Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragonsdawn
Great story and wonderful narrative and am looking forward to read the rest of the series, and other books by this author
Published 20 months ago by darnfinehobby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for those who truely love the world of Pern
I fell in love with the first 3 books in the Pern series when I was in high school. Dragonsdawn takes you back to when Pern was first inhabitated and the first encounters with thread and the creation of the dragons. It is and adequate read and certainly anyone who loves the stories of Pern would find it interesting enough. It is just not of the same standard as the...
Published on Aug. 2 2003 by M. Rhodes


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dragonsdawn, Nov. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
Great story and wonderful narrative and am looking forward to read the rest of the series, and other books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous prequal!, Sept. 12 2003
By 
Katayla (Tacoma, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
Ever wonder where the dragons of Pern came from? This book gives a satisfying answer to that question.
Anne McCaffrey goes back to the beginning in this novel, describing not only where the dragons came from, but how the people got to Earth. This book ranks among the best of McCaffrey's Pern series, combining romance and drama, with science fiction and fantasy.
Fans will love it and it's great place for new readers to start. Highly reccomanded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great beginning to an awesome series!, Aug. 10 2003
By 
Miriam (Provo, UT, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
After you get past the beginning techno stuff, you will have trouble putting down this book.
Dragonsdawn is about the colonists who came to Pern. They settle in at Landing and start building houses for families and Crafthalls to set up apprentinceship.
Soon young Sorka and Sean find miniature dragons who come to be called firelizards. Their friendship blossoms soon after they get firelizards of their own.
Unexpected danger comes all too soon in the form of mindless silver worms that fall from the sky to eat anything organic in it's path. Thread!
Only fire, water or stone will stop the Thread, but the sleds that the colonists brought with them weren't for often use and soon they weren't adequate to protect the people, but there is one hope. Those little firelizards that Sorka and Sean found can teleport themselves and breathe fire. They protect things from the Thread.
If only they were big enough to hold a rider. Kitti Ping genetically engeneers dragons and her granddaughter tries to keep on where Kitti left of, but fails with breeding a watchwher, a dragonlike animal who is sensitive to the light and is very protective of those it knows.
Soon, the volcano near Landing erupts and everyone is driven out to live elsewhere and leave a lot of technology behind.
This book is the basis for some of the themes in other later books such as The White Dragon and All The Weyrs of Pern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only for those who truely love the world of Pern, Aug. 2 2003
By 
M. Rhodes "stagemomx3" (Enumclaw, Wa. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
I fell in love with the first 3 books in the Pern series when I was in high school. Dragonsdawn takes you back to when Pern was first inhabitated and the first encounters with thread and the creation of the dragons. It is and adequate read and certainly anyone who loves the stories of Pern would find it interesting enough. It is just not of the same standard as the first 3 books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites, July 18 2003
By 
Cybele A. Baker (Berkeley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
Nothing can top the first six books of the Pern series but this is definitely one of the best after those first six.
Moving and beautfully told, it really shouldn't be read until you have read the first 3 books(Dragonflight, Quest and White Dragon) and then Moreta.
Even though this is a stand alone novel I just can't imagine folks having the same reaction the stories of the founders of McCaffery's wonderful world of dragons, harpers, holds and weyrs if you haven't at least read the four books I mention.
The sacrifices made in this book brought me to tears and at one point sobs. Just simpley well done with wonderful memorable characters, both good and bad and just so well researched so that all the genetics and science sound right but not too tech so that nontech readers like me keep my interest.
Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of an amazing trilogy, July 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
Dragonsdawn is the beginning to arguably the best Pern series written by McCaffrey. The novel and the subsequent novels suck the reader in with realistic characters and the pageturning force of a tidal wave. These novels are only surpassed by McCaffrey's amazing Freedoms Landing and the final books of that trilogy. If you havn't read these books and are a fan of the Pern novels, you must pick them up! If you are looking to jump in to a new world this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Answered a Lot of My Questions About Pern!, June 17 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
A small group of settlers have risked everything on the information of a survey of Pern a hundred years or more before. They have traveled 15 years in deep sleep on older spaceships to reach the new planet and to start a whole new way of life. Some come because they want the chance to own their own land, others come for the adventure, others come for riches. When they first arrive on Pern, it truly feels like a paradise. The settlers choose a valley at the base of three inactive volcanoes to be their first settlement, which they call Landing. The settlers are eagerly experimenting with seeds and plants brought from other planets and trying to get animals settled and fertilized. Schools to teach children about their new life are quickly organized. Charter members of the group get first pick of land and set out exploring and claiming their small holdings. Others are content to live in Landing and to wait for their turn to spread out. All seems to be perfect...
Eight years later, the settlers notice an unusual cloud formation and think that there is a storm coming in. But when silver thread-like things start falling from the sky and devouring anything organic that can be found, paradise turns into a kind of living hell. The only bright spot that can be found in the whole tragedy is that the fire lizards seemed to know when the thread was coming and warned their owners to get inside where it was safe. The colony hopes that the thread-fall was a one-time occurrence, but then they notice the star with the irregular orbit that has slowly gotten closer to the planet and they realize that the thread is going to keep coming back. Many colonists despair and demand that the leaders send out the homing beacon to bring help from earth, but that could take 10 years or more, if help comes at all. Others turn to the fire lizards for answers. Finally, in one desperate action, they ask a geneticist to manipulate the genes of fire lizards to build something bigger - something more dragon sized that would be more effective against the thread. With time running out, all of Pern's hopes rest on the project of one woman...
This book is a stand-alone in the Pern series in that you don't need to be familiar with any other background before you read it, but there are many things that won't really make sense or won't seem important if you are not familiar with Pern's later history. Dragonsdawn answers questions such as how the dragons came to be, how they got their mental connection with their riders, how watchweyrs are different from dragons and why, how the colonists ended up in caves on the northern continent instead of the southern continent where they first settled, how the grubs were developed that ate thread, where the cat came from that caused a plague that decimated the population during Moreta's time, who the first dragonriders were and why they named the Holds and Weyrs what they did. The only complaint that I had was that the story was told from so many different points of view and contained so many characters that you really had to be on your toes while you read it. At the first part of the book, it wasn't so bad. McCaffrey refered to people by their first and last names and many of them were familiar to me because they had holds, weyrs and natural landmarks named after then such as Paul Benden, Emily Boll, Sallah Telgar, etc. Then the last names were dropped and we were left with the first names. After a while I got used to it, but then we had those long stretches of time where everyone got older all of a sudden and there are children and other people to deal with. Good thing there are plenty of references in the book to help you keep track of everyone! Although this book could technically be considered the first in the Pern series as far as chronology goes, I think that it is helpful to read the books in the order that Anne McCaffrey wrote them so that you can fully appreciate the detail of the world that McCaffrey has so painstakingly created. This book is a wonderful blend of science fiction and fantasy and I think anyone would thoroughly enjoy it as there really is something for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book that started the greatest series ever, April 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
Dragonsdawn is a great book. It has many characters and a great plotline about the colonists battle to keep everything they had worked so hard for alive. I cried once, when Salla Telgar died a horible and cruel death from Avril Bitra. It had many happy, sad, and scary parts. This is a great book. I couldn't put it down and I read it in one day. A great book for people being introduced to this series, or read in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My First McCaffrey Book, Jan. 16 2003
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the first of McCaffrey's works that I have picked up. This book lays some foundation material for her world of Pern. It was a pretty good read as I was able to see what she was establishing and what could be done with it. The Characters were a bit shallow for my liking, but it was an overall good book. It piqued my interest enought to pick up some more of these books in the future. I have read that new readers are better off reading the Dragonriders of Pern trilogy first. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dawn for the dragons, Oct. 3 2002
By 
Marina L. "aqua31083" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragonsdawn (Audio Cassette)
Though I do not love Anne McCaffrey I am beginning to like her just a little.I read the Harpor Hall trilogy 1st and to some that would be a mistake but thats where my taste lies.Dragonsdawn is a good book.If you love fire-lizards its a good read.It kinda lets you into the dragons world little by little until you feel at home.Because of this book I want to read more not only of the fire-lizards but of the dragons themselfes and their bonded.The charachters are well written and I did cry twice to my surprise as I read the book.I got attached to the characters...Now my only problem is what is next after this book?...hehehe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragonsdawn
Dragonsdawn by Anne McCaffrey (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 13 1989)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews