Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best New Jedi Order book so far.
The title for the latest Star Wars Extended Universe set of novels, New Jedi Order, has been touched upon within the books themselves once, maybe twice before, but in this amazing, thorough, impossibly revealing chapter of the series, the title of the series finally begins to take on the true extent of its meaning.
To summarize, Jacen Solo finds himeself captured by...
Published on July 8 2004 by Traum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting & Revealing but.. Unidimmensional
As a stand-alone sci-fi novel the book is ... average or a bit higher.
But if you 're a fan of the NJO series, you should probably read it. It's quite well thought out and goes into quite a bit of detail about the Vong and their culture, as well as the nature of the Force in the Star Wars universe. Jacen's character certainly develops more and so does Vergere's...
Published on Oct. 1 2002 by Niko


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best New Jedi Order book so far., July 8 2004
By 
Traum "aidanhailes" (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
The title for the latest Star Wars Extended Universe set of novels, New Jedi Order, has been touched upon within the books themselves once, maybe twice before, but in this amazing, thorough, impossibly revealing chapter of the series, the title of the series finally begins to take on the true extent of its meaning.
To summarize, Jacen Solo finds himeself captured by the Yuuzhan Vong, specifically held at the hands of Vergere, a minor character in previous novels. Slowly, through a variety of experiences that change his perspective, Jacen realizes that the current Jedi understanding of the Force is incorrect. To put it simply, Jacen faces the question, "If the Force is life, how can there be life, without the Force?" Referring to the Yuuzhan Vong's seeming non-existence in the Force. To understand that there IS in fact, no life, without the Force, Jacen realizes that the Force is in fact part of a larger power, an absolutely universal collection of dualities that bind things even as opposite as the Yuuzhan Vong and the New Republic, Love and Hate, Light and Dark and all others - they are all combined in a... something (energy, Force, connection, it's never really defined) that holds not only the Jedi and the New Republic in its grasp, but also the Yuuzhan Vong and all other life in the Universe.
Because so much of the book is composed of Vergere and Jacen's philosophical discussions, back and forth, one would think the plot and action would suffer, but this is not so, it merely heightens the intensity each action and turn creates. The introduction of Ganner as a main character, a full two thirds through the book, seemed strange at the time, but worked perfectly - highlighting the philosophy Vergere spouts - of dualities becoming one, through love.
With captivating descriptions, engaging dialogue, and a change in the very scales of power in the Star Wars Universe, the novel is a definite step in the right direction of a series that hasn't always lived up to its expectations or possibilities. Hopefully the books following this one do not fail to follow in Matthew Stover's path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breakout Performance by Matthew Woodring Stover, April 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
Perhaps more than any other book, this paperback shakes the foundations of many people's notions of Star Wars. We learn that, rather being completely absent from the Force, the yuuzhan Vong exist in a part of the force jedi cannot (yet) touch. The biggest shocker: a dramatic reinterpretation of the nature of the force. Rather than having defined light and dark sides, the force is more like a prism that reflects all colors, viewpoints,etc. It is the user who determines the Force's purpose. Some, including myself, may question whether or this conflicts with Lucas' views, but in my opinion it is a breath of fresh air. As for the characters: Jacen gains some needed depth, Nom Anor is as cunning as ever and even more stylish, Vergere forces Jacen and the reader to answer hard questions about what tehy believe, and Ganner, well...all i can say is NONE SHALL PASS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Sept. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
For the last three New Jedi Order books you did not know if Jacen Solo was alive or dead. Now he is back, but changed. He is captured on Curascant. The Vong bosses Warmaster Tsavong Lah and Nom Anor) want the mysterious Vergere to shape Jacen Solo into a Warrior of the Vong. He is on a huge Vong worldship and he has many lessons with Vergere. Eventually Vergere helps Jacen escapes into Curascant. But then he is captured again. The Jedi Ganner Rhysode is searching for Jacen, but Jacen finds him and captures him for the Vong (he has been shaped). But then when they take Ganner to be sacrificed, Jacen decides to help him escape. Vergere tells Jacen and Ganner about a way escape, the Vong do not know that Vergere is a traitor until she puts a lightsaber to Nom Anor's neck and flees with Jacen (who is now good) . But Ganner dies protecting Jacen, killing hundreds of Vong. Nom Anor is left behind to get the wrath of Tsavong Lah. In the end Vergere and Jacen escape off in the main Vong Worldship off to the New Republic and Jacen's family. This is a great book and should be read by every Star Wars fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best�, July 31 2003
By 
Gwendolyn Rogan (A little town out in the boonies of a metropoliton area.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
Though many would not agree with me, Jacen Solo is one of my favorite characters from this series. Taking that into account, I looked forward to this book from the time I found out who was the main character and let me say this: I was not disappointed. This book lived up to everything I though it would and more. I barely put it down, finishing it in no time at all.
Before this book, Jacen could be considered a bit of a wimp as far as Jedi goes. He didn't use his powers and questioned everything about his life and his beliefs. However, when this book started, I knew that was all left behind. Yes, he did do some questioning, but at least he got his answers. And Vergere was there to help him along. She was a cruel little avian creature and did horrible things to Jacen, but she made him learn and she was exactly the kind of teacher he needed to get his life on track.
Despite my love for this book, I was disappointed by the whole Ganner situation. He was another one of my favorite characters from the time he first showed up until even now after I have finished the book. And (spoiler) I did not want to see his life end. In other words, I didn't like the fact that he died. However, going back on my words, his death scene was by far the best I have read thus far in the series and in many other books outside the SW universe. His "decline" was interesting as well and, though he made a complete turn around from his original arrogant self, the old Ganner could still be seen ("At least I look good"). Go Ganner.
All in all, this was the BEST NJO book so far and definitly worth the read. In fact, I would even read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Star War's version of Dante's Inferno, July 26 2003
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
My Favorites of the New Jedi Order are the first 3, Vector Prime, Onslaught Ruin, and this one, Traitor. The first 3 are great Star Wars novels, action packed with a darker theme to them. This book, Traitor, is the best Novel out of all of the New Jedi Order books so far. This is a Novel. By far it is the best written Star Wars book. And for a Star Wars book, it is very bleak and harsh.
The book is about Jacen Solo. And it is not just a story about events that happen to him, but an in depth look into the psyche of his character as well as a journey that will define who he is and who he is to become. Vergere is his guide/teacher along the way. She is the bird-like old school Jedi from Rouge Planet. Vergere's intent, friend or foe, is never really made clear until almost the end. She is crueler to Jacen than any Yuuzhan Vong torture could be. But she is also more caring to him than any Yuuzhan Vong is capable. She teaches Jacen through deception, pain & desolation what the true meaning of the Force is. Through her cruel lessons and heartfelt help, Jacen learns what being a real Jedi is all about. But once he comes to grips with his newfound insight into the Force and the Yuuzhan Vong, what side will he choose to fight for: The Yuuzhan Vong, who have taught him to embrace pain and give in to their will. Or will he choose to be a Jedi and fight to repel the Vong from the galaxy?
Through out the NJO series, Jacen has been subdued. In this book, contrary to his ideals, Jacen opens up a big can of Jedi whoopin[]. He proves that he can fight and fight well. The only other Jedi in this book is Ganner. Ganner has one of the best action sequences in this entire series. And Ganner literally becomes a legend to the Vong and the Jedi because of his prowess with a lightsaber.
I enjoy this book so much because it is unlike all of the other NJO books. If you enjoy Star Wars, this is a MUST READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Star War's version of Dante's Inferno, July 26 2003
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
My Favorites of the New Jedi Order are the first 3, Vector Prime, Onslaught Ruin, and this one, Traitor. The first 3 are great Star Wars novels, action packed with a darker theme to them. This book, Traitor, is the best Novel out of all of the New Jedi Order books so far. This is a Novel. By far it is the best written Star Wars book. And for a Star Wars book, it is very bleak and harsh.
The book is about Jacen Solo. And it is not just a story about events that happen to him, but an in depth look into the psyche of his character as well as a journey that will define who he is and who he is to become. Vergere is his guide/teacher along the way. She is the bird-like old school Jedi from Rouge Planet. Vergere's intent, friend or foe, is never really made clear until almost the end. She is crueler to Jacen than any Yuuzhan Vong torture could be. But she is also more caring to him than any Yuuzhan Vong is capable. She teaches Jacen through deception, pain & desolation what the true meaning of the Force is. Through her cruel lessons and heartfelt help, Jacen learns what being a real Jedi is all about. But once he comes to grips with his newfound insight into the Force and the Yuuzhan Vong, what side will he choose to fight for: The Yuuzhan Vong, who have taught him to embrace pain and give in to their will. Or will he choose to be a Jedi and fight to repel the Vong from the galaxy?
Through out the NJO series, Jacen has been subdued. In this book, contrary to his ideals, Jacen opens up a big can of Jedi whoop-[butt]. He proves that he can fight and fight well. The only other Jedi in this book is Ganner. Ganner has one of the best action sequences in this entire series. And Ganner literally becomes a legend to the Vong and the Jedi because of his prowess with a lightsaber.
I enjoy this book so much because it is unlike all of the other NJO books. If you enjoy Star Wars, this is a MUST READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traitor, July 3 2003
By 
mike (Dayton, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
First off, I would suggest reading all or at least some of the books coming in the New Jedi Order series before you read this one.
Traitor, in my opinion, could not have been better. It was written wonderfully and it flowed at just the right pace that you can keep up with what's going on but you also can't put it down.
This book keeps you guessing until the very end and just when you think you've figured it out, everything gets turned upside down again.
One of my favorite things in Traitor was the characters and how they were developed. I have to say that Mathew Stover did a wonderful job with characterization in this book.
This book also is different from all the other books in the New Jedi Order series in that it is almost souly from the perspective of one person. And where the other books normally take some time for the plot to develope, Traitor throws you right into the intense drama that makes this book so great.
And the title of the book, Traitor, I think has a great deal to do with the book because it is about being betrayed and betraying from multiple angles and by and to multiple characters. You'll understand when you read it.
For all of these reasons, I loved Traitor and wish now that I could read it again for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of ALL Licensed Fiction, April 17 2003
By 
Sonny (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to admit: I read a lot of licensed fiction. I've got a BA in English so I "should" be reading "real" novels. Most of the time I just read licensed fiction because I love the shows or movies so much I want to immerse myself in the various universes. I don't expect much from these novels, just a tight, exciting plot and consistent chracterization. The New Jedi Order series has met these expectation. However, "Traitor" far exceeded any expectations I've EVER had for this type of novel. It challenged me in so many ways: emotionally, spiritually, mentally. I know this is a strange comparison, but this novel challenged me in the same ways as The Autobiography of Malcolm X did when I first read it in my freshman year of high school. It was that GOOD. This novel belongs on the same shelf as my copies of The Godfather, Dune, Lord of the Rings, Autobiography of Malcolm X, The Collected Stories of EA Poe, 2001, The Left Hand of Darkness, The Hero with a Thousand Faces, The Odyssey, etc. I would not be in the least bit ashamed to lend this book to a friend and tell him/her "to prepare for a great read."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jacen's return, April 9 2003
By 
Patrick L. Randall (Silver Spring, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Traitor" continues the pattern of the 'New Jedi Order' novel series taking unique directions with stories. It's a pattern that has set it apart from the 45 pre-NJO Star Wars novels that came before. Death of major characters and destruction of critical planets and cities have already made their mark in these novels and made their impact on the reader. "Traitor" keeps the dark story elements in place with the return of Jacen Solo to the forefront of the story arc for the first time since the horrific battle in "Star by Star". It involves deep personal soul-searching on Jacen's part, horrific torture inflicted by the Yuuzhan Vong, and a unique deconstruction of all previous notions of the 'Force'

As most readers remember, Jacen was captured by the Yuuzhan Vong at the end of "Star by Star" with an assist by the enigmatic creature Vergere. "Traitor" deals with his imprisonment and very graphic torture at the hands of the Vong. Vong Warmaster Tsavong Lah wants Jacen used to help capture his twin Jaina, so that Lah can perform the ultimate sacrifice to the gods to ensure victory in their war with the New Republic. Scheming executor Nom Anor suggested and was made responsible for converting Jacen to the Vong way of thinking. Jacen endures some horrific torture, but with Vergere's 'help', is able to focus on pain as merely an annoyance and embrace it rather than fight it. Vergere, a enigmatic and unknown Jedi seemingly in the employ of the Yuuzhan Vong, oversees Jacen's 'education'. One moments she seems as though she is thoroughly committed to assisting the Vong in their aims, while the next moment she seems to be trying to help Jacen overcome to the torture and become strong again. Her loyalties are very much in doubt and "Traitor" plays this angle perfectly so that the reader can't ever really predict what happens next.

To avoid spoiling some of the great plot developments, no great detail will be revealed here. It's safe to say, however, that the reader will be quite intrigued with the direction this story takes and the potential for where the future of NJO series will lead. There is even greater exposition of the inner workings of Yuuzhan Vong society and technology with the introduction of a creature called a 'world brain'. There are also many haunting scenes that take place on the ruined world of what was once the seat of New Republic, Coruscant. The imagery created in "Traitor" and thought-provoking story elements make this book a necessary addition the Star Wars library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One day, one of The Great Books, April 4 2003
By 
"stream1ng" (Many Places, Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Mass Market Paperback)
One hundred years from now, if there is one Star Wars book still read, it will be this one. Truly gripping, profound, and deeply meaningful work.
The protagonist undergoes a journey within, confronting several jarring microcosms, which are as fascinating, excrutiating, and enlighting as anything similar in all of literature. The reader is taken along this emotional, compelling journey of discovery -- and ultimately finds deep truths of a personal and societal nature.
Specifically, the (anti-?)hero confronts the problems of pain -- physical, emotional, and the pain of others -- and reaches surprising, and rewarding conclusions, right up to the last page.
A true classic in every sense. A must read, not only for fans of Star Wars, but for any who love deep, enriching, and exciting reading. Including all the books which lead to a M.A. in Literature/Humanities, this is perhaps the best, most enlightening book of fiction that I have ever read.
I have re-read it several times now, and -- I'm as serious as a heart attack here -- this book is absolutely gripping and profound. As one who has searched many years for answers to my own pain, as well as that of others, this is my personal favorite of all fiction... Excellent in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order)
Traitor: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) by MATTHEW STOVER (Mass Market Paperback - July 30 2002)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews