Customer Reviews


270 Reviews
5 star:
 (236)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Panic...
Great stories, and I was very, very happy to find this book for such a good price! It's a huge book physically, but not that awkward to read, especially considering it's actually five books disguised as one...

Very pretty with its gold lettered cover and gold-edged pages adding up to a pseudo-sophisticated presentation, it's fun to read in public... a very...
Published on Oct. 31 2011 by WryGrin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A wierd but enchanting book
This book took my mind futher than it had gone before. It is full of adventure and suspens. You might want to be careful about your children reading this book it is a little forword and doesn't hold back much. It makes you wonder if all of it is actually true. With all its far fetched nonsense about the vogon star ship , babble fish, and all. After you read it you may be...
Published on Oct. 24 2002


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Panic..., Oct. 31 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great stories, and I was very, very happy to find this book for such a good price! It's a huge book physically, but not that awkward to read, especially considering it's actually five books disguised as one...

Very pretty with its gold lettered cover and gold-edged pages adding up to a pseudo-sophisticated presentation, it's fun to read in public... a very nice, but "extremely religious" lady came up to me at a cafe and praised me for reading the bible... I didn't have the heart to tell her it was a very different kind of guide book lol.

Wonderful to get if you like Douglas Adams' work, or want a (very) solid dose of British humour, or just want to be one of the ones counted as knowing precisely where your towel is ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Funniest Series Ever!, May 13 2004
By 
T. George "anne-with-an-e" (An American city) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When you've just finished a book that's as thick & heavy as a dictionary, it is all too tempting to write pages and pages in review of it. However, I will spare you as much as I can.
The basic premise of the novels is that Ford Prefect is a hitchhiker and writer for "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy." He hitches rides all around space, writes up his experiences and sends them in to his editors. As the novel opens up, it's roughly 1980 in England, and he's been stuck on Earth for 15 years because Earth (as we know) has not really made contact with other planets and so he can't find a ride out of there (here). In that time, he has made friends with Arthur Dent, one of the absolutely most endearing characters I've ever come across in literature (even more than a Hobbit).
When we first meet Dent, he thinks his greatest battle for the day will be to lie in front of the bulldozers which want to knock down his house. Little does he know that Earth is also about to be knocked over (obliterated really) for a hyper-space by-pass. Prefect, however, catches on and rescues Dent at the very last minute...Whether or not this was a good thing is up to the reader to decide.
While Adams shows his literal genius for comedic timing and absurd humor within the bounds of Earth at the beginning, once he is freed of all constraints his writing style blazes with unique talent. Every page is so filled with parody, dry wit, perfect timing, and mind-boggling fictitious science that it leaves you laughing aloud and reeling at the same time. I realize that his humor is not for everyone...but for anyone who enjoys satire and for anyone who is frustrated with the insanity of life, this book brings the proverbial comic relief.
From what I've read from hard-core Douglas Adams fans (and there seem to be quite a few of those), books #1, 2, and 4 in this series are Adam's purest works. #3 and 5 are a bit heavier in tone. #6 (Young Zaphod Plays It Safe) is simply baffling.
For those who don't like science fiction, I would say that that shouldn't really be a problem here. While Adams does invent some very funny alien races (like the race with 50 arms that was the only one to invent deodorant before the wheel), his focus clearly isn't imagining how different life can be. Everything in his novels is a satire of humanity - from the bureaucracy to the androids to the laws of physics.
Of all the wonderful things I could dwell on in Adam's work, the last thing I would like to mention is that of all action/adventure stories I have ever read, I think Adams has created a few of the most realistic heroes. Dent, Prefect, and Zaphod - though somewhat resourceful - aren't particularly strong, bold, courageous, intelligent or smooth. They bungle any number of situations, and only Trillian has a real moment of brilliance. And yet, no matter how much they might want to simply run and save their own hides, a sense of duty to man/life nags at their conscience and keeps bringing them to help save somebody. Ultimately, I think this balances out so much of Adams ironic humor about how stupid life can be. Yes, life is absurd at so many levels, but Adams never abandons our Western Civilization ideals of the value of life and our duty to help each other.
Oh, and the dialogue is priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny zany and far-reaching, April 8 2011
By 
RMS (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Paperback)
Spoofing a very wide range indeed of sci-fi themes in always-surprising ways, this extremely well-written opus had me laughing and admiring and enjoying myself throughout. This is serious [comic] literature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, Feb. 17 2011
It's actually impressive. The book came in a very good state. It was an international shipment, so it took well over three weeks' (such is the case with int. shipping.) I think it was a really good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest Books Ever Written, Dec 18 2004
Douglas Adams has been taken from us all too soon by a heart attack. I was deeply affected when I heard the news because Mr Adams had given me such incredible joy with these books. The Hitchhikers' Guide to the Galaxy and The Restaurant at the End of the Universe are particularly great.
These books bend your mind and have you looking at things in new ways (just what are the mice really up to?), bringing great insights and new meaning. Oh heck, actually they are just downright, laugh out loud hilarious. You can't read them just once, you will be addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best comedy writer since spike milligan., March 1 2004
If you are an Adams fan then this is for you, My copies of the 5 books are all in a rotten state after years of reading and rereading, and I wanteed a tome to keep. Apart from the additional Zaphod story I will not read this for many years. i know it verbatim. Those raised on Pratchett and Rankin might find Adams' humour a little dated to be fair, but he was first and he cannot be replaced.
Cleverer than Pratchett and nowhere near as predictable, Adams seems to start at the beginning and then just bimble along through the narrative, but previous issues reemerge to show that the first three books, at least, were all part of a masterplan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate sci-fi collection, Sept. 23 2002
By 
Mark-David McCool (costa mesa, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Want to take a ride into the mysteries of life, the universe, and everything?
Join our grand group of space hikers(arthur dent the earthling, marvin the robot, fernchurch the earthling, zaphod beetlebrox president of the galaxy, and his cousin Ford Prefect)
as they ecounter anwers to the life the universe and everything.
This book is a collection of the works of Douglas Adams written originally for BBC radio.
Many things that are answered in this volume of work include
Why 42 is the most important number you need to know.
Milliways and what kind of shows they offer with dinner.
Where the dolphins went
How you can fly(not in an airplane or space craft that is)
Improbablity drives
Kritkrit and they're problem
Who really controls the universe
and many many more things that will keep you spell bound for years to come.
Join a select group of people that have experienced
The hitch hikers guide to the galaxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 42 Is the answer. What is the Question?, June 26 2002
By 
"dick_hille" (Bodegraven Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This heading may seem strange, but the book is even stranger. I ques the introduction by Douglas says it all. The whole idea is simple and straightforward: "What if there would be a book like France for 2 dollars a day, that would guide you trough the univers.
This book tells you just that and also makes a point about the fact that the univers is a stranger place then you or I could ever imagine.
Time travel, travel at the speed of chance, travel to all kinds of strange places, like the place, where the universe stops to exist. All is possible in this book, including a manicaly depressed robot with a brain the size of a planet, who eventualy lives about 7 times longer as the univers exists.
Yes this book is strange and it makes you wonder about reality. Science fiction without the ussual batles and wars. Not that the universe is peacefull, but you just happen to stumble past all the big problems and live with the huge problems a person can have.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing book, April 23 2013
By 
Giovanna Spanti "Giovanna" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Paperback)
I read it from start to finish way too fast.
a really good book for any amateur of sci-fi and impossible situation.

the narrative is varied and never feel longer than needed.

However, I did not appreciate the last section/book. It seem rush and had way more potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wit and ridiculousness., March 31 2004
By 
Ben "sloppyjoes7" (Castle Rock, CO United States) - See all my reviews
There are those who don't get "The Far Side" by Gary Larson. It's too wacky and weird. There are those who don't like the wit of "Calvin and Hobbes," passing it by for simpler humor.
There are those who hate "Monty Python" because it's "stupid" or "ridiculous." And there are those who hate the humor "A Midsummer Night's Dream" or "Pride and Prejudice," as its wit is deep and veiled.
Now try and envision an amalgam of these two approaches to comedy. Witty lines, and wordplays, combined with floating penguins and Vogon poetry. You have to be pretty quick to understand some of Adams' jokes regarding quantum mechanics, yet silly enough to laugh at the manic depressive robot, and the apathetic mention of the destruction of Earth. Douglas Adams is simply the best at combining wit with irony and absurdity. And this is simply the best book in which to find his genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (Paperback - 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 6.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews