Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVOURITE FROM THE SERIES
Well I don't know what all the haters are on about but I loved this final book in the Fifty Shades trilogy. In fact for me each book just got better, with "Freed" becoming my favourite. Granted I had a few issues, like the constant Mr. Grey/Mrs. Grey every single time they addressed each other, which was all cute and newlywedish at first and then just proceeded to drive...
Published on Feb. 13 2013 by Buggy

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Twilight minus the vampires
The first book was okay, with some interesting aspects (including good sex scenes) that made up for the juvenile writing and even more juvenile characters. I made the mistake of buying the other two books right after finishing the first. The series is essentially based on the old fallacy that messed up guys can be "fixed" by the right woman. It's also chock full of...
Published on July 13 2012 by Susan G


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Twilight minus the vampires, July 13 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Freed: Book Three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
The first book was okay, with some interesting aspects (including good sex scenes) that made up for the juvenile writing and even more juvenile characters. I made the mistake of buying the other two books right after finishing the first. The series is essentially based on the old fallacy that messed up guys can be "fixed" by the right woman. It's also chock full of romance cliches: virginal heroine, hot billionaire with dangerous secrets in his past, ridiculous threat to virginal heroine's life, etc. It's also full of Twilight-esque vomit-worthy writing: obsessive hero who violates boundaries and engages in controlling behaviour but it's okay because he does it out of love; constant misunderstandings based on each main characters' belief that they're not good enough for the other; everyone in love with the quiet, nerdy heroine. By the second book, any original aspects have disappeared, and by the third book the writing is so idiotic you'll lose respect for yourself for continuing to read them.

Do yourself a favour and read the Outlander series or a Song of Ice and Fire or anything but this garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst series I've ever read....even worse than Twilight!, Jan. 3 2015
By 
Kissjo "kissjo" (edmonton, ab canada) - See all my reviews
I made the terrible mistake of reading this entire series based on the reviews of some girls at work. This was a puke-worthy read. I felt like I was reading the Twilight series all over again (another crap-tastic series). Honestly, this book is TERRIBLE. I skimmed through the majority of it and still understood it, since really, it was essentially the same story over and over and over again through the ENTIRE book. Boy controls, girl gets angry, girl disregards husbands controlling ways, girl gets in trouble but in the end is the heroine and also magically can repair her abusive controlling husbands ways, they make up, and have some crazy sex - which coincidentally gets so repetitive throughout the book that its not even interesting after a while. It was essentially a bed romance novel. I cannot begin to explain the amount of gag like moments in this book....oh lord it was absolutely terrible. I get suckered into reading the NY times best sellers all the time and I never like them. This one included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVOURITE FROM THE SERIES, Feb. 13 2013
By 
Buggy "SUNNIE Day reader" (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fifty Shades Freed: Book Three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
Well I don't know what all the haters are on about but I loved this final book in the Fifty Shades trilogy. In fact for me each book just got better, with "Freed" becoming my favourite. Granted I had a few issues, like the constant Mr. Grey/Mrs. Grey every single time they addressed each other, which was all cute and newlywedish at first and then just proceeded to drive me crazy. But I still had trouble putting this one down; I am a total sucker when it comes to the tortured hero so I understood my falling for Christian but Ana surprised me and I came to appreciate her as she grew a backbone and learned how to handle her man and his many moods.

Plus there's an actual story here; I mean stuff happens other than in the playroom. We get car chases, assorted stalkers, blips, kidnappings, bar fights, car accidents, drunk Christian, out of control Christian, raging Christian, playful Christian, needy f'd up Christian it was just such an all-out emotional journey and managed to leave me shocked several times. I also found it fascinating to watch Christian lose control and for Ana take it, not what I was expecting but all his shades finally made sense.

Ana's hilarious inner goddess is still with us and I was happy to see the inclusion of more sexy, fun, playful or in this case argumentative e-mails as Ana tries to stand her ground against a very controlling and used to being in charge Christian. These things were part of what separated Fifty from the Twilight universe for me and also why James' writing grew on me since that first book which felt immature, you could really hear her voice here and I now can't wait to see what she writes next.

I also loved the ending which finally "freed" Christian and left me in a very happy place; it just felt so complete, like okay you guys are going to make it, thanks for the journey. Of course this could have something to do with the many assorted epilogues we get, my favourite being the inclusion of Christian's Midnight Sun-ish POV first meeting of Ana. I would read the whole series again from inside his head. Laters.

"I need control Ana. Like I need you. It's the only way I can function. I can't let go of it. I've tried... And yet, with you..." He shakes his head in exasperation. I swallow. This is the heart of the dilemma -his need for control and his need for me. I refuse to believe these are mutually exclusive."

"Do you want a drink?" I ask super sweetly.
"No thanks" he says not taking his eyes off me, and I know that he's helpless. He does not know what to do with me. It's comical on one level and tragic on another."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty Shades Freed, Dec 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Freed: Book Three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
I had read the first book (a borrowed one) quite fast as my sister wanted it back, but after reading it, I immediately went online to pick up the three of them. I also wanted to take my time reading them, as I don't often get free time to do so. The second book was so good, I avoided reading the third so I could take it on vacation with me.

It is REALLY good. Imagine my surprise when I got to Costa Rica and the books were on the store shelves, in English. There were three girls around the pool reading it also.

Some of the things that Christian and Anastasia do are a little out there for me, but the feeling you get reading about their sexual habits is not anything I expected. I am a little older now, but it took me back a few years to some pretty fun times, with partners I cared about enough to experiment with. And the love they have for each other is something most of us can only dream of.

I have heard that this series is being looked at for film....might I suggest the guy that plays the Mentalist (he was also in The Devil Wears Prada), SIMON BAKER. He has that sexy, yet boyish look to him, with a few sly, and shy smiles. He has the Red-ish/Blonde unkempt look to his hair. He looks incredible in jean and a shirt, as well as a suit. BUT,he is also VERY GOOD LOOKING WHEN HIS CLOTHES ARE REMOVED!!!, not to mention and incredible actor, someone you don't want to take your eyes off of.

I can't wait to finish the books now that I am home, and I am sure that after Xmas, I just may read them again...no leaning these ones out, they can get their own...!!! ;) .....K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit more depth to Christian, Aug. 24 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Freed (Paperback)
Christian is more "human" and appealing in this novel. It's his ability to feel for others that make him engaging to me. I did not relate to his selfish/dominant side at all. He still has this irritating tendency to "bark' orders at his staff, but, overall has developed some substance.

Liked his relationship with his family (especially his sister and mother), but, I still find him a selfish lover. The man will enjoy himself thoroughy, then, as an after thought, untie Ana for five seconds to get her release. Yes, there's something about "Vanilla" sex that turns most women on...it's the ability to touch, be touched and have as much bodily contact as possible.

Not a big fan of the writing style. The ending could have been a bit more polished...it seemed rushed and unfinished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fifty Shades: Freed, Aug. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Freed: Book Three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
I hate to say it....but the book was boring and so far from where the trilogy started.
It was almost like it was written just to stick an ending on it.
"Fifty Shades" was amazing (I couldn't put it down), "Darker" was good but was missing something & "Freed" is very disappointing.
I was completely surprise to go from great to blaw.
I have friends who didn't even finish reading it.
If the first book was like "Freed", I never would have continued reading the trilogy.
The only saving grace was the last 2 chapters added at the end of the book, it was very interesting to see Christian's perspective.
I hope E.L. James writes more books..... but books like "Fifty Shades" not "Freed".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a Yes recommend!, July 29 2014
By 
cozyfan - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This was the best in the trilogy. Love, romance, mystery and drama.This book ties the other two together.

I won't claim the writing is awesome but nor is it as awful as some complain. It was a bit more drawn out than necessary but I still thoroughly enjoyed the story. Both main characters have matured substantially (in Ana's case, it's a bit unbelievable). We also see Kate and Mia more established in their relationships. Even the wretched Mrs. R. is finally cast into the shadows.

I think the author took a huge risk writing this series and I applaud her. This isn't porn as some suggest, but a love story based around one tragically flawed young man. His happiness is the best part!

Read it and enjoy...but read books 1 & 2 first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, pretty simplified writing, but still a good read, June 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Freed: Book Three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
I am not a reader, so when I started reading the first of the set I was surprised that I was unable to put it down. I struggled terribly all through high school (which was back in the 70's)...lol with reading. But this book held my interest and was very easy to read. For someone who is used to reading a lot of good written books, they would probably not like this book just by the way it is written. You can tell the writer is very inexperienced with writing, as it is pretty simplified reading. But the story line I like and I can seem to put them down. I started the first book back in Feb, I have finished it, finished the second one and have half of the last one to read. Definately far fetched, but who doesn't like some fantasy in their life! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SoSo, July 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Freed: Book Three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
It's interesting to note that the only way these characters could work within the BDSM world is by being married. Why is that? Can it not be pleasurable, or acceptable, on its own? The plot to protect the heroine came across as amateurish. On the other hand, it was great to see the characters evolve towards, and understand each other and themselves while the "love" scenes were hot and steamy and the comprehension and acceptance between the characters illuminating. Will a novel from Christian's point of view make it to my reading list? Hmmm, not sure. It would have been great if the author had incorporated his thoughts as well so we could have had both points of view right off the bat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Nov. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This last book is fantastic! I read all 3 of the books in one weekend! Couldn't put them down! If you read the first book and were disappointed, highly recommend buying the other 2 and read the whole story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifty Shades Freed: Book Three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy
Fifty Shades Freed: Book Three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy by E L James (Paperback - April 17 2012)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews