Customer Reviews


243 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable
The "A song of fire and ice" series is quite honestly astounding. Writing is crisp and very polished. It is quite a pleasure to lose oneself in the Seven Kingdoms and beyond. And that is a big plus with these books: they are captivating. Rarely have I ever been so immersed in a world. Especially a fantasy one.

However, there is a price to all this amazement...
Published on July 3 2011 by Maelor

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Last Book Incomplete
I have read the first 4 books before but wanted the box set in order to read it again as has been a lot of years since 4th book and the fifth is finally out in mass paperback. Got the set and was really happy. Have been reading the series but when I got to the fourth book the first 46 pages were missing. I couldn't believe it. The only thing that saved it for me was...
Published 14 months ago by Grant


‹ Previous | 15 6 725 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Who dies next???, Jan. 26 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
The book series is very good from start to finish, though it isn't really finished yet. There is one book through this that ends up bring very boring, but that depends on the set of characters you like. I'm pretty sure its the 4th one that is like this, but just plow through it to get to the last one and you will feel more satisfied for having done so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Box Set, Sept. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Throw away the box, by the time you get to the fourth book, the books just won't fit in the box (because of humidity and other science phenomena) - trying to force all the books in will give you a hard time.

Actual review of books; amazing writing style and great plot. Let's all pray GRRM lives long enough to finish this off once and for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb fantasy novel, June 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
A superb story, if a little on the gruesome side. During the story, the perspective of different characters are given providing a very different flavour to the action going on about them.

Minor note, once you have read the books the 4 won't fit back in the paper box that comes with it, but the price of the four novels is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones, July 31 2011
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Brilliant characters set in mind-spinning story of knights, dragons, wildings and warriors...all involved in the struggles that lead to the crown, and its power. Every character is rounded out. Stories twist and lead you in different directions. Engrossing, easy to get lost in this world. Read the books to get more of the television shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Arrival and in perfect condition., May 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I was surprised when this arrived within a couple days. The info listed it as being in brand new condition and it was exactly that complete with wrapping. The price is outstanding as well considering this set is going for a little over 40 bucks in the stores. I'm a fan of the television series and am looking forward to reading the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic saga, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
For fans of medieval fantasy lore, mythology, and power politics, this series is for you! Combining aspect of western civilization vs the barbarians, ancient greek mythology, roman history and the European waltz of monarchs, this series does not disappoint. I read all four books in a month! This is very addictive! A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me feel like a King, Aug. 10 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
After seeing the first 3 seasons of Game of Thrones on HBO I just had to check out this set of books by George Martin, which were the source of the TV series. They are indeed majestic and deserve the highest accolades. The detail is richer than the HBO series, with the material flowing and exciting in its narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 18 2011
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
The condition I received my books in was very good. They packed it with care

On to the book though... and excellent read and I would highly recommend it to anyone. I had read them a few years back and when the show came back I wanted to revisit but the library no longer had them. Worth the 30 some dollars I spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great price for a a great read!, July 6 2011
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
to get all 4 books in these series for only about 26$ was so great. Also, i actually received my books only 2 days after placing my order, which for me(who is new to online shopping)was just awesome:) this series is honestly such a phenomenal read!!!-i would say its the best historical fiction i have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Dies in the End, March 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Upon purchase, these novels came very quickly in through the mail (as per usual, Amazon - pat yourself on the back) and are a grand good time of a read. Featuring some fancy pants photographs of past HBO actors, crowns, cups and the like, they're sure to make you look real smart upon placing them on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 725 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows
Used & New from: CDN$ 42.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews