Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Thin Pink Line
Reading Lauren Baratz-Logsted's novel is a bit like entering a warm and wild party and being able enjoy the antics of its lively hostess while remaing safely invisible. Its main character, Jane, embarks on a journey which is alternately hilarious and touching. The book never once loses its thrusting energy and verve,or its wit, while landing on the other side of...
Published on Feb. 4 2004 by Leora Skolkin-Smith

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awful
The heroine of this book, Jane Taylor, has the most reprehensible morals imaginable. I thought the premise of the book was really clever and that it would prove to be quite funny, but I was disappointed. During Jane's "pregnancy," she gets sympathy for conditions she doesn't have, plays with the emotions of both friends and family, accepts gifts for her...
Published on July 2 2003 by Mary Paltry


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Thin Pink Line, Feb. 4 2004
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
Reading Lauren Baratz-Logsted's novel is a bit like entering a warm and wild party and being able enjoy the antics of its lively hostess while remaing safely invisible. Its main character, Jane, embarks on a journey which is alternately hilarious and touching. The book never once loses its thrusting energy and verve,or its wit, while landing on the other side of seriousness. Towards the end, our narrator discovers a quiet grace within herself which makes this tale stay with the reader far past the last laugh. A tender, knowing story is told in a voice that is as unforgettable and human as it is entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and thought-provoking read, Oct. 26 2003
By 
Malloy (The Northstar State) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
This is an entertaining ride that doesn't shy away from protraying the lead character, warts and all, in the clear light of day. If you are looking for the cookie cutter scrappy-underdog-who-beats-the-odds-stacked-against-her tearjerker keep searching. But if you want an original story that keeps you turning the page, this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awful, July 2 2003
By 
Mary Paltry (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
The heroine of this book, Jane Taylor, has the most reprehensible morals imaginable. I thought the premise of the book was really clever and that it would prove to be quite funny, but I was disappointed. During Jane's "pregnancy," she gets sympathy for conditions she doesn't have, plays with the emotions of both friends and family, accepts gifts for her imaginary baby without a second thought, and walks away from the love of her life because she is too immature to finally fess up to her charade. Finally, the end of the book is supremely ridiculous and a lovely example of deus ex machina.
There are more problems with the book then the ones listed above (trying to trap a man into marriage, improbable reactions from other characters to Jane's insanity), but many of them would constitute spoilers. Overall, I do not recommend The Thin Pink Line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good, very entertaining, read., June 20 2003
By 
RML "rmliss" (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
I'm not usually a fan of what could be called 'Chick-Lit' or 'Brit-com', just so that's clear. However, I was given an advance copy of The Thin Pink Line to read on a long flight and was very pleasantly surprised. First of all, the dialogue (one of my first criteria) is crisp, well written and sounds real in the mind's ear. Next, there are moments that are laugh-out-loud funny. The novel is very well paced and moves right along. The only criticism I may have, and this is purely from a personal point of view and has nothing to do with the writing, is that I found it very hard to sympathise in any meaningful way with Jane, the protagonist. However, if someone like me who doesn't read much along the lines of this sort of thing enjoyed it very much, I'm sure people who do will find that The Thin Pink Line stands head and shoulders above the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!!!, July 16 2004
By 
Heather J Johnson "Heather J" (Garnerville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Paperback)
The Thin Pink Line really is fantastic... Lauren Baratz-Logsted has really ruled over this genre! A fantastic book for anyone that wants to laugh a little and smile tons!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't get past the first two chapters, July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Paperback)
Argh... This book is so slow moving. Nothing really interesting being said, getting to the point is slow. I'm returning it <blech>. Let's just put it this way: if you like movies from Lifetime TV, then you'll definately like this book. If you like something that's more interesting and worthwhile, get something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to read the sequel, July 6 2004
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Paperback)
The Eskimos may have 72 different words for snow, but Baratz-Logsted has at least that many ways of being clever in her novel THIN PINK LINE. This is the kind of intelligent women's fiction that has a witticism on every page.
A wonderful page-turner that leaves you wanting more. Can't wait to get the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not At All What I Expected, June 29 2004
By 
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Hardcover)
I picked up The Thin Pink Line expecting to mildly entertained; instead, I laughed so hard I cried...and I even cried a little for Jane. I surprised myself by liking Jane, who seems to try very hard not be liked. There's a lot to be said for a woman who knows what she wants and isn't afraid to go after it, and a little to be learned from her as well. What a refreshing change from all the 'please somebody give me what I want' PinkBooks on the shelves. Three cheers for Jane (and for her creator). I'm glad we're going to have the chance to hear some more of her story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Not to Expect When You Tell People You're Expecting, June 23 2004
By 
"alexena22" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Paperback)
This book appealed to my ironic sense of humor and kept me reading despite a five-year old and a full-time job. Some of the plot twists seemed farfetched, but the author made them believable. Jane, the main character, is refreshingly imperfect in her self-absorption. She does get out of herself long enough to fall in love with a policeman. This takes her places she couldn't even imagine when the book begins. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun here, June 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Thin Pink Line (Paperback)
This book is chick lit with a twist. It is perfect for summer reading on the beach, travel reading on a plane, or winter reading in a big chair by a fireplace. The characters are funny, and surprisingly true to life. The heroine, Jane, is at a crossroads and tries a traditional way to hold on to her man. She pretends to be pregnant.
The intriguing twist in the plot is that her plan affects Jane more than anyone else. Potential motherhood becomes her. She often forgets that she isn't really pregnant. In the course of her "pregnancy", she begins to grow up.
The story is very clever, well-written, and often extremely funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thin Pink Line
The Thin Pink Line by Lauren Baratz-Logsted (Paperback - June 1 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews