Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping romantic suspense!
Bad Girl is quite a gripping suspense novel. Chicago "Windy" Thomas accepts the offer to head the Las Vegas Police Department's forensics lab. A natural at the aforementioned task, she helps solve various cases at the drop of a hat. That is until she's encountered with one of the most sinister serial killers in recent years. The culprit - whom the press named the "Home...
Published on Oct. 2 2003 by CoffeeGurl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars You should never skip breakfast . . .
As a rule, I absolutely hate it when I get halfway into a novel and it suddenly changes into something else. This one starts as a very good police procedural murder mystery -- but at almost exactly the midpoint, the author suddenly *tells* you whodunit, and it becomes a thriller instead. Chicago "Windy" Thomas is an almost excessively competent young woman who...
Published on April 28 2004 by Michael K. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars You should never skip breakfast . . ., April 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
As a rule, I absolutely hate it when I get halfway into a novel and it suddenly changes into something else. This one starts as a very good police procedural murder mystery -- but at almost exactly the midpoint, the author suddenly *tells* you whodunit, and it becomes a thriller instead. Chicago "Windy" Thomas is an almost excessively competent young woman who has just left her job as a sheriff in Virginia to run the forensics lab in Las Vegas. She's trying to track down a particularly gruesome serial killer who wipes out whole families (except for the fathers) and, of course, she becomes a target herself. She has a cute six-year-old daughter and a control-freak boyfriend, but she's also drawn to Ash Laughton, head of the Metro Violent Crime Unit -- who just happens to also be a computer-software-millionaire. (I'm told there are a lot of similarities between the set-up and a top TV series, but I've never seen it.) Jaffe generally does a good job with the characters, except that I find it hard to believe that Windy was ever able to pass the FBI's personality screens. The pace is breathless, the level of detail is almost clinical, and the ending somewhat redeems the plot giveaway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Our loosely enforced copyright laws, Feb. 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
Although not a badly written book by any means, author Michele Jaffe has clearly spent too many Thursday evenings watching the hit TV series, CSI. This book comes off as clear cut, out-and-out rip- off of the show. It's set in Las Vegas, about the Police Crime Lab (forensics) and features as the protagonist a single mom with a cute six year old daughter...hmmm, sound familar, anybody?
Even if Ms. Jaffe honestly came up with this idea BEFORE the TV series was created, some changes should have been made to the book at the editorial state to avoid the obvious comparisons and the overwhelming sense that it's just a "rip off".
Ms. Jaffe is a better writer than this and should be embarrassed! "Bad Girl" reads like a piece of fan fiction with just the names changed. When the No. 1 TV series in the US is about the Las Vegas Forensics lab, you really have to excercise more judgement than this if you choose to write about the same topic.
In short: embarrassing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping romantic suspense!, Oct. 2 2003
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
Bad Girl is quite a gripping suspense novel. Chicago "Windy" Thomas accepts the offer to head the Las Vegas Police Department's forensics lab. A natural at the aforementioned task, she helps solve various cases at the drop of a hat. That is until she's encountered with one of the most sinister serial killers in recent years. The culprit - whom the press named the "Home Wrecker" - has killed various women and their children. Will Windy be able to solve the complicated case? And are she and her six-year-old daughter in danger? There are various twists and turns throughout the novel.
The dissecting of evidence takes over most of the novel. There were times in which I thought I was watching an episode of CSI. But the second half of the novel floored me till the end. The building of sexual tension between Windy and Ash gives the novel a nice romantic touch. I'm duly impressed with Michele Jaffe's work and I look forward to reading her other books in the future. I highly recommend Bad Girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining thriller., Aug. 5 2003
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
Chicago "Windy" Thomas has moved, with her young daughter, to Las Vegas. Leaving behind the memories of a marriage that ended in tragedy, Windy hopes for a new beginning with her job as the head of the Las Vegas Police Department's forensics lab, as well as the loving relationship with her new fiance, but all that looks beautiful turns ugly as a brutal murder puts Windy in the sights of a twisted killer.
The first murder seemed to be random, an entire family butchered in their own home, a vicious act by a brutal killer. Several days later another family is slaughtered in the same manner as the previous killing. As Windy investigates the crime scene she finds similar clues that prove the killer is taunting them, and the killings are anything but random...they are carefully planned and executed.
Time is running out for Windy, and with the help of detective Ash Laughton, she must stop the killer before he strikes again because the next time Windy and her daughter will be the targets.
Despite misleading cover art and title 'Bad Girl' is a tough, well written thriller that grabs the reader early on and doesn't let go until every loose end is tied up. Entertaining plot, interesting characters, gruesome murders, and shocking plot twists keep 'Bad Girl' zipping along at a nice pace. Readers may be somewhat surprised by the true style of this novel because it is not the fluffy romantic/thriller it appears to be, but instead a serious forensic police procedural that ranks with some of the best in the genre.
Michele Jaffe has written a fun thriller that should earn her new readers and have much comparison to the novels of Iris Johansen.
Nick Gonnella
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tremendous police procedural romance, Aug. 3 2003
By 
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
Widow and single mother Chicago "Windy" Thomas takes over as head of the Las Vegas Metro Police Department's Criminalistics Bureau. She immediately shows her value with a murder case impressing Violent Crimes task Force supervisor Ash Laughton with her knowledge and honesty. He asks for her help on a particularly violent murder Mrs. Johnson and her fifteen years old and under three children were ritualistically killed. Windy provides strong assistance in interpreting the photos of the crime scene.
The same MO is repeated with Windy once again furbishing valuable insight to Ash. While trying to solve the homicides, Ash and Windy begin to fall in love although she is engaged to someone else. As a serial killer terrorizes the city, the police led by the dynamic protagonists struggle to bring this malevolent individual to justice before the culprit destroys another family.
The title aside, BAD GIRL is a tremendous police procedural romance that is at its best when Windy provides Holmes-like explanations to crimes and crime scenes. The story line is loaded with action, but owned by Windy, though her bowing to guilt tossed at her by her fiancé seems out of character. Fans who value a strong investigative tale into the mind of a serial killer with a sidebar of romance will enjoy Michele Jaffe's work.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!!, Jan. 28 2004
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
Bad Girl was a fabulous novel! In the book, the main character, Windy takes a job in the police department's forensics lab. In the beginning of the book, she doesn't really get along with her co-workers, but later proves herself to them when she cracks her first case. However, later, one case throws her off a little bit. A serial killer viciously murdered a mother and her kids in their home. When Windy goes after the killer, she puts her daughter in danger, and possibly jeopardizes her own life.
This book came across as very suspenseful, a thriller in fact, with a little burst of romance. I think this book was really well written, and I'm really excited that I discovered this new author. I definitely say, that this novel is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, July 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
I am a big fan of Michele Jaffe's historical novels, and I've been waiting eagerly for her next book to come out. Bad Girl doesn't disappoint -- in fact, I think it may be my favorite of all.
Bad Girl covers completely different territory -- modern-day Las Vegas -- and it does so with style. The characters (especially Windy Thomas and Ash Laughton) are great, and the plotting is really tight, with a number of unexpected twists and turns that heighten the suspense. Jaffe also clearly knows her stuff when it comes to forensics; she manages to weave in critical facts and detail with grace and wit.
All in all, a fabulous mystery/thriller with a healthy dose of romance. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If Your Looking For A Romantic Suspense.., Sept. 21 2003
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
This novel may not be for you. Although there is romance present it is waaaay back on the back burner. This is more of a mainstream suspense book packed with a lot of twists and turns that leave you wondering who the bad guy really is. Although the answer to that question is answered before the end of the book it is still interesting to see how Windy and her team work to get the same answer.
If your squimish you may want to avoid this story. The author goes into great detail regarding the murder scenes but I feel this only addes to drawing the reader into the story. There are lags in the story but they are few and far between. Still this was a strong novel and should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CSI with sex!!!, July 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
I've never read any of Michele Jaffe's historical novels, but I love mysteries so I picked up this book because I heard there was forensic stuff in it. Well, there's not just forensic stuff...there's thrills, chills, and...sex! Actually, there's a nice romance thrown in. And all set in Las Vegas! I had no idea who the killer was until the end, which for me makes any author an auto-buy. I'll be eagerly awaiting Lover Boy, which I hear is the sequel. More more more, Ms. Jaffe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Sept. 28 2003
By 
Angela (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Girl: A Novel (Paperback)
Much to my surprise this book is catagorized in the romance section at the local B&N. But this book is so much more. The love story takes a back seat to a serial murder story that gave me nightmares for the first two nights. Great characters, great story, great from beginning to end. I literally lost sleep just to read this book. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Girl: A Novel
Bad Girl: A Novel by Michele Jaffe (Paperback - July 8 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews