Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable
The "A song of fire and ice" series is quite honestly astounding. Writing is crisp and very polished. It is quite a pleasure to lose oneself in the Seven Kingdoms and beyond. And that is a big plus with these books: they are captivating. Rarely have I ever been so immersed in a world. Especially a fantasy one.

However, there is a price to all this amazement...
Published on July 3 2011 by Maelor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just kill everyone already...
I love fantasy novels. When this got popular, I decided to check it out because it was right up the alley of what I typically read for fun. The show is so close to the books that they're not work buying, since at least you can watch and discuss a show with someone if you feel like it. As much as the story is great, I'm fed up of all the characters dying and it's not...
Published 6 months ago by Dandy


‹ Previous | 15 6 723 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, Sept. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Not for the everyone. I did buy it and couldn't read it because of the text seize. My girlfried did love it thou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book set, Sept. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Purchased this book set for our daughter who enjoys reading. She is a "Game of Thrones" fan but wanted to read the books before watching the series.

Great price from Amazon and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series. A must read., Aug. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Great series, cheapest price.
What more could one want?

The paperback version is an absolute must, the hardcover version is very annoying to carry around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great plot and character development., Aug. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Martin has developed a group of characters which the reader becomes very invested in. He also likes to shake things up just when you think you've got it all figured out. Can't wait to read more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great series!, Aug. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I would recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of booksets. The only thing I didn't like for myself was that I've read four books already and I can't seem to enjoy the show as much because I know what's going to happen and that takes away the suspense and the enjoyment of the unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, Aug. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
The box was quite tight, it was hard to get the books back in after reading them, so they mainly just stuck out of the box afterward
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great set!, Aug. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Very good story telling. Martin is a great author with a vivid imagination and the ability to create a variety of characters and worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me feel like a King, Aug. 10 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
After seeing the first 3 seasons of Game of Thrones on HBO I just had to check out this set of books by George Martin, which were the source of the TV series. They are indeed majestic and deserve the highest accolades. The detail is richer than the HBO series, with the material flowing and exciting in its narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
The books are onviously great but the corners came slightly damaged. Not such a big deal though. The books are in perfect order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars intriguing but..., Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The characters are realistic and easy to become attached to whether for good or bad. The setting is believable. The variety of peoples keep the book interesting. The plot is very strong although sometimes difficult to follow since it jumps back and forth to different individuals points of view. I find myself wanting to continue one storyline and skip others because of the nature of the character involved. The books are very descriptive in all aspects, be it violence or sexuality. I prefer using a little imagination and not having the acts described in absolute detail. I also struggle with some of the terminology and its relevance to the era of the books themselves. The series is definitely written for an adult audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 723 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows
Used & New from: CDN$ 40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews