Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crying For More
Milla Edge encounters the watershed tragedy of her life in the heart-pounding opening sequence of the book. While accompanying her doctor of a husband on a stint, her newborn baby Justin was ruthlessly snatched away from her by perpetrators of a baby smuggling ring in a Mexican marketplace. She lost a kidney in the fierce struggle - her husband and family too - as she...
Published on May 4 2004 by Desmond Chan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment...
I love Linda Howard's books. They are always a treat. However, I really felt this wasn't one of her best. I didn't really like the character of Milla. I thought that she was unevenly written and started to get annoying. I also felt that the plot drug on a bit and was a bit implausible. I don't read books based on whether it could really happen...I just felt that...
Published on June 27 2004 by wizardsheart


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crying For More, May 4 2004
By 
Desmond Chan (Bishan North Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cry No More (Hardcover)
Milla Edge encounters the watershed tragedy of her life in the heart-pounding opening sequence of the book. While accompanying her doctor of a husband on a stint, her newborn baby Justin was ruthlessly snatched away from her by perpetrators of a baby smuggling ring in a Mexican marketplace. She lost a kidney in the fierce struggle - her husband and family too - as she forged herself to become stronger and never giving up hope in her quest for Justin, while others misunderstand and loses faith in her quest for an impossible dream.
Ten years in hot pursuit of the perpetrators has left Milla with a new link after a mysterious phone call that unites her with bounty hunter James Diaz. As the mystery deepens, she finds herself confronting a web of conspiracy spun by her closest friends and sponsors of her foundation that is dedicated to finding the missing.
The mayhem and cutthroat suspense may be similar to Ms. Howard's previous efforts like Open Target and Dying to Please. But in Cry No More, Ms. Howard outdoes herself as she throws herself into the world of her central character, bringing out the empathy and admiration for her steely Milla with gut-wrenching emotions. Her angst and bitterness makes her a gripping heroine in every sense; the hero Diaz with the dangerous slant unearths her softness and vulnerability, enriching the poignant romance in the midst of the spinning action.
Ms. Howard clearly has shown that her passion overrides everything. She gets all her elements in place, beautifully injects realism with bits and pieces of Mexican culture, surprises us with an act of maturity by Milla in the ending sequence and lets us feel the unconditional love in maternal ties. This is simply Ms. Howard at her best - and it is bound to leave her fans crying for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading but not Howard's "normal " fare, Dec 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cry No More (Hardcover)
Having been a huge fan of Ms Howards work over the years I greatly look forward to and anticipate each release.
In Cry No More Ms Howard has written a powerfully moving account of one woman's driven, almost obsessive search to track down and find the son who was snatched from her arms ten years before. In doing so she loses her husband, some of her family and as the tale progresses, almost her life.
This was no cosy tale of romance - the genre that I and other fans buy her for and if you buy this novel expecting that, then you will be disappointed. It does'nt make the tale less, but there was a dark edge that permeated the whole book and in some places made it heavy going. It was certainly a different style than all her previous works and was more mainstream women's fiction for that.
Howard did touch on a relationship between Milla and another of the characters, but it was certainly secondary to the main story and at times I felt that a more even balance could have been achieved, to satisfy both her "core" fans and her new ones.
Another thing - the main storyline so overwhelmed the other plot elements of the book, that they were'nt wrapped up at the end and subsequently it left you feeling vaguely dissatisfied.
However, overall, it's an evocative, emotionally heartrending tale of strength and courage against adversity ,but it is'nt a Howard romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Livin' on coffee - 'cuz I couldn't put it down last night!, Nov. 19 2003
By 
Latrinaloo "latrinaloo2" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cry No More (Hardcover)
Since she has authored so many delicious reads, I know that I can trust a book by Linda Howard. It's never money wasted. Even her worst is better than most author's best. I often reread them rather than buy a new book by someone else (my favorites being After the Night, Now You See Her, and Dream Man).
Cry No More was absolutely outstanding. It was simply impossible to put the book down and go to bed - the last third is soooo compelling - it just blew me away! I loved the strong hero and brave heroine - their quirks and vulnerabilities were gently revealed. Heavier in theme than most of her other works, it was none-the-less a page turner. It was a deliciously sensual and suspenseful adventure, a thrilling roller coaster ride, alternately tear-jerking, tender and joyful. (And those fabulous love scenes kept me reaching for the fan). An author myself, I am humbled by such talent. I await her next book with utter impatience.
Damn, Linda. Keep up the GREAT work.
Girl - YOU ROCK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment..., June 27 2004
I love Linda Howard's books. They are always a treat. However, I really felt this wasn't one of her best. I didn't really like the character of Milla. I thought that she was unevenly written and started to get annoying. I also felt that the plot drug on a bit and was a bit implausible. I don't read books based on whether it could really happen...I just felt that this was a bit too much. I can't believe that after ten years of no leads...all of a sudden everything clicks into place; all of these things just start happening and it is easy to find the answers. I think it would have been a better book if it had taken place a year or two after the kidnapping, not ten. It is not Linda Howard's best work, but I still love her and will continue to read her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tear-jerker!, Aug. 2 2004
By 
Corky (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
This is the second book I've read by Ms. Howard and I have quickly become a fan. "Cry No More" deals with one woman's desperate search to find her missing son. Milla Edge is feminine to the core but tough as nails when it comes to trying to locate her son. When James Diaz joins her in the hunt, the chemistry between them leads to a sizzling romance. But Milla is aware that both carry baggage from the past, and can she have a relationship with an assassin/bounty hunter?
This is a great read, with many highs and lows, and a few places you might need to pull out the tissue. Great book, Ms. Howard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Adventure, June 30 2004
By 
Katrina Carmack (Clearwater Fl USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
David Boone is a up and coming surgeon. He and his wife Milla go to Mexico for a year. So David could work at a clinic. While in Mexico, Milla gives birth to a healthy little boy.
Milla would go to the market a couple times of week. She would carry Justin in a sling close to her body. One day two men corner her. They want Justin. In the struggle to kidnap him, Milla is stabbed and Justin is gone. Milla is rushed to the clinic for surgery. She loses her kidney.
After Milla recovers from the loss of her kidney. She starts a hunt for Justin. In the process David divorces her. Her siblings tell her to forget about finding Justin. But she can not give up. She must find him.
Milla starts a business called "Finders". It's a search and rescue team. That when someone is lost they join the search to help locate the missing person. Either adult or child.
One day Milla gets a tip that the man that took Justin would be at a church in Mexico. So Milla and a co-worker cross the border from ElPaso to wait. As Milla watches the men get out of the cars. She recognizes one of them as the man who took Justin. She starts to reach for the gun in her pocket. But something pushes her back to the ground. He tells her not to move or make a sound. Or shes dead. The two of them watch the men exchange something from one car to another. When it's all done they leave. And the guy holding Milla down, he presses his fingers at the base of her neck and tells her to take a nap.
After she comes to. Her and Brian go to local bar. Milla anounces who she is and she will pay ten thousand American dollars to anyone who can tell her how to find Diaz. Days later Diaz walks into her office. He is the man who held her down at the church.
She realizes that he is not the man who took Justin ten years ago. Afterwhile he agrees to help her find Pavon. The guy who took her son.
This book is full of adventure. You won't be disappointed. This is a great book, very emotional. The first chapter is a little boring but the book does pick up as the story continues. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally Draining Novel with Great Characters, June 11 2004
This review is from: Cry No More (Hardcover)
Cry No More is an emotionally draining book with a dark side. However, it is also an exciting romance that is heart meltingly tender and passionate. The overall style of the book reminded me a lot of All the Queen's Men, an earlier Linda Howard novel, in which the characters (and indeed the reader!) were equally tormented. In Cry No More we have Milla Edge, a woman whose baby was brutally snatched from her 10 years before, and James Diaz, an assassin who prefers an isolated - but often lonely - existence.
Milla and Diaz were fantastic characters, multi-layered and believable in every way. Their interactions clearly showed how the love and companionship developed between them. By the end of the book it was clear that they were perfect for each other - no one else would have been quite right for either of them. The plot was good and the dialogue was realistic and fresh. I thought the 'betrayal' Diaz carried out against Milla was quite out of character for him as he was so conscious of letting her be independent and respectful of her as a person. However, in the end it seemed to strengthen their relationship and Diaz realised just how brave and kind Milla was, which I think he needed to know to completely fall in love with her.
I do have a few problems with the book that make it a four star rather than a five star review. Firstly, although Diaz was a tough, bad man (always good fodder for a romance novel) he was sometimes too brutal. Never with Milla, but in his dealings with 'bad guys' and murderers. I understand that Linda Howard had to show how committed he was to his cause, and arguably a lot of the violence was justified, but I hated a scene where he works on a villain with a knife. I just found everything about it squeamish and horrible. I want to read about a 'bad' man, but not to that extent. Secondly, sometimes the book detoured away from the romance a little too much. I must admit that I read romantic suspense novels purely for the romance, as I prefer to find thrills and chills and who dunnit's within the covers of a crime novel, so I would have liked Milla and Diaz to be together a little bit more.
Overall Cry No More was a satisfying romance novel and I cried buckets of tears during the final couple of chapters. The ending packs a solid emotional punch that leaves you reeling. The only drawback of such an emotional novel (like with All the Queen's Men) is that they are sometimes painful to read. When I think about rereading them I get a tense feeling in my stomach that normally means I end up reading Dream Man or Heart of Fire instead because as well as being great novels with fabulous characters they are more light-hearted and don't leave you in floods of tears.
JoAnne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kudos to Howard for An Untouched Subject! 4.5 Stars!, May 2 2004
This review is from: Cry No More (Hardcover)
Once again Ms. Howard transcends the romantic/suspense genre with her newest and IMO one of her best novels. This is an untouched and mostly avoided subject in this genre. The fact that the heroine suffers a great blow when her infant is abducted in Mexico and sold into a baby-ring.
I have not read any other romance author breach this unspeakable crime that is such a problem! What I loved about this story was the fact that Milla, the heroine, did not come away 'unscathed' and did not whine and become weak for it. She became fierce and determined and so inspiring.
I wouldn't label this particular story 'romantic/suspense' in the fact that it didn't have too much suspense, it was more of an intense drama with a little romance thrown in. Not that that is a bad thing, lol, its great. But for those looking for something along the lines of her previous novels labeled the same, such as 'Now you See Her,' 'Mr. Perfect' and 'Dream Man,' this is a little more like 'All the Queen's Men' in its drama aspect.

Milla Edge never imagined her life could so completely fall apart so fast as it did one hot and nightmarish morning in a tiny town in Mexico when her infant son was snatched from her arms and she was attached so viscously she thought she'd die.
With only her doctor husband to save her she took months to recover and by then, it was too late to find her son.
Gone. Into thin air.
Milla could not live with herself knowing he was out there somewhere, so with her newfound soul strength and determination, she let everything in her life become nothing, including her husband and began a relentless search for the truth and uncovers a baby-smuggling ring far beyond what she imagines. She starts a small volunteer group called 'Finders' which she needs donations to fund and helps others find their own lost ones and in the meantime still searches for her son.
Ten years later she gets a lead....
Danger and corruption are everywhere and one name whispers to her in the chaos. James Diaz. Is he the one eyed man she needs to find to find her baby?
Diaz is no more than a terrified whisper among the criminals in and around El Paso and the border towns. Determined to find him, Milla risks her life to find the 'Tracker' as he is known as.
Soon she teams up with Diaz, doing anything to find her son and never questions what he really does for a living but suspects it isn't legal, but he is her only hope. Unraveling a twisted ring Milla finds this goes beyond just small criminals, it reaches above the highest groups.
With only Diaz for help she infiltrates this seedy establishment and is about to crack it wide open, but not before a lethal assassin has her in his crosshairs...

Calling all you Linda Howard fans, this is another winner!!! The heroine is very real and very determined. It is rare that I admire a heroine as much as this one. She is so selfless I was impressed.
Diaz is so compelling and myterious you will find yourself trying to figure him out. Very worthy hero to our heroine. Kudos to you Ms. Howard!

Tracy Talley~@
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good reading!, March 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Cry No More (Hardcover)
Milla had a good life with her husband and infant son. It was all taken away in a moment that was to become the second that defined her existance. On the darkest day of her life, Milla was stabbed and her son taken by a group of child smugglers. Only two things can even halfway be considered comforting - a white child would be well cared for due to the high demand for them and she was able to put out the eye of the monster who stole her baby.
Ten years pass, and during them, Milla's purpose gains focus. Perhaps her own son is lost, but she can help others find their missing loved ones. It is something of a balm, seeing other's joy at reuniting, when she has lost not only her child, but her marriage and friendly relations with her family. Then, hope is reborn. Milla makes contact with Diaz, a bad man who might be able to track down the scum who wrecked her life. Working with him is nerve wracking. Diaz is everything she should avoid, and everything she needs. In his arms, Milla's tears begin to dry. But, there is someone out there who wants revenge for his lost eye. If Diaz can't protect her, Milla will find herself scattered across Mexico.
*** Linda Howard, the author who gave us Mr Perfect, once more chills readers in this fast paced novel that takes us through a whole range of feelings. Every one can empathize with Milla's obsession and inner turmoil. Yet, despite the chills and thrills, the ending warms the heart. ***
Reviewed by Amanda Killgore for Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorite Howard Books, March 5 2004
This review is from: Cry No More (Hardcover)
The book opens with a heartstopping account of a woman's infant literally being ripped from her by kidnappers in a market in Mexico. She fights the men with desperation and ends up nearly dying from a stab wound and loses her baby.
We then move ten years ahead. Milla has lost her marriage to her devotion to finding her child. She has little more in her life than the organization she's founded to locate missing persons. She is estranged from family who tell her to give up and get on with her life.
Milla is tireless in her fight to find Justin and while she's had nothing but dead ends and heartache in her own struggle, she's managed to find other people's children and family members so often she's become something of a national celebrity for it.
There are interesting turns here and there. The one eyed man she's looking for in connection with the ring of kidnappers to find infants in Mexico and smuggle them into the US and Canada for adoption seems to be the key. Of course, he's not too happy with the woman who clawed his eye out and destroyed his face and has some of his own vengeance in mind.
Add to this, a bounty hunter with his own agenda and secretive background, a business man who isn't what he seems, double crossing friends and a bit of romance and lots of intrigue and it makes for one of Linda Howard's most compelling and certainly her most emotionally wrenching books.
Not to give any spoilers but about halfway through I'd figured out some of the whodunits and I was slightly disappointed to see that a few bits and pieces pretty central to the story were left hanging.
Overall though, this is a really good suspense novel, not Howard's usual more romance oriented book, although there is romance and a non-traditional happy ending. I like to see that Howard is stretching herself, moving past her own genre and doing it really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cry No More
Cry No More by Linda Howard (Hardcover - Nov. 4 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews