Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Blake Series
All I can say is, if you are a lover of the dark lore of vamps, wolves, undead, etc., you have GOT to read this ENTIRE series. This is a series that will keep you wanting more. Every one of her books (including her fae series) I can not put down. I have all her books and each read is usually 1-3 days cover to cover non-stop reading - yeah, it grabs you just like that...
Published on July 7 2004 by Jason S. Stockler

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Ill Met by Moolight
There once was a writer named Laurell K.
Who wrote of few good books but lack-a-day!
Much to this reader's sad dismay,
She got lost in a pile of pitiful porn.
Her characters left plotless and forlorn.
Her reader could only feel miserable scorn.
Until she finds a tale worth the telling,
This reader will no more be the dollars...
Published on Feb. 18 2004 by St. Winnie-the-Pooh the Parkness


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Ill Met by Moolight, Feb. 18 2004
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
There once was a writer named Laurell K.
Who wrote of few good books but lack-a-day!
Much to this reader's sad dismay,
She got lost in a pile of pitiful porn.
Her characters left plotless and forlorn.
Her reader could only feel miserable scorn.
Until she finds a tale worth the telling,
This reader will no more be the dollars a-shelling
For transitional doggerel tattered and torn
And musical beds from night to morn.
There is more to life than emotionless sex;
There is conflict of character and stories complex.
A full story with good characters is all that I ask!
So until the author is up to this task,
There is nothing to say,
But farewell, adieu and good day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seduced by Frost, Doyle, Rhys, Sage, etc, etc, etc......., July 18 2004
By 
M. I. "krushedvelvet" (Old Bridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Ok. I have no problem with a few sexy scenes in a book, but when it becomes the entire focus, thats when I have a problem. Seduced By Moonlight was so slow in its first half that I came dangerously close to not even finishing it. The beginning chapters were just one page after another filled with wordy dream sequences and excuse after excuse to get Merry's men naked. I will be the first to admit that Merry's men are beyond beautiful and truly it is no hardship to get to "know" them intimately, but I need a plot, people! FINALLY, after speedreading through too many things that I could have done without, LKH pulled it all together and from midway on, the book became interesting. I thought that some of the violence in the books ending scenes was a bit over the top, but the last pages were fun to read as Merry settled in for the night and we were able to look in and listen to her and her suitors as they whispered to eachother while drifting off to sleep. I just love Rhys and I definitely felt like he stole the show in those last pages. All in all, this is a definite must read if you are a fan. There is too much going on at this point for me to stop reading the series and I hope that LKH comes out with the next book soon because I am very curious to see which man will become Merrys husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sinking fast..., July 8 2004
By 
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Okay - we got the whole sex gig. Trying to get pregnant, much weird sex, yes we know already! Now the challenge is to write an interesting story without the soft porn crutch. I admit I have the problem of comparing any of Ms. Hamilton's recent works with her fast paced, full story of her ealier Anita Blake books. None of them will win a Pullitzer, but they were a good read. I could even deal with the sex she began to include because it moved the story along. Now the sex is the story with a few supernatural twists thrown in for filler.
If you're into faery fornication - hey this book and all the Merry Gentry Books are for you. However, the sex is souless and even gets boring. There is a better use of my time and money. If you are mildly curious (and hopeful) take it out at the library first, then decide to purchase. I always reread good books, but I've never been moved to pick up any of these books again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blake Series, July 7 2004
By 
Jason S. Stockler (Holly, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
All I can say is, if you are a lover of the dark lore of vamps, wolves, undead, etc., you have GOT to read this ENTIRE series. This is a series that will keep you wanting more. Every one of her books (including her fae series) I can not put down. I have all her books and each read is usually 1-3 days cover to cover non-stop reading - yeah, it grabs you just like that and keeps you enthralled the entire time, leaving you wanting more when you have finished each book. The only bad thing about any of her books is......she just cant get the next one out fast enough to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not your 80s type of fairies, June 16 2004
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
My gf introduced me to Meredith Gentry and, as silly as this may sound, I now compare every book I buy to this series. (As to all of our friends whom we have introduced to the series) It is beautifully descriptive, passionate, and it has an absolutely gripping plot that makes my mouth water in anticipation of the next novel. (soon please?) And yes, the third lives up to the other two, though I must admit the first is still my favorite - for the surprise factor at seeing such wonderful writing if nothing else.
First off, let me answer some of the criticisms of this book before it turns you off and you miss out. Some reviewers said there was too much sex in this last novel/this series. Yes, there is a lot of sex, but it is Really hot sex for both male and female readers and it is very well incorporated and explained. It is also very well depicted with the kind of imagery that outshines Anne Rice while still keeping a good plot. For those who do not think the amount of sex sounded believable, try to keep in mind the characters are fay. Not Tolkien's elves, not puritan shoe faries, fay - and if you have done research on what that word meant to the cultures that coined it you would know this is not really a stretch. And if you have done research you will be pleasantly surprised to find that Hamilton has done her research too and incorporated it perfectly. Now, if you do want nice, censored novels that do not challenge you or provide any visuals inappropriate for children then by all means skip this one. And if you are not particularly sensual or are somewhat conservative then again, skip this one. But if you are ok with reading something naughty and want to get away from the traditional 'vampire bites neck.. er.. sensually' then this is a must-read.
Now, on to the actual book. First off, read them in order, you will get lost otherwise. Second off, 'Seduced by Moonlight' is lighter on the action/suspense. Meredith is coming into her own now and hence is less frightened of everyone around her - would you really want a character without character growth? This might be why some readers were unhappy with it. *shrug* I still finished it in only two or three sittings but the conflict is more political in nature then the climatic second book battle. The first book introduced the world, the second showed an important change in the cast and introduces a major villain, and that in turns allows the third to show why Meredith is so important to the fay, changes her status in the fay world, and expands on the main villain. And yes, it is a very sensual book though perhaps slightly lower in sexual intensity if not quantity then the first two. I know what I said in the other paragraph and it still holds true - its not bad by any means and still above and beyond the skill of most other authors. Just don't go in expecting something that struggles to top the other books in shock value. The sex is appropriate to the situation. My advice if you want to get the most out of these books is read other tamer books in between the three, that way each one will feel fresh and exciting to you. (Perhaps another problem for the other reviewers?) Also, if you are Not after a book that includes lots of sex why did you read through the first two and why did you even pick up this series instead of 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the sex was interesting, June 11 2004
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
the best part of the book was character developement... sure it mostly happened in a bed or turning merry on... there was only one sex scene that I had to flip through to get to the point... but since the sex part was predictable it didn't bother me at all. I can't wait for the next book that wont be out till late 2005 :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seduced by Moonlight, June 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Wow!! I have been waiting soooo long for the next book. Well it is finally here and she still left us hanging! I couldn't imagaine how she couldn't end this next book without a wedding, but she did. I thought NOoooo, but I loved it and with all the new players is even more intrigueing. A must have for any Laurell fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for entertainment reading, June 10 2004
By 
Fracturedfae "gwenilent" (Tempe, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
I must admit very guiltly that I liked this book inspite of the fact that it was all sex and very little plot. To have as much sex as it had did detract from the actual story. What plot there was however was well done. Laural K Hamilton is a good writer she can and has done better than this. In spite of that if you are just looking for a quick entertaining read you might like it. Overalll it need less sex more plot and to be longer. I would hope that in the next book we finally see Merry actually having a showdown with Taranis at long last(it better be good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sidhe don't need night lights--they glow in the dark, June 5 2004
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
Between Hamilton's last Anita Blake book and the reviews for this one, I wasn't expecting much, and aside from occasional glimmers of plot between the heavy breathing, I didn't get it. What plot there is consists of Merry having sex, Merry acquiring a new power, Merry getting new men, and Merry not getting pregnant. In between there are the requisite Unseelie Court politcs plus an attempt or two to kill Merry. Alas, this storyline has become pretty formulaic by now, even though "Seduced by Moonlight" is only the third book in the series. Too many descriptions of glowing sidhe magic, floor-length male hair, and thrilling touches made this reader's eyes glaze over.
Nonetheless, Hamilton is a talented writer. Her descriptions, when they're not repetitive, make for some fine reading. She has a surprisingly lyrical touch at times and can even come up with some interesting plot twists. Unfortunately these gifts get lost under the verbiage, and "Seduced by Moonlight" is mediocre at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the worst book I have ever read, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel (Hardcover)
This is by far the worst LKH book I have read and possibly the worst book I have ever read! While the past two Merry Gentry books have been somewhat interesting and entertaining, this one is nothing but soft-core porn that is incredibly boring and repititive. If I read how somebody's skin glowed or sparkled one more time I may have vomitted. And the ending - at first I thought that my copy was missing a chapter. It just ends! You're left wanting the time back that you spent reading this awful book. I used to be a LKH fan - but no longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel
Seduced By Moonlight: A Novel by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - Feb. 3 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews