Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars love it
I got this book, because it made it easier to read them together instead of buying separate books, I love the storyline
Published 10 months ago by kat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money?
The Heritage of Shannara combines the Scions, Druid, Elfqueen and talismans of Shannara into one large voulme with some pretty nifty new cover art to boot.
And that's all folks!
As much as I loved these books, there is no compelling reason to drop the money to buy this edition as there is no extra material or the like to justify a seperate purchase (unless of...
Published on Oct. 21 2003 by Ed Kuehn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars love it, June 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
I got this book, because it made it easier to read them together instead of buying separate books, I love the storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Books of All Time, June 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
This set of books is by far the best that Terry Brooks has written. His poetic writing style, exciting plot, and deeply developed characters amaze me every time I read these books. Although I praise The Heritage of Shannara highly, it isn't perfect. It may take a while to get into the book, but I promise after the first few chapters, you're hooked! Also, occasionally he reuses events and tactics from the Shannara Trilogy. But other than that, these books are absolutely wonderful!! Hope you enjoy them as much as I have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yes., May 27 2004
By 
Andrew Vogel "vogelz" (brookhaven, pa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
While most of Brooks novels up to this point have been self-stories such as the First King of Shannara, The Sword of Shannara, The Elfstones of Shannara, and The Wishsong of Shannara, this one is a 4 book long story. For the reader out there who loves a book that you can sink into and just relax and love the world -- this is it. High quality writing through the entire story, with great plot twists and a healthy atmosphere. You barely have time to dream about one plot line when you are met with another, and as the boy in everyone used to read books without being to put them down, this happens here as well.
A+++ without hesitation. My personal favorite is the wonderful detail of the city life that Terry Brooks brings to bear in Callahorn. Also the four horsemen battling with our one armed druid is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top-notch fantasy, packaged well for the collector, May 26 2004
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
The Heritage of Shannara series is really one long story divided into four books. This re-packaging only adds convenience, but is still well-done. I purchased this for my nephew, though I have all the volumes in HB, so there was no need for myself.
What you will find is standard Terry Brooks fare, solid fantasy. His writing is always excellent and his attention to detail is nearly perfect. He is the best modern writer for psychological desription. He lets you into the heads of the important characters and you understand what makes them tick. Thus, you truly understand their personal battles, conflicts, and decisions. Tolkien does a better job (I think) but Brooks comes a solid second.
Brooks message is always hopeful. It is something like, 'even in the darkest day, on the most difficult trail, if you find courage and determination, you may yet survive or even succeed'. This is not novel in this genre, but he does it best.
Oh. I've read the gripe about density, length, and sloggishness. But I don't think they get it. Brooks is intellectual and cares about detail. If you don't, go elsewhere because you may be bored. If you like to roll around in the detail and soak in the world of the story, you are home.
This is not his best story but still wonderful. I was going to give this book four stars because it is not HIS best. But his second best is still much above par (in my humble opinion).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but goes on for far too long, Jan. 15 2004
By 
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
I read this series as the four separate books when they were released in the 90's. One of the upsides of the story is how Brooks goes back to many familiar places seen before in the first three Shannara books, and introduces relatives of many of the original key characters. Brooks' style doesn't bog you down in details and the reading is easy and well-paced. Unfortunately, one of the problems I had with the series upon several readings is that after a while, you start wondering how it is possible each of the main characters is able to avoid the jaws of death so many times without even a scratch. It becomes nearly silly by the end of book four. Brooks also seems to rely on many of the same plot devices, albeit with different characters, over and over again. It's even more noticeable if you've read the original three books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Dec 28 2003
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
Wonderfully told tale of magic, adventure, friendship and honor. I read this saga many years ago, but still remember the eagerness, with which I turned the pages. Absolute classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Shannara Books, Nov. 30 2003
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
The Heritage of Shannara series is, by far, the best of Brooks' Shannara series. The Sword of Shannara is good, but you can see where the author has developed into a better writer with this set of books. The characters are much more three dimensional, the magic is new and unusual, and the plotting is exceptional. Brooks is sometimes accused of being the Stephen Spielberg/George Lucas of the fantasy world, and he's certainly no Robert Jordan or Tolkien, but the books are good on their own merits. I feel like Brooks reached the pinnacle of the Shannara series with this set. The books that follow - The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara - don't come close to being this good. This set of four books in one hardbound edition is definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money?, Oct. 21 2003
By 
Ed Kuehn (troy, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
The Heritage of Shannara combines the Scions, Druid, Elfqueen and talismans of Shannara into one large voulme with some pretty nifty new cover art to boot.
And that's all folks!
As much as I loved these books, there is no compelling reason to drop the money to buy this edition as there is no extra material or the like to justify a seperate purchase (unless of course you do not own the originals.)
While it may be true that this is an attempt to provide a cheap(er) alternative to those who do not already own the books and would like them in hardcover, the long time fans who bought the books in hardcover are left out here. Some insights from the author, some art work or something of the like would have gone a long way toward making buying this worthwhile for those who own the original.
I give the stories within this book 5 stars.
The book itself gets 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overall a great addition to the incredible Shannara Epics, Aug. 26 2003
This review is from: The Heritage of Shannara (Hardcover)
After reading the original 'Sword of Shannara' back in oh, I think it was '78 I have been a HUGE supporter of Terry Brooks as one of THE most talented authors working today, and easily one of the most creative. When I first spotted 'Scions' I nearly fell over with excitement. Even though I admit I had absolutely NO idea what the word 'Scions' meant, I didn't really care! It said, 'Shannara' on the front and that was all I needed. I also admit as I reached the conclusion to this first novel I had NO idea it was book 1 of a series. I recall thinking with around 100 pages left to go, how in the WORLD could he wrap all of this up so quickly? My answer came at the last page when I saw the notice that the story would continue in 'The Druid of Shannara'.This did two things simultaneously: INFURIATED ME for forcing me to wait an additional year to read what happens next & it made me thrilled to know that I wouldn't have to wait 4-5 years before another Shannra novel came out.
I felt that 'Scions' was THE PERFECT way to start off this series. True to the history of the rich tales of the 4 Lands, the Shade of Allanon calls together the 'Scions' of the house of Shannara and charges each of them a task which on the surface seems not just difficult, but downright impossible. Par & his brother Coll are instructed to locate the lost Sword of Shannara. The Dark Uncle, Walker Boh is given the task of returning Paranor to the world and in so doing become a Druid himself -- which he despises, and finally Wren is charged with bringing back the Elves. Elves, WHAT elves? The entire Elven city of Arborlon disappeared -- literally -- years before and nobody has a clue as to what happened to them, and of course Allanon is vague at best in helping them to achieve these goals.
'The Druid of Shannara' has been my least favorite of all the Shannara novels and to this day I can't exactly put my finger on why that is. Maybe it was the pace of the story of Walker traveling to Eldwist to discover the Black Elfstone in order to restore Paranor. I was originally excited to see what would happen to him after his ill-fated trip which cost him his arm, but for some reason, the story just didn't move for me. Maybe I need to read this one again.
'The Elf Queen' is one of my favorite of ALL the Shannara stories. The voyage to the island, the travel through the jungle of demons and finally reaching the fabled destination of Arborlon was a journey well worth taking. Truly the high point of this 4 book series.
'The Talismans' has probably the best opening of ANY Shannara novel to date. Absolutely stunning the way Brooks takes us to the newly restored Druid's Keep and uses the Four Horsemen to trap Walker from leaving. I couldn't have asked for a better way to start off this final novel in the Heritage series. Unfortunately I've felt that with about 60 or so pages left it seemed as though the loose ends were all tied together a bit too quickly for my personal tastes, almost as if Terry was attempting to hit the deadline and wrapped things up way too fast -- but that is just MY opinion.
Overall the Heritage series is a great addition to the incredible Shannara Epics and 3 of the four novels are truly exceptional. Highly recommended, especially for fantasy lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae7f2738)

This product

The Heritage of Shannara
The Heritage of Shannara by Terry Brooks (Hardcover - Aug. 26 2003)
CDN$ 50.00 CDN$ 31.35
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews