Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable
The "A song of fire and ice" series is quite honestly astounding. Writing is crisp and very polished. It is quite a pleasure to lose oneself in the Seven Kingdoms and beyond. And that is a big plus with these books: they are captivating. Rarely have I ever been so immersed in a world. Especially a fantasy one.

However, there is a price to all this amazement...
Published on July 3 2011 by Maelor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just kill everyone already...
I love fantasy novels. When this got popular, I decided to check it out because it was right up the alley of what I typically read for fun. The show is so close to the books that they're not work buying, since at least you can watch and discuss a show with someone if you feel like it. As much as the story is great, I'm fed up of all the characters dying and it's not...
Published 3 months ago by Dandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Set, Dec 1 2011
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a great book set, and although each book pushes or exceeds 1000 pages, any avid fantasy reader would welcome this series with open arms. Each successive novel becomes more and more intense (with the exception of the fourth, where the action comes to a near stand still).

Regardless, this set would make a great present, for a friend or even oneself.

Note that the pages have fine print. If you would like larger, more spaced out text, the hard-cover version would be much easier to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars medieval people behaving badly, March 5 2013
By 
I. Dobson "Free thinker" (Thunder Bay, Ont) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I won't go over what has already been said about this series of books. They are astonishing in their scope, depth and ability to captivate the reader. However I read the Tolkien series to my kids but would NOT do the same with these books. Incest, torture, child murder, graphic portrayals of sex and rape all figure prominently in these books and just about everyone comes to a bad end, often when least expected. The stories are set in a very dark age and while I can honestly say that the unpleasantness is necessary not to titillate but rather to further a very rich and convoluted plot, it is not for the faint of heart. This is not about good versus evil with good guys coming out on top. It is about greedy power hungry families engaged in an orgy of empire-building at the expense of all others. If you are over the age of 18, you will not be able to put these books down. Anyone younger should look elsewhere for light bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, good value, July 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
With the exception of A Feast For Crows, this is a phenomenal book collection. Books 1 through 3 are amazing with each being better than the last. A Feast For Crows drags on account of several characters not being in the book and the plot generally stalling but it's worth grinding through to read book 5.

Overall a great value and a good place to start reading A Song of Ice and Fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you want to read a saga where everyone dies this is it., June 23 2014
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is like the game hungry hippos but instead of hippos it's kings and instead of marbles its people dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say! This is a great series., June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a great series. A good price,too.
Once you start it, you will keep going to the very end (and beyond)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible series, June 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it! Now he is obsessed with the series on TV as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST.SERIES.EVER., June 5 2014
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I am not a fantasy reader. I dislike sci-fi. So why do I love this series? Great writing and characters to get invested in. Witty and raw, these books have it all. GRRM is the Master of the Unexpected and this series does not disappoint. Bloody, violent, loving and tender but still action packed and thriller paced..there is not a dull moment. Mix in some magic and medieval wonder and you have a brilliant series to forever keep you from your humdrum reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of plots characters, May 31 2014
By 
Jack Russell "Two Legged Terrier" (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Takes concentration good plots, characters too many of them. Very irritating that the author has not finished the series as yet ans seems to be taking his *&^% time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at its best, March 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
George R R Martin never disappoints. His ability to create a fantasy world as colourful and complex as our own rivals anyone. Keep them coming, George!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great books, March 24 2014
By 
C. Abbott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Anyone who's seen Game of Thrones can imagine what these books are like.. although now there is an extra one to the set, Dances with Dragons. Can't wait for his next 2 to finish the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows
Used & New from: CDN$ 40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews