Customer Reviews


764 Reviews
5 star:
 (591)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mythical, magical, but ultimately human story
I am, perhaps, somewhat biased about this book. I've read it, probably, at least a dozen times: let's put it this way, my hardcover copy is falling apart. Clearly I'm a fan, not just of Arthurian fiction but of Marion Zimmer Bradley as well.
A life-long enjoyment of Arthuriana will teach you one very clear thing: there is no definitive story or Arthur, and therefore...
Published on July 6 2004 by Toni Kamsler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Have the Knights of Camelot Ever Seemed So Wretched?
While this is certainly a well-written book, and an epic tale, I was glad to be done with it. This is the first book I read about the legend of Arthur and Camelot, and the overwhelming feeling I got from it was wretchedness. I had brought to the table images of gallant and glorious knights and adventure, expecting tales of bravery, brotherhood, and battle. But instead...
Published on Jan. 6 2004 by Shambalagala


‹ Previous | 175 76 77 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book Ever!!!!!!!!, Aug. 12 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
This book was so great, i couldn't put it down. I reread the book 3 times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's just a two line thingy, May 3 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
this was the best book i have ever read. it is a wonderful story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, May 10 1998
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
Simply the best retelling of King Arthur's tale I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTMENT FROM A HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BOOK, Dec 20 2003
By 
M. Ryan "lucy146" (MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
I read this book a number of years ago based on rave reviews by a number of my friends. I was unable to finish it. I slogged
through 3/4ths of it before giving up. It was quite awhile ago so I can't go into too many specifics but i do remember flat,
unsympathetic, un-likable characters. The women all seemed to view themselves as victims. Strong women, even if victimized
usually don't have the time to wallow in self pity as these characters seemed to. It all became too irritating & honestly too boring
for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overrated tripe, Jan. 3 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
The popularity of this book continues to amaze me. Like many books written to make a particular point, the author overreaches and undermines her purpose by using a heavy hand. If you want a more balanced Arthur, try Parke Godwin's Firelord.
The reaction of the author's fans to the title of this review should clarify the problem with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, April 24 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
This is a modern day classic. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mostly mean-spirited, dour read, Feb. 8 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
If you like fiction laced with a vague, free-floating dislike or hatred of men (or "males"), and the portrayal of Christianity as an evil force that sapped all of the joy and magic out of the world and enslaved women forever, this is the book for you. It's even got incest as a major theme, to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enchanting, March 23 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
Every woman should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait!, Feb. 6 2009
By 
Why Not (Toronto, ON, Can) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mists of Avalon (Paperback)
This book was given to me as a present over 15 years ago, and for some reason I held onto it though I never picked it up to read... I finally just finished reading it, and I'm so glad I hung onto it for all this time! Beautifully written, it is an intriguing and unique perspective of the Arthurian legends. Character development is fantastic and MZB takes you through several generations of key players, creating ever more depth in a compelling plot. The continual contrasting of paganism and Christianity is fascinating, and the feministic perspective is refreshing without being over-zealous... If you enjoy fantasy with both mythical and historical approaches, if you value character development and beautiful prose, this is a book I highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 175 76 77 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mists of Avalon
The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley (Paperback - May 12 1987)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews