Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with action and arcane facts
Good knights and bad knights chase each other around southwestern France in yet another tale of Sensational Untold Christian Revelation. Berry's The Third Secret (2005) dished up a papal suicide and some direct transmissions from the Virgin Mary at Fatima in 1917. Further papal nastiness figures in this take on the Knights Templar, a now-vanished but once vastly rich and...
Published on Feb. 23 2006

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Syntax - grammar - I don't think so!
I was excited to find this book as I have travelled to many of the small villages including Rennes-le-chateau. The book began well, but I soon tired of the many errors, the fabricated words, and the incomplete sentences. It's a good story, a page turner, but the errors really got to me.
This author needs help. He must learn the difference between 'like' and 'as'. He...
Published on May 24 2006 by RLH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Syntax - grammar - I don't think so!, May 24 2006
By 
RLH (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
I was excited to find this book as I have travelled to many of the small villages including Rennes-le-chateau. The book began well, but I soon tired of the many errors, the fabricated words, and the incomplete sentences. It's a good story, a page turner, but the errors really got to me.
This author needs help. He must learn the difference between 'like' and 'as'. He should have known that the vessel in a church which contains water for baptising is a font (not a fount). He uses the American slang 'busted' for 'broken'. He begins one sentence with: "Let's don't ...". He uses the word 'secretion' to describe something hidden - NOT!
When Stephanie is leaving her son Mark, he refers to their parting as a salutation. This book is about France. He should know 'salut' is a greeting. And wood is not 'ebonized', ebony IS wood.
Oh where, oh where were his editors?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with action and arcane facts, Feb. 23 2006
By A Customer
Good knights and bad knights chase each other around southwestern France in yet another tale of Sensational Untold Christian Revelation. Berry's The Third Secret (2005) dished up a papal suicide and some direct transmissions from the Virgin Mary at Fatima in 1917. Further papal nastiness figures in this take on the Knights Templar, a now-vanished but once vastly rich and dangerously powerful order that went from a gang of nine protectors of medieval pilgrims to one having near control of Western Europe. Their downfall came when craven Pope Clement V bowed to the will of his owner, France's King Henri IV, whose eye was on the great pile of Templar loot. With a nod from the pope to leaders of the Inquisition, the knights were disinherited, dismissed and, in some cases, flambeed. But did they really vanish? Their loot never made it into the royal coffers. Could they in this day and age be holed up in the shadow of the Pyrenees, disguised as simple 20th-century monks? And could their billions of euros in gold, jewelry and objets religieux be far away? Danish billionaire Henrik Thorvaldsen, among others, ponders this question. His late friend Lars Nelle got many readers to consider the possibilities when he published scholarly novels about the mysteries of Rennes-le-Chateau, a burg in the Languedoc with its share of secrets. Now Nelle's estranged widow Stephanie, a Department of Justice attorney, has received tantalizing information that brings her to Copenhagen, home of her dashing former employee, bookseller Cotton Malone. Before the two erstwhile associates have even said hello, a Knight Templar snatches Stephanie's backpack and slits his own throat. This is just the first of manyencounters between the good Americans and the evil Templar Raymond de Roquefort, all of which lead to stunning secrets about the central Christian mystery. A long, tortuous journey to an unsurprising, though thoughtful, end. You should also check out -The Quest- by Giorgio Kostantinos, another incredible thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read!, April 29 2007
I must admit that the grammar is not the best and that this book won't go down in history as a fine work of literature, but the story is very captivating. I found it very hard to put it down and get some much-needed sleep!

In response to the review that RLH from Toronto, Canada left: Not to be a stickler, but...I believe that you are mistaken when you claim the following words were misused and/or overlooked by editors: A "fount" is a British variation of "font". It, also, is "One that initiates or dispenses."(American Heritage College dictionary) I believe, also, that "secretion" was used correctly (...the secretion of all things related to the brotherhood): "The act of concealing something in a hiding place."(ibid)In addition, the word "ebonized" does exist: To ebonize - "To stain black like ebony."(ibid)

Just don't want potential buyers to get the wrong impression. It's not as poorly written as RLH made it seem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Picked up for the wrong reasons and loved it., July 15 2007
I picked this book because I liked Davinci Code. As soon as I started to read it I compared it to it as well. A lot of this types of books are being directly compared and should not be. Templar Legacy is a book very different from the one mentioned above and should in no way be compared. If you decide to read this and find that you have to compare it, there is no way you will enjoy this book.

If you decide to read this without comparing or diving into the little intricacies, then I think you will really enjoy it. Action, action, action + character development with a twist of secrets from the past all make a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Davinci style entertainment., March 1 2006
I read the Amber Room and enjoyed it, but did find it slow in places, and having a bit too much sensational sex and violence (I am all for sex and violence as long as it is central to the story). Over all though it was an entertaining read on a great subject, so I decided to try Mr. Berry's latest novel even though I am weary of all the Da Vinci Code clones. The Nights of the Templar is also slow in places, but is overall an entertaining novel. Like the Da Vinci this book is based on many of the ideas presented in the nonfiction book "Holy Blood, Holy Grail" (these theories have been proven false and are not taken seriously by credible historians). I found the build up confusing in places and almost gave up on the book halfway through. The final third of the book saves the day with a convincing conclusion that makes the book worth while. Final conclusion: If you are looking for something to carry you through to the next Dan Brown thriller you will probably find this book entertaining. On the other hand, If you have had enough of the "Da Vinci Code hype, you might want to pass on this one. If you like historical/archeological mysteries I must recommend "Tourist in the Yucatan." A Da Vinci Code for the Americas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, July 25 2006
By 
I found Templar Legacy to be very interesting. The high paced novel grabbed me right from the beginning, and kept my interest until the end. I enjoyed following the characters as they unraveled the clues left for them. However, I felt that this plot was "more of the same". When compared to other novels of this genre, (i.e. The Da Vinci Code, and The Last Supper), it didn't show any unique qualities. I do, however, think that if there was going to be a dispute about the message a book brings, this book definately outweighs the Da Vinci Code in controversy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, Oct. 27 2006
By 
Truly this was my favorite book of the year. I picked it up on a recommendation from a family member, and having read the Third Secret already, I was eager to read more of Steve Berry's work. The pace was great, not too fast or over the top, and never seemed to drag. There were even a few instances that made me say aloud, "Wow, I didn't see that coming" which was a first for me. I can't wait for his next book in February!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this BUT a little bit Da Vinci wannabe, June 13 2006
By 
If you liked the Da Vinci Code you'll love this, it is a little derivative though and a bit like the unpopular girl showing up in school the next day wearing what the popular girl was wearing the day before...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising gem, Feb. 16 2012
This review is from: The Templar Legacy: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I stumbled upon this book and figured I would give it a read! I am quite glad I did! This book, in my opinion, is a cross between the Da Vinci Code and the movie National Treasure. The best of both worlds! I can't wait to read more books by Steve Berry! Keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Face-paced Plot, Oct. 24 2009
By 
Toni Osborne "The Way I See It" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Templar Legacy: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Book1 in the Cotton Malone series

This novel can join the many growing stories surrounding the legendary Knights and the secrets they withhold and have guarded with their lives for so many years.

It opens with Cotton Malone a former covert agent for the department of U.S. Justice visiting his former boss, Stephanie Nelle. He learns that she has been on a quest to find the Templar's "Great Devise", intrigued, Cotton decides to join her.

Action starts when Stephanie is accosted by a purse snatcher and a subsequent wild foot chase causes the perpetrator when cornered to commit suicide. Action increases even more when Stephanie realizes the notebook she received under mysterious circumstances is the real target of the thieves and possibly holds the key to the Templar's fortune. Tensions are raised another notch when a modern day Templar and his followers make Cotton and Stephanie their prime targets, each have their own objectives. Danger lurks at everyone corner as their paths cross...The suspense prevails till the end...

M. Berry created a likable modern day sleuth in Malone but unfortunately Stephanie is a bit too naive to be credible considering the job she has, the characterization could have been better developed. I liked the plot, it is fast-paced, exciting and has its fair share of twists and turns. The narration is great and the addition of humor to the dialogue is a plus.

This is a gripping tale that could be quite controversial for some. It gives a modern day twist to a clandestine society, The Templar's, a group that controlled kings and popes and possessed a staggering amount of power and wealth. The writer comments on the historical accuracy in his notes at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templar Legacy: A Novel
The Templar Legacy: A Novel by Steve Berry (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 27 2007)
CDN$ 12.99 CDN$ 11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews