Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars not your 80s type of fairies
My gf introduced me to Meredith Gentry and, as silly as this may sound, I now compare every book I buy to this series. (As to all of our friends whom we have introduced to the series) It is beautifully descriptive, passionate, and it has an absolutely gripping plot that makes my mouth water in anticipation of the next novel. (soon please?) And yes, the third lives up...
Published on June 16 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Seduced by what?
When I began to read the Anita Blake novels, Ms. Hamilton added a fan. She did not hit you over the head with sex. In the Meredith Gentry novels she not only hits you over the head she beats you down with sex. In the Anita Blake novels we were asked to believe that a sexual act did not occur until the sixth book, while with the Meredith Gentry novels we are told that...
Published on May 14 2004


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Seduced by Frost, Doyle, Rhys, Sage, etc, etc, etc......., July 17 2004
By 
M. I. "krushedvelvet" (Old Bridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Ok. I have no problem with a few sexy scenes in a book, but when it becomes the entire focus, thats when I have a problem. Seduced By Moonlight was so slow in its first half that I came dangerously close to not even finishing it. The beginning chapters were just one page after another filled with wordy dream sequences and excuse after excuse to get Merry's men naked. I will be the first to admit that Merry's men are beyond beautiful and truly it is no hardship to get to "know" them intimately, but I need a plot, people! FINALLY, after speedreading through too many things that I could have done without, LKH pulled it all together and from midway on, the book became interesting. I thought that some of the violence in the books ending scenes was a bit over the top, but the last pages were fun to read as Merry settled in for the night and we were able to look in and listen to her and her suitors as they whispered to eachother while drifting off to sleep. I just love Rhys and I definitely felt like he stole the show in those last pages. All in all, this is a definite must read if you are a fan. There is too much going on at this point for me to stop reading the series and I hope that LKH comes out with the next book soon because I am very curious to see which man will become Merrys husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not your 80s type of fairies, June 16 2004
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
My gf introduced me to Meredith Gentry and, as silly as this may sound, I now compare every book I buy to this series. (As to all of our friends whom we have introduced to the series) It is beautifully descriptive, passionate, and it has an absolutely gripping plot that makes my mouth water in anticipation of the next novel. (soon please?) And yes, the third lives up to the other two, though I must admit the first is still my favorite - for the surprise factor at seeing such wonderful writing if nothing else.
First off, let me answer some of the criticisms of this book before it turns you off and you miss out. Some reviewers said there was too much sex in this last novel/this series. Yes, there is a lot of sex, but it is Really hot sex for both male and female readers and it is very well incorporated and explained. It is also very well depicted with the kind of imagery that outshines Anne Rice while still keeping a good plot. For those who do not think the amount of sex sounded believable, try to keep in mind the characters are fay. Not Tolkien's elves, not puritan shoe faries, fay - and if you have done research on what that word meant to the cultures that coined it you would know this is not really a stretch. And if you have done research you will be pleasantly surprised to find that Hamilton has done her research too and incorporated it perfectly. Now, if you do want nice, censored novels that do not challenge you or provide any visuals inappropriate for children then by all means skip this one. And if you are not particularly sensual or are somewhat conservative then again, skip this one. But if you are ok with reading something naughty and want to get away from the traditional 'vampire bites neck.. er.. sensually' then this is a must-read.
Now, on to the actual book. First off, read them in order, you will get lost otherwise. Second off, 'Seduced by Moonlight' is lighter on the action/suspense. Meredith is coming into her own now and hence is less frightened of everyone around her - would you really want a character without character growth? This might be why some readers were unhappy with it. *shrug* I still finished it in only two or three sittings but the conflict is more political in nature then the climatic second book battle. The first book introduced the world, the second showed an important change in the cast and introduces a major villain, and that in turns allows the third to show why Meredith is so important to the fay, changes her status in the fay world, and expands on the main villain. And yes, it is a very sensual book though perhaps slightly lower in sexual intensity if not quantity then the first two. I know what I said in the other paragraph and it still holds true - its not bad by any means and still above and beyond the skill of most other authors. Just don't go in expecting something that struggles to top the other books in shock value. The sex is appropriate to the situation. My advice if you want to get the most out of these books is read other tamer books in between the three, that way each one will feel fresh and exciting to you. (Perhaps another problem for the other reviewers?) Also, if you are Not after a book that includes lots of sex why did you read through the first two and why did you even pick up this series instead of 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sidhe don't need night lights--they glow in the dark, June 5 2004
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Between Hamilton's last Anita Blake book and the reviews for this one, I wasn't expecting much, and aside from occasional glimmers of plot between the heavy breathing, I didn't get it. What plot there is consists of Merry having sex, Merry acquiring a new power, Merry getting new men, and Merry not getting pregnant. In between there are the requisite Unseelie Court politcs plus an attempt or two to kill Merry. Alas, this storyline has become pretty formulaic by now, even though "Seduced by Moonlight" is only the third book in the series. Too many descriptions of glowing sidhe magic, floor-length male hair, and thrilling touches made this reader's eyes glaze over.
Nonetheless, Hamilton is a talented writer. Her descriptions, when they're not repetitive, make for some fine reading. She has a surprisingly lyrical touch at times and can even come up with some interesting plot twists. Unfortunately these gifts get lost under the verbiage, and "Seduced by Moonlight" is mediocre at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NC - 17, May 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
On the positive side, Merry is still alive, despite the best efforts of her Unseelie enemies. On the other side, despite her and her macho harem's best work, she is not pregnant. Other things are happening though. Merry's personal magic is growing by leaps and bounds, and her touch is enough to bring back powers others have lost, and then some. Even that does not endear her to the sidhe who see her as a miserable half breed, or worse. Someone is willing to risk the anger of the Queen of Air and Darkness to assassinate the royal heir. They are even willing to bespell the queen herself. When Merry and Auntie Dearest lay aside past squabbles to unite against the enemy for a magical showdown, the duel is one well worth the price of admission.
**** Merry Gentry is much more intense than the Anita Blake books. Despite having to rely on her guards for protection, Merry does not appear at all weak. At times, your brain will be stretched, trying to picture the fantastic creatures invented for the series, but at their hearts, even the strangest displays extremely human emotions that you can recognize. Be advised, you need to A. refresh your memory on who's who or what in the prior books as the cast continually expands and B. it's definitely NC 17. ****
Reviewed by Amanda Killgore for Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unfulfilling, May 18 2004
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Meredith NicEssus is still trying to get pregnant in order to win the Unseelie crown. A half-mortal faerie princess, Merry has been copulating with six gorgeous guards for several months, and has even helped impregnate another member of the Sidhe with a fertility ritual, but she still hasn't conceived. Which is a really bad thing because if her co-heir cousin Cel gets out of prison and produces a child first, he becomes the monarch of the dark fey.
To complicate matters, a creature Merry recently killed left a deposit of magic inside of her. Now she has the ability to grant powers, and even return deity status to former gods. She's also brokered a deal to continue her alliance with the goblin king. He'll remain her ally if she has sex or shares blood with all of his kingdom's Sidhe half-breeds and awakens their faerie powers. Such an alliance could prove crucial when Cel is released, but it also means Merry will be a busy girl in the bedroom.
Doyle, Frost, Galen, Rhys, Nicca and Kitto have all returned to be the king of Princess Merry's world. The first half of this book revolves around having sex, thinking about sex, talking about sex and then having some more sex. When her aunt, the wicked Queen of Air and Darkness, demands Merry's return to the Unseelie Court, violence and debauchery ensue.
In the first two books of this series, Merry was an intriguing character, a multifaceted woman trying to balance her mortal life as a private investigator with her royal faerie ties. Now she's an unemployed vessel of power and a political prostitute. For someone whose only occupation is having sex, Merry is entirely devoid of passion.
Laurell K. Hamilton's writing continues to be evocative, and her world-building skills are top-notch. But she fails to give the reader a story worthy of her characters. Nonexistent plotting, dull dialogue, repetitive body part descriptions and disappointing "power" plays transformed "Seduced by Moonlight" from a highly anticipated novel into barely readable soft porn.
--Previously appeared in The Science Fiction Romance Newsletter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Seduced by what?, May 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
When I began to read the Anita Blake novels, Ms. Hamilton added a fan. She did not hit you over the head with sex. In the Meredith Gentry novels she not only hits you over the head she beats you down with sex. In the Anita Blake novels we were asked to believe that a sexual act did not occur until the sixth book, while with the Meredith Gentry novels we are told that sex is what it's all about. I'm a big fan of the Anita Blake novels and I've only just managed to read the Meredith Gentry novels. I have to say that there is no seduction in any of the Meredith gentry novels. The title of the book is certainly misleading, there is no seduction involved. Outright sex is not seduction, nor could the overt combination of violence and sex be considered seduction.
I hope that LKH will get it together and begin to write this series of books with a modicum of her God Given talent, because I'm slightly disappointed in the content of this series of novels; however some of the soft porn magazines may be interested in printing an edited version of these stories.
I hope that if the series continues LKH can keep her fan base. This has been a disappointing series to say the least. Meredith Gentry certainly has some qualities that are admirable and could make for good reading, but LKH has not made anything of these qualities. She doesn't attempt to make Meredith a smart woman, just one that is obsessed with sex and violence. What's another bimbo anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Devoid of Passion, May 11 2004
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Meredith NicEssus is still trying to get pregnant in order to win the Unseelie crown. A half-mortal faerie princess, Merry has been copulating with six gorgeous guards for several months, and has even helped impregnate another member of the Sidhe with a fertility ritual, but she still hasn't conceived. Which is a really bad thing because if her co-heir cousin Cel gets out of prison and produces a child first, he becomes the monarch of the dark fey.
To complicate matters, a creature Merry recently killed left a deposit of magic inside of her. Now she has the ability to grant powers, and even return deity status to former gods. She's also brokered a deal to continue her alliance with the goblin king. He'll remain her ally if she has sex or shares blood with all of his kingdom's Sidhe half-breeds and awakens their faerie powers. Such an alliance could prove crucial when Cel is released, but it also means Merry will be a busy girl in the bedroom.
Doyle, Frost, Galen, Rhys, Nicca and Kitto have all returned to be the king of Princess Merry's world. The first half of this book revolves around having sex, thinking about sex, talking about sex and then having some more sex. When her aunt, the wicked Queen of Air and Darkness, demands Merry's return to the Unseelie Court, violence and debauchery ensue.
In the first two books of this series, Merry was intriguing character, a multifaceted woman trying to balance her mortal life as a private investigator with her royal faerie ties. Now she's an unemployed vessel of power and a political prostitute. For someone whose only occupation is having sex, Merry is entirely devoid of passion.
Laurell K. Hamilton's writing continues to be evocative, and her world-building skills are top-notch. But she fails to give the reader a story worthy of her characters. Nonexistent plotting, dull dialogue, repetitive body part descriptions and
disappointing "power" plays transformed "Seduced by Moonlight" from a highly anticipated novel into barely readable soft porn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sex in Lieu of Plot..., May 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Frankly, a sad waste. The meteoric descent and deterioration of both of LKH's series continues, and it's painful for readers who have been fans since her first book Nightseer and the first AB, Guilty Pleasures. While the MG series showed some initial promise, and titillated with steaminess, Hamilton seems to have run out of plot, or at least out of enough plot to fill out a good-sized novel without resorting to endless, boring and repetitive sex scenes. The *worst* part isn't the sex, despite what some of the folks who are still fans seem to think - it's the fact that the sex scenes aren't even interesting anymore, and the only "variety" isn't in the writing, it's in the endless parade of partners for both MG and AB. Sex in LIEU of plot isn't "erotica," it's BAD WRITING. (And let's not even *discuss* the grammar and spelling!!).
Add to that the virtual interchangeability of those various "supernatural studs" between the two series, and you've got a cure for insomnia. I mean, let's face it - Doyle = Jean Claude, Rhys = Jason, Frost = Richard, Nicca = Damian, blahbety-blah blah blah....snore. At least in MG, the implausibility of *everyone* wanting to sleep with the female protagonist is made *somewhat* more believable by the ludicrous royal guard enforced celibacy plot element (although the pregnancy angle and the celibacy angle does NOT explain two of MG's partners in this book, one of which is FEMALE).
Then we have a character (no spoilers, shan't name him or her) that is killed off who has the *identical* name as a character killed off elsewhere in the series - and it's clearly NOT the same character. No two OTHER characters in the series have identical names; it's either absurdly sloppy, or the author's cavalier disregard of the readers' intelligence or memories, take your pick.
And, speaking of cavalier, we have the final insult of the book simply stopping, not ending; a pathetically transparent device increasingly used by various authors to boost sales of future books. I predict that the next MG book will also only cover a 24-36 hour period, perhaps only the visit to the Goblin mounds. It shall probably take yet *another* release to get to the Seelie Court, and a third to start to get ANYWHERE in the plot.
Like I said, for those of us who stuck with LKH all these years expecting witty writing, mystery and actual PLOT, both series are now major disappointments. I'm certainly not wasting any more money on either; LKH is clearly writing for a different type of reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent bridge, April 12 2004
By 
Matthew Pursley (Dallas, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Seduced by Moonlight takes place over a shorter ammount of time than the previous two books in this series, and has less grand action. Instead, it focuses more on character development and sets the stage for what will probably be quite a bit of hard-and-fast action (and doubtless some sex of the same variety). Though there is quite a bit of time spent in the bedroom, this book actually seems to contain less outright sex than the previous two, since the gooey details tend to get lost in instances of personal enlightenment and revitalization. Here, the main characters begin to work out some of their issues with one another and forge themselves into a more cohesive group. At the same time, an old Power takes an active interest in Merry and seems to have chosen her to be the catalyst of a magical renaissance for the fading world of faerie. The overall purpose of this book seems to be setting the stage for the next few, preparing the characters to face the events that are brewing.
(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Better!!!, April 10 2004
By 
C. Thomas (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
I love Laurell K. Hamilton. I think she is a talented writer who isn't afraid to broach subjects that both turn us on and make us squirm. I was dissappointed with Seduced By Moonlight mainly because I felt there was no story. The previous novels in this series did a good job I think, especially the first, in setting up interesting situations. The sex in this particular novel was so constant it actually managed to bore me, and I am never bored by that particular topic. There is a part where Merry is having sex with more than one character and rather than get turned on I was a bit disturbed(it was the little guy who is a fairie I believe and one of the guards, those who have read know who I mean). In the Anita Blake series we saw a gradual change in Anita's behavior especially regarding sex. And because that series has so many books in it, some excess can be tolerated. Here I felt nearly assaulted and maybe if there was a more intriguing background story taking place I could have overlooked it. Instead I found myself skipping whole pages trying to find something worth reading. Needless to say I finished it and like many others I want to see where this character and her men are going to go. Therefore I reccomend this for those who liked the other two and want just to keep up with what's going on. I just hope the next time out it is more fun getting to whatever the end will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel
Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - Feb. 3 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews