Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy about Baseball in Iowa
Shoeless Joe by W.P. Kinsella is an inspiring story of Ray Kinsella, a not-so-typical farmer from Iowa who just loves baseball. One day while he's out in his cornfield, he hears the voice of a baseball announcer say, "If you build it, he will come." Like a vision from a crystal ball, he realises and sees that "he" is Shoeless Joe Jackson, and...
Published on April 28 2002 by Asher Coffield

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compares only slightly to the movie "Field of Dreams"
"Never judge a book by its movie," they say, and in this case the adage holds true. "Field of Dreams" has been around since 1989 and is not merely a baseball flick, or a Kevin Costner starlight -- it's the depiction of a spiritual journey for both Ray Kinsella and the audience. The book "Shoeless Joe," on the other hand, provides more food...
Published on Dec 2 2000 by Corinne H. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy about Baseball in Iowa, April 28 2002
By 
Asher Coffield (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
Shoeless Joe by W.P. Kinsella is an inspiring story of Ray Kinsella, a not-so-typical farmer from Iowa who just loves baseball. One day while he's out in his cornfield, he hears the voice of a baseball announcer say, "If you build it, he will come." Like a vision from a crystal ball, he realises and sees that "he" is Shoeless Joe Jackson, and "it" is a baseball field. Although he's called crazy by the rest of the town, his daughter and wife stand beside him. The voice, and Shoeless Joe keep him motivated as they lead him on a journey all across USA to fufill his dreams.
Shoeless Joe is a beautifully written story about going for your dreams, the American way, and remembering true values of life. It's a great book, and it's truly inspiring. I recommend you to BUY BUY BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, Aug. 2 2011
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Hardcover)
I was concerned about the condition of this book since it was an old first edition, but it was as described and arrived well packaged and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, June 5 2002
By 
Mike (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
The book itself is good overall and is a story that all baseball fans should read. This book is a reading level that 12 years of age and older could read, and when you do, you will get tied up in reading it all the time. At first when you start reading, you might think that it's a boring book, but you shouldn't stop because it gets better. The book starts off with Ray Kinsella, the main character, hearing a voice saying, "If you build it, he will come." This meant that if Ray built a baseball feild, Shoeless Joe Jackson would come. These words inspired him to do so, and he did.
The reason this book was appealing to me was because I am into baseball myself. I think anyone could enjoy this book, baseball fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An adventure through a pastime, Dec 4 2001
By 
Tyler Jackson (Arvada, Colorado---> USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
"If you build it he will come", an unfamiliar voice softly whispers in through the cornfield. These few words change Iowa farmer, Ray Kinsella's life. From minimal instruction Ray tears up a part of his precious corn crop on a hunch. In its place he builds a baseball field for his long dead idol. Shoeless Joe brings together the love a son has for his father, and the power of belief in a legend. The book also has a movie that was introduced in 1989, and it stars Kevin Costner. Although the movie definitely made history, the book brings a lot more things to the reader's attention. For example the movie never says anything about his long lost twin brother Richard, who left home early in life never to return until Ray builds the field. The wind like voices and the baseball field are on the beginning to the real adventure, and I would definitely suggest this book to anyone who wants to return to their pastime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shoeless Joe, Oct. 8 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
The book Shoeless Joe is the base for Field of Dreams. Shoeless Joe is a great book from him watching his father hood hero to him playing catch wiht his dad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and evocative, Aug. 28 2001
By 
"pspa" (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
The prose may be over the top at times, but what a preposterously brilliant, creative book: can one even conceive there would be a book where two of the principal characters were JD Salinger and the ghost of Shoeless Joe Jackson? As absurd as the plot is on its face -- an Iowa farmer is ordered by a "voice" to build a ballfield so the tortured soul of Shoeless Joe Jackson can play once more -- we are gladly swept along in a willing suspension of disbelief, as this marvelous, mystical, beautifully told tale unfolds. As much as I loved the movie Field of Dreams, the book is much much better, and is a true work of literary imagination, not just a book about baseball, although it is that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ORDER IT--IT WILL COME, Aug. 16 2001
By 
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
As an author with my debut novel in its initial release, I sincerely admire SHOELESS JOE by W.P. Kinsella. This novel was made into the famous film FIELD OF DREAMS, perhaps the greatest film about baseball (or was it about America?)ever made. I prefer SHOELESS JOE to FIELD OF DREAMS. I saw the film first, and when I read the book, I was impressed by the increased depth to SHOELESS JOE. The novel blends fantasy and reality in a story that is simple yet complex. It tells the tale of Ray Kinsella who plows down his crops because he hears a voice that tells him to. Shoeless Joe Jackson, his Black Sox teammates, Ray's father, and other athletes mystically arrive on this makeshift playing field. The reclusive (and we assume dreamer) J.D. Salinger also becomes involved in the plot. In SHOELESS JOE, W.P. Kinsella takes an inventive story line and uses it in support of the strongest of all possible themes. This novel is great. Order it--it will come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ORDER IT--IT WILL COME, Aug. 16 2001
By 
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
As an author with my debut novel in its initial release, I sincerely admire SHOELESS JOE by W.P. Kinsella. This novel was made into the famous film FIELD OF DREAMS, perhaps the greatest film about baseball (or was it about America?)ever made. I prefer SHOELESS JOE to FIELD OF DREAMS. I saw the film first, and when I read the book, I was impressed by the increased depth to SHOELESS JOE. The novel blends fantasy and reality in a story that is simple yet complex. It tells the tale of Ray Kinsella who plows down his crops because he hears a voice that tells him to. Shoeless Joe Jackson, his Black Sox teammates, Ray's father, and other athletes mystically arrive on this makeshift playing field. The reclusive (and we assume dreamer) J.D. Salinger also becomes involved in the plot. In SHOELESS JOE, W.P. Kinsella takes an inventive story line and uses it in support of the strongest of all possible themes. This novel is great. Order it--it will come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shoeless Joe, April 16 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
1982: Sometimes determination and an imagination can make a person's dreams reality. This notion was powerfully expressed throughout W. P. Kinsella's moving novel, Shoeless Joe. Driven by a mysterious voice that said, "If you build it, he will come", Ray Kinsella sets his ambitions on building a baseball diamond in his corn field in honor of his hero, Shoeless Joe Jackson. Ray Kinsella, a normal farmer from Iowa, ultimately achieved his dreams and ambitions with his baseball field, while seeing the mysterious Chicago Black Soxs play. Ray Kinsella, a baseball fanatic, wandered to New Hampshire to find the novelist, J.D. Salinger, the man the mysterious voice had instructed him to find. Salinger, a retired novelist, did not trust Kinsella, a strange farmer from Iowa who was going to take him to a Red Sox game. Kinsella had got orders from the mysterious voice to take Salinger to the game where they would get their next instructions. Throughout their travels, Salinger and Kinsella try to solve the riddles of the mysterious voice and go to Kinsella's baseball field. W. P. Kinsella induces a world of mystery and tensions between Ray Kinsella and J. D. Salinger as Salinger tells Kinsella, "I work alone. I have my own assignment to complete. I'm the only one who knows how to do it." The mysteries of their assignments are not discussed openly between themselves. Although Kinsella and Salinger are secretive, their loyalty and commitment is most admirable. W. P. Kinsella's writing style is intriguing, expressive, and passionate. While a fictitious novel, it portrays a man's passion for the game, going to all extremes to attain his dreams. This novel deals with the problems one encounters when trying to attain a goal so lofty that only the most determined and lucky people can achieve. Although this book is about baseball, it is about dreams, magic, and life. The images portrayed of the ghostly "Shoeless" Joe Jackson are riveting! A most interesting and captivating novel, Shoeless Joe provides hope to people's dreams that are most unreachable. A depiction of Ray Kinsella's baseball field will stay with you long after you have finished the last page of the novel. The magic of Kinsella's baseball field is exemplified in this passage: "The stars seem to float like flowers in a bowl only yards above our heads. I wonder how much of it is his own joy, and how much is for me. The White Sox taking batting practice, players throwing along the first-and third-base sides. Shoeless Joe in left field, and Eddie Cicotte warming up in the corner, his fastball whapping into the catcher's mitt, sending up a small explosion of dust each time it hits." By Kyle Jelléy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams Fade To Reality, April 15 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shoeless Joe (Paperback)
Daydreams, visions, and hopes all come together in the magical novel Shoeless Joe, written by WP Kinsella. In Kinsella's compelling novel, Ray Kinsella, an Iowa insurance agent turned farmer, is changed from a dreamer into a creator. At first, he is a dreamer, hoping to keep his farm while not making enough money off of it to pay off the mortgage. His brothers-in-law constantly attempt to buy his farm from him in order to complete a scheme to make them a load of money. Regardless, he keeps his farm and hopes for a way to pay for it. There, he enjoys life with his wife Annie and his daughter Karina. Annie and Karina support Ray throughout the book, giving him good advice and lifting his spirits when he needs it most. His love of baseball, dreaminess, and determination send him on a journey to both past and present to search for the greatest baseball game that he will ever see. It starts when, one summer evening, Ray hears an incorporeal voice say, "If you build it, he will come." Ray immediately knows that 'he' is Shoeless Joe Jackson, a man banned from baseball for life as a result of the infamous Black Sox scandal of 1919. The 'it' is a baseball field, to be constructed in Ray's cornfield. With care and diligence, Ray builds a stadium, with left field (Shoeless Joe's position) a veritable heaven. He waits for Shoeless Joe to appear, and in time he does and plays ball there every night. Then Ray perfects the rest of the field, and the other members of the Black Sox come to play for him. The fantasy appeared perfect, but it didn't last. Then, "Ease his pain." Ray hears those words from the immaterial voice after his completion of the stadium. Instinctively, he knows that the 'pain' is that of JD Salinger, the famous yet hermit-like author of Catcher in the Rye. He realizes that he must go cross-country and get Salinger to come with him to a baseball game, getting Salinger to stop being a hermit and go back to loving baseball. Ray effectively kidnaps an unwilling Salinger and takes him to Fenway Park for a game. Though at first stubborn, Salinger comes around, finally agreeing to go with Ray back to Iowa to see the magical field. On the way back to Iowa, other characters are encountered. They are Archibald 'Moonlight' Graham, a baseball player for the New York Giants (albeit only as a defensive replacement for an inning), Richard Kinsella, Ray's twin brother who has not been seen by Ray for many years but has been drawn back to Iowa by some freakish coincidence (or is it a coincidence?), and Eddie Scissons, an old man who loves to tell tales of his 'baseball days' with the Cubs, and how he will be buried in a Cubs uniform (although he never played for them). Both Scissons and Graham are former ballplayers who succumbed to everyday life, and all of the above men have something that they need to do; something that only Ray's ballfield can do for them. Through Ray and his field, they can regain a bit of the past, and part of their lives is reopened to them. From Salinger's invitation to visit with the phantom ballplayers to one of Ray's lifelong family dreams coming true to the revealing of Eddie's secrets to the transformation of Graham, each character has a unique and important role. Kinsella writes in detail about the characters, their problems, journeys, and successes. He mixes in trivial details with the important information and makes the book seem shorter than it really is. With clever imagery and a gripping storyline, Shoeless Joe is wonderfully written. It reads like a true story that happens to have some elements of a novel. This book is one of the better ones that I have read, because of both the great characters and the plot. Ray's dreams and journey stick with you after you have finished reading. One scene that captures the feeling of the book is this, at the end of the story; "On the porch, we turn to look at the silent, satiny green of the field. I press the switch, and, like a candle going out, the scar of lights disappears. Above the farm, a moon bright as butter silvers the night as Annie holds the door open for me." It shows how Ray loves the field, and how Annie has been a strongly supporting member of his family for him. The passage also shows how WP Kinsella describes with words (the silent, satiny green of the field) the beauty of the field and without words (as Annie hold the door open for me) how Annie has supported Ray throughout the book. By reading Shoeless Joe, one can understand what true baseball fandom is about, and how dreams can fade into reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shoeless Joe
Shoeless Joe by W.P. Kinsella (Paperback - Sept. 29 1996)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews