Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Why all the weird names
I wrote in my review of a spell for chameleon that I didn't like the Bink name. Now we have more of the same old stuff about weird names. Dor? Roogna? What ever happened to Dave or Mike. Other than that the book was pretty good. It tells of a young prince's adventures in a tapestry. How this can happen in a tapestry is beyond me. Magic I guess. The main character...
Published on Jan. 26 2004 by joepaterno

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the most recognized titles in the Xanth series.
I orginally picked up this book because of the castle on the front, and I was in that kind of mood. Castle is a relatively good book that at times relies on puns and sarcastic humor more than a plot line. It is best to read the Xanth novels in sequence so don't read this one until you have read the ones set chronically before it
Published on May 10 1997


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Why all the weird names, Jan. 26 2004
By 
"joepaterno" (Happyvalley, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
I wrote in my review of a spell for chameleon that I didn't like the Bink name. Now we have more of the same old stuff about weird names. Dor? Roogna? What ever happened to Dave or Mike. Other than that the book was pretty good. It tells of a young prince's adventures in a tapestry. How this can happen in a tapestry is beyond me. Magic I guess. The main character he meets up with is a smart talking spider. He has many adventures and comes of age while helping to save the kingdom. This book impressively deals with many adolescent problems and is very exciting. This novel makes you remember what it was like back when you were growing up. I know I will never look at spiders the same way again. And dcn't be so quick to kill those flee's in your hair. This book is head and shoulders (no pun intended) above the rest of the fantasy genra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a very good Xanth novel, April 4 2003
By 
Joe Sherry (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third book in Piers Anthony's Xanth series. The book takes place 12 years after the events in The Source of Magic. Bink's son is twelve years old, and has a Magician Class talent. Dor can talk to inanimate objects (they audibly speak to him). Dor is the heir apparent to the throne of Xanth, but he still has to deal with the same issues that any 12 year old might have to deal with. In his case, loneliness. King Trent, in hopes to help mature Dor, sends him on a quest to The Good Magician Humphrey to discover a way to reanimate the Zombie Jonathon. Millie the Ghost, no longer a ghost loves Jonathon, but Jonathon is still a zombie. Humphrey knows of a way to get an elixir to heal Jonathon, but it can only be acquired from the Zombie Master, a Magician who lived 800 years earlier.
The Good Magician gives Dor a spell to put him into a tapestry that shows the events of that time period. In this way, Dor occupies the body of a Mundane warrior during the 4th Wave of Mundane Invasion. The King at the time is the legendary King Roogna. In Dor's quest for the elixir he encounters the Magicians of the time and gets involved in the very civil conflict between King Roogna and the Magician Murphy.
This book is one of the better Xanth novels (i.e. one of the first Xanth novels) and while it gives part of the history of the land (always important), it also introduces characters who will later become important players in the series (Dor, Iris, Murphy, Vadne).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, Feb. 21 2003
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
I started reading the Xanth series from Piers Anthony in seventh grade and frankly I hated reading but you know... if you want to pass you have to get major things done like BOOK REPORTS!!! yeah... I went to the library and this book caught my eye... i looked at the thing inside that tells what order the books go in but the first two books weren't there... so i got this one and i read till my eyes were about to burst. I STRONGLY recomend ANYTHING from this author especially the Xanth Series. great story lines and fun little puns. Ogre, Ogre was probably my favorite. After reading this book I read the first two... (A Spell For Chameleon and The Source Of Magic) and they seemed a little draggy... but still great books... YOU SHOULD DEFINATELY CHECK THESE BOOKS OUT!!!!!!!!!! they are the only books i'll read...(less i have to read something else for school). lol. Well... that's all i can say to convince you to check these books out... they are awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You'll never look at spiders the same way again, Jan. 22 2003
By 
Tung Yin (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
"Castle Roogna" is the third in the "Xanth" series by Piers Anthony. Unlike the first two, which focused on Bink, this one focuses on Bink's son, Dor. Dor is a twelve year old Magician with the power to speak to inanimate objects or the dead -- which is quite useful as a means of gathering information. When Queen Iris tries to scare him with illusions of dragons or other horrible monsters, Dor is able to ask the floor if the creature is real, and when he's told it's not, he can walk through the illusion without fear.
Dor gets sent on a mission to find a way to bring zombie Jonathan back to life as a favor to Millie the maid. It's tough because Dor has a severe crush on Millie, due partially to the fact that her magic talent is sex appeal(?). But Millie loves Jonathan. To find the means to bring Jonathan back to life, Dor has to travel 800 years in the past through a magic tapestry.
Along on the ride is a giant spider named Jumper. Well, he was normal size in Xanth, but he got transformed into a six foot tall spider in the past. Disgusting? Maybe. But Jumper is incredibly loyal, mature, powerful, and genuine decent.
One of the really neat things about "Castle Roogna" is how well its plot fits in with the previous two novels ("A Spell for Chameleon" and "The Source of Magic") -- oddities like the Forget spell around the Gap (no one remembers the Gap) are explained by the end of this book in a satisfying way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best, June 10 2002
By 
not4prophet (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is well worth reading, although it isn't the best book in the Xanth series. Like "A Spell for Chameleon" and "The Source of Magic", the plot zips from one action-filled adventure to the next, and there's plenty of light-hearted humor. However, some of the jokes and puns start to feel a little bit flat, and the 'surprise ending' really isn't much of a surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1, April 19 2002
By 
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an excellet book. I read the series once when I was 13 and couldn't stop. Now I have to buy all the book because the library doesn't have them but I dont' care. These are the best books I have ever read and would recommend them to everyon young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEXT TO HARRY POTTER!!, June 24 2001
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
i love piers anthony! i am so glad he wrote so many books! the only thing i don't like is that all the women in his books are beautiful. and all his men hansome. but other then that I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT HIS BOOKS! i cried in this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, Feb. 16 2001
By 
"jazzz" (Columbia, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
This Book is third in the series The Magic of Xanth by Piers Anthony. It is about a magic land called Xanth, where everyone has a magic talent that no one else could do, which bears a striking resemblance to the state of Florida. It too is a peninsula. It borders a land called Mundania (for obvious reasons)It has land features like "Lake Ogre-Chobee" and "Ogre-Fen-Ogre Swamp." The first two books in the series deal with the adventures of Bink, the supposedly talent less young man. He really has a wizard-level talent: nothing magic can possibly hurt him. He goes on a quest to find his magic talent in the first book, and in the second book he discovers the source of Xanth's magic. Castle Roogna is the story of Bink's, and his wife, Chameleon's son. His name is Dor. His magician-caliber talent is the ability to talk to any, and all inanimate objects. King Trent, the Transformer (who was at one time the evil Magician Trent) sent Dor on a quest to find the Zombie-Master, a magician from eight-hundred years in the past. His task was to gain a zombie restorative potion to bring his nurse, Millie's, eight-hundred year dead zombie boyfriend, Jonathan. To do so, he must travel to the Good Magician Humphrey, a master of information. He needs to go there to learn how to make the huge time jump. Humphrey tells him that he needs to use a potion that will transport him through the magic tapestry in Castle Roogna. When Dor uses the potion, he appears in...Xanth! but not the Xanth he is used to, because he's now eight-hundred years in the past He is in the body of a huge Mundane warrior, and when he turns around he is face to face with a huge, furry, green, ugly, monstrous, and otherwise repulsive spider. He manages to communicate to the spider that he doesn't want to fight just in time to kill a band of attacking goblins. He makes friends with the jumping spider, who is for some very, veeery odd reason called "Jumper". They are captured by a gigantic bird, and meet Millie, eight-hundred-twelve years younger, but with her talent of sex-appeal still very much intact. Dor, who has a crush on Millie in his own time, is absolutley smitten with the teenage version of his childhood fantasy. They experience many adventures on the way to the Zombie-Master, including, but not limited to attempts by Harpies to mate with Dor to infuse their race with one of their alternating generations of human and vulture blood, an attack by a Mundane army, an encounter with a zombie ogre, ornery centaurs, obstinate goblins with warped senses of honor, sex-crazed nymphs and fauns having orgies in the middle of the woods, a huge brain-corral that steeped bodies in preservative fluid, a woodwife (find out for yourself), and a few (hah!) more. By the time Dor meets up with the Zombie-Master, he has another reason to seek him out. King Roogna's unfinished castle (Castle Roogna) is being built, but the huge war between the Harpie's and the goblins (it's complicated) is converging on the castle's sight. If it is allowed to happen, Castle Roogna will be destroyed, ending King Roogna's short reign. And we all know what will happen if that occurs...what you want me to tell you. Like I said, find out for yourself. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Castle Roogna review, Jan. 16 2001
By 
carol (Spokane, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
He has been very successful over the years with all the science fiction novels he has written. He first stated off in 1967 with his first book, it was the first of many. Over the years he has become the well writer. Writing many series on novels such as the Xanth Series. He got his first real break into getting a lot of attention. Then the book Spell of a Chameleon came out that was the book to jump-start the Xanth series and his career. The book Castle Roogna was a very interesting book in the Xanth series. This book is a fantasy where magic is everywhere and everyone has some. The main character Dor is now 12 years of age and he has the magic power to talk to nonliving things. He has a crush on Millie his maid, Millie is an ex-ghost and she is in love with the zombie Jonathon. Just a little love triangle to spark off an adventure. So Dor goes off to get a restoration elixir to bring Jonathon back for Millie. The adventure starts when he goes to the magician castle to find where the elixir is. He gets into the castle and the magician told him he has to travel eight hundred years in the past to where the zombie master lives to get it from him. He goes back in time eight hundred years to find the zombie master, but first he goes back to the castle and tells King Trent was is happening and he is fine with it so he enters the tapestry which makes them go back in time eight hundred years. More to come if your read the rest of the book Castle Roonga by Piers Anthony and see all the trouble Dor goes though trying to get the restoration elixir for Jonathon the Zombie. He has been very successful over the years with all the science fiction novels he has written. He first stated off in 1967 with his first book, it was the first of many. Over the years he has become the well writer. Writing many series on novels such as the Xanth Series. He got his first real break into getting a lot of attention. Then the book Spell of a Chameleon came out that was the book to jump-start the Xanth series and his career. The book Castle Roogna was a very interesting book in the Xanth series. This book is a fantasy where magic is everywhere and everyone has some. The main character Dor is now 12 years of age and he has the magic power to talk to nonliving things. He has a crush on Millie his maid, Millie is an ex-ghost and she is in love with the zombie Jonathon. Just a little love triangle to spark off an adventure. So Dor goes off to get a restoration elixir to bring Jonathon back for Millie. The adventure starts when he goes to the magician castle to find where the elixir is. He gets into the castle and the magician told him he has to travel eight hundred years in the past to where the zombie master lives to get it from him. He goes back in time eight hundred years to find the zombie master, but first he goes back to the castle and tells King Trent was is happening and he is fine with it so he enters the tapestry which makes them go back in time eight hundred years. More to come if your read the rest of the book Castle Roonga by Piers Anthony and see all the trouble Dor goes though trying to get the restoration elixir for Jonathon the Zombie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Xanth?, Dec 18 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Castle Roogna (Mass Market Paperback)
The Xanth series is one of the most enjoyable bits of english literature ever to reach print. It is a real achievement to write something so nonsensical that yet rings so true.
This book may well be the best of the Xanth series. For my money it is a toss-up between this and the next in the series, "Centaur_Aisle". As I see it the first two volumes ("A_spell" and "The_Source") start out bravely but suffer from teething troubles. In "Castle_Roogna" Piers Anthony reaches the top of his form, holding on to it in "Centaur_Aisle" after which it slowly drops off. When the evil computer makes its entry the series is just about lost (must be a Microsoft Computer, spoiling everything its touches!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castle Roogna
Castle Roogna by Piers Anthony (Mass Market Paperback - June 12 1987)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews