Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Express Your Inner Diva
This hilarious new Red Dress Ink book dives into the world of tiara and princess tendencies. This great new book by the author of "Diary of a Blues Goddess" and "Spanish Disco" is a really funny tongue-in-check look into the world of princess, divas and what's it like to be those things in the "MODERN" age. It's not all fun and games --- that's for sure. This great...
Published on Oct. 25 2003 by Caroline P. Hampton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tried, but failed
First off....Divas Don't Fake It, gets five stars in this critique...the overall rating of this flip book is pulled down by the insipid Princess in Training manual. I don't know what Red Dress was thinking publishing something so incredibly vapid. Orloff's Divas was crisp, edgy and downright entertaining and I didn't want it to end. Flip the book over and it was a...
Published on Nov. 30 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY, Dec 16 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
Don't bother. I bought this silly pair of books thinking I would be amused by some tongue-in-cheek humor and dry wit. Instead, I was bored to death. The Princess-in-Training Manual dragged and dragged, had no plot to speak of, and seemed to be a book made to advertise designer brands that are mass-marketed, but that actual princesses do not wear, full of lots of seventh grade level French (incorrect seventh grade level French. I couldn't believe the mistakes that were made in basic French in this book). However that was better than the Divas Don't Fake It, which was full of filthy language and obnoxious characters. Who want to read a book which has its point that women should learn how to swear like sailors and abuse men? (The main character seems to think that she is brave and interesting because she can say the f-word and throw her fiance's books out of windows as well as embarrass him in front of family members. Think about how it would seem if a male character were behaving the way she does). I would give this book no stars, if that were an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tried, but failed, Nov. 30 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
First off....Divas Don't Fake It, gets five stars in this critique...the overall rating of this flip book is pulled down by the insipid Princess in Training manual. I don't know what Red Dress was thinking publishing something so incredibly vapid. Orloff's Divas was crisp, edgy and downright entertaining and I didn't want it to end. Flip the book over and it was a pathetic attempt at emulating Shopaholics with a royalty twist. I found the "princess" to be annoying and completely naive and not likable at all. Her obsession with her vegetarian friends was a result of too many pages that needed to be skipped and lost the thread of the story. I wanted more of Orloff's Xandra and less of the "princess." Too bad Red Dress didn't decide to expand Orloff's novella into a full-blown novel with Xandra and Scott and the cast of characters. Kudos to Ms. Orloff for a fast-paced, well told story, but shame on the Princess in Training Manual. Unless you have a fortune to spend at Tiffany's, pass that half of the book by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars for those who miss the Age of Divine Royalty, Nov. 7 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
"Divas Don't fake it" by Erica Orloff. Xandra is a diva who uses her skills to full advantage. She explains what diva means so that females will learn about empowerment. She's not afraid to make a scene, or tell the truth even when it means hurting someone else. Divas are kind to those who deserve their kindness and are honest to a fault. It is not easy loving a diva but those who do find it a rich and rewarding experience because they are very special people who are not afraid to love and be loved. Erica Orloff's tongue-in-cheek tale "Divas Don't Fake it" might turn off some readers who think profanity and rough sex is not their cup of tea.
"The Princess In Training Manual" by Princess Jacqueline de Soignee. She is a real princess whose family was saved from Madam Guillotine during the French Revolution by their chamberlain Jacques who whisked them away to Geneva. Princess Jacqueline believes royals are different then commoners but everyone has the potential to bring the inner princess out of hiding and behaving to the manner born. Jacqueline can be kind when it is called for but she has a very high opinion of herself and doesn't understand when people scorn rather than appreciate royalty. Readers will understand the opposite as Princess Jacqueline will turn off readers except perhaps the Paparazzi and a few royal worshippers.
Though intended as satirical humor, only die hard turn the clock back to the Age of Divine Royalty elitist wannabes will enjoy this duet.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, quick read!, Oct. 29 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
This two-books-in-one offering is great to read in one sitting. The concept is cute and the stories are entertaining. However, in the spirit of constructive criticism, I should point out some loose ends. I think Divas Don't Fake It should've been longer. It would've made quite an interesting novel if the characters and story had been further developed. The aforementioned novella is my favorite of the two -- for Orloff uses the same no-nonsense language she used in Spanish Disco. Xandra Kingston is a great character. We need more heroines of this sort. Although there are times in which Xandra's confidence is a bit too caricatured to be believable. The Princess-in-Training is also nice. It chronicles Princess Jacqueline de Soignee's overall fabulousness. However, I found the heroine's fashion talk and shopping expeditions a tad boring. She namedrops famous fashion designers from beginning to end. At times I felt as though I was reading a less amusing version of Confessions of a Shopaholic. All in all, not a bad reading experience. This isn't as good as Losing It, A Clean Slate or Diary of a Blues Goddess, but it is a fun, quick read nevertheless. I recommend it as a great complement to a deep bubble bath and a martini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I didnt get it, Dec 29 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
I dont understand the purpose of this book.. I thought is would be a cute read - but I found myself wondering what the heck this was all about. Divas dont fake is terribly written - instead of a plot - thought it would be cute to swear. Princess in Training.. dragged and dragged.. I think this was just a way to try to impress us with all the traveling to exotic places and all the name brand clothes.. Who cares!! DONT WASTE your money - This Diva in training would rather be a door mat than follow these examples of what a woman should strive to be. These two getting a book deal makes me wonder what is wrong with the publishing world to publish this junk. I guess all of us should be thankful - there is a book to be published in all of us regardless how good it is.. someone will publish it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but don't expect a literary masterpiece...., Oct. 28 2003
By 
Kelly A. fuller "certified book nut" (Pennsville, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
I am fan of the Red Dress Ink line, and rate most of them at least 4 stars. However, this book just wasn't as good as the others. I bought it because I liked the fact that it was two books in one. It reminded me of those "He said, She books" I used to read as a preteen. But these are two totally different books, and I think that's the problem. Becase of the two book format, the stories were short. The characters felt undeveloped. Too much drama in a small book just seems a little overwhelming. I felt as if I need more information and reasoning to why the two female characters acted the way they did.
I loved Erica Orloff's Spanish Disco (also Red Dress Ink) and this book just didn't measure up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Express Your Inner Diva, Oct. 25 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
This hilarious new Red Dress Ink book dives into the world of tiara and princess tendencies. This great new book by the author of "Diary of a Blues Goddess" and "Spanish Disco" is a really funny tongue-in-check look into the world of princess, divas and what's it like to be those things in the "MODERN" age. It's not all fun and games --- that's for sure. This great flip book (from 2 very different perspectives) is a fun and great addition to the Red Dress Ink library. It's fun and light --- not a literary giant -- but fun nonetheless.
Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a FUN READ!!!, Feb. 11 2004
By 
book_kook (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
Read this book for a fun, funny escape into the world of privilege and divahood. My favorite was Princess-in-Training, the fairly tale/advice manual written by a saucy, sassy little lady who takes you on a ride and lets you out at the end wanting more. I laughed and smiled as her foibles and mishaps and ultimate fame found her traipsing the globe and wrecking havoc in clothing boutiques. A very fun read, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute, quick read, Dec 6 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
Loved the concept of two books in one. This one is definitely a quick read. Fun and punchy and uniquely different. Divas Don't Fake It was the better story of the two with an exciting, feisty heroine in Xandra. The Princess was a bit hard to relate to, but the story idea was fun. All in all, an easy two commuter train rides read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spoonful of French Sugar helps Existentialist Sugar Go Down, April 17 2004
By 
Radell F. Nelson "Novelist" (El Cerrito, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine (Paperback)
Jean Paul Sartre taught us how to present deep ideas in popular formats, like novels & plays. Contemporary existentialist DeSoignee (AKA Drucker) continues this tradition, presenting the Princess as a role we can play, whether born royal or not, determining our essense by the choices we make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Princess-In-Training Manual: The Princess-In-Training Manual\Divas Don't Fake It (And Nine
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews