Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Galactic in Scope
If you, like me, buy books in order to immerse yourself in words different from ours, this book (and its companion volume, JUDAS UNCHAINED) are for you.
If you want non-stop action, with minimal character development, stay the heck away.
If you like to be confronted with thought-provoking ideas in your books, give this one a try.
If you are looking for a...
Published on Oct. 20 2007 by Ken Breadner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious, but ultimately unengaging
Being a huge fan of the 'Night's Dawn' trilogy, I was naturally very happy to get my hands on this book. If you liked 'Night's Dawn', there's a chance you will find something to your liking in here - but don't expect anything approaching the quality of 'The Neutronium Alchemist'.
In this series (completed by 'Judas Unchained' next year), Hamilton seems to set out to...
Published on April 10 2004 by Daniel Roy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious, but ultimately unengaging, April 10 2004
By 
Daniel Roy "triseult" (Shanghai, China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Hardcover)
Being a huge fan of the 'Night's Dawn' trilogy, I was naturally very happy to get my hands on this book. If you liked 'Night's Dawn', there's a chance you will find something to your liking in here - but don't expect anything approaching the quality of 'The Neutronium Alchemist'.
In this series (completed by 'Judas Unchained' next year), Hamilton seems to set out to do something similar to what he did in 'Night's Dawn': present a riveting, complex world and then take a sledgehammer to it. The universe in 'Pandora's Star' sure is awfully detailed, and parts of it (such as the trains that travel between worlds) are surely fascinating.
However, the world just doesn't click as neatly as 'Night's Dawn', and I was left with the feeling that, as detailed as this novel was, I just didn't buy into it. There's a LOT of pages in this book used to describe the world, but instead of being mesmerising, they tend to be very frustrating as the author takes the reader by the hand to guide him through yet another human colony vaguely based on Western places, such as Venice or California.
I think this is one of these books that would have benefited from having less, not more. Some parts were very carefully crafted and interesting, while other sub-plots were frustrating for being so boring and leading nowhere. In some cases (the fanfic-level chapter on the court case of a rich businessman, to quote one) was so poorly written and so unappealing that they almost convinced me to put down the book and pick up something else.
Because of the number of secondary characters in the novel, some characters become such clichés that they`re actually painful to read. Mark, the "everyday normal guy" witnessing the events of the novel in the midst of his very boring life, made me groan every time his name showed up. Mellanie, the nubian naive girl who gets mistreated by the rich man she loves blindly, was also very painful to read so stereotypical she was. It's a pity, because they ultimately bury great characters such as Nigel Sheldon or Ozzie, that show a bit more fleshing out. Oh, and to show you how poorly fleshed-out these secondary characters turned out to be, I was unable to find one woman in the novel that was not somehow beautiful and closer to a man's fantasy than an actual believeable woman.
Still; throughout all these gripes is an interesting bit of space opera waiting to unfold. The beauty of 'Night's Dawn' was to see a fully realized world fall to pieces under a new threat. 'Judas Unchained' promises to do exactly that to the world of 'Pandora's Star'. This promise has kept me going through this very long novel: that all I read so far was preparation for Peter Hamilton taking an awesome sledgehammer to his carefully constructed world. That is not to say I harbor fantasies of revenge upon this long novel, but rather that this long preparation might be worth it once Hamilton turns things upside down.
If the followup is up to par with Hamilton's previous works, then this novel might be worth slowly wading through. Here's hoping that it will be: because Pandora's Star in itself is ambitious, but so flawed that it failed to fire up my imagination and really engage me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Galactic in Scope, Oct. 20 2007
By 
Ken Breadner "Pageflipper" (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Mass Market Paperback)
If you, like me, buy books in order to immerse yourself in words different from ours, this book (and its companion volume, JUDAS UNCHAINED) are for you.
If you want non-stop action, with minimal character development, stay the heck away.
If you like to be confronted with thought-provoking ideas in your books, give this one a try.
If you are looking for a 'check your brain at the door' reading experience, look elsewhere.

The word EPIC gets tossed around routinely in sf. This book actually merits the word. Dozens of worlds, most of them lovingly described, vie with scores of characters, each with his/her own backstory. Every kind of speculative fiction is well represented here, from hard to soft with everything in between. The chief 'villain' of the piece is truly a disturbing creation--and yet Hamilton gives us a tour of the universe from its perspective (including a riveting, wondrous account of its first contact with humans) and damned if you don't feel a tad sympathetic for it even as it's slaughtering us by the millions.
There are themes writ large and small all over the place, a few laughs, a soupcon of sex, and all in all, a story so involved that a thousand pages does for a warm up. (Be aware you *need* that final installment: this is only half the story. Yes, it's slow in places...of course it is. A truly immersive experience like this pretty much has to be.
I'll be looking for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ponderous, Pompous, Ultimately Frustrating, June 7 2004
By 
James C. Dascoli (Millburn, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Hardcover)
Like most reviewers, I have read Mr. Hamilton's previous work and after Fallen Dragon which was a good tight stand alone book, I was looking forward to his most recent offering. Yet this book conveys the absolute worst trends of Mr. Hamilton's writing style combined with Clancyitis (a disease brought to the literary world by refusal of Tom Clancy's editors to cut pages and add realistic dialogue).
The backdrop also has that form of Victorian fascism that Hamilton seems to enjoy. One where the universe would be a better place if only populated by beautiful fully fit people living an idealized version of 19th Century England. And despite the fact that there seems to be 20 different threads throughout the novel, it was hard to find one character that was easy to identify with.
The worst part, however, is that after slogging through over 750 pages the last page has the dreaded 'to be continued.' It's too bad because Mr. Hamilton has the potential to move up into the upper echelon of sci fi authors. Instead he has chosen to charge $26 for self indulgent uninspiring insipid dialogue writing and if possible has spent about 1500 pages (including the inevitable and hopefully only 1 sequal) going through the motions. For good Hamilton stick to his previous works, epsecially 'Second Chance at Eden' which contains short stories and proves he can be creative, entertaining and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Boring, Almost no Action, Mostly "Filler", May 29 2004
By 
BEN (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Hardcover)
This novel is 700 pages. The fisrt 600 pages are basically people having converstaions. Almost nothing happens until the end when Humanity is attacked by the aliens. Then we find out that the novel is continued in a second book. It seems that the first 600 pages are "filler" that one can sleep through.
It seems to me that the author was required to produce a certain number of pages, regardless of whether or not he had enough of a plot.
I understand that Hamilton is considered a talented writer, but is difficult for me to understand why. I would reccommend any of Robert Sawyer's books to those who want to read excellent sci-fi.
This type of writing by authors like Hamilton, is due, in part, to the new trend among writers to leave the book unfinished so they can produce a sequel. This creates the need to artifically inflate the number of pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quick! Get an editor in here! We need to cut 300 pages!, May 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Hardcover)
I own and love Peter F.Hamilton's every book up to and including the Fallen Dragon. I'm very disappointed with this one. Usually I read Mr.Hamilton's books in one sleepless marathon. This one was a two week long struggle and I had no problem falling asleep. In fact falling asleep is quite easy with this book. It's full of boring filler. It seems the success of the author's earlier books enables him to bypass the editors and common sense. This book could have been great if about 300 of its 760 pages had been left out. Or it could have stayed the same size and contained the whole story and not end with a cheap, abrupt cliff-hanger.
I give one star for ruining a book that could have been great. I will not buy any additional books in this series. First the author has to prove me that he can write an honest, tight book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Millenium Flare With A Classic Feel, Sept. 4 2008
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Mass Market Paperback)
Pandora's Star and Judas Unchained have all the romantic feel of a classic sci-fi novel seasoned with some wonderful modern ideas. Hamilton does a superb job of building a new colonial age and writing a compelling history. Interwoven stories of crime, passion, coming of age, personal discovery, conflict, crisis, environmentalism, exploitation, art, and mystery may at first seem a confusing cornucopia, but Hamilton moulds them into a captivating tale that will leave you desperate for more. Full marks awarded for this deeply satisfying tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 1000 pages for part 1 and neither part 2 nor end in sight!, Nov. 27 2005
By 
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Mass Market Paperback)
As the cover says ... "A large case of characters, each with his own story" ... unfortunately each of these might have made a good book but together they lack cohesion as well as a decent climax / catharsis setup that would give the reader closure at the end of the book. I would not recommend to read this unless it is 2007, all the books of the series have been released and you have the time to read a few thousand pages in one sitting.
Well admittedly there's lot's of stories but they drag on and on because Hamilton can't get into gear until about page 600 of the almost 1000 in the book, only to drop the reader in mid-story to wait for the next installment. There's also lots of characters and maybe they will be linked somehow at the end of a multithousand page epos but transitions between their story lines are often choppy and some characters occupy a lot of space that could have gone to story development. Maybe most annoying of all, the book caters to the hard sci-fi crowd but features elementary mistakes starting with the simplest of math: at 2.5 lightyears / hour it will take us 130 days to travel just over 500 lightyears?!? and showing a lack of understanding of the most basic principles of science. Pity, with a bit of decent editing this could have been a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sci-Fi, July 13 2004
By 
Daniel Cordell (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Hardcover)
Let me start this by saying I've read a LOT of sci-fi and fantasy, and I've been reading it all my life. From Asimov to Dick, I've read most of the classics and even more modern sci-fi.
This, my friends, is quite possibly the greatest sci-fi novel I have ever read.
Grand in scale, meticulous in detail, and filled with compelling, believable, and likable characters, Pandora's Star is an epic in modern sci-fi, especially in the "space opera" subset of the genre.
Though the sci-fi part of this book is fantastic (and, in Hamilton's world, well though-out and detailed), it is the characters and the links they have to each other that make it grab you and pull you in--once you pick this book up, it'll be difficult to put it down.
The story is complelling and deceptive--what you think is true isn't, and with each new peice of the puzzle a new answer will seem to show itself, only to be cast in doubt by the next clue. This is not only a masterpiece of sci-fi, it stands out with the best mystery novels as well.
I highly recommend this book to anyone with the slightest interest in sci-fi--you won't regret it, and the price of the hardcover is well worth it.
I wait anxiously for the sequel, Judas Unchained. Too bad Pandora's Star was published only this year, we might have to wait a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Build it up, smash it apart, June 30 2004
By 
J. Vilches (Dallas, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Hardcover)
The Commonwealth has expanded through the galaxy via a network of planet-anchored wormholes. It's a golden age of man where rejuvenation treatments allow near-immortality, the next planet is just a train ride away, and alien contacts have been friendly. When an astronomer makes a startling discovery about two distant stars, a wormhole driven spacecraft is designed and built in order to investigate the mystery. The intrepid explorers unlock a terrible menace that could tear apart the Commonwealth. As the outside threat looms, a cult called the Guardians of Selfhood fights within the Commonwealth because they believe a sinister, hidden alien has taken over the government.
Pandora's Star definitely contains interesting ideas and careful, complex world building. Hamilton doesn't just trot out cool technologies, but also explores how they might affect society. He takes us on a sprawling journey to dozens of worlds using a large cast of characters. At first, the book feels more like a leisurely travelogue through Hamilton's new universe instead of a novel. Rambling around these planets, ideas, and technologies is a lot of fun, but it can also get a bit tiresome if you can't feel the plot going anywhere. However, Pandora's Star grows more compelling as the multiple plot threads start to merge and the action picks up. Hopefully the pace won't slow down again in the sequel.
I really enjoyed exploring Hamilton's new universe - he has some fascinating concepts and he excels at building up an intricate society and then smashing it apart. I'm looking forward to the next installment of this space opera, but the first book would have benefited from better pacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid and entertaining, June 25 2004
By 
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Hardcover)
Some impatient readers might find that this book has too many plots that might seem confusing .
Actually Hamilton is using the now classical multiple viewpoint narrative style and the structure is rather simple .
There are 4 main threads interacting with each other in a very logical way .
1)Oozie & the Silfen
Here the idea is to oppose 2 very different views of the future society .
The industrious Mankind and the mysterious Silfen .
As the Mankind is somewhere half way between the Prime Allien and the Silfen , one can bet that the Silfen will hold the clue to the solution of the problem posed by the Allien .
2)Paula Mayo & Bradley Johansson
That is the action/detective story part .
Both are loners with very extreme convictions that seem to oppose them in everything .
However as in every good book , things will become very different than what they seem .
This apparently independent plot will connect to the main plot via the Starflyer .
3)Mark&his family
That is to provide the simple man of the street's point of view .
It doesn't seem to have any other role than to simply observe and describe .
Personnaly I found this part most boring but it might be that Hamilton needs Mark because he could be the "right man at the right place" in the next installement .
4)The Great Families
That is necessary to put in place the political background of a Galactic Mankind with all it entails in matters of intrigue , sex and power games .
Nothing of that is absolutely necessary for the story but to show a play , you need a stage , don't you ?
All in all an entertaining , solid and very consistent read .
Even if there is nothing that is really original (perhaps the Silfen ?) , it provides a good read .
Special kudos for the research in general relativity .
Indeed the general relativity provides for the existence of wormholes but unfortunately if they exist , they are extremely unstable .
As K.Thorne has proven , to keep a wormhole stable , an "exotic matter" (negative energy) is necessary .
And we find indeed exotic matter in the Hamilton's wormholes :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pandora's Star
Pandora's Star by Peter F. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 25 2005)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews