Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty Shades Darker
Could not put this book down, absolutely loved it! Favourite of the Trilogy. Like all the other 50 Shades books, I would recommend this book to everyone! If you haven't started it get on it!!
Published on June 25 2012 by Jasmine Stanway

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Twilight without the vampires
The first book was okay, with some interesting aspects (including good sex scenes) that made up for the juvenile writing and even more juvenile characters. I made the mistake of buying the other two books right after finishing the first. The series is essentially based on the old fallacy that messed up guys can be "fixed" by the right woman. It's also chock full of...
Published on July 13 2012 by Susan G


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Twilight without the vampires, July 13 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
The first book was okay, with some interesting aspects (including good sex scenes) that made up for the juvenile writing and even more juvenile characters. I made the mistake of buying the other two books right after finishing the first. The series is essentially based on the old fallacy that messed up guys can be "fixed" by the right woman. It's also chock full of romance cliches: virginal heroine, hot billionaire with dangerous secrets in his past, ridiculous threat to virginal heroine's life, etc. It's also full of Twilight-esque vomit-worthy writing: obsessive hero who violates boundaries and engages in controlling behaviour but it's okay because he does it out of love; constant misunderstandings based on each main characters' belief that they're not good enough for the other; everyone in love with the quiet, nerdy heroine. By the second book, any original aspects have disappeared, and by the third book the writing is so idiotic you'll lose respect for yourself for continuing to read them.

Do yourself a favour and read the Outlander series or a Song of Ice and Fire or anything but this garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Harlequin for the bondage set, May 20 2012
By 
smokey - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
Don't know whether these 'grey' books are abusive or just plain silly. Frightens me that young women reading this tripe think that this type of voluntary degradation is desirable. Surely we have come further than that. They are not even well-written. Hero is a modern Marquis de Sade and heroine (if one can call a slave a heroine) a contemporary Tess. Most disappointing thst these are best-sellers. Only good news is thst I bought them on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring and repetitive, June 8 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
this series is being marketed as erotic and thrilling, but it's boring and repetitive -- and extremely poorly written... how did these books ever become a hit?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fifty shades of horror, Jan. 10 2014
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
If anybody can get exited about that horrible immature written book than the apocalypse isn't far behind . What was the author thinking , we are all idiots ? The characters are stolen from Twilight and the style is exactly like Stefanie Meyer wrote her books . You must really have NO life if you are liking that trash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A tree died for this?, Feb. 5 2014
By 
Carol Downes (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A shining example of plummeting IQ's if this became a best seller. Appalling rubbish. So badly written, one assumes in crayon on the back of a pizza box, that it almost defies description. however, here goes..........

Inane, badly written, puerile dross.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like a bucket of cold water, Oct. 18 2013
By 
Kevinn Ess (Sidney, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
This is not an instruction manual. Guys, if your lady is reading this book - you are done. Just give up and don't even ask. It has no impact on them in the way we would hope for. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit better than the first novel , but still bad, Aug. 24 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
OK, so we get a bit more information about Christian's life and the reason he does what her does. I still dislike him and can barely tolerate Ana, the mindless airhead who recently graduated from an institution of higher learning. If this is what young women want in a mate, god help you all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, July 8 2012
By 
Ulrike (OSHAWA, ONTARIO Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
I wasn't sure whether to buy this trilogy. I love twilight and was on the fence about reading Fifty Shades because I wasn't sure about the S&M aspect.
However....people recommended it to me on a few occasions so I gave the books a chance.
The first book is poorly written and takes a few chapters to get into but then I was hooked. The first book was the best of the three, book 2 (Darker) went downhill.
I started finding that Ana was kind of a pansy and weakling by book 2. She doesn't ever stand up for herself and Christian uses sex to control her and silence her often times. I was getting frustrated that she wouldn't speak up for herself.
She also tends to have very repetitive dialogue and is not a very interesting or dynamic character.
Honestly - the most interesting character in the book was Ana's sub-conscience. She made me smile a few times. The second most interesting is Kate Kavanagh (her best friend/roommate).

Ana was sort of hard to root for and identify with. How many times can she say "Please" to Christian during sex? And how can she always reach the grand finale just when he tells her to? It was a little overdone.

It is a fun, summer read. By book 3 it seems like the author is just tying up loose ends and trying too hard to make everything a happy ending and it drags on at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty Shades Darker, June 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
Could not put this book down, absolutely loved it! Favourite of the Trilogy. Like all the other 50 Shades books, I would recommend this book to everyone! If you haven't started it get on it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, June 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
I am not an avid reader, but this book just would not let you put it down.
The author has a real flair for keeping you interested from start to finish.
I just couldn't wait to read the 2nd & 3rd books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy
Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy by E L James (Paperback - April 17 2012)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews