Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable
The "A song of fire and ice" series is quite honestly astounding. Writing is crisp and very polished. It is quite a pleasure to lose oneself in the Seven Kingdoms and beyond. And that is a big plus with these books: they are captivating. Rarely have I ever been so immersed in a world. Especially a fantasy one.

However, there is a price to all this amazement...
Published on July 3 2011 by Maelor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just kill everyone already...
I love fantasy novels. When this got popular, I decided to check it out because it was right up the alley of what I typically read for fun. The show is so close to the books that they're not work buying, since at least you can watch and discuss a show with someone if you feel like it. As much as the story is great, I'm fed up of all the characters dying and it's not...
Published 28 days ago by Dandy


‹ Previous | 15 6 722 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me feel like a King, Aug. 10 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
After seeing the first 3 seasons of Game of Thrones on HBO I just had to check out this set of books by George Martin, which were the source of the TV series. They are indeed majestic and deserve the highest accolades. The detail is richer than the HBO series, with the material flowing and exciting in its narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
The books are onviously great but the corners came slightly damaged. Not such a big deal though. The books are in perfect order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars intriguing but..., Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The characters are realistic and easy to become attached to whether for good or bad. The setting is believable. The variety of peoples keep the book interesting. The plot is very strong although sometimes difficult to follow since it jumps back and forth to different individuals points of view. I find myself wanting to continue one storyline and skip others because of the nature of the character involved. The books are very descriptive in all aspects, be it violence or sexuality. I prefer using a little imagination and not having the acts described in absolute detail. I also struggle with some of the terminology and its relevance to the era of the books themselves. The series is definitely written for an adult audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Aug. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Greatest series ever! As always, the books are much better than the show, but the show does an outstanding job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book set, great value, Aug. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Reccomend this book set to everyone. includes the first four books of a song of ice and fire. Great fantasy series, and this book pack is a great way to get started. The books are of average page and font size, though each book has many pages (some have 500+).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New to fantasy or looking for something different? Excellent series!!, July 31 2013
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm new to reading fantasy and George R.R. Martin has added another genre to my likes. While there are other amazing fantasy writers that I've heard about, Mr. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series are engaging, well thought out, character development is realistic and each chapter has something to offer that keeps me on my toes. I have less than 100 pages left to read in book three, A Storm of Swords and I can't wait to start on A Feast for Crows. I've decided to read the books first before watching all three HBO series too.

If you're new to fantasy like me, I highly recommend Mr. Martin's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality and decent price, July 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this series of George R.R. Martin's books, and I am glad I didn't have to spend a lot of money on good-quality books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST !!, July 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
Best package out there ! VALUE FOR MONEY ! Should difinetly go for it if your interested in reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value., July 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
For the price, this is an excellent deal. I will say that the pages are very thin and as a result rip easily. The books were a gift for my girlfriend and she's more than happy. Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Packages, Print TOO Small....., July 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (Mass Market Paperback)
These books were good but the print is extremely small. If you have a hard time reading small print, then
the price of these books aren't worth it. If I could do it over, I would spend the extra money on the larger
print!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 722 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3550114)

This product

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows
Used & New from: CDN$ 35.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews