Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
This is a great book and am so happy to have my own copy of it again. It's a book I'll read again and again.
Published 14 months ago by Margaret

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Belgarath's ultimate story for a captive audience!
Anyone who knows & loves him realizes that he "improves" upon the facts when he feels it is necessary. While it is extremely diverting, Polgara took grievances with the way he handled it & added her own two cents in yet another tome- of course, the whole project was her & Mother's idea :) A true devotee will enjoy seeing certain events from their...
Published on Oct. 22 2001 by Legendary Element


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, Feb. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book and am so happy to have my own copy of it again. It's a book I'll read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Dec 6 2012
By 
Wendy L. Brothers (Winnipeg, Manitoba, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Belgarath the Sorcerer (Paperback)
If you have read the Belgarian series you will highly enjoy this book. I am going to read the book on Polgara as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is in it for you? :), Jan. 9 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
If you are one of the many fans of "The Belgariad" and "The Malloreon", here is another treat for you. If you haven't had the pleasure of reading those wonderful epic fantasy series, make yourself a favour and read them before tackling "Belgarath the sorcerer". You can thank me later for introducing you to a wonderful new imaginary world and to likeable characters :)

"Belgarath the sorcerer" starts just where "The Malloreon" ended, that is the book "Seeress of Kell". And, strangely enough, it is nothing less than Belgarath's autobiography. As those who have read the series already know, Belgarath is a notoriously lazy sorcerer, probably the least likely person to feel the need to write his story. Unless someone compels him to do so, of course. But to know who or what could do that to an all-powerful sorcerer, you must read this book.

What is in it for you?. Well, lots of fun, and the opportunity to know how things really started, from the point of view of one of the main characters in the series. You get to accompany Belgarath from his birth in the small village of Gara, to the fateful day when he met Aldur and became first his pupil and then his disciple. In case you are as curious as me, you will also be grateful to know that this book will allow you to learn more about Belgarath's family, and to live wondrous adventures with him and his friends.

Personally, I found the opportunity of "living" the things I had merely read about in the previous books specially rewarding. The fact that Belgarath's memories span thousands of years gives the reader the opportunity of gaining a good perspective on all the things that happened, thus preparing him to read the previous books in the series in a different way. A warning is in order, though. If you haven't read the previously mentioned books, this book has big-time spoilers, so please don't risk ruining the surprises those series have for you. Do first things first, and read "The Belgariad" and "The Malloreon" before "Belgarath the sorcerer".

All in all, I loved reading this book, and I highly recommend it to those who don't feel ready to leave the world of Belgarath and his friends. Enjoy it!

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A warning to potential readers..., July 18 2004
By A Customer
This book is a great addition to the saga; a real added bonus for those who already love Eddings' work. Its wry humour and great storytelling style make it a definite page-turner, despite a few qualms I had with Belgaraths' little 'asides' to the reader - amusing to begin with, but a few of his quips fell short with me. However, overall, an extremely enjoyable read.
However, I must add a word of warning to potential readers out there. A lot of reviewers have been recommending Belgarath the Sorcerer as a good way to start on the Belgariad and Mallorean series - it IS a nice summary of the world Eddings has created but some people might want to avoid it until they have read the other series as this book reveals many of the plot-twists which, for me, made the Belgariad and Mallorean so enjoyable. Eddings' device of starting and ending this book with episodes from Garions' current life, set after Seeress of Kell, is a good idea but it means that a new reader will quickly find out what happens to the gang in the end - if you're the kind of person who flicks to the ends of books anyway then that's alright, but if you want to save the surprises for later then don't read this book yet! A friend of mine picked up Belgarath the Sorcerer before reading the other books and was disappointed that she then knew what was going to happen to Garion and his friends. Also, the world-building which came quite gradually in the Belgariad and Mallorean is now crammed into one book here, and I think many of the references to events in the other novels would be lost on new readers here, especially towards the end of this book when emphasis is heavily on the background of characters such as Silk, Barak and Garion.
Overall, a great book, but you'll get more out of it if you've read Eddings' previous works already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great for the fans, March 23 2004
By 
I thought this thick book would be at worst repeating things already mentioned in the saga, as the style of Eddings is similar to fairytales rather than an attempt for a realistic feeling world, and the stereotypes (particularly describing the various peoples and cultures) he already created in books 1 to 5 were repeated enough as it is. I was right about that, he repeats some things but generally speaking 90 percent of this book is all new material, as the history from Belgarath's point of view.
I had a great deal of good laughs; the book has a slower pace and allows for greater detail at points, but Eddings spares us a lot of boredom and still manages to capture not only great events but also everyday life. Robert Jordan could learn a thing or two from Eddings even though he might have greater talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Tale of Generations..., March 3 2004
By A Customer
I own all the books from the Belgariad and Mallorean series + Polgara and the Rivan Codex and this books fits perfectly with the entire collection.
The book follows the life of Belgarath and how he became the legend he is, from the time he was born in the village of Gara, to the meeting with Aldur, cracking of the world...and so on. There may be some slight inconsistencies....but it was deliberate because Belgarath is telling the story from HIS point of view and how things really happen. Some folks maybe disapointed about how certain events are actually duller than what was learned from the two previous series. But thats the idea! Legends are always exaggerated and when the truth is told, people are upset.
The interesting thing about the story is that Belgarath tried his best to keep the story down to earth as possible. Instead of the usual mystical mumbo jumbo, everything is laid out as if your own buddy was telling you the story.
Overall, I think its a great read and will answer a lot of unanswered questions from the two series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eddings Dairy of the Wolf is grand, Sept. 1 2003
By 
R. Reinhart "rar0831" (Minocqua, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I always like Belegarath from his sense of dry humor to his ability to tell great stories. Well this book was his greatest of all his stories and helped fill in alot of gaps which where left out previous to Pawn of Prophecy. I hope Eddings writes Beldin the Hunchbacked or something like that I think that would be the best individual personal history story ever. I would like to see from other people who write reviews after me name a Sorcerer they would like to have a book written after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Belgarath The Sorcerer., March 14 2003
By 
R. Sykes (Mirfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a must for readers of the Belgariad and the Malloreon. It is well written and humorous, yet there is sorrow here too - the apparent death of Belgarath's wife, Poledra and the loss of his two sorcerer brothers, Belsambar and Belmakor (although the latter is not clearly explained). Although written after the Belgariad and the Malloreon, new readers would do well to read Belgarath the Sorcerer first, as this will greatly facilitate their understanding of the later series. Belgarath himself is a likeable character, full of human weaknesses and foibles despite his enormous power, and the continual bickerings between himself and his rather straight-laced daughter, Polgara, are delightful. He is lazy, lackadaisical and often untrustworthy, but he fulfils his destiny completely, and his love for his master, the god Aldur, is very moving. A great story about a great character, whom you will come to regard as a friend when you finally lay down this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a whimsical tale that spans eons, Feb. 5 2003
By 
Crystal C. Loh (London, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone who has fallen as deeply in love with the Belgariad and the Mallorean as I have will truly cherish and enjoy this book. Told from the straight from the heart of the centuries-old, wise, witty, overdramatic and altogether lovable sorcerer Belgarath, the Old Wolf, this novel is a captivating and entertaining novel that expands on the beginnings of Eddings' world. Throughout the book we are introduced to the first people, and the first gods that roamed at the beginning of time, and the marvelous events and prophecy that lead up to the stories of the Belgariad and Mallorean. We finally are given a history of Belgarath's remarkable beginnings, from the small vilage of Gara, to his first encounter with Aldur and the other disciples, to the Breaking of the World, and onwards, following his footsteps in all the adventures and exploits that he experienced even before Garion was born. We finally are able to appreciate and realize the depth and intellect of the often shabby Old Wolf through his experiences and dialogues, and are able to hop right into his shoes and personally get to know the other characters whose presence is pivotal in directing the flow of time. Eddings ties together many loose ends and allows us to understand the many facets of Belgarath's life, from being the shabby old story teller to being the most powerful sorcerer in the world, able to instil awe and fear in so many ('Grat is not nice!). This book lacks nothing and is rich in depth, articulate and descriptive writing, and is peppered with the classic dry humour and penetrating wit that Eddings has mastered, and will keep you enthralled and laughing for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Explanation of the Matriarch, Nov. 10 2002
Belgarath the Sorcerer, tells the story of the first of Aldur's disciples, and his perspective on the importance of his family throughout time as they attempt to help set the universe straight after the purpose split at the early time.
From his time as an orphan child, to the rise of Eriond as the newest of the gods, to replace the deceased Torak, you're given an interesting perspective on things that is far from the tightly orderly mind of his daughter Polgara, or the wandering mind of his grandson Garion.
The only thing I wait for with this series, is the possibility of the Eddings' writing a book telling the story of Beldin, the twisted little 'cousin' of Belgarath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb01e6ad4)

This product

Belgarath the Sorcerer
Belgarath the Sorcerer by Leigh Eddings (Hardcover - Aug. 1 1995)
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews