march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars99
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This "novel" is gritty and raw. The author claims it's a novel, but I think in fact, much of the book is a parallel to his own life in the slums of Bombay. This is not a pretty book, nor is it a feel good book. But it will take you deep into the depths of the slums, and deep into the depths of a soul that has seen hell and come back. Yet, there are redeeming features in both those slums and that soul. The book is hefty at 944 pages but I read it in a single day because I could not put it down. I already have the sequel, equally as lengthy, on order. A third book in the series is promised to be a prequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
Excellent read. Well written, great story line with enough fact to make you think it is, a true story. Would recommend to anyone interested in other cultures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
Truth better than fiction . Lets go with the movie !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2016
Fantastic book. Even though it is long I was sad when it ended. Particularly when he described Bombay I truly felt I was transported to be right there with him, his descriptions were so on point and fascinating. Will be gifting more copies of it to my book lover friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
I loved this book and didnt want it to end. I learned a lot about India from this book and thought of it in more of a positive view after reading this novel. I enjoyed the philosophical bent within the story line, which made me learn and think. Entertaining, engaging, educational and emotional......all the things I love in a good book. Cant wait to read the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
lecture fatastique si vous êtes de passage à Mumbai, mais je le recommande à tous ceux qui aiment yoyager
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
Best book ever. My second read just as exciting, entertaining and insightful as the first time round. I seldom read a novel twice, but this book deserves another go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2016
Interesting read. Having visited India a few times myself, it evokes an authentic feeling of the complexity of Indian society and its multi layered cultures...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$33.29