Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will it be the throne of night or the golden throne for Princess Meredith NicEssus?
I picked up "A Lick of Frost" with a sense of trepidation. By the time you get to this sixth volume in Laurell K. Hamilton's series of Meredith Gentry novels you cannot look at the title and not be flipping a mental coin as to whether the title means our faerie princess is the giver or the receiver of certain administrations from Frost, the Raven who is second in command...
Published on Nov. 2 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A frosty reception
A shred of plot returns to Merryville in the sixth book, after five books of Laurell K. Hamilton's boring sex and amazing fairy superpowers.

But unfortunately "A Lick of Frost" still has little substance to make it a really enjoyable book -- for every page of plot, there are five of Sparkly Super Merry, and rambling discussions about sex, relationships, and all...
Published on Nov. 9 2007 by E. A Solinas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A frosty reception, Nov. 9 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
A shred of plot returns to Merryville in the sixth book, after five books of Laurell K. Hamilton's boring sex and amazing fairy superpowers.

But unfortunately "A Lick of Frost" still has little substance to make it a really enjoyable book -- for every page of plot, there are five of Sparkly Super Merry, and rambling discussions about sex, relationships, and all the men who want to have sex with the heroine.

Merry and three of her guards are in a lawyer's office, squabbling about whether some of her OTHER guards could have raped a Seelie woman. Hamilton, of course, takes the time to lecture the world on how they should see sex. But things deteriorate when the lawyers contact King Taranis of the Seelie Court, to determine if he has cause to lie. Taranis goes berserk, leaving one of Merry's guards severely wounded, and possibly disfigured.

In the meantime, Merry finds that the Seelie nobles are sufficiently impressed by her sparkly goddess powers that they might be willing to dethrone Taranis, and make her queen. That doesn't sit too well with Merry's aunt Andais -- and dear Uncle Taranis, who is creepily interested in Merry's magic nethers, is still waiting in the wings. What's more, Merry's claim to the Unseelie Throne might just become a reality.

It must be admitted, "A Lick of Frost" is way above the all-sex-no-plot books that preceded it. Hamilton really seems to be trying to tone down the sex, and emphasize political machinations and plotting. Too bad it still reads like a personal fantasy, although more about becoming Queen of the Universe than orgies.

Part of this is because the political situations are staggeringly dull, and very simple. Additionally, most of the book is a mass of legal wrangling, sex negotiations, and familial squabbling on the magic mirror. The whole rape plotline is explored and then dropped without resolution. And a major turning point in the series -- Merry's potential pregnancy -- is turning into a melodramatic farce, complete with meiotic impossibilities that are explained away with "oh, it's magic." Sorry, not good enough.

And in the meantime, many of Hamilton's biggest faults are firmly in place. Rambling dialogue, religious bigotry, child-men, and endless miles of multicoloured hair and designer clothes. One character's rippling flamelike hair is even even described in the middle of explosive emergencies -- you'd think Merry would be more concerned with not being killed than with an acquaintance's highlights.

Then again, that attitude fits the main character. Merry remains a bland Mary Sue without much motivation for anything she does, except to tell us that sexual restraint is bad, that she loves all her boytoys, and to ruminate endlessly on sex, love, sex, high-heels, and her own self-conscious angst about her sparkly magic powers.

Of course, this doesn't prevent every man in the world from wanting magic sex with her -- Taranis, the Redcaps, Cel, the goblins, the lawyers. Her assorted boytoys are only slightly thinner than the book's individual pages, with the exception of the tragic Frost. He alone gets some fleshing out, complete with a sorrowful history and fate, rendered in the most inspired, delicate prose Hamilton has written in ages.

Though it has some sweet moments, "Lick of Frost" is bogged down by poorly-written politics and relationship angst. Try again, Ms. Hamilton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will it be the throne of night or the golden throne for Princess Meredith NicEssus?, Nov. 2 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I picked up "A Lick of Frost" with a sense of trepidation. By the time you get to this sixth volume in Laurell K. Hamilton's series of Meredith Gentry novels you cannot look at the title and not be flipping a mental coin as to whether the title means our faerie princess is the giver or the receiver of certain administrations from Frost, the Raven who is second in command of Merry's personal guard. Something significant does happen to the Killing Frost in this novel, but what is important is that he is not the only one to whom something significant happens this time around. My other fear was that since "A Lick of Frost" is only a 274-page book that there were simply not enough pages for much to happen, especially given how often Meredith, Princess of Flesh and Blood, has to have sex each day in her attempt to become pregnant and win the race to sit on the throne of the Unseelie Court. I am pleasantly surprised to discover that I was wrong and that this book is much more about power politics than it is sexual gratification.

In the previous book, "Mistral's Kiss," the interactions of Meredith and Mistral, the Master of Winds, the Bringer of Storms, and another of the queen's Ravens, brought magic back to the land of faerie. This is great news, but of course it only worsens the temperament of Andais, Queen of Air and Darkness, Merry's aunt and the mother of the degenerate Cel. However, in "A Lick of Frost" it is Merry's great-uncle Taranis, King of Light and Illusion who rules the Seelie court, who presents the more immediate problem. Taranis has charged three of Merry's royal bodyguards with having raped one of his court's women. Taranis has gone outside of faerie law and to the humans for justice, a move that is troubling because the sidhe do not lie and Merry's men are innocent, but also because nobody can figure out what Taranis is up to with this strange ploy. But that is what power politics is like amongst the people of faerie. We assume that in the "end" of this saga Merry is going to become Queen, and regardless of whether or not that will indeed prove to be how this plays out, there should be a point where the princess is going to have to finally stand up and go magic-el-magic with Andais, Taranis, or both. That point is not in the book, but Hamilton certainly sets it up by the end of this one, which certainly has me looking forward to the next volume already.

It might be unorthodox and certainly there will be those who will cry foul over the way Hamilton comes up with to have Merry trump her opponents, but I teach Greek mythology and if it is good enough for Leda then it is good enough for Meredith NicEssus. Hamilton's fans have to admit that having your consort decided by the luck of the ovum is radically different from forcing Anita Blake to get off the fence in making a decision about her own love life. But the Meredith Gentry series has another advantage in that we have known from the start what the prize is at the end of the rainbow, whereas with Anita Blake the escalating powers do not have an obvious point of culmination. Originally I liked Hamilton's novels for the horror, but in both series the emphasis has changed to sex and politics, which is certainly not the order of my preference. We know that power corrupts, but I wonder what the corollary for that dictum is when it comes to making rulers stupid, because Taranis and Andais are running neck and neck in that department. At least Andais is resisting the urge to go the Emperor Tiberius route and retroactively make your sadistic excesses look good by installing a worst debaucher on the throne to follow you (Cel as the Caligula of faerie makes perfect sense to me). "A Lick of Frost" might come down to the conflict between Merry and Taranis, but we all know that it is Andais who is the ultimate obstacle, and that the Queen of Air and Darkness is not going to give up without a sea of blood, an eventually that promises more horror than sex to my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frosty reception, Oct. 25 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
A shred of plot returns to Merryville in the sixth book, after five books of Laurell K. Hamilton's boring sex and amazing fairy superpowers.

But unfortunately "A Lick of Frost" still has little substance to make it a really enjoyable book -- for every page of plot, there are five of Sparkly Super Merry, and rambling discussions about sex, relationships, and all the men who want to have sex with the heroine.

Merry and three of her guards are in a lawyer's office, squabbling about whether some of her OTHER guards could have raped a Seelie woman. Hamilton, of course, takes the time to lecture the world on how they should see sex. But things deteriorate when the lawyers contact King Taranis of the Seelie Court, to determine if he has cause to lie. Taranis goes berserk, leaving one of Merry's guards severely wounded, and possibly disfigured.

In the meantime, Merry finds that the Seelie nobles are sufficiently impressed by her sparkly goddess powers that they might be willing to dethrone Taranis, and make her queen. That doesn't sit too well with Merry's aunt Andais -- and dear Uncle Taranis, who is creepily interested in Merry's magic nethers, is still waiting in the wings. What's more, Merry's claim to the Unseelie Throne might just become a reality.

It must be admitted, "A Lick of Frost" is way above the all-sex-no-plot books that preceded it. Hamilton really seems to be trying to tone down the sex, and emphasize political machinations and squabbling. Too bad it still reads like a personal fantasy, although more about becoming Queen of the Universe than orgies.

Part of this is because the political situations are staggeringly dull. And part of this is because most of the book is a mass of legal wrangling, sex negotiations, and familial squabbling on the magic mirror. The whole rape plotline is explored and then dropped without resolution. And a major turning point in the series -- Merry's potential pregnancy -- is turning into a melodramatic farce, complete with meiotic impossibilities that are explained away with "oh, it's magic."

And in the meantime, many of Hamilton's biggest faults are firmly in place. Rambling dialogue, religious bigotry, child-men, and endless miles of multicoloured hair and designer clothes. One character's rippling flamelike hair is even even described in the middle of explosive emergencies -- you'd think Merry would be more concerned with not being killed than with an acquaintance's highlights.

Then again, that attitude fits the main character. Merry remains a bland Mary Sue without much motivation for anything she does, except to tell us that any sexual restraint is bad, that she loves all her boytoys, and to ruminate endlessly on sex, love, sex, high-heels, and her own self-conscious angst about her sparkly magic powers.

Of course, this doesn't prevent every man in the world from wanting magic sex with her -- Taranis, the Redcaps, Cel, the goblins, the lawyers. Her harem is only slightly thinner than the book's individual pages, with the exception of the tragic Frost. He alone gets some fleshing out, complete with a tragic history and fate.

Though it has some sweet moments, "Lick of Frost" is bogged down by poorly-written politics and relationship angst. Try again, Ms. Hamilton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action Comes Late But Great, Jan. 19 2008
Well, this was astounding. I hadn't really connected with these books before, so this was a bit surprising. Three of Princess Meredith NicEssus's guards have been accused of raping someone from King Taranis's court, but this is thrown by the wayside when King Taranis brutally attacks Merry's people through a mirror. But that's not all: in a strange event that I didn't understand, Merry receives her most devastating blow yet, and even though it comes with good news she can't be merry. (What? Someone had to say it.) But King Taranis isn't done with Merry yet. Unfortunately, it takes a while to get to the good stuff: I was reading but not particularly immersed until circa page 200, so the bulk of the action happens in the last 75 pages. There were moments when I was pissed off with Merry: she used magic to get a human doctor to do her bidding. And talk of Merry's favourites seemed to be quite an issue. Quoth Merry: 'Wasn't I entitled to have favourites?' Yes, you are, but if you're still shagging your non-favourites you're leading them on, and that's not nice. Those points aside, this is by far my favourite of the Merry books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laurell K. Hamilton writes an exciting action-packed urban fantasy, Sept. 27 2007
I just got done reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, and was offered a copy of A Lick Of Frost. The story goes something like this: Prince Cel is freed from his imprisonment so Princess Merry Gentry and her retinue (bodyguards and lovers) travel to Los Angeles to escape her insane cousin's assassination attempts. Cel wants Merry dead to insure she never gets pregnant because if she does she becomes the heir to the throne of the Unseelie Court currently ruled by the sadistic Queen Andais.

At present Merry is at her lawyer's office dealing with the authorities who consider pressing charges against three of her guards for rape against a member of the Seelie Court. Merry's Uncle Taranis, King of Light and Illusion of the Seelie Court, made the accusation that his niece believes are false; instead she thinks there is a method to his madness that she just ahs not figured out yet. When things do not go according to his plan, Taranis becomes irate and tries a more direct approach on Merry. Meanwhile members of the Seelie Court offer her his throne. With Cel, Andais, and Taranis aiming at her, Merry finds Los Angeles as unsafe as the Unseelie Court. If you missed Tino Georgiou's novel--The Fates, I'd recommend reading that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, Oct. 20 2007
By 
bluegirl "jules" (SUDBURY,ON.CANADA) - See all my reviews
I've always been impressed with Ms.Hamilton's ability to show you that there's beauty to be had in the dark as well as ugliness in beauty.Lick of frost is no defferent.I truly prefer this series to the anita blake books.
This book actually made me cry.And angry.A lot more surprises than the others. I can't see there been very many more in the marideth gentry series which is very unfortunate. As always the book read very fast but worth taking the time to slow down and savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was a good book, Feb. 6 2013
By 
D. Paine (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a good book. I don't read erotica which is what this series is so I skipped all of that nonsense and was still able to enjoy the book (I am a guy and I don't like reading the erotica from a woman's point of view). I like the Meredith Gentry series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Lick of Frost: A Novel
A Lick of Frost: A Novel by Laurell K. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 28 2008)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews