Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars157
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 1, 2015
excellent quality books
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2014
Great old wolf
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great book that covers the centuries of Belgarath's life and his role in the events that changed the world. Excellent storytelling.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
This is a great book and am so happy to have my own copy of it again. It's a book I'll read again and again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
If you have read the Belgarian series you will highly enjoy this book. I am going to read the book on Polgara as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2007
If you are one of the many fans of "The Belgariad" and "The Malloreon", here is another treat for you. If you haven't had the pleasure of reading those wonderful epic fantasy series, make yourself a favour and read them before tackling "Belgarath the sorcerer". You can thank me later for introducing you to a wonderful new imaginary world and to likeable characters :)

"Belgarath the sorcerer" starts just where "The Malloreon" ended, that is the book "Seeress of Kell". And, strangely enough, it is nothing less than Belgarath's autobiography. As those who have read the series already know, Belgarath is a notoriously lazy sorcerer, probably the least likely person to feel the need to write his story. Unless someone compels him to do so, of course. But to know who or what could do that to an all-powerful sorcerer, you must read this book.

What is in it for you?. Well, lots of fun, and the opportunity to know how things really started, from the point of view of one of the main characters in the series. You get to accompany Belgarath from his birth in the small village of Gara, to the fateful day when he met Aldur and became first his pupil and then his disciple. In case you are as curious as me, you will also be grateful to know that this book will allow you to learn more about Belgarath's family, and to live wondrous adventures with him and his friends.

Personally, I found the opportunity of "living" the things I had merely read about in the previous books specially rewarding. The fact that Belgarath's memories span thousands of years gives the reader the opportunity of gaining a good perspective on all the things that happened, thus preparing him to read the previous books in the series in a different way. A warning is in order, though. If you haven't read the previously mentioned books, this book has big-time spoilers, so please don't risk ruining the surprises those series have for you. Do first things first, and read "The Belgariad" and "The Malloreon" before "Belgarath the sorcerer".

All in all, I loved reading this book, and I highly recommend it to those who don't feel ready to leave the world of Belgarath and his friends. Enjoy it!

Belen Alcat
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2004
This book is a great addition to the saga; a real added bonus for those who already love Eddings' work. Its wry humour and great storytelling style make it a definite page-turner, despite a few qualms I had with Belgaraths' little 'asides' to the reader - amusing to begin with, but a few of his quips fell short with me. However, overall, an extremely enjoyable read.
However, I must add a word of warning to potential readers out there. A lot of reviewers have been recommending Belgarath the Sorcerer as a good way to start on the Belgariad and Mallorean series - it IS a nice summary of the world Eddings has created but some people might want to avoid it until they have read the other series as this book reveals many of the plot-twists which, for me, made the Belgariad and Mallorean so enjoyable. Eddings' device of starting and ending this book with episodes from Garions' current life, set after Seeress of Kell, is a good idea but it means that a new reader will quickly find out what happens to the gang in the end - if you're the kind of person who flicks to the ends of books anyway then that's alright, but if you want to save the surprises for later then don't read this book yet! A friend of mine picked up Belgarath the Sorcerer before reading the other books and was disappointed that she then knew what was going to happen to Garion and his friends. Also, the world-building which came quite gradually in the Belgariad and Mallorean is now crammed into one book here, and I think many of the references to events in the other novels would be lost on new readers here, especially towards the end of this book when emphasis is heavily on the background of characters such as Silk, Barak and Garion.
Overall, a great book, but you'll get more out of it if you've read Eddings' previous works already!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2004
I thought this thick book would be at worst repeating things already mentioned in the saga, as the style of Eddings is similar to fairytales rather than an attempt for a realistic feeling world, and the stereotypes (particularly describing the various peoples and cultures) he already created in books 1 to 5 were repeated enough as it is. I was right about that, he repeats some things but generally speaking 90 percent of this book is all new material, as the history from Belgarath's point of view.
I had a great deal of good laughs; the book has a slower pace and allows for greater detail at points, but Eddings spares us a lot of boredom and still manages to capture not only great events but also everyday life. Robert Jordan could learn a thing or two from Eddings even though he might have greater talent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2004
I own all the books from the Belgariad and Mallorean series + Polgara and the Rivan Codex and this books fits perfectly with the entire collection.
The book follows the life of Belgarath and how he became the legend he is, from the time he was born in the village of Gara, to the meeting with Aldur, cracking of the world...and so on. There may be some slight inconsistencies....but it was deliberate because Belgarath is telling the story from HIS point of view and how things really happen. Some folks maybe disapointed about how certain events are actually duller than what was learned from the two previous series. But thats the idea! Legends are always exaggerated and when the truth is told, people are upset.
The interesting thing about the story is that Belgarath tried his best to keep the story down to earth as possible. Instead of the usual mystical mumbo jumbo, everything is laid out as if your own buddy was telling you the story.
Overall, I think its a great read and will answer a lot of unanswered questions from the two series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2003
I always like Belegarath from his sense of dry humor to his ability to tell great stories. Well this book was his greatest of all his stories and helped fill in alot of gaps which where left out previous to Pawn of Prophecy. I hope Eddings writes Beldin the Hunchbacked or something like that I think that would be the best individual personal history story ever. I would like to see from other people who write reviews after me name a Sorcerer they would like to have a book written after.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Polgara the Sorceress
Polgara the Sorceress by Leigh Eddings (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 26 1998)
CDN$ 10.99