Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
The Tenth Planet is great fun. I read it in one sitting and followed it with the second book--Tenth Planet: oblivion. What can I say? These books are pure escapism. It's a simple story that goes something like this:
An archaeologist notices a black layer in one of his digs. He doesn't think anything of it at first. Forest fires in ancient times do leave such layers...
Published on Oct. 8 2003 by Mark E. Cooper

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "A Fun Read"
So it's not a deep book, but so what. Smith and Rusch have crafted a very cool story about a rogue planet that comes into Earth's orbit every 2,006 years and wreaks havoc. One of the best aspects of the book is the path the characters take in trying to figure out all they can about the Tenth Planet and what it will do when it gets here. Pretty good character...
Published on Jan. 1 2004 by John J. Rust


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars "A Fun Read", Jan. 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
So it's not a deep book, but so what. Smith and Rusch have crafted a very cool story about a rogue planet that comes into Earth's orbit every 2,006 years and wreaks havoc. One of the best aspects of the book is the path the characters take in trying to figure out all they can about the Tenth Planet and what it will do when it gets here. Pretty good character development, especially with the two archeologists, Cross and Bradshaw. While Cross is more ready to take a risk than others, Bradshaw is cautious to the point of fear. This is because of a finding he made 20 years prior that ruined his reputation. The aliens were handled very nicely. Not you typical evil alien conquerors. I really enjoyed the scenes from their points of view. And man, are they freaky looking things! The climax wasn't bad, and I am looking forward to reading the other books in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Oct. 8 2003
By 
Mark E. Cooper "Fantasybooks" (STANFORD-LE-HOPE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
The Tenth Planet is great fun. I read it in one sitting and followed it with the second book--Tenth Planet: oblivion. What can I say? These books are pure escapism. It's a simple story that goes something like this:
An archaeologist notices a black layer in one of his digs. He doesn't think anything of it at first. Forest fires in ancient times do leave such layers only not as thick, but when he notices the exact same thing at the same depth in two other sites, he becomes intrigued and begins to investigate. What he finds is horrifying. The black ash isn't ash at all and isn't caused by fire.
It seems that every 2006 years, something happens to cause those black layers in which all organic life dies--EVERY 2006 years, and guess how long the last one was... you got it! Now he's in a race against time to make his government aware that something from space is coming, and in less than a year!
Great fun.
Mark E. Cooper
Warrior Within (ISBN:0-9545122-0-0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gee, I sure hope the sequels are as good!, May 10 2003
By 
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
I just finished reading The Tenth Planet and rushed to write this review. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The aliens were truly alien, instead of the usual different-appearance-but-almost-human brand that's so common. They weren't even evil, but clearly they and we cannot coexist. Their depiction was extremely thoughtful and creative. As for the humans, if the plot were not so fantastic and the action so riveting, I might say the characters could have been developed a little better. The lack of depth seems to be par for the course in this type of Sci-Fi thriller, so I'm not so critical as some. Also, it didn't bother me in the least that this book had no conclusion--it's a trilogy! Anyone reading reviews now can buy all 3 books at once, and not lose a precious moment waiting for next release! I have to give this book 5 stars for the sheer entertainment...when I can't wait to get to the next page throughout the entire book, I know I've found a gem! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book!, May 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a great book that you have trouble putting down! I strongly suggest reading The Tenth Plant Oblivion and The Tenth Planet Final Assualt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting premise, faulty execution, March 5 2002
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
The Tenth Planet is the first of a trilogy of books (Tenth Planet: Oblivion & Tenth Planet: Final Assault) that appears to have been written as a tie-in to a video game. The first book is a good light read that raises some interesting plot threads that unfortunately are not followed through with books 2 and 3. It seems as if most of the effort for this series was placed in book one and rest of the series is uninteresting filler written to fulfill the book contact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommend reading for a plane or the beach., Sept. 25 2001
By 
Adam Missner (Roswell, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
A decent little scifi tale that was clearly "produced" to tie in with an upcoming video game and probably a movie. The first in a trilogy with the other two installments due later this year. Still, the story is cohesive and the writing palatable, which is a lot to say for most science fiction. Recommend reading for a plane or the beach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pure escapism, July 8 2001
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
Although published as three separate books, the Tenth Planet trilogy should really have been released as a single compilation. None of the three books are able to stand on their own. As a set, they are a light but engaging read. These books are pure escapist fun, with stereotypical characters, some plausible pseudo science and a fast paced plot. As long as you are not expecting great literature like Gene Wolfe and are prepared for sci fi that is more in the spirit of Edgar Rice Burroughs, you will enjoy this series.
In the first book, archeologist Leo Cross has discovered evidence of mass destruction through out Earth's history, repeating in precise intervals. Meanwhile, observers at the Hubble III telescope pick up a strange object, six months away on a near collision course with Earth. Earth has six months to guess what is happening and develop a defense.
If you enjoyed this series then you will probably like the Heritage Trilogy by Ian Douglas, which is far better written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun story: Part of an artificial trilogy., April 23 2001
By 
Chris (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed the book quite a bit, the concept of a dying world acting as a parasite sucking lifeblood from the Earth is uniquely entertaining, but I have one complaint.
Splitting the story into three books seems artificial. This book ends unnaturally and abruptly, as if the decision to make it part of a three book story was an afterthought, and the publisher just hunted for a chapter about 1/3rd through that seemed like an ok place to split it.
Now that the other two parts are out, however, I recommend you buy all three at once, and treat them as a single book. While not deep and thought provoking, it is a fun, lightweight read as a break from more lofty subjects...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swift and sure. A great read., April 9 2001
By 
Diane Bellomo (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked this one off my local library's shelf because of the Star Trek books I have read by these authors. I wondered at first about that, though, because the cover also states the story is "by" Rand Marlis and Christopher Weaver. But I'll put that on hold for now and hope perhaps sometime in the future I'll get that wonderment solved.
Meantime, not to sound like a cliche', but this story's a real page-turner. I finished it in two days and was delighted to realize there are two more books in this series! It's filled with uncomplicated tech, peopled with humans *and* aliens whose names one can pronounce without a Universal Translator, and has just enough romance and human interest to keep it all feeling very "real." In some respects, it's very "Independence Day"-like, but not in all. We get to hear the alien's point of view, something that can be lacking in "alien invader" stories such as this. Highly recommended. May have to make this (and its sequels) a purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete page-turner!, Feb. 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tenth Planet (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was amazing. I couldn't put it down. Set within the foreseeable future, Smith and Rusch paint a very believable picture of cultural and technological development. The characters are well developed and have substance, they come alive. Realistic portrayals of science, scientists and researchers from archaeology to biology to nanotechnology to astronomy. Wonderful by-play between the government and the private sector. All the while there's the tingling suspense as more pieces of the puzzle fall into place and the countdown continues...
I did not know while reading this story that it was the first book in a trilogy! At the time, the second and third book were not yet released! I nearly pulled my hair out in frustration. Now that all the books are available, buy all 3. Don't start this book without the other two right beside you! You'll breeze right through them in a weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tenth Planet
Tenth Planet by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Mass Market Paperback - May 29 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews