Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A triple dose of satire over a scoop of inside-out cliche'.
The Thin Pink Line
Lauren (Hyphe-Natal) Baratz-Logsted has written a wickedly funny satire that should even make members of the opposite sex read a book about pregnancy, and like it. In this case a fake pregnancy. The twists of storyline, wring out insight upon insight; revealing self absorbed behavior, that we have all dabbled in, now haven't we?
The reader is...
Published on Feb. 10 2004 by Gypsy Nick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars V. v. unoriginal
I read this book cover to cover, giving it every chance to reach the potential that other reviews saw shining through. For the first 100 pages, I could catch glimpses of a dazzling wit and self-deprecation as well as a remarkable understanding of British culture. However, I was ultimately bitterly disappointed by the "sagging middle" as well as the emotionally...
Published on Oct. 28 2003 by Mariah Mercer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining but slightly whacked, May 11 2004
By 
momazon "cjd" (Astoria, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
In the beginning, Jane honestly thinks she is pregnant and tells several people as well as her boyfriend Trevor. Then she gets her period and is despondent over losing out on how nice every one was to her when they thought she was "a preggo". So she decides to keep up the charade by faking a positive pregnancy test and then trying to become actually pregnant.
But it can't possibly be that smooth, and soon Jane is caugh tup in simulating a pregnancy for 9 months with no hope of having a baby to show for it at the end.
This isn't so " ha ha hee hee" as all other chicklit seems to be. I appreciate that Jane says you can't "turn around in a bookstore without seeing pink-covered books about the adventures of a twentysomething Londoner who works in publishing trying to meet Mr. Right." Except Jane has just described her own character in this book to a tee, and it's just not enough irony to offset the fact that you have probably read some variation of this book at least 12 times before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A triple dose of satire over a scoop of inside-out cliche'., Feb. 10 2004
By 
Gypsy Nick "Niki Shrode" (Desert Hideaway - Trilogy at Vistancia , AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
The Thin Pink Line
Lauren (Hyphe-Natal) Baratz-Logsted has written a wickedly funny satire that should even make members of the opposite sex read a book about pregnancy, and like it. In this case a fake pregnancy. The twists of storyline, wring out insight upon insight; revealing self absorbed behavior, that we have all dabbled in, now haven't we?
The reader is treated to several triple levels of life imitating art and vise versa. When your brain is not being twisted with unabashed orgies of logical incest, your gut will be wrenched with guilty laughter at yourself for enjoying this zany bit of fiction; cooked up by a writer, who was really pregnant when she wrote it.
Jane suckers her friends, fellow workers and boss, with a pregnancy gone awry and a hope people will treat her better; while her thought process, satirizes the society in which we all swim.

Now we couldn't miss a chance, to thread our needle wit with such a delightfully spun tale, now could we?
Read this at your own risk. Your ego could get skewered.
The only negative for me? I thought the smattering of rough language could have been left out, but then perhaps I'm a little old fashioned.
If you enjoyed "Auntie Mame", you will enjoy this book.
The ending will surprise you.
Men should love this book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Book, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Janet L (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
What starts out as a suspicion of a real pregnancy somehow turns into a fake pregnancy for all the wrong reasons. Or all the right reasons, if you think like Jane. I found myself drawn to her~ in spite of her less than lovable ways. There's something about her that had me in her corner. I liked her. I liked her wit too, which has an edge to it. I found myself chuckling at her thoughts and actions.
The plot may be less than believable, but this book doesn't strike me as "serious fiction." It's a fun book, with a plot that is believable in that context. It held my interest~ wondering what Jane was going to come up with next. She has some clever ways of getting out of the messes she found herself in.
She does "grow" throughout the book too. Not physically (since her pregnancy is a fake), but as a person. She loses some of her "me" self-centeredness in subtle ways as the book progresses.
This is a new view on pregnancy since it's written from a non-pregnant "pregnant" woman's point of view. I found the book refreshingly different from others I have read. It's well written and humorous, and I would definitely recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A satire of the highest caliber, Jan. 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
(Upfront FYI: I'm a guy. I don't know if that's important, but it just might be.)
THE THIN PINK LINE is an enjoyable madcap book that is guaranteed to delight lovers of zany British humor, a subject on which Baratz-Logsted must have been a patient student. It has many laugh-out-loud moments that, while of course very far-fetched (the book IS a comedy, after all), seem so real because of the author's compelling characterization.
I see some reviews on here that take issue with Jane's ethics and hold that against the book when they rate it. Yeah, she's self-absorbed, but what person that fakes a pregnancy wouldn't be? The book can't be about what it's about and have Jane be any less self-involved - any less so and she wouldn't do the things that make this book so funny. Jane's character reminds me of Basil on Fawlty Towers - that guy was anything but sympathetic and the show was hysterical. Lighten up, folks. Leave the "reader baggage" at the front desk, please; the bellhop will bring it up to your room after you turn the final page.
What I loved about this book the most was that I found myself throughout it rooting for Jane to be able to pull this off and always worrying that she was about to be outted as a pregnancy-faker (and all the ramifications of that). Lolita-esque, if you will, just without the gross stuff. It's compelling, fresh, and so satirical of a story that Jonathan Swift has nothing on it. I don't normally read books that are meant for a near women-exclusive audience, but I'm very glad to have spent the time with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift of laughter for any woman on your list!, Nov. 11 2003
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
Move over Bridget Jones. From the first pages I knew Lauren Baratz Logsted had written a jewel of chick lit. This hilarious fake pregnancy romp will make you hold your ribs with glee, even if you never considered having a baby.
The thin pink line is that of the home pregnancy test pictured on the cover. Jane, a cunning British editor, refuses to give up her pregnant status right away when she discovers she is not having a baby after all. But whenever she tries to end the charade, peer pressure, financial considerations, unexpected circumstances and clever plot twists trap her deeper into the lie. Dreading discovery, Jane leads a complicated double life and even falls in love, all the while brazenly fooling attentive co-workers, friends, and close family.
You want to laugh and you want to cry. You want to talk some sense into the misguided little darling. The story manipulates the reader into accepting the unbelievable. From fake sonograms to maternity clothes, padded tummy and baby showers, Jane makes her share of mistakes as well. On each page you expect the ticking bomb to explode, and you keep reading, to find out how Crazy Jane could possibly pull off this implausible stunt for yet another chapter. Is Jane mad? Certainly. Clever? Without a doubt. Human? Endearingly so.
Are pregnancy symptoms a thing of the mind? Very possibly, as Jane feels them all. Eventually she succeeds in bringing her fake pregnancy all the way to the ninth month. But in the process, Jane also learned about babies and mothers, she re-evaluated her life, her career, her relationships. She now recognizes the value of true love and is finally willing to sacrifice to its altar. Although somewhat contrived, the surprise ending still tastes of serendipity.
The perfect gift of laughter for any woman on your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars V. v. unoriginal, Oct. 28 2003
By 
Mariah Mercer (Findlay, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
I read this book cover to cover, giving it every chance to reach the potential that other reviews saw shining through. For the first 100 pages, I could catch glimpses of a dazzling wit and self-deprecation as well as a remarkable understanding of British culture. However, I was ultimately bitterly disappointed by the "sagging middle" as well as the emotionally dissatisfying end. I reached the end of the book with hopes of another chapter so that I could at least have some resolution for my investment of time and mild interest. Jane continued to disappoint. The characters are only marginally sympathetic at best (I only cared for two characters, neither primary characters) and Jane's troubled childhood didn't play well with me (at least not so that I could forgive her multitude of character sins committed through out the book). While the author does understand some aspects of the trade (intimate and original details, development of memorable- if unlikable- characters), the book ultimately fails as the plodding plot and awful characters left me thankful I'd visited the local library before wasting any of my paltry income on another unsuccessful spin on Bridget Jones. If you seek something other than a read in the loo (or for other purposes there...), stay far from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great, good time read, Aug. 25 2003
By 
Laura (Pottsboro, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
What I love about this book is its refreshing, wicked humor, original plot, and laugh out loud scenes. I love the main character, Jane Taylor, because sheï¿s wacky in such a charming sort of way. With Jane, wanting to become pregnant, and then failing at it, doesnï¿t faze her determination to BE pregnant. That is, to fake it to the max! Such is the logic of single and single-minded Jane.
I especially enjoyed the conversations between Jane and her gay, best friend, David; the one who tries to give her good advice and show her the insanity of her plan, and yet remains supportive of her throughout the story. Jane also experiences some very funny and memorable moments with her mother and her boss, Lana Lane (hilariously referred to as Dodo) and other co-workers at the publishing firm where sheï¿s employed.
This book is just full of zany characters, but none zanier than Jane herself. This sassy, good-time read would definitely make for a good movie.
In my opinion, the author is a comic genius and I look forward to reading more of her novels, hopefully, in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finally! An Original Chick-Lit!, July 23 2003
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
The Thin Pink Line is by what all other chick-lit books should be measured. A sparklingly original storyline, not so much emphasis on the oh-woe-is-me, and bonafide humor is what sets this novel apart.
While reading this book, one must ask oneself repeatedly -- is Jane insane?! The heroine, almost-30 Jane Taylor, wants what she doesn't have -- a baby. Seems she has deduced (via her not-exactly-like-stalking research technique) that pregnant women are treated extra special. Doors are held open, smiles are frequently bestowed upon them, and getting out of doing any work is a given. So when Jane is "late" she feels she is finally getting what she rightfully deserves -- that rosy place called pregnancy. Jane's boyfriend, Trevor, seems nonchalant about it, which could only be a good thing, right? But when Jane finds out she isn't really pregnant, her hopes shatter into a million pieces. Seems like she'll have to do what any other woman would do in her situation -- she fakes it.
Lauren Baratz-Logsted has written a clear winner. The Thin Pink Line is so refreshing to read, especially after the typical single-girl-in-the-city stories have worn themselves out. A true treat with humor to match. I loved every page. All future Red Dress Ink books should only hope to come close....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strange... yet fun, July 5 2003
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
The Thin Pink Line is a fun, engaging, yet strange novel. The synopsis -- a twenty-nine-year-old who stages her pregnancy in order to secure a marriage proposal from her boyfriend -- is original, but there are various loose ends throughout the novel.
At first, all Jane Taylor wants is the special attention and gratification of being pregnant, not to mention a guaranteed marriage proposal from her boyfriend Trevor. But then things become rather complicated as the trimesters progress, and the charade takes over Jane's life -- especially when someone offers a book deal she can't refuse. But why doesn't she just stop the charade? I wasn't able to grasp the reasons for Jane's insistence on living a lie -- notwithstanding the gigantic book deal. The author fails to provide the aforementioned insight, and Jane's erratic behavior has no actual logic. But then again, perhaps her eccentricity implies that the scheme isn't supposed to be logical...
Despite those loose ends, The Thin Pink Line offers an original plot, sharp and crisp dialogue and wonderful characters. Also, Jane's desperate attempts to legitimize her pregnancy will have the reader roaring with laughter. Red Dress Ink has released a fresh approach to chick lit with this wonderful gem. Illogical and strange conduct aside, Jane Taylor is the proverbial neurotic heroine... And The Thin Pink Line is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amusing allegory on the importance of honesty, July 3 2003
By 
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
When she is late, a condition that never happens to her, Jane assumes she has to be pregnant, which makes her elated. She spreads the word about her delicate condition and everyone especially her boyfriend treats her with care and dignity. However, a few days later her period arrives. Reluctantly, she knows she must tell everyone the truth, but besides her friends and colleagues thinking she is a bonehead, Jane enjoyed the pampering she received. She decides to say nothing and just pretend that she is pregnant.
However, Jane begins to learn the down side of her fake pregnancy, as she becomes a closet smoker and drinker since she cannot imbibe in public. She gives up her exercise class and has to fake symptoms. When her boyfriend learns of her sham, he leaves, but Jane continues with her con until the bittersweet best and worse that could happen to her occurs. Jane falls in love.
At first brush, readers will think THE THIN PINK LINE is a silly chick lit tale, but that would be a mistaken classification. Instead, the story is an amusing allegory on the importance of honesty and caring for others. Jane is a delightful key player whose web of lies proves more difficult to maintain with every passing moment. Readers should take a chance on something different as the morality lesson venue is cleverly interwoven inside a jocular plot.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thin Pink Line
The Thin Pink Line by Lauren Baratz-Logsted (Paperback - June 1 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews