Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable
The "A song of fire and ice" series is quite honestly astounding. Writing is crisp and very polished. It is quite a pleasure to lose oneself in the Seven Kingdoms and beyond. And that is a big plus with these books: they are captivating. Rarely have I ever been so immersed in a world. Especially a fantasy one.

However, there is a price to all this amazement...
Published on July 3 2011 by Maelor

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Last Book Incomplete
I have read the first 4 books before but wanted the box set in order to read it again as has been a lot of years since 4th book and the fifth is finally out in mass paperback. Got the set and was really happy. Have been reading the series but when I got to the fourth book the first 46 pages were missing. I couldn't believe it. The only thing that saved it for me was...
Published 19 months ago by Grant


‹ Previous | 15 6 725 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Game of Thrones fan, Jan. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
My dad is not an easy person to buy for so when he let it slip that he's a fan of the HBO series Game of Thrones, I knew what to buy him. He loves the books and started reading them within days of recieving them. He told me that it's great to have the books to refer to when watching his favorite show. I was happy with the price, the box is beautiful, and the shipping was as predicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the books, love the boxset, Feb. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Game of Thrones box set is great. Love the books! Great read (and lots of it - these books are massive!). Can't put any of the books down - enjoyed them immensely! The only thing I would say is that the box set comes in a flimsy cardboard box that is easily torn, and it was dented and had a small rip when I received it. No big deal since the set was a great price for a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow amazing series, July 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I heard about this series a along time ago but never read the books. When I saw the first episode of season 1 I wanted to start reading the books and got this box set. And wow just amazing. Love both the show and books. with each page I was left on the edge of my seat. And I don't get a chance to read that often. I'd definitely reccomend this to anyone that loves fantasy stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good writer, Sept. 16 2013
By 
Michael P. Wiseman "rollingtones" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
These books are some of the best ever. He paints a vivid picture with his prose. Highly addictive. I've read them all and am now halfway through "A Dance with Dragons" It's going to be very tough to wait for the next book - and even tougher to wait for the final one. Looking forward to Season 4, too. I'll probably re-read all of them once I've finished the current one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who dies next???, Jan. 26 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
The book series is very good from start to finish, though it isn't really finished yet. There is one book through this that ends up bring very boring, but that depends on the set of characters you like. I'm pretty sure its the 4th one that is like this, but just plow through it to get to the last one and you will feel more satisfied for having done so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Box Set, Sept. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Throw away the box, by the time you get to the fourth book, the books just won't fit in the box (because of humidity and other science phenomena) - trying to force all the books in will give you a hard time.

Actual review of books; amazing writing style and great plot. Let's all pray GRRM lives long enough to finish this off once and for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb fantasy novel, June 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
A superb story, if a little on the gruesome side. During the story, the perspective of different characters are given providing a very different flavour to the action going on about them.

Minor note, once you have read the books the 4 won't fit back in the paper box that comes with it, but the price of the four novels is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones, July 31 2011
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Brilliant characters set in mind-spinning story of knights, dragons, wildings and warriors...all involved in the struggles that lead to the crown, and its power. Every character is rounded out. Stories twist and lead you in different directions. Engrossing, easy to get lost in this world. Read the books to get more of the television shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Arrival and in perfect condition., May 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I was surprised when this arrived within a couple days. The info listed it as being in brand new condition and it was exactly that complete with wrapping. The price is outstanding as well considering this set is going for a little over 40 bucks in the stores. I'm a fan of the television series and am looking forward to reading the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic saga, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
For fans of medieval fantasy lore, mythology, and power politics, this series is for you! Combining aspect of western civilization vs the barbarians, ancient greek mythology, roman history and the European waltz of monarchs, this series does not disappoint. I read all four books in a month! This is very addictive! A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 725 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows
Used & New from: CDN$ 37.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews