Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
As someone who read MANY Star Wars books, this has to be in the top 5 of all. I recommend it and the whole New Jedi Order (NJO) series
Published 19 months ago by Jean-Martin Bailly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story, difficult read
I found this book to be a difficult read. I know that others have mentioned that this book was well-written, but I disagree. The writing style was original and interesting, but not that well executed. The start of each chapter, I was thrown into a unknown place and had no idea what was going on. Eventually, more and more is revealed until I'm back with the story and...
Published on May 28 2003 by Barbara Baughman


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, Dec 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As someone who read MANY Star Wars books, this has to be in the top 5 of all. I recommend it and the whole New Jedi Order (NJO) series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best New Jedi Order book so far., July 8 2004
By 
Traum "aidanhailes" (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
The title for the latest Star Wars Extended Universe set of novels, New Jedi Order, has been touched upon within the books themselves once, maybe twice before, but in this amazing, thorough, impossibly revealing chapter of the series, the title of the series finally begins to take on the true extent of its meaning.
To summarize, Jacen Solo finds himeself captured by the Yuuzhan Vong, specifically held at the hands of Vergere, a minor character in previous novels. Slowly, through a variety of experiences that change his perspective, Jacen realizes that the current Jedi understanding of the Force is incorrect. To put it simply, Jacen faces the question, "If the Force is life, how can there be life, without the Force?" Referring to the Yuuzhan Vong's seeming non-existence in the Force. To understand that there IS in fact, no life, without the Force, Jacen realizes that the Force is in fact part of a larger power, an absolutely universal collection of dualities that bind things even as opposite as the Yuuzhan Vong and the New Republic, Love and Hate, Light and Dark and all others - they are all combined in a... something (energy, Force, connection, it's never really defined) that holds not only the Jedi and the New Republic in its grasp, but also the Yuuzhan Vong and all other life in the Universe.
Because so much of the book is composed of Vergere and Jacen's philosophical discussions, back and forth, one would think the plot and action would suffer, but this is not so, it merely heightens the intensity each action and turn creates. The introduction of Ganner as a main character, a full two thirds through the book, seemed strange at the time, but worked perfectly - highlighting the philosophy Vergere spouts - of dualities becoming one, through love.
With captivating descriptions, engaging dialogue, and a change in the very scales of power in the Star Wars Universe, the novel is a definite step in the right direction of a series that hasn't always lived up to its expectations or possibilities. Hopefully the books following this one do not fail to follow in Matthew Stover's path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breakout Performance by Matthew Woodring Stover, April 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
Perhaps more than any other book, this paperback shakes the foundations of many people's notions of Star Wars. We learn that, rather being completely absent from the Force, the yuuzhan Vong exist in a part of the force jedi cannot (yet) touch. The biggest shocker: a dramatic reinterpretation of the nature of the force. Rather than having defined light and dark sides, the force is more like a prism that reflects all colors, viewpoints,etc. It is the user who determines the Force's purpose. Some, including myself, may question whether or this conflicts with Lucas' views, but in my opinion it is a breath of fresh air. As for the characters: Jacen gains some needed depth, Nom Anor is as cunning as ever and even more stylish, Vergere forces Jacen and the reader to answer hard questions about what tehy believe, and Ganner, well...all i can say is NONE SHALL PASS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley Phenomanal!, March 2 2004
By 
Alex Wiederspiel "Spiel" (Lawrenceville, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
Probably the most phenomanal Star Wars book I've ever read that wasn't written by Timothy Zahn. It was absolutely one of the best ever. That's how it will go down in history. I saw an earlier review saying it was too much on "meditation and philosphy." How stupid are you? That's the idea of the whole book! If you are too immature to understand that it's your fault! As it is this book was absolutely incredible. I reccomend this to ANYONE. And I especially recommend it to the NJO fans.
Traitor just adds more and more to this great series and, with the help of Alston's Duology, has saved the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Treachery at its finest, Dec 11 2003
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is the thirteenth addition to the New Jedi Order series in the Star Wars Extended Universe. Devoted mainly to Jacen Solo and a cast of five other characters, this story is not only intriguing but perplex. Fluid and omniscient, the author, Matthew Woodring Stover, demonstrates an acute knowledge of the Star Wars Universe as well as the ability to entertain and mortify concurrently.
Matthew Woodring Stover handles many subplots converging onto one another creatively with passion and detail unrivaled in the Extended Universe. A strong psychological thriller as well as science fiction novel, Traitor did not leave the reader confused. Rather, the reader becomes infatuated with every turn of the page and is committed to reading the entire book instantly.
Want more reviews, visit:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Oct. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
For the last three New Jedi Order books you did not know if Jacen Solo was alive or dead. Now he is back, but changed. He is captured on Curascant. The Vong bosses Warmaster Tsavong Lah and Nom Anor) want the mysterious Vergere to shape Jacen Solo into a Warrior of the Vong. He is on a huge Vong worldship and he has many lessons with Vergere. Eventually Vergere helps Jacen escapes into Curascant. But then he is captured again. The Jedi Ganner Rhysode is searching for Jacen, but Jacen finds him and captures him for the Vong (he has been shaped). But then when they take Ganner to be sacrificed, Jacen decides to help him escape. Vergere tells Jacen and Ganner about a way escape, the Vong do not know that Vergere is a traitor until she puts a lightsaber to Nom Anor's neck and flees with Jacen (who is now good) . But Ganner dies protecting Jacen, killing hundreds of Vong. Nom Anor is left behind to get the wrath of Tsavong Lah. In the end Vergere and Jacen escape off in the main Vong Worldship off to the New Republic and Jacen's family. This is a great book and should be read by every Star Wars fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please, Lucasfilm, keep hiring Stover!, Aug. 26 2003
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is my favorite book of the NJO series, no question. Stover is a master of building up believable and deep characters, and of making both these characters and the reader grow and learn. Traitor is thought-provoking and fun to read. It's a hard act to follow. I have only two regrets about it: 1) that it wasn't several times longer, and 2) that the fascinating character that Stover has made of Jacen Solo will fade back to a sort of dull normalcy in the succeeding books.
Stover's got to be the best author penning Star Wars books. Please, Lucasfilm, keep hiring him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a whimp anymore so get used to it, Aug. 21 2003
By 
Brian O Jensen (New York City, New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
Well Jacen is alive and kicking and he is ready to take down the Yuzan Vong single handedly. Now with Vergee as his mentor Jacen has learned to embrace his abilities and stop questioning himself. He is faced with a life changing course as to what he will do with himself and even to Vergee his future is clouded. But Jacen is no longer the whimp that he used to be and now he is ready to destroy anything in his path with a new understanding of the force. An excellent book for any reader and i love the change of personaliy that Jacen has taken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best�, Aug. 1 2003
By 
Gwendolyn Rogan (A little town out in the boonies of a metropoliton area.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
Though many would not agree with me, Jacen Solo is one of my favorite characters from this series. Taking that into account, I looked forward to this book from the time I found out who was the main character and let me say this: I was not disappointed. This book lived up to everything I though it would and more. I barely put it down, finishing it in no time at all.
Before this book, Jacen could be considered a bit of a wimp as far as Jedi goes. He didn't use his powers and questioned everything about his life and his beliefs. However, when this book started, I knew that was all left behind. Yes, he did do some questioning, but at least he got his answers. And Vergere was there to help him along. She was a cruel little avian creature and did horrible things to Jacen, but she made him learn and she was exactly the kind of teacher he needed to get his life on track.
Despite my love for this book, I was disappointed by the whole Ganner situation. He was another one of my favorite characters from the time he first showed up until even now after I have finished the book. And (spoiler) I did not want to see his life end. In other words, I didn't like the fact that he died. However, going back on my words, his death scene was by far the best I have read thus far in the series and in many other books outside the SW universe. His "decline" was interesting as well and, though he made a complete turn around from his original arrogant self, the old Ganner could still be seen ("At least I look good"). Go Ganner.
All in all, this was the BEST NJO book so far and definitly worth the read. In fact, I would even read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The not-so-nice Yoda, July 29 2003
By 
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
The whiny, over-thinking Jacen is dead. I was a little wary of this book because I usually hate Jacen, but the Embrace of Pain really straightened him out.
Vergere could kick all the Jedi's butts. As the other reviews said, this book is much different from the previous ones in the series - not even one of those predictable X-Wing battles!
I think the best part of the book was Vergere's explanation of the Dark Side. In reading the series, you definitely do not want to skip this book. This is one of the few books I would consider rereading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order)
Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) by MATTHEW STOVER (Mass Market Paperback - July 30 2002)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews