Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Allston does it again!
What Aaron Allston did with Rebel Dream, he did a second time with Rebel Stand. His perfectly inserted humor at full effectiveness, I had to put down the book to laugh at least 5 times during a certain scene with Han and Leia, when they were taken captive and threw out puns and one-liners throughout the entire debriefing and escape. It definately has helped the series...
Published on Oct. 12 2002 by BR

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Only average
Most of this book was sorry to say it - boring. It seems to suffer from the tone of a lot of these recent NJO books - that the writer was given limited time to write a story and is limited to certain plot lines. The result is that these series are becoming a mix of conflicting author's styles, ideas, and characterizations. In this book the entire Coruscant plot line...
Published on June 7 2002 by JMotts


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars 4 and a half stars... an enthralling work on behalf of A.A., July 7 2004
By 
Traum "aidanhailes" (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
Out of all the New Jedi Order books so far, this one kept my attention the best throughout, for a variety of reasons.
First was the rapidly shifting plots and points of view - rotating through Jaina, Luke, Wedge and a variety of others, Allston takes careful time to flush out the storyline that each character finds themselves embroiled in. Of greatest interest to me was the Lord Nyax-Luke Skywalker story on Coruscant; for once an actual Jedi-on-Jedi contest, even if Nyax really couldn't be considered a Jedi, Allston's portrayal of him as a mute, hugely powerful and crazed individual was perfect. The display of power he puts on through the Force is also quite well described and explained.
As well, throughout the story I came to greatly appreciate the military tactics that Allston described in the defence of Borelias - the time and thought obviously put into each situation shows itself well.
More than anything though, I think Allston deserves credit for setting up the bridge between the two Solo books - Dark Journey and Traitor - a task not easily performed in that events throughout the Enemy Lines are related to what is happening in those books.
All in all a great read, and a fine progression in the New Jedi Order series.
4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and well-written again, but with a couple problems, Aug. 28 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
Like Rebel Dream, this book is well-written, fun, and full of humor. Allston brings back the excitment of the Rebellion Era, with Han and Leia, Luke and Mara, and a series of well-known pilots acting out clever and covert schemes once again. In that sense, the book is a breath of fresh air from the very different kind of plot and writing that typifies the NJO series. At the same time, Rebel Stand works well within NJO, taking us to Coruscant after its fall and bringing resolution to the arc involving Viqi Shesh.
While I enjoyed reading this book, there were two parts that bothered me. First, the "dark Jedi" aspect of the Coruscant plot is overwraught and probably out of place. It seemed very weird in the middle of an NJO book. Second, and more important, there is one really abhorrent chapter that deals with Jaina's relationships with Jag and Kyp. I thought Allston had left behind Jaina the self-absorbed twerp, Jag the empty tool, and Kyp the pathetic follower. Oh well.
Despite these two issues, the book really was good, and I think the vast majority of Star Wars fans will be able to find something to their liking in its pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Allston does it again!, Oct. 12 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
What Aaron Allston did with Rebel Dream, he did a second time with Rebel Stand. His perfectly inserted humor at full effectiveness, I had to put down the book to laugh at least 5 times during a certain scene with Han and Leia, when they were taken captive and threw out puns and one-liners throughout the entire debriefing and escape. It definately has helped the series along to see the two of them reunited in a similar fast-paced, full-of-action environment to the one they started out in.
Though an awkward and unwieldy topic, the part with the Coruscant team battling Lord Nyax was interesting and fit in without an exceedingly high amount of controversy. The parts with Viqi Shesh were very appropriate, and Wraith Squad was, as always, a great source of professionalism and comic relief.
Back at the Borleias base, Allston goes all the way with a final bout of amazing strategy and insight that surpasses most anything I've seen from him before. Which is saying a LOT.
All in all, Rebel Stand and its predecessor, Rebel Dream, are must-reads for everyone reading the NJO series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True to the Spirit Created by Lucas, Oct. 5 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
Aaron Allston's 'Rebel Stand' continues the story of the first novel in the 'Enemy Lines' duology, 'Rebel Dream'. Luke Skywalker has sensed one of those famous disturbances in the force, and it is coming from Coruscant. The only problem with that is the former capital of the New Republic is firmly in the hands of the Yuuzhan Vong and is undergoing 'Vongification'. Meanwhile, Han and Leia Solo venture to a few remote worlds to set up Vong resistance cells, and they bring along C-3P0 and R2-D2 with them. Back on Borleias, General Wedge Antilles prepares to bring his forces into combat against the Vong.
Of all the novels in the 'New Jedi Order', 'Rebel Stand' proportionally gives the most face time to the 'classic' heroes. Although Jaina Solo, Jag Fel, and Kyp Durron, amongst others, are welcome and interesting editions to the cast, it refreshing to see Luke and Han play a more central role in the action for once.
For the most part, Luke's mission to Coruscant was well done. Luke's wife, Mara, a young Jedi named Tahiri, and the Wraiths (a CIA-like outfit for the New Republic) tag along. Their mission begins as an effort to organize the citizenry left behind on Coruscant, but changes when they discover an unusual larger than life Dark Jedi bent on conquest. For the most part, I was pleased with the Jedi's mission to Coruscant, althought I felt the duel with the mysterious Jedi went a little over the top at the end.
Maybe the most enjoyable moment of the book came in a scene starring C-3P0 and R2-D2. These two are finally re-united for some significant and memorable scenes. Their banter is classic Star Wars. The other famous duo, Han and Leia, also come off wonderfully in this novel. Han was at his wise-cracking best, and Leia has filled in for Chewbacca wonderfully as his new partner, now that she has gone 'scoundrel'.
As the New Jedi Order series has moved along, the series, thus far, has become more and more adept at capturing the feel of the movies. 'Rebel Stand' may have done the best job of that so far with parts of the novel reminding me of the original 'Star Wars', 'The Empire Strikes Back', and 'Return of the Jedi'. For a change, the writers have begun to focus less on what makes other forms of science fiction unique and returned to what makes Star Wars so great.
I'd recommend this novel to anyone reading the 'New Jedi Order' series. As with any novel in this series, I would recommend starting with 'Vector Prime' first, and at least read 'Rebel Dream' before thise. Starting with this one will ruin many of the surprises of the previous eleven novels in the series. However, this is one of the better novels, so it may be tempting to skip ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, Aug. 9 2002
By 
William F. Jakeman "darthwilliam" (Woodstock, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this was a fantastic book. It had something for everyone. Action, adventure, humour and romance. It was all here. I read this bok in a day and a half it was great. It was great to see characters from the classic trilogy and the bantam books come out strong. I missed Tycho and Wes Jansen's cameo wasn't bad either. I even liked Lord Nyax. I personally enjoy it when old ambiguous characters like Roa, Thracken Saal-Solo and Irek Ismaren are resurrected. You read the name and you stop and think, "where do I know that name from?" It's a lot of fun. But if Callista comes back I'll be pissed.
I'd like to make a comment on the NJO series as a whole. I've read every single one of them and I've read many reviews on this site. I gotta say that I'm sick of the whining. First is was about Chewie's death. Lets face it people, Chewie was not an important character in the expanded universe. The only time we ever heard anything out of him besides "woof" or "roar" was in the Blackfleet Crisis trilogy and most of you whined about his talking in that book. Chewie's death allows for Han to make a r-emmergence and development of Anakin. Lets face it, Han had become stagnant. He was starting to become a guy who's kids continued to get kidnapped. Now he's back and everyone seems to like how he's back. This would not have been possible had Chewie not died. Then there was the whining about Anakin's death. I was not happy to see Anakin go. But then again I wasn't happy to see Ben Kenobi go either. Anakin's death allowed Jaina and Tahiri to develop into characters that are actually interesting. Lastly, the constant whining about the New republic getting it's butt kicked all the time. This is a new enemy people. It wouldn't be very realisitic if they just started winning right off the start. These three things together create one of the most compelling aspects of the NJO, unpredcitability. We don't know what's gonna happen. Any moment one of our beloved characters could die. I was freaked in this book. I thought we were gonna lose Wedge. Life has been breathed into the Star Wars universe in the form of death and loss. Lets enjoy it. The one thing we can predict is the ultimate victory over the Vong and it will be all the sweeter becaue our beloved characters have suffered. NJO rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything's coming together, Aug. 6 2002
By 
Barbara Baughman (Richardson, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been pretty frustrated with the way the New Republic and even the Jedi have fumbled around and been stupid while the YZ take over the galaxy. Starting with Star by Star, the good guys start getting a clue. With this story, I finally have hope that eventually the good guys will deserve to win.
I enjoyed Aaron Allston's X-Wing series stories, and this one certainly doesn't disappoint. Wedge is back and some of the Wraith squadron. With them comes a new level of intelligent battle plans, exciting action, and even humor. The bad guys from the New Republic are now fleeing for cover, and we have only the dedicated heroes planning for the eventual overthrow of the invaders.
Lots of characters who went on the wrong track before are pulling it together again. Han and Leia, Jaina, and even rogue Jedi Kyp Duron are getting their priorities straight. However, it's the brilliant, fearless leadership of Wedge Antilles that brings it all together. Everyone is working together, sharing creative solutions to seemingly impossible problems, and exhibiting courage in the face of impossible odds.
The bad guys are really bad. The good guys are really good. The good guys have to be smart and brave to succeed. Everyone has to work together, each doing what they do best. The action is great. There's humor, love, and soul searching. Star Wars at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great entry, July 31 2002
By 
"honeydick" (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
Rebel Stand was a great entry in the on going Star Wars saga. Its exciting to finally see the Vong getting some severe blows hopefully however there are many more blooddy battles to come. poor Vickey. Well she had it coming but I really liked the way she was dealt with. Of course the biggest surprise in this book is finding out what became of Irick Ismeran and his mother, what a great sub plot. A lot of action just the way a Star Wars novel should be. I also love the fact that Random House audio is now producing Star Wars audiobooks exclusively on CD. it makes for a much better listneing experience. I also love the added touch of the haunting backround music when there is a scene concerning the Vong. Can't wait till Traitor but since its all ready out there is no need to. I am simply addicted to these audiobooks! A must read or listen if there ever was one. This audiobook contains 3 CDs and is narrated by Jonathan Davis who does a pretty good job. Its also filled with sound effects and music from the first four films. A great production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On the right track..great action and plot development, July 24 2002
By 
Jayson Olson (Rancho Santa Margarita, ca, United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
Rebel Stand is a great sequel to Rebel Dream and a superb installment to the Yuuzhan Vong war and New Jedi Order series.
Whereas Rebel Dream focused on our heroes recapturing the planet Borleias previously lost to the Vong, Rebel Stand branches out on many fronts which really gives the feeling of a larger war going on and pays attention to our main characters...all this with nonstop action.
1) General Wedge Antilles and Tycho, in charge of the resistance at Borleias continue to develop new strategies and a secretive weapon to deliver a devastating blow to the orbiting Vong worldship. The use and development of Wedge here is great and gives him a push as an important player in the war. His climatic battle scene was great and had shades of the old Rogue Squadron novels here.
2) Han and Leia (leaving young Tarc behind) begin a series of secretive missions to other planets hoping to start a network of resistance cell sites for the war. The action described in their parts is a great throwback to the original Star Wars and it is clear that Leia has not given up her political ways or Han his 'scoundrel' habits.
3) The Jaina Solo, Kyp Durron, and Jag Fel triangle is explored further with new revelations from Kyp. Though not as deep as I would have liked, there is plenty of action when this trio hits the skies to take on the Vong Corralskippers.
4) The traitorous Senator Viqi Shesh is sent to Coruscant with her Vong captors to capture the wayward Jedi. Again, we see how manipulative she can be...too bad the Emporer is no more, she would have been a great addition to the Empire.
5) Tam Elgrin (the recovering Holocam operator used against his will by the Vong), young Tarc and Wolam Tser continue their exploits.
6) Warmaster Tsavong Lah and shaper Nen Yim uncover a conspiracy amongst the Vong priests and take matters into their own hands. Cool to see Tsavong get down to business and show his merciless side.
7) Finally, Luke, Mara, Tahiri and a few others end up on Coruscant for some covert operations. Here they cross paths with Viqi Shesh and her handlers, and a new threat to both the Vong and Jedi. It seems that there is a disturbance in the force, unlike that that Luke or the vong have ever faced. Do the Jedi and Vong form an alliance to rid Coruscant of this new dark side threat? This was probably my only really complaint with this novel was the introduction of Lord Nyax. His origin and development seemed a bit silly to me, as was the climatic battle between Luke, Mara, Tahiri and new baddie Lord Nyax. If author Allston would have handled this a bit differently, I would have given this novel 5 stars, but the silly factor for dramatic sake only was unwarranted. Other wise this was one of the better books in the whole New Jedi Order series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On the right track..great action and plot development, July 18 2002
By 
Jayson Olson (Rancho Santa Margarita, ca, United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
Rebel Stand is a great sequel to Rebel Dream and a superb installment to the Yuuzhan Vong war and New Jedi Order series.
Whereas Rebel Dream focused on our heroes recapturing the planet Borleias previously lost to the Vong, Rebel Stand branches out on many fronts which really gives the feeling of a larger war going on and pays attention to our main characters...all this with nonstop action.
1) General Wedge Antilles and Tycho, in charge of the resistance at Borleias continue to develop new strategies and a secretive weapon to deliver a devastating blow to the orbiting Vong worldship. The use and development of Wedge here is great and gives him a push as an important player in the war. His climatic battle scene was great and had shades of the old Rogue Squadron novels here.
2) Han and Leia (leaving young Tarc behind) begin a series of secretive missions to other planets hoping to start a network of resistance cell sites for the war. The action described in their parts is a great throwback to the original Star Wars and it is clear that Leia has not given up her political ways or Han his 'scoundrel' habits.
3) The Jaina Solo, Kyp Durron, and Jag Fel triangle is explored further with new revelations from Kyp. Though not as deep as I would have liked, there is plenty of action when this trio hits the skies to take on the Vong Corralskippers.
4) The traitorous Senator Viqi Shesh is sent to Coruscant with her Vong captors to capture the wayward Jedi. Again, we see how manipulative she can be...too bad the Emporer is no more, she would have been a great addition to the Empire.
5) Tam Elgrin (the recovering Holocam operator used against his will by the Vong), young Tarc and Wolam Tser continue their exploits.
6) Warmaster Tsavong Lah and shaper Nen Yim uncover a conspiracy amongst the Vong priests and take matters into their own hands. Cool to see Tsavong get down to business and show his merciless side.
7) Finally, Luke, Mara, Tahiri and a few others end up on Coruscant for some covert operations. Here they cross paths with Viqi Shesh and her handlers, and a new threat to both the Vong and Jedi. It seems that there is a disturbance in the force, unlike that that Luke or the vong have ever faced. Do the Jedi and Vong form an alliance to rid Coruscant of this new dark side threat? This was probably my only really complaint with this novel was the introduction of Lord Nyax. His origin and development seemed a bit silly to me, as was the climatic battle between Luke, Mara, Tahiri and new baddie Lord Nyax. If author Allston would have handled this a bit differently, I would have given this novel 5 stars, but the silly factor for dramatic sake only was unwarranted. Other wise this was one of the better book in the whole New Jedi Order series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NJO Keeps Getting Better and Better, July 2 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II (Mass Market Paperback)
The Vong continue their domination of the galaxy. Our heros are pushed back against the wall. Now, it's time to take the offensive. There is a sense of fun and excitment in this book that reminds one why he is a Star Wars fan. Sure, the nature of the story line is dark, But Allston manages to inject the sort of humor into it that we've come to expect from our heros.
I guess the first big plus about this book is the fact that it has Luke Skywalker in full Jedi Master mode leading an expedition into fallen Coruscant. A Dark Jedi like none other is rearing it's ugly head and the Vong are also on the hunt. Let's just say that lightsabers flash with abundance during this mission!
Meanwhile, Han and Leia are abroud trying to set up resistance cells and getting into trouble as only they can. What I find when watching all five of the SW movies is that Artoo Detoo saves the day at least once in each of them. Well, our little artoo unit comes up with some heroics here, as well, in one of the most exciting parts of the books dealing with Han and Leia escaping a prison where they are being held for the Vong.
And if that weren't enough, the defense of Borelias is where we find all our X-Wing excitement. Wedge leads a defense that includes Kyp, Jag and Jaina and most Aaron Allston readers already know that he can do the space battle thing. Wait'll you see Wedge flying by the seat of his pants against a squadran of Vong. Exciting stuff. What I really admire about this whole section of the book is that we have no idea what Wedge's master plan is until it actually happens, which hightens the suspence factor up a few notches or so.
So, in conclusion, this is a Star Wars book that has everything. Luke vs. Dark Jedi, Han and Leia getting in and out of tight spots, and X-Wing battles galore, making it probably the most exciting and action packed NJO book since Michael Stackpole's Dark Tide books. I find it hard to see this book disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II
Rebel Stand: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order): Enemy Lines II by Aaron Allston (Mass Market Paperback - May 28 2002)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews