely magisterial novels (the other two being _Double Star_ and _The Moon is a Harsh Mistress_). Such judgments are notoriously subjective and controversial. But I feel safe in saying that any SF reader will find something to enjoy in this marvelous story.
It's part SF, part fairy tale, and part just plain good storytelling. Engineer/inventor Daniel Boone Davis and his feline companion Petronius the Arbiter are two of Heinlein's best-realized characters; the plot here is well-conceived and evenly, swiftly paced.
In case you haven't read it, I won't spoil it for you. The setup is that Davis has just been rooked by his best friend and his fiancee, and he's out to do something about it. What happens then is the story itself, so I won't tell you; I'll just say that the time-travel aspect is worked out every bit as neatly as in "By His Bootstraps", and the tale is one of Heinlein's most humane ever. I've read it more times than I can count, and there's a bit near the end that _always_ gets me. (You'll know what I mean when you get there.)
Heinlein wrote this at the peak of his talent. If you haven't read it yet, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge for what they did to his cat!, Aug. 28 2003
By 
Craig MACKINNON (Thunder Bay, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
Dan Davis is an engineer and inventor. He loves his cat. When his fiance and business partner force him out of his own company, he's okay with that. When they steal his latest invention, he's okay with that. When they drug him and throw him into cryogenic sleep for 30 years, well, the "future" is not so bad. However, when they try to harm his cat, Dan Davis must revenge himself on the perpetrators. Fortunately, there is a method available for a suitable revenge....
This book is charming, fun, and a very quick read at 160 pages. I can see why people have such great affection for it (although I doubt man dog-lovers do...). It's remarkably cheerful and optimistic. Although I would not consider it a "juvenile" novel, it has the same upbeat tone as Rocket Ship Galilieo and Between Planets.
Some of Heinlein's inventions are eerily prescient: urban sprawl on the west coast, Velcro, CAD, easing of nudity taboos, etc. Let's be realistic, however - there are equal numbers (or more) of busts - automatic vacuums, robots, and nuclear war, to name a few. Heinlein has always been a writer that seems prescient, but it's only because statistically, someone who makes as many predictions as he is bound to get some right. Likewise, the main character is not realistic - resourseful, inventive, likeable, yes, but no one person could invent the things Davis does. Therefore, I recommend the book because of it's sunny disposition, while simultaneously shaking my head at its absurdities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grandly Entertaining, July 19 2003
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
Ideally, this book should be read right after Starship Troopers. I cannot imagine two more dissimilar books from the same author. Both are great, but this book is light entertainment on the highest level: wonderful characters, quick clever story, and at the end deliciously sentimental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Heinlein, July 5 2003
By 
James H. McDuffie (Huntsville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
This, like The Rolling Stones has a special effect on me. I don't understand why with this novel either. This is typical of the very best of Heinlein and he is guilty of several literary sins including breeziness. But these same sins are what makes his novels and short stories work so well; something most modern writers and "literary" writers would do well to explore in greater depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An oldie but a goodie, May 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was written a long time ago, but is still very good.
This is the story of an inventor who is cheated by his business partner and his gold-digging fiancee and forced to take "The long sleep," suspended animation for thirty years. He awakens in the year 2000 (I told you it was old), and discovers that it is now possible to travel through time both backwards AND forwards, and returns to the past bent on revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best time travel book of all time, May 2 2003
This review is from: The Door into Summer (Mass Market Paperback)
I am not a big Heinlein fan - and many years ago I wrote a review for a Monterey newspaper that somehow allowed me to meet Heinlein and his gracious wife - and we spent the whole time discussing all the great paradoxes that he raises in this great book -written in the 50's and still the best (and most entertaining and simplest and most complex -- paradox uh???) time travel book of all time.
Why can't we travel into time? Read this book and see why not and still why yes....
If you could travel back into time and you did and then killed your grandfather ---- how could you have existed at all... to travel back? Interested in this great paradox???? Read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0d19618)

This product

The Door into Summer
The Door into Summer by Robert A. Heinlein (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 12 1986)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews