countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 20, 2016
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2016
If you like Bill Simmons, you will like this book. An ADHD account of basketball, as he sees it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
My boyfriend loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2015
I love Bill Simmons. This book is as informative as it is funny. If you're a basketball junkie, this book is a must
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
Even though Simmons is the biggest homer ever, he knows his basketball. Can't wait for part 2, great book Simmons
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
One of the best book for basketball fans, yes you need to be open minded to accept all the jokes but this book is as smooth as butter in a fried pan!! Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2014
Dope
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
Since I first read this book years ago, it has become my personal reference for basically all things basketball. This doesn't mean I blindly agree with everything Bill Simmons says about the NBA or teams or even players, but you can clearly see that the man knows his stuff. And, more importantly, he LOVES the NBA and the sport of basketball.

Anyway, the book is split into chapters. First he goes around looking for the "Secret" of basketball, and that leads him, eventually, to a encounter with Isiah Thomas near a topless pool of a hotel. Then he goe quickly through the history of the league (and the ABA), throws some "what-ifs" in there, entertains us with the things he'd like to see change in the League. Then comes the big part, the pyramid of the 96 best players ever (which has changed since the book was released half a decade ago. You will not agree with everything, but its basis is pretty damn solid. He then talks about MVPs, greatest teams ever and the "Wine Cellar Team". And I know I'm missing a lot.

As you can tell, this book is freaking loaded. And that's not even all of it. You'll enjoy hundreds (I'm not kidding) of footnotes regarding everything from Teen Wolf, the biggest dicks in NBA lockers rooms, the Mokeski award for the best white american player, the Popeye Jones All-Stars for the ugliest players ever, many many jabs at Abdul-Jabbar, endless pop culture references and dozens of other small things such as these to make this book of the most enjoyable and fun reads around.

Read it, you certainly won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
It was just such a pleasure to devour. As a fellow basketball addict and pop culture fiend, this was the perfect book for me. Bill did a great job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2012
A thoroughly entertaining read for anyone that has even a middling interest in the history of the NBA. A great book to read while relaxing outside in the summer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse