Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight for Adults
I don't think E.L. James ever intended these books to be considered high literature. For those that harp on about how repetitive the books are, you're missing the point. These books were meant to be a guilty pleasure - something that you, non-chalantly, admit to reading when someone else brings it up enthusiastically.

I knew what these books were about when I...
Published on June 17 2012 by Mayette

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great at first...then got boring...
When started to read these books I thought it was great. I always wanted to know more... But then it kind of got repetitive. It's always the same thoughts she has...the same feeeling... the same routine... we follow the characters for every minute of their lives! every meal, shower, etc. after sometime it gets boring...

-Devoured the first book in a week...
Published 20 months ago by shangella


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight for Adults, June 17 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I don't think E.L. James ever intended these books to be considered high literature. For those that harp on about how repetitive the books are, you're missing the point. These books were meant to be a guilty pleasure - something that you, non-chalantly, admit to reading when someone else brings it up enthusiastically.

I knew what these books were about when I bought them. The first book was the most "erotic" out of all of them. By the second book, I got drawn into the story and the relationship between the two main characters. Is it a healthy relationship? No. Is it an ideal relationship? No. Is it a relationship that, if it happened in real life to my sister or my best friend, I would cheer on the way I did when I read the book? Most certainly not. But this isn't real life and the books are not meant to be read with a critical eye. It is one of those stories where you just have to let your sensibilities go. Besides, you're reading erotica. It's not really about how tight the storyline is!

If you're anything like me, I love these books not just for the naughty bits or the whirlwind relationship, but because I want to believe (naively or not) that a man as damaged as the title character can be saved, just by loving the right woman.

Enjoy it for what it is - a good, dirty, heart-swooning escape from your everyday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife loves this book and is finally sex........., July 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I bought the trilogy set for my wife and she loves the books. We have a 6 and 4 year old children and she also is FINALLY back into wanting to have sex again. Is it because of the book? Who knows, but I'm just keeping my mouth shut and doing all the housework when she reads her books.

Gentlemen (buy this trilogy set for your wives and) start your engines!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I must admit... I really enjoyed the series.. quite a page turner, Aug. 19 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I bought the series out of curiosity as there is so much fuss about these books; in the end (I read the 3 books in a week, that gives you an idea how addicted I became!), I really enjoyed them, but for me the three volumes do not stand on the same level.

All three books are quite kinky (I am being politically correct here), but the 1st a bit more, I would say. Had the 1st book not ended the way it did, I might not have wanted to continue on, but seriously, please get the 2nd volume at the same time you are purchasing the 1st one, otherwise you might be a bit frustrated not to be able to continue on with the story ;)).

Volume 2 was my favorite, personnally, the 3rd one being a close runner.

To sum it all quickly, the series was a fabulous page turner, which I would qualify as a bordeline pornographic Harlequin romance but, let's admit it, very enjoyable! I have not read anything like it. Definitely worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining!, Aug. 27 2012
By 
Nancy Bolduc (Gatineau, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
Though not my tipycal type of reading, everyone was talking about this trilogy. It may be a little repetitive and redondant, but I enjoyed the story very much and am looking forward to seeing the movie that will come out of it. It is a very entertaining, yet a little amusing book... not to take too seriously but useful even to spice up any relationships. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES, you should read these books, March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
This is a wonderful & powerfull LOVE story, A modern day fairy tail with lots of passion, I really loved reading all of it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Ever, Sept. 25 2012
By 
Natalie Joyce (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
So far I'm only part way through the first book but it is so intense it makes me want to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic books!, Jan. 28 2014
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I just got into reading again after a long hiatus. I read the three books in 10 days, needless to say that goes to show you I loved them as it usually takes me a bit to get through a book. I knew what they were about for the most part and have never read an "erotic" novel before. I absolutely loved the story and fell in love with the main characters. I didn't want it to end but knew the author couldn't go any farther. The first book is by far the most erotic and my favorite - because of the story and the erotica :). I loved the end of the third book where it is being narrated by Christian Grey instead of Ana. My hope is the author is going to write the book again but to reflect what Christian was thinking. It's a very interesting story. I highly recommend them. I couldn't put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Aug. 1 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
My 13 year old grand daughter has been nagging my daughter (her mother) for quite a while to buy the books. All her friends have read it and she hasn't. I didn't want her to feel left out, so I bought them for her birthday.
You should have seen the look on her face when it arrived on her doorstep! She was so excited and spent the whole weekend reading and reading. In fact, she wouldn't even go to sleep when told to! She finished the whole trilogy in those two days.

Thoughts:
-I am not sure if these books are worth it, because I personally have never read them; however I would assume that they are. My grandaughter really enjoyed it.
-I am really impressed with Amazon's service; the delivery and shipping was quick.
-Definitely would buy from Amazon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wow, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
All i can say is wow! What a read! I couldnt put them down. Yes it is by far an adult read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, Jan. 27 2013
By 
Stephanie Pruneau (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set (Paperback)
I liked the trilogy. The story is repetitive and the girl of the story can be annoying enough for us to want to switch place with her because she can be a pain... but the Fifty character is to die for, the sexual scenes are entertaining :) I feel somehow there is similarities with Twilight and I think I've read somewhere that the author was inspired by the Twilight saga and then deleted all the vampire stuff.. anyway it's similar with a clumsy girl with no self esteen meeting a man who wants to do anything for her and all she do is fight it.. anyway it's a nice story and it will take your mind away from your daily chores and from work but it could be written better. I still give it a 4 because it did the job it was suppose to do..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set
CDN$ 53.85 CDN$ 40.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews