summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Music Deals Store Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$30.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 25, 2016
Truly a "bitter sweet" story of love and family dedication. One could feel the same emotions as the characters while reading. Very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
I really liked this novel. It was well written and the storyline was linked to such an important piece of history that is so often overlooked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
A very well-written book. It brings modern times and war time together. You can't help but put yourself in the situation of the characters and ask the question, what would I do, if this was my nationality, and if this was the time I was living in. On the cover it is described as a post war Romeo and Juliette story. That does describe it to a degree. I read it at the beach, and it was an absolute page turner, and kept me reading right until the last page. I highly recommend this novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
An easy read, the story touches the heart. It was an interesting read and I learnt more about the role of Japan during WW11. As the two main characters grow and develop, their lives are irrevocably changed by events that are beyond their control.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2015
A beautiful story,......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2015
A beautiful piece of historical fiction. I cannot begin to express how glad I am that I read this book. Beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
Written for a young reader. If I was still a 12 year old girl I might found it to be a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
Interesting view of the times, but pretty simple and predictable. I felt like it could have been a much more enjoyable read if much shorter. There seemed to be a lot of filler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
Just what I wanted...I loved the library copy, now I have my OWN to reread when I want to!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
A great story, great writing. It's definitely on my list of favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse