Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight for Adults
I don't think E.L. James ever intended these books to be considered high literature. For those that harp on about how repetitive the books are, you're missing the point. These books were meant to be a guilty pleasure - something that you, non-chalantly, admit to reading when someone else brings it up enthusiastically.

I knew what these books were about when I...
Published on June 17 2012 by Mayette

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great at first...then got boring...
When started to read these books I thought it was great. I always wanted to know more... But then it kind of got repetitive. It's always the same thoughts she has...the same feeeling... the same routine... we follow the characters for every minute of their lives! every meal, shower, etc. after sometime it gets boring...

-Devoured the first book in a week...
Published on June 21 2013 by shangella


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight for Adults, June 17 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I don't think E.L. James ever intended these books to be considered high literature. For those that harp on about how repetitive the books are, you're missing the point. These books were meant to be a guilty pleasure - something that you, non-chalantly, admit to reading when someone else brings it up enthusiastically.

I knew what these books were about when I bought them. The first book was the most "erotic" out of all of them. By the second book, I got drawn into the story and the relationship between the two main characters. Is it a healthy relationship? No. Is it an ideal relationship? No. Is it a relationship that, if it happened in real life to my sister or my best friend, I would cheer on the way I did when I read the book? Most certainly not. But this isn't real life and the books are not meant to be read with a critical eye. It is one of those stories where you just have to let your sensibilities go. Besides, you're reading erotica. It's not really about how tight the storyline is!

If you're anything like me, I love these books not just for the naughty bits or the whirlwind relationship, but because I want to believe (naively or not) that a man as damaged as the title character can be saved, just by loving the right woman.

Enjoy it for what it is - a good, dirty, heart-swooning escape from your everyday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife loves this book and is finally sex........., July 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I bought the trilogy set for my wife and she loves the books. We have a 6 and 4 year old children and she also is FINALLY back into wanting to have sex again. Is it because of the book? Who knows, but I'm just keeping my mouth shut and doing all the housework when she reads her books.

Gentlemen (buy this trilogy set for your wives and) start your engines!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I must admit... I really enjoyed the series.. quite a page turner, Aug. 19 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I bought the series out of curiosity as there is so much fuss about these books; in the end (I read the 3 books in a week, that gives you an idea how addicted I became!), I really enjoyed them, but for me the three volumes do not stand on the same level.

All three books are quite kinky (I am being politically correct here), but the 1st a bit more, I would say. Had the 1st book not ended the way it did, I might not have wanted to continue on, but seriously, please get the 2nd volume at the same time you are purchasing the 1st one, otherwise you might be a bit frustrated not to be able to continue on with the story ;)).

Volume 2 was my favorite, personnally, the 3rd one being a close runner.

To sum it all quickly, the series was a fabulous page turner, which I would qualify as a bordeline pornographic Harlequin romance but, let's admit it, very enjoyable! I have not read anything like it. Definitely worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining!, Aug. 27 2012
By 
Nancy Bolduc (Gatineau, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
Though not my tipycal type of reading, everyone was talking about this trilogy. It may be a little repetitive and redondant, but I enjoyed the story very much and am looking forward to seeing the movie that will come out of it. It is a very entertaining, yet a little amusing book... not to take too seriously but useful even to spice up any relationships. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES, you should read these books, March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
This is a wonderful & powerfull LOVE story, A modern day fairy tail with lots of passion, I really loved reading all of it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars because l fell in love with the characteristics of christian he is sooo sexy ..., March 24 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
will l don't know how to say it but l will try ... but still you may be confused
i read both 50 shades of grey and cross fire ,because l heard they were similar
to me l will choose 50 shades. because l fell in love with the characteristics of christian he is sooo sexy and romantic compare to gideon in my opinion
how far the story goes.. 50 shades story is not that flawless and l feel book #3 is not necessary.. l felt the writer tried to make stuff (events) to make excitement in the story but it did not work in my opinion because its not flawless.. l felt the excitement should been christian.. book 1 or 2 ok make sense but 3 not at all
on the other hand cross fire is very will written .the series and the way events happened are flawless and make sense but some time little bit boring just little it is not very big issue while it is the opposite in in 50 shades not..
also l hated the characteristics of eva in cross fire l feel she is very rude and makes me angry quickly and some time l dont want to open the book because l don't want to read what she is saying ;so l guess this is well writing book because l been angry in characteristics that does not exist in real life lol
if the characteristics of eva was little bit different l may say cross fire is better than 50 shades or l guess not lol l still love christian
the reason l will choose fifty shades than cross fire because( l love christian )and his steamy stuff and because l hate eva
my fav book of them all (fifty shades darker).. l wanted to read more so much more lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars E. L. James is the Reigning Queen of Erotica, Feb. 16 2015
By 
Al-Khemet Book Club - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
IT’S AN EROTICA NOT CINDERELLA.

What do you expect to be exposed to when reading an erotica? What kind of plot are you anticipating? Edward and Bella? “A Stephen King” plot or “If I Stay”, maybe “Fault in our Stars”?

No, then what?

This story started as a Twilight fan-fiction but we simply cannot expect to see Bella, Edward and Jacob with the same kind of plot. E. L. James’s genius and unparalleled creativity choose another path to carve out and reap the rewards of greatness for such monumental feats.

“50 Shades of Grey “sells around ten copies per minute if not second with the release of the movie and the WAY cheaper Kindle price. I had the Paperback and still got the Kindle Edition, it’s a great book: It’s an Erotica ladies and gentlemen. Do not look for Cinderella finding her glass slippers or any of that. Instead . . . look for the birth and rise of “Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele.”

Every author is great in his or her own right and they all had a path that they took, let’s not discriminate someone who simply chose another path to greatness. E. L. James is the reigning Queen of Erotica and she has set the foundation for many up and coming authors and many who were previous unpublished, independently published or simply wasn’t selling, many of these authors have now seen significant success thanks to Amazon and the rise of 50 Shades, something to consider when throwing shade at the woman for her work of greatness.

---The review: The awkward Anastasia Steele, a totally believable character and so clumsy and awkward that women can identify with her and put themselves into her shoes is what adds to their addiction of the series, meets billionaire entrepreneur Christian Grey and the heavens tremble in their wake. I can go on and on with this but there is no need. There is no great plot like those seen in the works of her contemporaries for this author writes what some of them dare not, I cannot imagine one of my favorite author’s, Stephen King ,writing an erotica, the thought makes me queasy. Nonetheless, Christian and Anna embarks on a passionate affair, laced with lust and base desires, and the possessive Christian refuses to have this average girl he has fallen for slip from his grasp. This very thought is another reason for addiction, every average girl wants a billionaire and through “50 Shades” they can relive this fantasy over and over again and nothing is wrong with this, when life gets heavy and reality throws your dreams and hopes on the sharp edges, you find solace in fantasy and in fiction and in the breathtaking, seductive, alluring world of “50 Shades of Grey.”

The book is basically romance, allure, seduction and sex. And Sex. And Sex, words crafted so carefully and perfectly they are like spells and enchantments, stimulating you to mental climax and if you are an artist/author/thinker etc, exposure to this work of genius is bound to bring your mind into commune with your own muse, with your own small still voice, with your own genius. If you are offended by strong sexual content, strong language and raunchy, fun, exciting sex, then maybe try reading something from one of the authors suggested earlier, for in this book you will find only what’s mentioned in this previous sentence, that which is bound to sweep you off your feet if you allow it to, do not resist, give in to it.

I respect the author for penning this, it was risky and left her open to so much lashing but in the end, she achieved her greatness, as stated, E. L. James is the Reigning Queen of Erotica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Ever, Sept. 25 2012
By 
Natalie Joyce (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
So far I'm only part way through the first book but it is so intense it makes me want to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic books!, Jan. 28 2014
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I just got into reading again after a long hiatus. I read the three books in 10 days, needless to say that goes to show you I loved them as it usually takes me a bit to get through a book. I knew what they were about for the most part and have never read an "erotic" novel before. I absolutely loved the story and fell in love with the main characters. I didn't want it to end but knew the author couldn't go any farther. The first book is by far the most erotic and my favorite - because of the story and the erotica :). I loved the end of the third book where it is being narrated by Christian Grey instead of Ana. My hope is the author is going to write the book again but to reflect what Christian was thinking. It's a very interesting story. I highly recommend them. I couldn't put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Aug. 1 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
My 13 year old grand daughter has been nagging my daughter (her mother) for quite a while to buy the books. All her friends have read it and she hasn't. I didn't want her to feel left out, so I bought them for her birthday.
You should have seen the look on her face when it arrived on her doorstep! She was so excited and spent the whole weekend reading and reading. In fact, she wouldn't even go to sleep when told to! She finished the whole trilogy in those two days.

Thoughts:
-I am not sure if these books are worth it, because I personally have never read them; however I would assume that they are. My grandaughter really enjoyed it.
-I am really impressed with Amazon's service; the delivery and shipping was quick.
-Definitely would buy from Amazon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set
CDN$ 53.85 CDN$ 48.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews